DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15, 17-24 and 26-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 19-23 of U.S. Patent No. 11,815,656. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reason.
Regarding claims 1-15, 17-24 and 26-27, the patented claims recite the same article as claimed in present claims.
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 is amended to recite “a group”. It should be “the group”.
Claim 19 is amended to recite “a group”. It should be “the group”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kobayashi et al. (WO 2011048913).
Regarding claim 27, Kobayashi discloses a resin coating composition on a leather, i.e. an article comprising a substrate and a film disposed on the substrate, (abstract) wherein the film contains a resin (page 3), azomethine black pigment (page 3), composite oxides of two or more metals that can include titanium, iron and zinc (page 3). Given that the composite oxides is the same as claimed in present claim, it is clear that the composite oxides particles of Kobayashi would inherently act as a photocatalyst as presently claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards et al. (US 2013/0048925) in view of Sakagami et al. (CN 102575128 A).
Regarding claims 1, 4, 6, and 10, Edwards (Example 1A, 0067) teaches a test paint film formed on an opacity chart (substrate) from a paint that comprises PY128 pigment (azo-based particle) (0064-0065), titanium dioxide particles (0064-0065), an acrylic resin (0064-0065) and titanium dioxide particles coated with silica (0041-0042).
Edwards (0046) teaches azo-based particles and additional metals that can be included in the titanium dioxide particles, but does not limit azomethine black and metals to those disclosed.
Sakagami (Paragraph 66) teaches an azomethine black pigment (Paragraphs 61 and 41) and composite oxide particles that are useful in infrared reflective coatings include composite oxides of two or more metals that can include titanium, iron and zinc.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an azomethine black pigment, as the black azo pigment of Edwards, and composite particles of Sakagami instead of titanium oxide particles of Edwards in order to have a specific azo black pigment that has been shown to be effective for an infrared reflective paint by Sakagami. Further, given that the composite oxides is the same as claimed in present claim, it is clear that the composite oxides particles of Edwards in view of Kobayashi would act as a photocatalyst as presently claimed.
Given that Edwards in view of Sakagami can arrive at a lightness value that can be the same as in the instant application, using a combination of the same type of materials that can be adjusted for a desired color and lightness, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the teachings of Edwards in view of Sakagami would encompass articles with area as claimed, barring evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 3, Edwards in view of Sakagami discloses the article of claim 1, wherein the lightness value L* (brightness as used in the instant application) of the article can be 75 or less (0055).
Regarding claims 2 and 5, given that Edwards can arrive at a lightness value that can be the same as in the instant application, using a combination of the same type of materials that can be adjusted for a desired color and lightness, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the teachings of Edwards would encompass articles with area percentages as claimed, barring evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 8, Edwards in view of Sakagami discloses the article of claim 1, the coatings of Edwards can further comprise silica particles (0041-0042).
Regarding claim 9, Edwards in view of Sakagami discloses the article of claim 8, wherein the lightness value L* (brightness as used in the instant application) of the article can be 75 or less (0055).
Regarding claims 11, 12, 14, 15, and 19, Edwards (Example 1A, 0067) teaches a test paint film formed on an opacity chart (substrate) from a paint that comprises PY128 pigment (azo-based particle) (0064-0065), titanium dioxide particles (0064-0065), an acrylic resin (0064-0065) and titanium dioxide particles coated with silica (0041-0042).
Edwards (0046) teaches azo-based particles and additional metals that can be included in the titanium dioxide particles, but does not limit azomethine black and metals to those disclosed.
Sakagami (Paragraph 66) teaches an azomethine black pigment (Paragraphs 61 and 41) and composite oxide particles that are useful in infrared reflective coatings include composite oxides of two or more metals that can include titanium, iron and zinc.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an azomethine black pigment, as the black azo pigment of Edwards, and composite particles of Sakagami instead of titanium oxide particles of Edwards in order to have a specific azo black pigment that has been shown to be effective for an infrared reflective paint by Sakagami. Given that Edwards can arrive at a lightness value that can be the same as in the instant application, using a combination of the same type of materials that can be adjusted for a desired color and lightness, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the teachings of Edwards in view of Sakagami would encompass articles with area percentages as claimed, barring evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 13, Edwards in view of Sakagami discloses the article of claim 11, wherein the lightness value L* (brightness as used in the instant application) of the article can be 75 or less (0055).
Regarding claim 16, Edwards in view of Sakagami discloses the article of claim 11, but does not specifically disclose the content of the resin is 100 wt% and a content of the titanium oxide particle coated with silica is 10 to 70 wt%.
Since the instant specification is silent to unexpected results, the specific amounts of the resin and titanium oxide particle coated with silica are not considered to confer patentability to the claims. As the infrared reflectivity is a variable that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the amounts of the resin and titanium oxide particle coated with silica, the precise amounts would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed amounts cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the amounts of the resin and titanium oxide particle coated with silica in the coating to obtain the desired infrared reflectivity (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding claim 17, Edwards in view of Sakagami discloses the article of claim 11, the coatings of Edwards can further comprise silica particles (0041-0042).
Regarding claim 18, Edwards in view of Sakagami discloses the article of claim 17, wherein the lightness value L* (brightness as used in the instant application) of the article can be 75 or less (0055).
Regarding claims 20, 21, 22, 23 and 24, Edwards (Example 1A, Pages 14-15, Paragraph 18) teaches a paint that comprises PY128 pigment (azo-based particle) (0064-0065), titanium dioxide particles coated with silica (0041-0042) and an acrylic resin (0064-0065).
Edwards (Paragraph 32) teaches azo-based particles and additional metals that can be included in the titanium dioxide particles, but does not limit azomethine black and metals to those disclosed.
Sakagami (Paragraph 66) teaches an azomethine black pigment (Paragraphs 61 and 41) and composite oxide particles that are useful in infrared reflective coatings include composite oxides of two or more metals that can include titanium, iron and zinc.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an azomethine black pigment, as the black azo pigment of Edwards, and composite particles of Sakagami instead of titanium oxide particles of Edwards in order to have a specific azo black pigment that has been shown to be effective for an infrared reflective paint by Sakagami. Given that Edwards can arrive at a lightness value that can be the same as in the instant application, using a combination of the same type of materials that can be adjusted for a desired color and lightness, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the teachings of Edwards in view of Sakagami would encompass articles with area percentages as claimed, barring evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 25, Edwards in view of Sakagami discloses the article of claim 11, but does not specifically disclose the content of the resin is 100 wt% and a content of the titanium oxide particle coated with silica is 10 to 70 wt%.
Since the instant specification is silent to unexpected results, the specific amounts of the resin and titanium oxide particle coated with silica are not considered to confer patentability to the claims. As the infrared reflectivity is a variable that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the amounts of the resin and titanium oxide particle coated with silica, the precise amounts would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed amounts cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the amounts of the resin and titanium oxide particle coated with silica in the coating to obtain the desired infrared reflectivity (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding claim 26, Edwards in view of Sakagami discloses the article of claim 25, the coatings of Edwards can further comprise silica particles (0041-0042).
Regarding claim 27, Edwards (Example 1A, 0067) teaches a test paint film formed on an opacity chart (substrate) from a paint that comprises PY128 pigment (azo-based particle) (0064-0065), titanium dioxide particles (0064-0065) and an acrylic resin (0064-0065).
Edwards (0046) teaches azo-based particles and additional metals that can be included in the titanium dioxide particles, but does not limit azomethine black and metals to those disclosed.
Sakagami (Paragraph 66) teaches an azomethine black pigment (Paragraphs 61 and 41) and composite oxide particles that are useful in infrared reflective coatings include composite oxides of two or more metals that can include titanium, iron and zinc.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an azomethine black pigment, as the black azo pigment of Edwards, and composite particles of Sakagami instead of titanium oxide particles of Edwards in order to have a specific azo black pigment that has been shown to be effective for an infrared reflective paint by Sakagami. Further, given that the composite oxides is the same as claimed in present claim, it is clear that the composite oxides particles of Edwards in view of Kobayashi would act as a photocatalyst as presently claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding double patenting rejection, applicant argues that the pending claim 1 recites the organic azo-particle is a component of the film. However, applicant’s attention is drawn to patented claim 1 which also discloses organic azo based particle is a component of the film.
Regarding 102 rejection, amended claims overcome the rejection of Kobayashi. However, newly added claim 27 is rejected by Kobayashi as explained above.
Applicant argues that paragraphs 0041-002 of Edwards do not state anything about specifically titanium oxide particle whose surface is coated with specifically silica. However, as applicant pointed in the remarks that paragraph 0041 does disclose titanium oxide and paragraph 0042 does disclose silica as one of the choices. Therefore, the rejection is proper. Further, it is noted that the rejection is based on obviousness.
Applicant argues that because Edwards does not have the combination of features recited by amended claim 1, Edwards does not achieve the properties. However, it is noted that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant argues that Sakagami does not cure the deficiencies of Edwards. However, note that while Sakagami does not disclose all the features of the present claimed invention, Sakagami is used as teaching reference, and therefore, it is not necessary for this secondary reference to contain all the features of the presently claimed invention, In re Nievelt, 482 F.2d 965, 179 USPQ 224, 226 (CCPA 1973), In re Keller 624 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981). Rather this reference teaches a certain concept, namely an azomethine black pigment and composite oxide particles that are useful in infrared reflective coatings include composite oxides of two or more metals that can include titanium, iron and zinc, and in combination with the primary reference, discloses the presently claimed invention.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMIR SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787