DETAILED ACTION
Claims 21-28, 30-34, 36-38, 40-43 are pending in the case. Claims 21, 30, and 36 are independent claims. Claims 1-20, 29, 35, and 39 have been canceled.
Double Patenting
Claims 21, 25-27, 30, 32, 36, and 39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4, 11, and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11784540 B2. The claims are anticipated by the claims of the patent.
The claims of the instant application are rejected under double patenting by the following relationship with claims of patent no. 11784540 B2:
18/483,285
US 11784540 B2
(n/m denotes n is dependent of m)
21, 25, 26
4/1
41
5/4/1
30, 32
11/8
36
17/16
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. For example, the similarities between independent claim 1 of the instant application and of patent no. US 11784540 B2 are evidenced below:
18/483,285
US 11784540 B2
21. An adapter for configuring device settings of a gas engine replacement device, the adapter comprising:
a user interface; and
a first electronic processor coupled to the user interface and configured to:
prompt a user to enter a login credential;
establish communication with a second electronic processor of the gas engine replacement device and provide the login credential to the second electronic processor,
retrieve, from the second electronic processor of the gas engine replacement device, present device settings of one or more configurable device settings for the gas engine replacement device permitted to be configured by the user as determined by the second electronic processor based on the login credential,
generate, on the user interface, a graphical user interface including one or more configurable device settings for the gas engine replacement device,
receive a user input, via the user interface, configuring at least one of the one or more configurable device settings,
generate changed device settings for the gas engine replacement device based on the user input, and
enable an operation of the gas engine replacement device in accordance with the changed device settings.
1. An adapter for configuring device settings of a gas engine replacement device, the adapter comprising:
a transceiver for communication with the gas engine replacement device;
a user interface for displaying information and receiving input from a user; and
an electronic processor coupled to the transceiver and the user interface, the electronic processor is configured to:
connect the adapter to the gas engine replacement device,
generate, on the user interface, a graphical user interface showing a plurality of configurable device settings for the gas engine replacement device,
receive a first user input, via the user interface, to select one or more configurable device setting to configure,
receive a second user input, via the user interface, to configure the selected one or more configurable device settings,
generate changed device settings for the gas engine replacement device, and
transmit the changed device settings to the gas engine replacement device, wherein the gas engine replacement device is used to drive power equipment in accordance with the changed device settings.
4. The adapter of claim 1, wherein the electronic processor is further configured to:
receive, via the user interface, login credentials corresponding to an original equipment manufacturer (OEM);
determine that the OEM has permission to configure a first set of the plurality of configurable device settings and does not have permission to configure a second set of the plurality of configurable device settings;
allow configuration of the first set of the plurality of configurable device settings by the user; and
disallow configuration of the second set of the plurality of configurable device settings by the user.
The differences as underlined constitute minor changes in syntax in which the claim of patent no. 10,705,730 B2 teaches the instant application given the more specific corresponding recitations. Moreover, “prompting a user to enter a login credential” is inherently necessary for the user to enter a login credential for successful sign-in. Therefore, the instant claims are anticipated by the claims of the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-41 and 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hagiwara et al. (US 2014/0222980 A1), in view of Puzio et al. (US 2018/0138839 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Hagiwara teaches an adapter for configuring device settings of a (FIG. 1A and [0037-0043], [0048-0053]: for example, an adapter is terminal 153 which configures device settings of devices 104, 105, and/or 106; For supplemental details, see the adapter represented in FIGS. 6A-B and [0078-0079] and the device represented in FIG. 6C and [0090-0097]), the adapter comprising:
a user interface (user interface 101c of FIG. 1A, [0038], and [0048-0050]); and
a first electronic processor coupled to the user interface (processing unit 103a of FIG. 1A and [0050]: processing unit 103a is coupled to the user interface via display unit 103b) and configured to:
prompt a user to enter a login credential (FIG. 7 and [0099], and [0104-0107]: as stated in [0099], “the user successfully signs in, for example, by providing login credentials” in order to access a page seen in FIG. 7. Thus, a user was prompted to enter a login credential in order to successfully sign in and access the main menu),
establish communication with a second electronic processor of the (FIG. 1A and [0037-0052]: the terminal 103 establishes communication with the devices 104, 105, and/or 106. As supported in [0051], “network-connected devices 104-106 may include, for example, a printer, a scanner and/or a multi-function device (MFD)”; FIG. 6C and [0090-0098]: a network connected device as a MFD includes a microprocessor such as controller 692, with which the adapter/terminal 153 establishes communication with via network interface 696 and device settings management unit. As described in [0091], “The controller 692 also utilizes information stored in user management table 697 to authenticate the user and control user access to the functionalities of the MFD 690.” Thus, the login credential is provided to the second electronic processor for authentication),
retrieve, from the second electronic processor of the (FIG. 1A and [0037-0052], FIG. 6C and [0090-0098], FIG. 7 and [0099], and [0104-0107]: present device settings of one or more configurable device settings permitted to be configured by the user are retrieved based on the login credential),
generate, on the user interface, a graphical user interface including the one or more configurable device settings for the (FIG. 9A, [0048], and [0102-0108]: see an exemplary GUI including one or more configurable device settings for a device),
receive a user input, via the user interface, configuring at least one of the one or more configurable device settings (FIG. 9A and [0102-0108] and step S1006 of FIG. 10A and [0110]: a user configures one of the configurable device settings such as one of those seen in FIG. 9A),
generate changed device settings for the (FIG. 1A, [0038], and [0047-0050], steps S1007-S1008 of FIG. 10A and [0110], FIG. 9A and [0102-0103]: changed device settings for the device are generated based on the user input from step S1006), and
enable an operation of the (FIG. 1A, [0038], and [0047-0050], steps S1007-S1008 of FIG. 10A and [0110], FIG. 9A and [0102-0103]: an operation is enabled in accordance with the changed device settings. An operation may be one which corresponds to a configured “General Printing” for example as seen in FIG. 9A).
Hagiwara does not explicitly teach the device being a gas engine replacement device.
Puzio teaches the device being a gas engine replacement device ([0084]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Hagiwara to incorporate the teachings of Puzio and have the device be a gas engine replacement device. Doing so would preclude reliance on gas engines for certain devices or tools that may operate with greater longevity using, instead, electric motor systems. Furthermore, user safety may be increased given the replacement of gas engines in lieu of an electric motor system that may pose lower environmental risks.
Regarding claim 22, Hagiwara in view of Puzio teaches the adapter of claim 21. Hagiwara further teaches wherein the first electronic processor is further configured to:
receive, via the user interface, the login credential for the user (FIG. 7 and [0099], and [0104-0107]: as stated in [0099], “the user successfully signs in, for example, by providing login credentials”; FIG. 6C and [0090-0098]: a network connected device as a MFD includes a microprocessor such as controller 692, with which the adapter/terminal 153 establishes communication with via network interface 696 and device settings management unit. As described in [0091], “The controller 692 also utilizes information stored in user management table 697 to authenticate the user and control user access to the functionalities of the MFD 690.” Thus, the login credential is provided to the second electronic processor for authentication), and
authenticate the login credential (FIG. 7 and [0099]; for supplementary details, see user management table 697 of FIG. 6C, [0091-0098]; FIG. 6C and [0090-0098]: a network connected device as a MFD includes a microprocessor such as controller 692, with which the adapter/terminal 153 establishes communication with via network interface 696 and device settings management unit. As described in [0091], “The controller 692 also utilizes information stored in user management table 697 to authenticate the user and control user access to the functionalities of the MFD 690.” Thus, the login credential is provided to the second electronic processor for authentication),
wherein the first electronic processor is configured to generate the graphical user interface in response to authenticating the login credential for the user (FIG. 7 and [0099]: “Such main menu screen is displayed on the terminal device of the user when the user successfully signs in, for example, by providing login credentials”).
Regarding claim 23, Hagiwara in view of Puzio teaches the adapter of claim 22. Hagiwara further teaches further comprising a transceiver coupled to the first electronic processor, wherein the first electronic processor is configured to authenticate the login credential by communicating with a server via the transceiver (FIG. 7 and [0099], FIG. 6A and [0078-0082], and FIG. 6C and [0091-0098]: FIG. 6A represents the adapter. The transceiver corresponds to network interface 603 which is coupled to the controller 601. Authentication occurs based on the adapter’s communication with a server, such as MFD 690 of FIG. 6C which hosts user management table 697) and wherein the one or more configurable device settings are settings permitted to be configured by the user based on the login credential (FIG. 7 and [0099], FIG. 9A and [0104-0107]: one or more configurable device settings are settings permitted to be configured by the user based on the login credential)
Regarding claim 24, Hagiwara in view of Puzio teaches the adapter of claim 21. Hagiwara further teaches wherein the login credential is a first login credential and the user is a first user and wherein the first electronic processor is further configured to:
receive, via the user interface, the first login credential for the first user (FIG. 7 and [0099], FIG. 9A and [0104-0108]: a first login credential for a first user produces GUI seen in FIG. 9A. Note how the “admin” tab is grayed out since the user has limited privileges), and
receive, via the user interface, a second login credential for a second user (FIG. 9C and [0104-0108]: a second login credential for a second user who is an admin user produces GUI seen in FIG. 9C),
wherein the first electronic processor is configured to generate the graphical user interface in response to receiving the first login credential by generating the graphical user interface with a first selection of at least one of the one or more configurable device settings enabled (FIG. 9A and [0104-0108]), and
wherein the first electronic processor is configured to generate the graphical user interface in response to receiving the second login credential by generating the graphical user interface with a second selection of at least one of the one or more configurable device settings enabled, wherein the second selection is different than the first selection (FIG. 9C and [0104-0108]).
Regarding claim 25, Hagiwara in view of Puzio teaches the adapter of claim 21. Hagiwara further teaches wherein the first electronic processor is configured to enable the operation of the gas engine replacement device in accordance with the changed device settings by communicating the changed device settings to the gas engine replacement device, wherein the gas engine replacement device drives power equipment in accordance with the communicated changed device settings (FIG. 1A, [0038], and [0047-0050], steps S1007-S1008 of FIG. 10A and [0110], FIG. 9A and [0102-0103]: an operation is enabled in accordance with the changed device settings. An operation may be one which corresponds to a configured “General Printing” for example as seen in FIG. 9A. The device drives power equipment, such as processing power of a printer, in accordance with the communicated changed device settings).
Regarding claim 26, Hagiwara in view of Puzio teaches the adapter of claim 25. Hagiwara further teaches, further comprising a transceiver coupled to the first electronic processor, wherein the electronic processor is configured to transmit the changed device settings to the gas engine replacement device via the transceiver (FIG. 6A and [0078-0082], and FIG. 6C and [0091-0098]: FIG. 6A represents the adapter. The transceiver corresponds to network interface 603 which is coupled to the controller 601. Transmission of the changed device settings to the device occurs via the network interface 603 in communication with network interface 696).
Regarding claim 27, Hagiwara in view of Puzio teaches the adapter of claim 21. Hagiwara further teaches wherein the one or more configurable device settings include at least one selected from a group consisting of a motor speed, a thermal overload, a current limit, a motor overshoot, a motor undershoot, and a motor steady state (FIG. 9A and [0102]: for example, one configurable device setting is a motor control performance, including at least a setting for “offset stacking”).
Regarding claim 28, Hagiwara in view of Puzio teaches the adapter of claim 21. Hagiwara further teaches wherein the changed device settings include at least one selected from a group consisting of a maximum speed setting of a motor of the gas engine replacement device, a minimum speed setting of the motor, an overvoltage setting of the motor, an overcurrent setting for the motor, an over-temperature setting for the motor, and a rate of speed at which motor speed is increased or decreased (FIG. 9A and [0102]: for example, a speed control algorithm may include if a paper is printed one-sided or on both sides and/or how many pages are printed per sheet, which affects the rate of speed at which motor speed is increased or decreased).
Regarding claim 41, Hagiwara in view of Puzio teaches the adapter of claim 21. Hagiwara in view of Puzio further teaches wherein the first electronic processor is configured to generate the changed device settings for the gas engine replacement device (Puzio, [0084]) based on the user input by restricting an adjustment of at least one configurable device setting to be between a lower limit and an upper limit stored in a memory of the adapter, wherein the lower limit and the upper limit are associated with the user (Hagiwara, FIG. 9A and [0102]: for example, print on both sides has a lower limit of one side and an upper limit of two sides; For details regarding memory of the adapter, see FIG. 1A and [0037-0052], memory or storage part 602 of FIG. 6A and [0078-0082], FIG. 7 and [0099], and [0104-0107]).
Regarding claim 43, Hagiwara in view of Puzio teaches the adapter of claim 21. Hagiwara further teaches wherein the first electronic processor is configured to enable the operation of the gas engine replacement device (Puzio, [0084]) in accordance with the changed device settings by enabling or disabling an input or output of the gas engine replacement device (Hagiwara, FIG. 9A and [0102]: for example, the changed device settings may disable output for offset stacking).
Regarding claim 30, Hagiwara teaches an adapter system (system 100 of FIG. 1A and [0037-0043], [0048-0053]) comprising:
a (FIG. 1A and [0037-0043], [0048-0053]: device may be any one of devices 104, 105, and/or 106; For supplemental details, see the adapter represented in FIGS. 6A-B and [0078-0079] and the device represented in FIG. 6C and [0090-0097]); and
an adapter for configuring device settings of the (FIG. 1A and [0037-0043], [0048-0053]: for example, an adapter is terminal 153 which configures device settings of devices 104, 105, and/or 106; For supplemental details, see the adapter represented in FIGS. 6A-B and [0078-0079] and the device represented in FIG. 6C and [0090-0097]), the adapter including:
a user interface (user interface 101c of FIG. 1A, [0038], and [0048-0050]), and
a first electronic processor coupled to the user interface (processing unit 103a of FIG. 1A and [0050]: processing unit 103a is coupled to the user interface via display unit 103b), the first electronic processor configured to:
prompt a user to enter a login credential (FIG. 7 and [0099], and [0104-0107]: as stated in [0099], “the user successfully signs in, for example, by providing login credentials” in order to access a page seen in FIG. 7. Thus, a user was prompted to enter a login credential to access the main menu),
establish communication with a second electronic processor of the (FIG. 1A and [0037-0052]: the terminal 103 establishes communication with the devices 104, 105, and/or 106. As supported in [0051], “network-connected devices 104-106 may include, for example, a printer, a scanner and/or a multi-function device (MFD)”; FIG. 6C and [0090-0098]: a network connected device as a MFD includes a microprocessor such as controller 692, with which the adapter/terminal 153 establishes communication with via network interface 696 and device settings management unit. As described in [0091], “The controller 692 also utilizes information stored in user management table 697 to authenticate the user and control user access to the functionalities of the MFD 690.” Thus, the login credential is provided to the second electronic processor for authentication),
retrieve, from the second electronic processor of the (FIG. 1A and [0037-0052], FIG. 6C and [0090-0098], FIG. 7 and [0099], and [0104-0107]: present device settings of one or more configurable device settings permitted to be configured by the user are retrieved based on the login credential),
generate, on the user interface, a graphical user interface including the one or more configurable device settings for the (FIG. 9A, [0048], and [0102-0108]: see an exemplary GUI including one or more configurable device settings for a device),
receive, via the user interface, a user input configuring at least one of the one or more configurable device settings (FIG. 9A and [0102-0108] and step S1006 of FIG. 10A and [0110]: a user configures one of the configurable device settings such as one of those seen in FIG. 9A),
generate changed device settings based on the user input (FIG. 1A, [0038], and [0047-0050], steps S1007-S1008 of FIG. 10A and [0110], FIG. 9A and [0102-0103]: changed device settings for the device are generated based on the user input from step S1006), and
transmit the changed device settings to the gas engine replacement device (FIG. 1A, [0038], and [0047-0050], steps S1007-S1008 of FIG. 10A and [0110], FIG. 9A and [0102-0103]),
wherein the (FIG. 1A, [0038], and [0047-0050], steps S1007-S1008 of FIG. 10A and [0110], FIG. 9A and [0102-0103]: an operation is enabled in accordance with the changed device settings. An operation may be one which corresponds to a configured “General Printing” for example as seen in FIG. 9A. The device drives power equipment, such as processing power of a printer, in accordance with the communicated changed device settings).
Hagiwara does not explicitly teach the device being a gas engine replacement device.
Puzio teaches the device being a gas engine replacement device ([0084]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Hagiwara to incorporate the teachings of Puzio and have the device be a gas engine replacement device. Doing so would preclude reliance on gas engines for certain devices or tools that may operate with greater longevity using, instead, electric motor systems. Furthermore, user safety may be increased given the replacement of gas engines in lieu of an electric motor system that may pose lower environmental risks.
Regarding claims 31-34, the claims recite limitations similar to claims 24, 23, 27, and 28, respectively, and are therefore rejected on the same premises.
Regarding claims 36-38 and 40, the claims recite a method for configuring device settings of a gas engine replacement device using an adapter, the method comprising limitations corresponding to claims 21-23 and 28, respectively, and are therefore rejected on the same premises.
Claim 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hagiwara et al. (US 2014/0222980 A1), in view of Puzio et al. (US 2018/0138839 A1), and in view of Hsu et al. (US 2010/0262289 A1).
Regarding claim 42, Hagiwara in view of Puzio teaches the adapter of claim 21. Although Puzio teaches a gas engine replacement device ([0084]), Hagiwara in view of Puzio does not explicitly teach wherein the changed device settings include a coefficient of a PID controller used to control a motor included in the gas engine replacement device.
Hsu teaches wherein the changed device settings include a coefficient of a PID controller used to control a motor included in the ([0006], FIG. 2 and [0019], and FIG. 4 and [0028]: changed device settings include a coefficient of a PID controller).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the changed device settings for the gas replacement device of Hagiwara in view of Puzio to incorporate the teachings of Hsu and have wherein the changed device settings include a coefficient of a PID controller used to control a motor included in the gas engine replacement device. Doing so can shorten a device’s response time and minimize its oscillation (Hsu, [0006]) for a smoother operation that would help maintain its longevity.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In Remarks, Applicant argues:
Regarding amended independent claim 21, with respect to Hagiwara’s disclosure, “it is the remote management apparatus… and not the target device’s controller, that evaluates the user’s login credential” (p. 10 of Remarks). “Puzio similarly fails to remedy these deficiencies” (p. 10 of Remarks).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding point (a), Applicant’s amendments have changed the scopes of the claims. Nonetheless, the new scope of claim 21 is still sufficiently taught by Hagiwara in view of Puzio. Contrary to Applicant’s assertion, the evaluation of the user’s login credential evidently occurs via the second processor at the target device (FIG. 1A and [0037-0052]; FIG. 6C and [0090-0098]). See FIG. 6C, which is reproduced below for convenience.
Controller 692 represents “the second electronic processor” at the target device that is a multi-function device (MFD). A network connected device as a MFD includes a microprocessor such as controller 692, with which the adapter/terminal 153 establishes communication with via network interface 696 and device settings management unit as seen in Hagiwara’s FIG. 1A. Hagiwara states in paragraph [0091], “The controller 692 also utilizes information stored in user management table 697 to authenticate the user and control user access to the functionalities of the MFD 690.” Thus, the login credential is provided to the second electronic processor for authentication. Applicant is advised to review the updated mapping provided in light of the various amendments to the claim.
In summary, Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive. Amended independent claim 21, and similarly amended independent claims 30 and 36, are properly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hagiwara et al. (US 2014/0222980 A1), in view of Puzio et al. (US 2018/0138839 A1). The dependent claims are accordingly rejected with the appropriate combination of references.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KENNY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171