DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 are presented, wherein claims 8 and 13 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8 and 13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on June 26, 2026.
The election requirement between Species A.1-2 is withdrawn, as a result of a review of the art.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that there would not be a serious burden and that it is more efficient to examine all claims at once (Remarks, at p.4).
This is not found persuasive because at least one of the following applies: the species have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter; the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries); the prior art applicable to one species would not likely be applicable to another.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 and 14-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,431,558. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are commensurate in scope.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required.
The specification does not appear to have support for the subject matter of claim 9, “the end pieces have an inner part surrounded by the connector and projecting into the line segments,” cf e.g. Figure 8.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because the article “a” in “a plurality of line segments connected by a connector of one of the flat tubes to one of the connectors of an adjacent flat tube” (emphasis added) should be “one of,” “the,” or equivalent. Appropriate correction is respectfully required.
Claims 8 and 13 are objected to because of the status identifiers should indicate the claims are “withdrawn.” Appropriate correction is respectfully required.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the limitation should indicate the “spacer strip” is “further” required, since it is an additional element not previously claimed in a parent claim. Appropriate correction is respectfully required.
Similarly, claim 15 is objected to because of the limitation should indicate the “extension” is “further” required, since it is an additional element not previously claimed in a parent claim. Appropriate correction is respectfully required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell (US 2016/0003553).
Regarding independent claim 1, Campbell teaches a battery pack for use in a vehicle, said battery pack comprising:
(i) a plurality of battery cells (e.g. items 26);
(ii) a plurality of heat transfer devices (e.g. items 1), each heat transfer device including a spacing (e.g. item 29) therebetween so that a battery cell is adjacent to two heat transfer devices to maintain a substantially constant volume to ensure that a consistent volume of heat transfer medium may be maintained and thus heat transfer performance of said heat transfer device,
each heat transfer device (e.g. items 1) comprising:
(ii.a) a body composed of first and second half shells (e.g. items 12 and 12’) brought adjacent to one another that bounding a cavity therein for receiving said heat transfer medium,
said first and second half shell may each be a rectangular plate composed of e.g. aluminum or aluminum alloy sheet,
each said half shell rectangular plate may include:
(ii.b) two flange sections (e.g. items 4a and 4b), each flange section extending from each of a shorter sides of said plate (e.g. item 2) and generally coplanar therewith,
in an illustrated embodiment, wherein said two flange sections are on opposite shorter sides of said plate to one another; and,
an alternative embodiment (non-illustrated, but see e.g. ¶0092), wherein said two flange sections are on a common shorter sides of said plate with one another,
wherein each flange section may include an inlet/outlet connected to a radially extending channel (e.g. item 22) within said plate;
(ii.c) a planar sealing edge (e.g. items 3) arranged parallel and offset to a plane of said plate (e.g. items 2);
(ii.d) a plurality of ribs (e.g. items 7 and 7’) that may be pressed into said plate to form flow channels (e.g. items 8) therebetween
said alternative embodiment (non-illustrated, but see e.g. ¶0092), wherein said plurality of pressed ribs (e.g. items 7 and 7’) and flow channels (e.g. items 8) therebetween may be U-shaped to provide two-way flow of heat transfer medium past each battery cell,
said plurality of flow channels (e.g. items 8) fluidly connected with said radially extending channel (e.g. item 22) of each flange section;
(iii) a heat transfer fluid circulated within said heat transfer devices, said fluid providing a cooling function, heating function, or both as required at different times; plus,
(iv) two interconnecting means (e.g. items 10 and 10’) per each heat transfer device,
(iv.a) a first interconnecting means (e.g. item 10/10’) provided at said heat transfer device inlet providing a fluid connection to said heat transfer device inlet; and,
(iv.b) a second interconnecting means (e.g. item 10/10’) provided at said heat transfer device outlet providing a fluid connection to said heat transfer device outlet,
wherein said interconnecting means (e.g. items 10 and 10’) may each be in a form of a spigot (e.g. items 10a, 10b, and 10c),
wherein each said spigot (e.g. items 10a, 10b, and 10c) comprises a first generally tubular portion (e.g. item 13) and a second generally tubular portion (e.g. item 14) concentric therewith,
wherein adjacent spigots of adjacent heat transfer devices are sealed by slidingly interconnection—e.g. a first tubular portion (e.g. item 13) of first spigots (e.g. items 10a) located in a first heat transfer device (e.g. item 1a) are each sized with an internal bore (e.g. item 15) with a diameter matching an external diameter (e.g. item 16) of a second tubular portion (e.g. item 14) adjacent second spigots (e.g. items 10b) of an adjacent second heat transfer device (e.g. item 1b)—such that said second tubular portion (e.g. item 14) of said adjacent second spigots (e.g. items 10b) is inserted into said first tubular portion (e.g. item 13) of said first spigots (e.g. items 10a),
wherein an O-ring (e.g. item 18) is sealingly located between said first tubular portion (e.g. item 13) and said second tubular portion (e.g. item 14),
each of said two interconnecting means connecting with an interconnection means of an adjacent device, such as an adjacent heat transfer device, in series, a multiple (such as e.g. three or eleven units, as illustrated) series-connected interconnecting means forming a common fluid channel (not numbered),
(iv.c) a first/inlet common fluid channel (not numbered) incorporating said multiple (such as e.g. three or eleven units) series-connected interconnecting means (e.g. item 10/10’) connected to each said inlet providing a fluid connection to each said inlet; and,
(iv.d) a second/outlet common fluid channel (not numbered) incorporating said multiple (such as e.g. three or eleven units) series-connected interconnecting means (e.g. item 10/10’) connected to each said outlet providing a fluid connection to each said outlet,
wherein said flange sections (e.g. items 4a and 4b) of each half shell (e.g. items 12 and 12’) each have a circular recess (e.g. item 5a and 5b) into which said interconnecting means (e.g. items 10 and 10’) is sealingly held,
wherein in said illustrated embodiment said heat transfer fluid may be transferred to and from said plurality of devices at inlet/outlet common fluid channels at opposite ends of an outer heat transfer device;
in said alternative embodiment said heat transfer fluid may be transferred to and from said plurality of devices at inlet/outlet common fluid channel at said common end of said outer heat transfer device with one another,
noting hereinafter, said battery pack including said heat transfer fluid—sans said battery cells—is referred to as a “thermal apparatus” for ease of reference
(¶¶ 0001, 04-26, 64, 66, 79, 76-79, 89, and 91-93 plus e.g. Figures 1-8), wherein the preamble limitation “for batteries of an electric or hybrid vehicle” is interpreted as merely intended use and does not patentably distinguish the instant invention from the art, see also e.g. MPEP § 2111.02, reading on “cooling module for batteries of an electric or hybrid vehicle,” said thermal apparatus comprising:
(1) said first/inlet common fluid channel (not numbered) incorporating said multiple (such as e.g. three or eleven units) series-connected interconnecting means (e.g. item 10/10’) connected to said heat transfer device inlet providing said fluid connection to each said heat transfer device inlet (e.g. supra), reading on “a coolant supply line;” and,
(2) said second/outlet common fluid channel (not numbered) incorporating said multiple (such as e.g. three or eleven units) series-connected interconnecting means (e.g. item 10/10’) connected to said heat transfer device outlet providing said fluid connection to each said heat transfer device outlet (e.g. supra), reading on “a coolant discharge line;”
(3) said plurality of heat transfer devices (e.g. items 1), each heat transfer device including said spacing (e.g. item 29) therebetween so that said battery cell is adjacent to two heat transfer devices to maintain said substantially constant volume to ensure that said consistent volume of heat transfer medium may be maintained and thus said heat transfer performance of said heat transfer device,
wherein each heat transfer device (e.g. items 1) comprising:
(3.a) said body composed of first and second half shells (e.g. items 12 and 12’) brought adjacent to one another that bounding said cavity therein for receiving said heat transfer medium,
said first and second half shell may each be said rectangular plate composed of e.g. aluminum or aluminum alloy sheet,
each said half shell rectangular plate may include:
(3.b) two flange sections (e.g. items 4a and 4b), each flange section extending from each of said shorter sides of said plate (e.g. item 2) and generally coplanar therewith,
in said illustrated embodiment, wherein said two flange sections are on opposite shorter sides of said plate to one another; and,
said alternative embodiment (non-illustrated, but see e.g. ¶0092), wherein said two flange sections are on said common shorter sides of said plate with one another,
wherein each flange section may include said inlet/outlet connected to said radially extending channel (e.g. item 22) within said plate;
(3.c) said planar sealing edge (e.g. items 3) arranged parallel and offset to said plane of said plate (e.g. items 2);
(3.d) said plurality of ribs (e.g. items 7 and 7’) that may be pressed into said plate to form flow channels (e.g. items 8) therebetween
said alternative embodiment (non-illustrated, but see e.g. ¶0092), wherein said plurality of pressed ribs (e.g. items 7 and 7’) and flow channels (e.g. items 8) therebetween may be U-shaped to provide two-way flow of heat transfer medium past each battery cell,
said plurality of flow channels (e.g. items 8) fluidly connected with said radially extending channel (e.g. item 22) of each flange section; plus,
(4) two interconnecting means (e.g. items 10 and 10’) per each heat transfer device, wherein
(4a) said first interconnecting means (e.g. item 10/10’) provided at said heat transfer device inlet providing said fluid connection to said heat transfer device inlet; and,
(4b) said second interconnecting means (e.g. item 10/10’) provided at said heat transfer device outlet providing said fluid connection to said heat transfer device outlet,
each of said two interconnecting means connecting with said interconnection means of said adjacent device, such as said adjacent heat transfer device,
(4c) said first/inlet common fluid channel (not numbered) incorporating said multiple (such as e.g. three or eleven units) series-connected interconnecting means (e.g. item 10/10’) connected to each said inlet providing said fluid connection to each said inlet; and,
(4d) said second/outlet common fluid channel (not numbered) incorporating each said multiple (such as e.g. three or eleven units) series-connected interconnecting means (e.g. item 10/10’) connected to each said outlet providing said fluid connection to each said outlet,
wherein said flange sections (e.g. items 4a and 4b) of each half shell (e.g. items 12 and 12’) each have said circular recess (e.g. item 5a and 5b) into which said interconnecting means (e.g. items 10 and 10’) is sealingly held (e.g. supra),
said first/inlet common fluid channel (not numbered) corresponding with the claimed “coolant supply line;”
said second/outlet common fluid channels (not numbered) corresponding with the claimed “coolant discharge line;”
said heat transfer devices (e.g. items 1), each heat transfer device with flow channels (e.g. items 8) therein corresponding with the claimed “flat tubes;”
said spacing (e.g. item 29) incorporating said battery therein corresponding with the claimed “space;”
said first and second interconnecting means (e.g. item 10/10’) corresponding with the claimed “connector;” and
a pair of interconnected interconnecting means (e.g. item 10/10’) corresponding with the claimed “line segments,”
reading on “a plurality of flat tubes arranged side by side, between which there is space for batteries to be cooled;” “each of the flat tubes being connected to the coolant supply line and the coolant discharge line;” and, “the flat tubes each carry connectors,” and
establishing a prima facie case of obviousness of the claimed range “plurality, see also e.g. MPEP § 2144.05(I), reading on “the coolant supply line and the coolant discharge line are each assembled from a plurality of line segments connected by a connector of one of the flat tubes to one of the connectors of an adjacent flat tube.”
Regarding claim 2, Campbell teaches the thermal apparatus of claim 1, wherein each heat transfer device comprises said body composed of said first and second half shells (e.g. items 12 and 12’), wherein said first and second half shell may each be said rectangular plate composed of e.g. aluminum or aluminum alloy sheet and include said plurality of ribs (e.g. items 7) that may be pressed into said plate (e.g. supra), said ribs pressed into said plate reading on “corrugated,” reading on “the flat tubes are corrugated,” as claimed; and/or, differences in shape do not patentably distinguish the instant invention from the art in the absence of persuasive evidence of its importance, see e.g. MPEP § 2144.04(B). Here, there does not appear to be such evidence, see instant specification, at e.g. ¶0009.
Regarding claims 3-6, Campbell teaches the thermal apparatus of claim 1, wherein
(3) each heat transfer device (e.g. items 1) comprising:
(3.a) said body composed of first and second half shells (e.g. items 12 and 12’) brought adjacent to one another that bounding said cavity therein for receiving said heat transfer medium,
said first and second half shell may each be said rectangular plate composed of e.g. aluminum or aluminum alloy sheet,
each said half shell rectangular plate may include:
(3.b) two flange sections (e.g. items 4a and 4b), each flange section extending from each of said shorter sides of said plate (e.g. item 2) and generally coplanar therewith,
in said illustrated embodiment, wherein said two flange sections are on opposite shorter sides of said plate to one another; and,
said alternative embodiment (non-illustrated, but see e.g. ¶0092), wherein said two flange sections are on said common shorter sides of said plate with one another,
wherein each flange section may include said inlet/outlet connected to said radially extending channel (e.g. item 22) within said plate;
(3.c) said planar sealing edge (e.g. items 3) arranged parallel and offset to said plane of said plate (e.g. items 2);
(3.d) said plurality of ribs (e.g. items 7 and 7’) that may be pressed into said plate to form flow channels (e.g. items 8) therebetween
said alternative embodiment (non-illustrated, but see e.g. ¶0092), wherein said plurality of pressed ribs (e.g. items 7 and 7’) and flow channels (e.g. items 8) therebetween may be U-shaped to provide two-way flow of heat transfer medium past each battery cell,
said plurality of flow channels (e.g. items 8) fluidly connected with said radially extending channel (e.g. item 22) of each flange section; plus,
(4) said two interconnecting means (e.g. items 10 and 10’) per each heat transfer device, wherein
(4a) said first interconnecting means (e.g. item 10/10’) provided at said heat transfer device inlet providing said fluid connection to said heat transfer device inlet; and,
(4b) said second interconnecting means (e.g. item 10/10’) provided at said heat transfer device outlet providing said fluid connection to said heat transfer device outlet,
wherein said flange sections (e.g. items 4a and 4b) of each half shell (e.g. items 12 and 12’) each have said circular recess (e.g. item 5a and 5b) into which said interconnecting means (e.g. items 10 and 10’) is sealingly held (e.g. supra),
said flange sections corresponding with the claimed “end pieces, which are attached to ends of the flat tubes,”
reading on “the connectors are attached to end pieces, which are attached to ends of the flat tubes” (claim 3); the illustrated embodiment reading on “the flat tubes carry the end pieces with the connectors at opposite ends, and the flat tubes run between the coolant supply line and the coolant discharge line” (claim 4); the alternative embodiment reading on “the flat tubes carry the end pieces with the connectors at only one end, and the coolant supply line and the coolant discharge line run on the same side of the flat tubes, wherein the flat tubes each form two channels running side by side” (claim 5); and, “the end pieces each carry the connectors for the coolant supply line and the coolant discharge line” (claim 6).
Regarding claims 7 and 11-12, Campbell teaches the thermal apparatus of claim 6, wherein
said first/inlet common fluid channel (not numbered) incorporating said multiple (such as e.g. three or eleven units) series-connected interconnecting means (e.g. item 10/10’) connected to each said inlet providing said fluid connection to each said inlet;
said second/outlet common fluid channel (not numbered) incorporating each said multiple (such as e.g. three or eleven units) series-connected interconnecting means (e.g. item 10/10’) connected to each said outlet providing said fluid connection to each said outlet; and,
said flange sections (e.g. items 4a and 4b) of each half shell (e.g. items 12 and 12’) each have said circular recess (e.g. item 5a and 5b) into which said interconnecting means (e.g. items 10 and 10’) is sealingly held,
wherein said interconnecting means (e.g. items 10 and 10’) may each be in said form of said spigot (e.g. items 10a, 10b, and 10c),
wherein each said spigot (e.g. items 10a, 10b, and 10c) comprises said first generally tubular portion (e.g. item 13) and said second generally tubular portion (e.g. item 14) concentric therewith,
wherein adjacent spigots of adjacent heat transfer devices are sealed by slidingly interconnection—e.g. said first tubular portion (e.g. item 13) of first spigots (e.g. items 10a) located in said first heat transfer device (e.g. item 1a) are each sized with said internal bore (e.g. item 15) with said diameter matching said external diameter (e.g. item 16) of said second tubular portion (e.g. item 14) adjacent second spigots (e.g. items 10b) of said adjacent second heat transfer device (e.g. item 1b)—such that said second tubular portion (e.g. item 14) of said adjacent second spigots (e.g. items 10b) is inserted into said first tubular portion (e.g. item 13) of said first spigots (e.g. items 10a),
wherein said O-ring (e.g. item 18) is sealingly located between said first tubular portion (e.g. item 13) and said second tubular portion (e.g. item 14)
(e.g. supra), reading on “the line segments are connected to the connectors by a push-fit connection or a plug-in connection” (claim 7); “the line segments are inserted into the connectors” (claim 8); “the connectors are inserted into the line segments” (claim 11); and, “the line segments carry annular seals on their insides that are pressed against an outside of the connectors” (claim 12).
Regarding claim 9, Campbell teaches the thermal apparatus of claim 7, as provided supra, wherein in considering each of said heat transfer device in a plan view—looking down on a broad surface thereof—a portion of said circular recess (e.g. items 5a and 5b) is within an outer circumference of said interconnecting means (e.g. items 10 and 10’) and said portion of said circular recess extends—in said plan view—to touch said external diameter (e.g. item 16) of a second tubular portion (e.g. item 14) so that said portion of said circular recess is located between radial flanges (e.g. items 19a) of adjacent heat transfer devices (see e.g. ¶¶ 0071-76 plus e.g. Figures 4-5), reading on “the end pieces have an inner part surrounded by the connector and projecting into the line segments,” as claimed.
Regarding claim 10, Campbell teaches the thermal apparatus of claim 9, wherein an O-ring (e.g. item 18) is sealingly located between said first tubular portion (e.g. item 13) and said second tubular portion (e.g. item 14) (e.g. supra), reading on “the inner part carries an annular seal.”
Regarding claim 14, Campbell teaches the thermal apparatus of claim 8, wherein said heat transfer devices (e.g. items 1) are aligned by locating bolts (e.g. items 24), which are fed through apertures or holes (e.g. items 31) formed in said periphery (e.g. items 3 and 3’) of each heat transfer device, said locating bolts used to securely hold battery cells between said heat transfer devices (e.g. ¶¶ 0082 and 87 plus e.g. Figures 7-8), reading on “a spacer … is arranged between adjacent flat tubes, and, between itself and each of the two adjacent flat tubes, limits spaces for the batteries that are to be cooled,” but does not expressly teach said locating bolts to be in the shape of a “strip.”
However, differences in shape do not patentably distinguish the instant invention from the art in the absence of persuasive evidence of its importance, see e.g. MPEP § 2144.04(B). Here, there does not appear to be such evidence, see instant specification, at e.g. ¶¶ 0016-17, 34-37, and 41-42.
Art of Record
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. None of the timely art of record teaches the limitations of claim 15, including those of intervening claim 14. However, please see the NSDP rejection, supra.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Bellenfant et al (US 2024/0347812);
Jovet et al (US 2023/0127378);
Barre et al (US 2023/0023894);
Espinheira Rio et al (US 2020/0325858);
Carrera Garcia et al (US 2019/0072343);
Seki (US 2018/0238642); and,
Otto et al (US 2015/0034287).
/YOSHITOSHI TAKEUCHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723