Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-9, 12-13, 17-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Hohman (US 2019/0080553).
Claim 1. Hohman discloses a gaming machine comprising:
a cabinet defining an internal space (26 in Fig. 2B); and
a display mountable to the cabinet and at least partly covering the internal space in a closed position (28a, 28c in Figs. 1, 2B) ;
wherein the display is hingedly connected to the cabinet to provide access to the internal space (hinges at end of arms 66, 68, 70 in Fig. 2B); and
wherein the display is pivotable about a first hinge in a first direction from the closed position to a first position (First hinge at the top end of the arm 66 in Fig. 2B, to move or pivot the display to outward position from the first position as illustrated in Figs. 2B and 3B) and pivotable in a second direction about a second hinge from the first position to a second position, the second direction being different to the first direction (second hinge at the top end of the arm 68 connect to the display/door in Fig. 3A, which allows the display to pivot in a downward position. See Figs. 2A, 3A, and 4A.).
Claim 2. Hohman the gaming machine of claim 1, comprising a mounting assembly for hingedly connecting the display to the cabinet (arms 66, 68 and 70 in Figs. 3A-4B), wherein the mounting assembly is hingedly connected to the cabinet at the first hinge (top of arm 66 See Figs. 3A-4B) and hingedly connected to the display at the second hinge (end of arm 68 in Fig. 3A).
Claim 3. Hohman discloses the gaming machine of claim 2, wherein the mounting assembly comprises a mounting arm supporting the display, the first hinge being located at or adjacent a first end of the mounting arm (top of arm 66 See Figs. 3a-4b) and the second hinge being located at or adjacent a second end of the mounting arm (end of arm 68 in Fig. 3a) (It is interpreted at arms 66 and 68 is a jointed arm).
Claim 4. Hohman discloses the gaming machine of claim 2, wherein the first hinge is at or adjacent a top of the cabinet and the second hinge is located towards or adjacent a lower end of the mounting assembly (First hinge at top of arm 66 and second hinge at lower end of 68 in fig. 2B
Claim 8. Hohman discloses the gaming machine of claim 1, wherein the display moves along an arcuate path from the closed position to the first position (Figs. 2b and 3b) and the display moves along another arcuate path from the first position to the second position (Figs. 2b,3a, 4a)
Claim 9. Hohman discloses the gaming machine of claim 1, wherein the display in the second position extends away from the cabinet such that an upper end of the display is distal from the cabinet and a lower end of the display is proximal to the cabinet (I.e. Figs. 3a-4b).
Claim 12. Hohman discloses a gaming machine comprising:
a cabinet defining an internal space (26 in Fig. 2B);
a display mountable to the cabinet and at least partly covering the internal space in a closed position (28a, 28c in Figs. 1, 2B);
a first hinge for pivoting the display in an upward direction relative to the cabinet (First hinge at the top end of the arm 66 in Fig. 66, to move or pivot the display to outward and upward position from the first position as illustrated in Figs. 2B and 3B) ; and
a second hinge for pivoting the display in a downward direction relative to the cabinet (second hinge at the top end of the arm 68 connect to the display/door in fig. 3a, which allows the display to pivot in a downward position. See Figs. 2a, 3a, and 4a.); and
wherein the display is pivotable about the first hinge from the closed position to a first position and pivotable about the second hinge from the first position to a second position (Figs. 2A-4B).
Claim 13. Hohman discloses the gaming machine of claim 12, comprising a mounting assembly for hingedly connecting the display to the cabinet (arms 66, 68 and 70 in Figs. 3A-4B), wherein the mounting assembly is hingedly connected to the cabinet at the first hinge (top of arm 66 See Figs. 3A-4B) and is hingedly connected to the display at the second hinge (end of arm 68 in Fig. 3A).
Claim 17. Hohman discloses the gaming machine of claim 12, wherein the display moves along an arcuate path from the closed position to the first position (Figs. 2b and 3b) and the display moves along another arcuate path from the first position to the second position (Figs. 2b,3a, 4a).
Claim 18. Hohman discloses a method of maintenance or repair of a gaming machine, the gaming machine comprising a cabinet and a display mountable to the cabinet, wherein the cabinet defines an internal space and the display at least partly covers the internal space in a closed position, and the display is hingedly connected to the cabinet to provide access to the internal space, the method comprising the steps of (Fig. 2A):
pivoting the display in a first direction about a first hinge from the closed position to a first position (First hinge at the top end of the arm 66 in Fig. 66, to move or pivot the display to outward and upward position from the first position as illustrated in Figs. 2B and 3B); and
pivoting the display in a second direction about a second hinge from the first position to a second position; wherein the first direction is different to the second direction (second hinge at the top end of the arm 68 connect to the display/door in fig. 3a, which allows the display to pivot in a downward position. See Figs. 2a, 3a, and 4a.).
Claim 20. The method of claim 18, comprising moving the display along an arcuate path from the closed position to the first position (Figs. 2b and 3b) and moving the display along another arcuate path from the first position to the second position (Figs. 2b,3a, 4a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7, 15-16, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hohman (US 2019/0080553) as applied to claims 1-2, 12, 18 above, and further in view of Ikeda (US 2005/0137019)
Claim 5. Hohman discloses the gaming machine of claim 2, wherein the display is connected to the first hinge (Display is supported by frame connected to the first hinge; Fig. 3a; paragraph 42). However, Hohman fails to explicitly teach that the display is detachably connected. Nevertheless, such modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art. In analogous art to gaming machines, Ikeda discloses a gaming machine in which the display device is detachably attached to the cabinet (paragraph 7). This allows the display device to be serviced and replaced. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Hohman’s invention before the effective filing date and detachably connect the display device in order to provide the predictable result of allowing the display device to be serviced and replaced.
Claim 6. Hohman discloses the gaming machine of claim 1, wherein the display is connected to the first hinge (Display is supported by the frame connected to the first hinge; Fig. 3a; paragraph 42). However, Hohman fails to explicitly teach that the display is detachably connected. Nevertheless, such modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art. In analogous art to gaming machines, Ikeda discloses a gaming machine in which the display device is detachably attached to the cabinet (paragraph 7). This allows the display device to be serviced and replaced. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Hohman’s invention before the effective filing date and detachably connect the display device in order to provide the predictable result of allowing the display device to be serviced and replaced.
Claim 7. Hohman discloses the gaming machine of claim 1 as discussed above but fails to teach that the display is removable from the cabinet in the second position. Nevertheless, such modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art. Hohman discloses the second position allows access to the interior of the gaming machine including the display device. In analogous art to gaming machines, Ikeda discloses a gaming machine in which the display device is detachably attached to the cabinet (paragraph 7). This allows the display device to be serviced and replaced. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hohman’s invention incorporate a display device that is removable from the cabinet in the second position in order to provide the predictable result of allowing the display device to be serviced and replaced.
Claims 15-16, 19. See rejection for claims 5-7 above.
Claim 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hohman (US 2019/0080553) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nagano (US 2009/0253486)
Claim 10. Hohman the claimed invention as discussed above, further comprising a secondary display mounted above the display (28 B in Fig. 1) but fails to teach that the secondary display is pivotable about a third hinge from a closed position of the secondary display to an open position of the secondary display. Nevertheless, such modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art. In analogous art to gaming machines, Nagano discloses a secondary display device (3a-3d) mounted above a primary display device (Fig. 2). Nagano discloses that the display device is pivotable about a hinge from a closed position of the secondary display to an open position of the secondary display (Fig. 6J, paragraph 82). This allows the access to different interior region and maintenance on the display (paragraph 82). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Hohman’s invention before the effective filing date and incorporate a hinge as claimed in order to provide the predictable result of allowing access and performing maintenance.
Claim 11. Nagano discloses the gaming machine of claim 10, wherein the secondary display is mounted to the cabinet via a support structure (2 in Fig. 3), wherein the secondary display is hingedly connected to the support structure at the third hinge and the support structure comprises a base portion for supporting the secondary display (Fig. 3, 6A, 6J, and 6K) and a bridging portion connecting the secondary display to the cabinet (8a and 8b in Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Hohman’s invention before the effective filing date and incorporate the support structure as claimed in order to provide the predictable result of mounting a secondary or plurality of displays.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hohman (US 2019/0080553) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Chaudhari (US 2021/0095505).
Claim 14. Hohman the gaming machine of claim 13, wherein: the mounting assembly comprises a mounting arm for supporting the display;
a first hinge located at or adjacent a top of the cabinet and at or adjacent respective upper end of the mounting arm (located at top of arm 66 in Figs 3A-4B); and
a second hinge located towards a lower end of the display and at or adjacent respective lower end of the mounting arms (end of arm 68 connected to the display in Figs. 3A-4B).
However, Hohman fails to teach at least two mounting arms, at least two first hinges and at least two second hinges. Nevertheless, such modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art. An additional mounting arm with hinges will provide additional support to the display device. In analogous art to gaming machines Chaudhari discloses a display device mounted using two arms (Fig. 13), each arm comprising a first hinge (hinge portion with pivot 368 in Fig. 5) and a second hinge (hinge portion with pivot 358 in Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Hohman’s invention before the effective filing date and incorporate the at least two mounting arms as claimed in order to provide the predictable result of providing additional support to the display device.
Conclusion
/JASSON H YOO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715