Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/12/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 3 ends reciting “and wherein the” which is a dangling limitation. The above quoted limitation should be removed. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent No. (“Gayaldo”).
Regarding claim 1, Gayaldo discloses a method comprising:
detecting, by an intermediary device (fig. 1, server 200), an outgoing call initiated by a user device and bound for a recipient network (col. 8, FIG. 1, server 200 may recognize audio call 110 from first device 100 based on second telephone number dialed by the first device 100);
based on detecting the outgoing call, establishing a communication channel between the intermediary device and the user device (col. 8, first device 100 communicates data 120 to server 200 via a different channel than audio call 110);
causing, at the user device, and via the communication channel between the intermediary device and the user device, one or more outputs configured to solicit one or more user inputs from a user of the user device; receiving, based on the one or more outputs, the one or more user inputs (App and/or server may provide other prompts to user, such as without limitation a request for user to specify a device user wishes to appear as caller ID on first destination device as provided in further detail below; user may enter desired caller ID information and/or select desired caller ID information from a list including two or more telephone numbers);
converting the one or more user inputs to rich call data; encoding the rich call data into the outgoing call; and sending the outgoing call to the recipient network (col. 8, a second audio call 210 is communicated from the server 200 to the first destination device 300 via the PSTN 400; second audio call may be placed using first destination device telephone number of first destination device 300. Second audio call 210 connects the first destination device 300 with the first device 100. The server 200 causes predetermined caller ID 225, for instance as received in data 120, to be displayed on the screen, or display, 301 of the first destination device 300 during the second audio call 210 rather than the first caller ID of the first device 100).
Regarding claim 2, Gayaldo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the user device comprises one or more of: a cell phone, a plain old telephone system (POTS) device, a smart phone, a voice over internet protocol (VOIP) device, or a computer, and wherein the intermediary device is in an originating network (Fig. 1, user device 100 including without limitation a mobile telephonic device such as a cellular phone, digital phone, tablet enabled to place phone calls, or the like; Fig. 1, server 200 of receiving network).
Regarding claim 3, Gayaldo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more outputs comprise one or more prompts and wherein the one or more outputs are associated with one or more preconfigured menus and wherein the one or more user inputs comprise a caller, a reason for the call, a logo or a photo (col. 5, lines 10-15, may prompt user to select one of the multiple predetermined caller IDs).
Regarding claim 4, Gayaldo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the outgoing call comprises one or more of: a session initiation protocol (SIP) invite, a plain old telephony service (POTS) call, voice over internet protocol (VOIP) call, video call, cellular call, voice over LTE call, Wi-Fi call, application message, push-to-talk (PTT) call, or emergency network call (col. 4, lines 28-30, providing caller ID over the Public switched network, PSTN).
Regarding claim 5, Gayaldo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the rich call data comprises: receiving the one or more user inputs; and converting the one or more user inputs, via voice to text conversion, the one or more user inputs to the rich call data (col. 25, lines 10-16, each verbal prompt by server may be performed using any suitable text-to-speech protocol and/or process; each verbal response from any user may be converted to text for comparison to and/or retrieval of data on server using any suitable speech-to-text protocol and/or process.
Regarding claim 6, Gayaldo discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising causing a recipient device to output the rich call data (col. 8, lines 59-67, the server 200 causes predetermined caller ID 225, for instance as received in data 120, to be displayed on the screen, or display, 301 of the first destination device 300 during the second audio call 210 rather than the first caller ID of the first device 100).
Regarding claim 8, Gayaldo discloses a method comprising:
sending, by a user device (fig. 1, first device 100), towards a recipient network (fig. 1, PSTN 400), an outgoing call (fig. 9, first audio call from a first device via a PSTN having a first caller ID 5010);
based on sending the outgoing call, receiving, from an intermediary device (server 200), one or more outputs configured to solicit one or more user inputs (col. 5, lines 12-15, where there is a plurality of predetermined caller IDs, app may prompt user to select one of the multiple predetermined caller IDs, for instance and without limitation via a user interface component such as a radio button, drop-down list, or the like; in reference to the app and claimed intermediary device, col. 7, lines 24-40 App and/or server may provide other prompts to user, such as without limitation a request for user to specify a device user wishes to appear as caller ID on first destination device);
converting the one or more user inputs to rich call data (fig. 9, receive data from the first device via a channel different from the PSTN 5020; col. 8, a second audio call 210 is communicated from the server 200 to the first destination device 300 via the PSTN 400, the received data from the first device is sent to the first destination device as replacement caller ID or rich call data); and
sending, towards the recipient network, the rich call data, wherein the rich call data is configured to be inserted into the outgoing call (second audio call may be placed using first destination device telephone number of first destination device 300; fig. 9, provide to the second device a predetermined caller ID that differs from the first caller ID 5050).
Regarding claim 9, Gayaldo discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the user device comprises one or more of: a cell phone, a plain old telephone system (POTS) device, a smart phone, a voice over internet protocol (VOIP) device, or a computer, and wherein the intermediary device is in an originating network (Fig. 1, user device 100 including without limitation a mobile telephonic device such as a cellular phone, digital phone, tablet enabled to place phone calls, or the like; Fig. 1, server 200 of receiving network).
Regarding claim 10, Gayaldo discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the one or more outputs comprise one or more prompts and wherein the one or more outputs are associated with one or more preconfigured menus (col. 5, lines 10-15, may prompt user to select one of the multiple predetermined caller IDs).
Regarding claim 11, Gayaldo discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the outgoing call comprises one or more of: a session initiation protocol (SIP) invite, a plain old telephony service (POTS) call, voice over internet protocol (VOIP) call, video call, cellular call, voice over LTE call, Wi-Fi call, application message, push-to-talk (PTT) call, or emergency network call (col. 4, lines 28-30, providing caller ID over the Public switched network, PSTN).
Regarding claim 12, Gayaldo discloses the method of claim 8, wherein sending the rich call data comprises encoding, in the outgoing call, the one or more user inputs as the rich call data (Fig. 1, destination network 400 of the first destination device 300).
Regarding claim 13, Gayaldo discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising causing the outgoing call to leave an originating network and enter the recipient network (fig. 1, call passes from originating PSTN as audio call 110 to recipient PSTN as audio call 210).
Regarding claim 14, Gayaldo discloses the method of claim 8, further causing output at a recipient device the rich call data (col. 8, lines 59-67, the server 200 causes predetermined caller ID 225, for instance as received in data 120, to be displayed on the screen, or display, 301 of the first destination device 300 during the second audio call 210 rather than the first caller ID of the first device 100).
Regarding claim 15, Gayaldo discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a switch device, an outgoing call from a user device (first device 100) and bound for a recipient network (PSTN 400 of first destination device 300) (Call forwarding may be performed, without limitation, by any call-forwarding system implemented within a PSTN, including without limitation configuration of one or more switches, servers, or cloud servers (not shown) in PSTN to forward a call to first forwarding number);
routing, to an intermediary device (server 200), the outgoing call (col. 8, FIG. 1, server 200 may recognize audio call 110 from first device 100 based on second telephone number dialed by the first device 100);
receiving, from the intermediary device, one or more outputs configured to solicit one or more user inputs; sending, to the user device, the one or more outputs (in reference to the cited app/server corresponding to the claimed intermediary device, col. 7, lines 24-40 App and/or server may provide other prompts to user, such as without limitation a request for user to specify a device user wishes to appear as caller ID on first destination device);
receiving, from the user device, based on the one or more outputs, the one or more user inputs; encoding, into the outgoing call, the one or more user inputs as rich call data (fig. 9, receive data from the first device via a channel different from the PSTN 5020; col. 8, a second audio call 210 is communicated from the server 200 to the first destination device 300 via the PSTN 400, the received data from the first device is sent to the first destination device as replacement caller ID or rich call data); and
causing the outgoing call and the rich call data to be sent (col. 8, a second audio call 210 is communicated from the server 200 to the first destination device 300 via the PSTN 400; second audio call may be placed using first destination device telephone number of first destination device 300. Second audio call 210 connects the first destination device 300 with the first device 100. The server 200 causes predetermined caller ID 225, for instance as received in data 120, to be displayed on the screen, or display, 301 of the first destination device 300 during the second audio call 210 rather than the first caller ID of the first device 100).
Regarding claim 16, Gayaldo discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the user device comprises one or more of: a cell phone, a plain old telephone system (POTS) device, a smart phone, a voice over internet protocol (VOIP) device, or a computer, and wherein the intermediary device is in an originating network (Fig. 1, user device 100 including without limitation a mobile telephonic device such as a cellular phone, digital phone, tablet enabled to place phone calls, or the like; Fig. 1, server 200 of receiving network).
Regarding claim 17, Gayaldo discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the intermediary device is in a call interceptor device, wherein the one or more outputs comprise one or more prompts and wherein the one or more outputs are associated with one or more preconfigured menus (in reference to the call interceptor device, col. 8, first device 100 communicates data 120 to server 200 via a different channel than audio call 110; col. 5, lines 12-15, where there is a plurality of predetermined caller IDs, app may prompt user to select one of the multiple predetermined caller IDs).
Regarding claim 18, Gayaldo discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the outgoing call comprises one or more of: a session initiation protocol (SIP) invite, a plain old telephony service (POTS) call, voice over internet protocol (VOIP) call, video call, cellular call, voice over LTE call, Wi-Fi call, application message, push-to-talk (PTT) call, or emergency network call (col. 4, lines 28-30, providing caller ID over the Public switched network, PSTN).
Regarding claim 19, the method of claim 15, wherein sending the one or more prompts comprises determining a preconfigured prompt menu associated with the user device (col. 5, lines 10-15, may prompt user to select one of the multiple predetermined caller IDs).
Regarding claim 20, Gayaldo discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising causing the one or more user inputs to be output on a recipient device (col. 8, lines 59-67, the server 200 causes predetermined caller ID 225, for instance as received in data 120, to be displayed on the screen, or display, 301 of the first destination device 300 during the second audio call 210 rather than the first caller ID of the first device 100).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 11,477,321 (“Gayaldo”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 9,131,358 (“Nicastro”).
Regarding claim 7, Gayaldo does not specify the method of claim 1, further comprising: detecting one or more prohibited user inputs; and causing the one or more prohibited user inputs to not be output at a recipient device.
In the same field of endeavor, Nicastro also discloses method for customized caller ID. telecommunications provider Caller ID module searching a list of prohibited words for the customized Caller ID information, such as proper names such as Bill, Sally, etc. or generic descriptive words such as grandson, nephew, political parties, hospital, bank, etc., storage means 132 having a list of prohibited words and/or phrases. Telecommunications provider Caller ID module 134 further has the capability of searching this list of prohibited words for the customized Caller ID information. If there is a positive match, telecommunications provider Caller ID module 134 does not replace the telephone account word with the modified word. The telephone account name and not the customized Caller ID information.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to monitor customized caller ID as taught by Nicastro because this helps to prevent the use of a name, word or phrase that would be confusing, misleading or otherwise inappropriate.
Conclusion
/JIRAPON TULOP/Examiner, Art Unit 2693