DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, 11-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by Maldonado et al. (US 2004/0122396).
With reference to claim 1, Maldonado et al. (hereinafter “Maldonado”) discloses a feminine hygiene article [0048] comprising a film [0035] having at least a first layer and an optional second layer [0034-0035], the first layer comprising from at least 25 wt. %, to 75% wt.%, based on the total weight of the first layer, of an ethylene acrylate copolymer [0121-0124] and 25 wt. %, to less than 75% wt., based on the total weight of the first layer, of a polyolefin set forth in [0057].
In [0057], Maldonado incorporates Strack et al (US 5,336,552).
Strack et al. (hereinafter “Strack”) specifically discloses the recited amounts of an ethylene acrylate copolymer and polyolefin as set forth in col. 7, lines 48-63.
As to claims 2 and 15, Strack discloses the ethylene acrylate copolymer is an ethylene methyl acrylate copolymer, an ethylene ethyl acrylate copolymer, or an ethylene n-butyl acrylate copolymer as set forth in col. 7, lines 56-59.
With respect to claim 4, Maldonado discloses that the first layer further comprises white pigment (i.e., titanium dioxide) as set forth in [0070].
As to claims 6 and 18, Maldonado discloses a feminine hygiene article wherein the first layer further comprises calcium carbonate as set forth in [0070].
With respect to claim 7, Maldonado discloses at least 5 wt% pigment as set forth in [0070-0071].
As to claim 11, Maldonado discloses a feminine hygiene article further comprising a nonwoven as set forth in [0035].
With reference to claim 12, Maldonado discloses a feminine hygiene article comprising a pad having a topsheet wherein the topsheet comprises the recited film as set forth in [0032].
With reference to claims 13 and 14, Maldonado discloses a feminine hygiene article [0048] comprising a film [0035] having at least a first layer and an optional second layer [0034-0035], the first layer comprising from at least 25 wt. %, to 75% wt.%, based on the total weight of the first layer, of an ethylene acrylate copolymer [0121-0124] and 25 wt. %, to less than 75% wt., based on the total weight of the first layer, of a polyolefin set forth in [0057]. Maldonado discloses at least 5 wt% pigment as set forth in [0070-0071].
In [0057], Maldonado incorporates Strack et al (US 5,336,552).
Strack et al. (hereinafter “Strack”) specifically discloses the recited amounts of an ethylene acrylate copolymer and polyolefin as set forth in col. 7, lines 48-63.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maldonado et al. (US 2004/0122396) and further in view of McCormack et al. (US 6,015,764).
With reference to claim 3, Maldonado teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Maldonado and claim 3 is the provision that the ethylene acrylate copolymer comprises at least 16 wt. % acrylate.
McCormack et al. (hereinafter “McCormack”) teaches an analogous feminine hygiene article (col. 2, lines 45-52) wherein the ethylene acrylate copolymer comprises at least 16 wt. % acrylate, based on the total weight of the ethylene acrylate copolymer as set forth in col. 5, lines 8-16.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the ethylene acrylate copolymer of Maldonado with at least 16 wt. % acrylate in order to provide a film with both cloth-like aesthetics and improved fit and comfort as taught by McCormack in col. 2, lines 8-10.
Claims 5, 8-10 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maldonado et al. (US 2004/0122396) and further in view of Degroot et al. (US 2018/0222171).
With reference to claim 5, Maldonado teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Maldonado discloses the polyolefin as polyethylene in [0040].
The difference between Maldonado and claim 5 is the provision that the polyethylene has a specific density and melt index.
Degroot et al. (hereinafter “Degroot”) teaches an analogous feminine hygiene article wherein the polyolefin is a polyethylene [0118] having a density of 0.925 to 0.950 g/cm3 [0027] and a melt index (I2) of 0.50 to 10.00 g/10 min as set forth in [0088].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the polyethylene of Maldonado with the specific characteristics as taught by Degroot in order to provide the article with improved stretch and fit as taught by Degroot in [0041].
With reference to claim 8, Maldonado teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Maldonado and claim 5 is the provision that the film further comprises a second layer and a third layer, the second layer and third layer each separately comprising a polyethylene composition.
Degroot teaches an analogous feminine hygiene article wherein the film further comprises a second layer and a third layer, the second layer and third layer each separately comprising a polyethylene composition as set forth in [0125-0128].
While the duplication of essential working parts of a device is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art, it would have also been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide Maldonado with second and third layers in order to provide the article with improved stretch and fit as taught by Degroot in [0041].
With reference to claim 9, Maldonado teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Maldonado and claim 9 is the provision that the first layer has a specific gloss percentage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the gloss of the layer of Maldonado as desired because Degroot discloses that the article can include a varying degree of antiblock agents, including titanium dioxide as set forth in [0120-0121]. Titanium dioxide is known in the art as an agent that useful to makes stains and reduce gloss.
With reference to claim 10, Maldonado teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Maldonado and claim 10 is the provision that the film has a specific drapability.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the drapability of the film of Maldonado to provide the end-user with a comfortable fit as in an article that exhibits good tensile strength and abrasion resistance as taught by Degroot in [0003-0004].
As to claim 16, see the rejection of claim 5.
With respect to claim 17, see the rejection of claim 8.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
/MICHELE KIDWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781