DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 8, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 4, the claim states the term “AIBN” but does not specify the meaning of said term rendering the claim indefinite.
With regards to claim 12, the claim states the term “PECAN” but does not specify the meaning of said term rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rolland et al (WO 2017/112653).
With regards to claim 1, Rolland teaches a method of forming a dual cure three-dimensional object (abstract) by mixing a first precursor liquid and a second precursor liquid to product a polymerizable liquid (abstract). Rolland then teaches the composition to be cured wherein the curing is carried out concurrently due to the irradiation step generating heat from polymerization of the first component in an amount sufficient to thermally solidify or polymerize the second component (page 4).
With regards to claims 2, 9, and 12, Rolland teaches the compounds to be covalently bonded to one another (pages 6-7) forming an interpenetrating polymer network (page 4).
With regards to claims 3 and 4, Rolland teaches the component that polymerizes from heat to include organic peroxides (page 41).
With regards to claims 5-8, Rolland teaches the addition of isobornyl acrylate (page 135).
With regards to claim 10, Rolland teaches the other component to include an epoxy (page 144).
With regards to claim 11, Rolland teaches the composition to include an imidazole compound (pages 47-48).
With regards to claim 13, Rolland teaches the ratio of the second compound to the first compound to be 1:22 (page 135) and for the temperature of the polymerization to be from 50 to 100°C (page 4).
With regards to claim 14, Rolland teaches one reactant to be an epoxy and one reactant to be a (meth)acrylate (page 144) and the process to include mixing the two components and solidifying or curing said composition to form an interpenetrating polymer network (page 4).
With regards to claim 15, Rolland teaches the composition to include a photoinitiator (abstract) and for the polymerizing steps to first include irradiating the composition with light (page 4).
With regards to claim 16, Rolland teaches the photoinitiator to include acetophenone such as diethoxyacetophenone (page 55).
With regards to claim 17, Rolland teaches the composition to polymerize/cure under ultraviolet (UV) light (pages 18-19).
Conclusion
/JESSICA WHITELEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763