Response to Amendment
This is in response to Applicant’s request for continued examination which was filed on 07/09/2026 and has been entered. No claims have been amended. No claims have been cancelled. No claims have been added. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application, with claims 1, 8 and 15 being independent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 11,477,321 (“Gayaldo”) in view of US Patent No. 12,368,801 (“Ranalli”).
Regarding claim 1, Gayaldo discloses a method comprising:
detecting, by an intermediary device (fig. 1, server 200), an outgoing call initiated by a user device and bound for a recipient network (col. 8, FIG. 1, server 200 may recognize audio call 110 from first device 100 based on second telephone number dialed by the first device 100);
based on detecting the outgoing call, establishing a communication channel between the intermediary device and the user device (col. 8, first device 100 communicates data 120 to server 200 via a different channel than audio call 110);
causing, at the user device, and via the communication channel between the intermediary device and the user device, one or more outputs configured to solicit one or more user inputs from a user of the user device; receiving, based on the one or more outputs, the one or more user inputs (App and/or server may provide other prompts to user, such as without limitation a request for user to specify a device user wishes to appear as caller ID on first destination device as provided in further detail below; user may enter desired caller ID information and/or select desired caller ID information from a list including two or more telephone numbers); and
sending the outgoing call to the recipient network (col. 8, the server 200 causes predetermined caller ID 225, for instance as received in data 120, to be displayed on the screen, or display, 301 of the first destination device 300 during the second audio call 210 rather than the first caller ID of the first device 100).
Gayaldo does not specify “converting the one or more user inputs to rich call data; encoding the rich call data into the outgoing call”.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ranalli discloses a call enhancement service. A set of verified calling party attributes may include one or more of a calling party name, a calling party logo, a calling party image, and a call reason indicating a purpose of the call initiation request. FIG. 5 depicts an example API function call to an external RCD PASSporT signing function using an HTTPS POST method that returns a base64url encoded signed RCD PASSporT in the form of an SIP IDENTITY header (col. 15, lines 44-67).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the outbound calling system of Gayaldo by encoding the caller information generated as Rich Call Data (RCD) in accordance with techniques taught in Ranalli. The combination both address conveying enhanced caller identity information during call establishment. Implementing Gayaldo’s caller information using the standardized STIR/SHAKEN RCD framework in Ranalli would have provided interoperability across SIP networks, verification of caller attributes and authentication protocols.
Regarding claim 2, Gayaldo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the user device comprises one or more of: a cell phone, a plain old telephone system (POTS) device, a smart phone, a voice over internet protocol (VOIP) device, or a computer, and wherein the intermediary device is in an originating network (Fig. 1, user device 100 including without limitation a mobile telephonic device such as a cellular phone, digital phone, tablet enabled to place phone calls, or the like; Fig. 1, server 200 of receiving network).
Regarding claim 3, Gayaldo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more outputs comprise one or more prompts and wherein the one or more outputs are associated with one or more preconfigured menus and wherein the one or more user inputs comprise a caller, a reason for the call, a logo or a photo (col. 5, lines 10-15, may prompt user to select one of the multiple predetermined caller IDs).
Regarding claim 4, Gayaldo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the outgoing call comprises one or more of: a session initiation protocol (SIP) invite, a plain old telephony service (POTS) call, voice over internet protocol (VOIP) call, video call, cellular call, voice over LTE call, Wi-Fi call, application message, push-to-talk (PTT) call, or emergency network call (col. 4, lines 28-30, providing caller ID over the Public switched network, PSTN).
Regarding claim 5, Gayaldo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the rich call data comprises: receiving the one or more user inputs; and converting the one or more user inputs, via voice to text conversion, the one or more user inputs to the rich call data (col. 25, lines 10-16, each verbal prompt by server may be performed using any suitable text-to-speech protocol and/or process; each verbal response from any user may be converted to text for comparison to and/or retrieval of data on server using any suitable speech-to-text protocol and/or process.
Regarding claim 6, Gayaldo discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising causing a recipient device to output the rich call data (col. 8, lines 59-67, the server 200 causes predetermined caller ID 225, for instance as received in data 120, to be displayed on the screen, or display, 301 of the first destination device 300 during the second audio call 210 rather than the first caller ID of the first device 100).
Regarding claim 8, Gayaldo discloses a method comprising:
sending, by a user device (fig. 1, first device 100), towards a recipient network (fig. 1, PSTN 400), an outgoing call (fig. 9, first audio call from a first device via a PSTN having a first caller ID 5010);
based on sending the outgoing call, receiving, from an intermediary device (server 200), one or more outputs configured to solicit one or more user inputs (col. 5, lines 12-15, where there is a plurality of predetermined caller IDs, app may prompt user to select one of the multiple predetermined caller IDs, for instance and without limitation via a user interface component such as a radio button, drop-down list, or the like; in reference to the app and claimed intermediary device, col. 7, lines 24-40 App and/or server may provide other prompts to user, such as without limitation a request for user to specify a device user wishes to appear as caller ID on first destination device);
sending the outgoing call to the recipient network (col. 8, the server 200 causes predetermined caller ID 225, for instance as received in data 120, to be displayed on the screen, or display, 301 of the first destination device 300 during the second audio call 210 rather than the first caller ID of the first device 100).
Gayaldo does not specify “converting the one or more user inputs to rich call data; encoding the rich call data into the outgoing call”.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ranalli discloses a call enhancement service. A set of verified calling party attributes may include one or more of a calling party name, a calling party logo, a calling party image, and a call reason indicating a purpose of the call initiation request. FIG. 5 depicts an example API function call to an external RCD PASSporT signing function using an HTTPS POST method that returns a base64url encoded signed RCD PASSporT in the form of an SIP IDENTITY header (col. 15, lines 44-67).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the outbound calling system of Gayaldo by encoding the caller information generated as Rich Call Data (RCD) in accordance with techniques taught in Ranalli. The combination both address conveying enhanced caller identity information during call establishment. Implementing Gayaldo’s caller information using the standardized STIR/SHAKEN RCD framework in Ranalli would have provided interoperability across SIP networks, verification of caller attributes and authentication protocols.
Regarding claim 9, Gayaldo discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the user device comprises one or more of: a cell phone, a plain old telephone system (POTS) device, a smart phone, a voice over internet protocol (VOIP) device, or a computer, and wherein the intermediary device is in an originating network (Fig. 1, user device 100 including without limitation a mobile telephonic device such as a cellular phone, digital phone, tablet enabled to place phone calls, or the like; Fig. 1, server 200 of receiving network).
Regarding claim 10, Gayaldo discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the one or more outputs comprise one or more prompts and wherein the one or more outputs are associated with one or more preconfigured menus (col. 5, lines 10-15, may prompt user to select one of the multiple predetermined caller IDs).
Regarding claim 11, Gayaldo discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the outgoing call comprises one or more of: a session initiation protocol (SIP) invite, a plain old telephony service (POTS) call, voice over internet protocol (VOIP) call, video call, cellular call, voice over LTE call, Wi-Fi call, application message, push-to-talk (PTT) call, or emergency network call (col. 4, lines 28-30, providing caller ID over the Public switched network, PSTN).
Regarding claim 12, Gayaldo discloses the method of claim 8, wherein sending the rich call data comprises encoding, in the outgoing call, the one or more user inputs as the rich call data (Fig. 1, destination network 400 of the first destination device 300).
Regarding claim 13, Gayaldo discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising causing the outgoing call to leave an originating network and enter the recipient network (fig. 1, call passes from originating PSTN as audio call 110 to recipient PSTN as audio call 210).
Regarding claim 14, Gayaldo discloses the method of claim 8, further causing output at a recipient device the rich call data (col. 8, lines 59-67, the server 200 causes predetermined caller ID 225, for instance as received in data 120, to be displayed on the screen, or display, 301 of the first destination device 300 during the second audio call 210 rather than the first caller ID of the first device 100).
Regarding claim 15, Gayaldo discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a switch device, an outgoing call from a user device (first device 100) and bound for a recipient network (PSTN 400 of first destination device 300) (Call forwarding may be performed, without limitation, by any call-forwarding system implemented within a PSTN, including without limitation configuration of one or more switches, servers, or cloud servers (not shown) in PSTN to forward a call to first forwarding number);
routing, to an intermediary device (server 200), the outgoing call (col. 8, FIG. 1, server 200 may recognize audio call 110 from first device 100 based on second telephone number dialed by the first device 100);
receiving, from the intermediary device, one or more outputs configured to solicit one or more user inputs; sending, to the user device, the one or more outputs (in reference to the cited app/server corresponding to the claimed intermediary device, col. 7, lines 24-40 App and/or server may provide other prompts to user, such as without limitation a request for user to specify a device user wishes to appear as caller ID on first destination device);
receiving, from the user device, based on the one or more outputs, the one or more user inputs; and
sending the outgoing call to the recipient network (col. 8, the server 200 causes predetermined caller ID 225, for instance as received in data 120, to be displayed on the screen, or display, 301 of the first destination device 300 during the second audio call 210 rather than the first caller ID of the first device 100).
Gayaldo does not specify “converting the one or more user inputs to rich call data; encoding the rich call data into the outgoing call”.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ranalli discloses a call enhancement service. A set of verified calling party attributes may include one or more of a calling party name, a calling party logo, a calling party image, and a call reason indicating a purpose of the call initiation request. FIG. 5 depicts an example API function call to an external RCD PASSporT signing function using an HTTPS POST method that returns a base64url encoded signed RCD PASSporT in the form of an SIP IDENTITY header (col. 15, lines 44-67).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the outbound calling system of Gayaldo by encoding the caller information generated as Rich Call Data (RCD) in accordance with techniques taught in Ranalli. The combination both address conveying enhanced caller identity information during call establishment. Implementing Gayaldo’s caller information using the standardized STIR/SHAKEN RCD framework in Ranalli would have provided interoperability across SIP networks, verification of caller attributes and authentication protocols.
Regarding claim 16, Gayaldo discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the user device comprises one or more of: a cell phone, a plain old telephone system (POTS) device, a smart phone, a voice over internet protocol (VOIP) device, or a computer, and wherein the intermediary device is in an originating network (Fig. 1, user device 100 including without limitation a mobile telephonic device such as a cellular phone, digital phone, tablet enabled to place phone calls, or the like; Fig. 1, server 200 of receiving network).
Regarding claim 17, Gayaldo discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the intermediary device is in a call interceptor device, wherein the one or more outputs comprise one or more prompts and wherein the one or more outputs are associated with one or more preconfigured menus (in reference to the call interceptor device, col. 8, first device 100 communicates data 120 to server 200 via a different channel than audio call 110; col. 5, lines 12-15, where there is a plurality of predetermined caller IDs, app may prompt user to select one of the multiple predetermined caller IDs).
Regarding claim 18, Gayaldo discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the outgoing call comprises one or more of: a session initiation protocol (SIP) invite, a plain old telephony service (POTS) call, voice over internet protocol (VOIP) call, video call, cellular call, voice over LTE call, Wi-Fi call, application message, push-to-talk (PTT) call, or emergency network call (col. 4, lines 28-30, providing caller ID over the Public switched network, PSTN).
Regarding claim 19, the method of claim 15, wherein sending the one or more prompts comprises determining a preconfigured prompt menu associated with the user device (col. 5, lines 10-15, may prompt user to select one of the multiple predetermined caller IDs).
Regarding claim 20, Gayaldo discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising causing the one or more user inputs to be output on a recipient device (col. 8, lines 59-67, the server 200 causes predetermined caller ID 225, for instance as received in data 120, to be displayed on the screen, or display, 301 of the first destination device 300 during the second audio call 210 rather than the first caller ID of the first device 100).
6. Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 11,477,321 (“Gayaldo”) in view of US Patent No. 12,368,801 (“Ranalli”) and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 9,131,358 (“Nicastro”).
Regarding claim 7, Gayaldo does not specify the method of claim 1, further comprising: detecting one or more prohibited user inputs; and causing the one or more prohibited user inputs to not be output at a recipient device.
In the same field of endeavor, Nicastro also discloses method for customized caller ID. telecommunications provider Caller ID module searching a list of prohibited words for the customized Caller ID information, such as proper names such as Bill, Sally, etc. or generic descriptive words such as grandson, nephew, political parties, hospital, bank, etc., storage means 132 having a list of prohibited words and/or phrases. Telecommunications provider Caller ID module 134 further has the capability of searching this list of prohibited words for the customized Caller ID information. If there is a positive match, telecommunications provider Caller ID module 134 does not replace the telephone account word with the modified word. The telephone account name and not the customized Caller ID information.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to monitor customized caller ID as taught by Nicastro because this helps to prevent the use of a name, word or phrase that would be confusing, misleading or otherwise inappropriate.
Conclusion
/JIRAPON TULOP/Examiner, Art Unit 2693