DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by Degroot et al. (US 2018/0222171).
With reference to claim 1, Degroot et al. (hereinafter “Degroot”) discloses a feminine hygiene article [0003] comprising a film having at least a first layer and an optional second layer [0005], the first layer comprising at least 25 wt. %, based on the total weight of the first layer, of an ethylene acrylate copolymer [0121-0124] and less than 75 wt. %, based on the total weight of the first layer, of a polyolefin set forth in [0109].
As to claim 2, Degroot discloses a feminine hygiene article wherein the ethylene acrylate copolymer is an ethylene methyl acrylate copolymer, an ethylene ethyl acrylate copolymer, or an ethylene n-butyl acrylate copolymer as set forth in [0124].
With reference to claim 3, Degroot discloses a feminine hygiene article wherein the ethylene acrylate copolymer comprises at least 16 wt. % acrylate, based on the total weight of the ethylene acrylate copolymer through the disclosure of ELVALOYTM in [0124].
With respect to claim 4, Degroot discloses a feminine hygiene article wherein the first layer further comprises white pigment (i.e., titanium dioxide) as set forth in [0120].
Regarding claim 5, Degroot discloses a feminine hygiene article wherein the polyolefin is a polyethylene [0118] having a density of 0.925 to 0.950 g/cm3 [0027] and a melt index (I2) of 0.50 to 10.00 g/10 min as set forth in [0088].
As to claim 6, Degroot discloses a feminine hygiene article wherein the first layer further comprises calcium carbonate as set forth in [0120].
With reference to claim 7. Degroot discloses a feminine hygiene article wherein the first layer comprises at least 5 wt. % white pigment (i.e., titanium dioxide), based on the total weight of the first layer as set forth in [0121].
With respect to claim 8, Degroot discloses a feminine hygiene article wherein the film further comprises a second layer and a third layer, the second layer and third layer each separately comprising a polyethylene composition as set forth in [0125-0128].
As to claim 11, Degroot discloses a feminine hygiene article further comprising a nonwoven as set forth in [0154].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Degroot et al. (US 2018/0222171).
With reference to claim 9, Degroot teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
It is noted that a gloss below 40% could encompass zero, and is therefore not necessarily required to be present.
Alternatively, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the gloss of the layer as desired because Degroot discloses that the article can include a varying degree of antiblock agents, including titanium dioxide as set forth in [0120-0121]. Titanium dioxide is known in the art as an agent that useful to makes stains and reduce gloss.
With reference to claim 10, Degroot teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
It is noted that a drapability of less than 10.0 gf could encompass zero, and is therefore not necessarily required to be present.
Alternatively, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the drapability of the film to provide the end-user with a comfortable fit as in an article that exhibits good tensile strength and abrasion resistance as taught by Degroot in [0003-0004].
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Degroot et al. (US 2018/0222171).
With reference to claim 12, Degroot teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Degroot and claim 12 is the explicit recitation that the topsheet comprises the recited film.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the topsheet of the absorbent article of Degroot with the film as claimed in order to provide a cloth-like touch in the article that is intended to contact human skin as taught by Degroot in [0003] and in [0040].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Applicant makes a statement that the rejection lacks rational basis, however the reference itself provides the limitations as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1. The alleged lack of rational basis does not nullify the actual teachings of the reference.
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made.
It is further noted that “less than 75%” essentially includes zero thereby the polyolefin is not necessarily required to be present.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELE KIDWELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781