DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention 1, Species A in the reply filed on 6/23/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 19 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/23/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alexander (US 2006/0285404).
Alexander discloses a fastening assembly comprising: a trigger assembly comprising: an actuator (button panel 109) configured to be operated by a user; a housing (105, 106, Fig. 2A) comprising a housing connection portion (horizontal surface of 105 around 106 and vertical wall of 106; Fig. 2A, para 0027), wherein the housing is configured to receive the actuator (Fig. 1); and a connector (102) configured to engage the housing connection portion (Fig. 1, para 0027).
Alexander further discloses the at least one connector comprises at least one raised surface defined by an interior surface of the at least one connector (inner surface of upper flap 103); the at least one raised surface of the at least one connector is configured to engage with the housing connection portion (Fig. 1, engages with horizontal portion of 105 around 106); and the housing connection portion comprises at least one raised surface defined by an exterior surface of the housing (outer edge of horizontal portion of 105 around 106), wherein an innermost circumference (perimeter of cutout 110) of the at least one raised surface of the at least one connector is less than an outermost circumference of the at least one raised surface of the housing (Fig. 1).
Alexander further discloses the housing connection portion further comprises: at least one raised surface defined by an exterior surface of the housing (vertical wall of 106, Fig. 1); the at least one raised surface of the housing connection portion is circumferentially disposed around the housing (Fig. 1); the actuator defines a button surface, wherein the button surface is configured to be actuated by a user (buttons 109; functional limitation); the actuator is configured to be disposed at least partially within a cavity of the housing (recess in upper portion of 106).
Alexander further discloses the actuator further defines a hook portion, wherein the hook portion is configured to engage an inwardly facing lip of the housing to retain the actuator (portion holding buttons 109 in place); at least a portion of the actuator is configured to translate from a first position to a second position within the housing during actuation *depressing button; functional limitation); the actuator comprises: at least one electrical contact, wherein the at least one electrical contact is configured to close upon actuation by a user (para 0024, 0025); and the connector comprises a loop of material, wherein the loop of material is configured to be circumferentially disposed around the housing (circumferential portion of 102 around 110).
Claim(s) 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mazzone (US 10817689).
Mazzone discloses a wearable mount comprising: at least one attachment strap (1100) comprising a first portion and a second portion; a fastening assembly (102) configured to secure the at least one attachment strap to a user, the fastening assembly comprising: a trigger assembly (204) connected to the first portion of the at least one attachment strap, the trigger assembly comprising; an actuator configured to be operated by a user (204a); a housing (120) comprising a housing connection portion, wherein the housing is configured to receive the actuator; and a connector (110) connected to the second portion of the at least one attachment strap, the connector being configured to engage the housing connection portion to attach the first portion of the at least one attachment strap with the second portion of the at least one attachment strap; and a device mount (142) connected to the at least one attachment strap, wherein the device mount is configured to engage a wearable device (108).
Mazzone further discloses the at least one attachment strap further comprises: at least one electrical connection device (112), wherein the at least one electrical connection device is embedded within the at least one attachment strap and extends between the actuator and the device mount (Fig. 1); the at least one electrical connection device comprises a wire configured to transmit one or more electrical signals from the device mount to the actuator and/or one or more electrical signals from the actuator to the device mount (col. 9, ll. 45-60); the at least one attachment strap is configured to be secured around a hand and/or wrist of a user (functional/intended use limitation); in an instance in which the at least one attachment strap is secured around the hand and/or the wrist of the user, the actuator is configured to be position adjacent to a thumb of a user (Fig. 2; functional/intended use limitation); and the wearable mount is further configured to secure the wearable device to a user by connecting the wearable device to the device mount and connecting the at least one attachment strap to the user (Fig. 2; functional/intended use limitation).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PETER N HELVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734
July 11, 2025