DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on (10/1023 10/27/23) are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because they are informal screen shots that appear faint when compared to the call-outs and reference numbers. Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: 1) “each set” in line 14 should recite “each of the first set”. 2) “each set” in line 16 should recite “each of the second set”. 3) Claims 16-18 depend from claim 15 and are objected to based on dependency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Each recites the word “type” and the addition of the word "type" to an otherwise definite expression extends the scope of the expression so as to render it indefinite, see MPEP 2173.05(b)(III)(E).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohmer et al. (US 11,840,135) in view of Sundararajan et al. (US 9,236,592).
[CLAIM 1] Regarding claim 1, Bohmer discloses a chassis for an electric vehicle (10) comprising: a main chassis frame (Bohmer, FIG 1) extending along a longitudinal axis of the electric vehicle.
-However, it fails to disclose an upper and lower battery compartment disposed within the main chassis frame, the upper battery compartment disposed above the lower battery compartment; and first and second side battery compartments attached to opposite sides of the main chassis frame.
-Nevertheless, Sundararajan discloses separate stacked cell assemblies in Fig 2 mounted at a center of the vehicle 10 in FIG 1 and side cell assemblies extending laterally therefrom the vehicle center suitable for an application with frame rails such as a truck.
- Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Bohmer to have stacked modules and side modules as taught by Sundararajan with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase energy storage.
[CLAIM 2] Regarding claim 2, Bohmer/Sundararajan disclose the chassis of claim 1, wherein the upper battery compartment is disposed directly above the lower battery compartment (Sundararajan, FIG 2).
[CLAIM 3] Regarding claim 3, Bohmer/Sundararajan disclose the chassis of claim 1, wherein the first and second side battery compartments are longitudinally aligned with the upper and lower battery compartments (Sundararajan, FIG 2 shows the side batteries in a perpendicular arrangement but can be oriented in a longitudinal configuration if desired).
[CLAIM 4] Regarding claim 4, Bohmer/Sundararajan disclose the chassis of claim 3, wherein a lower support of the first and second side battery compartments is located above a lower support of the lower battery compartment and below a lower support of the upper battery compartment (Sundararajan, FIG 5 shows a frame structure that is exemplary and can be modified in any desired orientation to fit a particular vehicle application).
[CLAIM 5] Regarding claim 5, Bohmer/Sundararajan disclose the chassis of claim 1, further comprising a battery pack in each of the upper and lower battery compartments and in the first and second side battery compartments (Sundararajan, FIG 2).
[CLAIM 6] Regarding claim 6, Bohmer/Sundararajan disclose the chassis of claim 1, wherein the first and second side battery compartments include a plurality of attachment arms (Sundararajan, FIG 5, frames 46-48) the attachment arms operable to fix the first and second side battery compartments to side rails of both of the upper and lower battery compartments (Sundararajan, FIG 5 shows a frame structure that is exemplary and can be modified as desired and attach to a conventional frame as illustrated by Bohmer in FIG 1).
[CLAIM 7] Regarding claim 7, Bohmer/Sundararajan disclose the chassis of claim 1, further comprising first and second main chassis rails (Rails 28a-28b) forming opposing sides of the main chassis frame, the first and second main chassis rails forming sides of the upper battery compartment (Bohmer, annotated FIG 2 illustrates the frame rail/battery relationship).
[CLAIM 8] Regarding claim 8, Bohmer/Sundararajan disclose the chassis of claim 7, further comprising first and second lower compartment side rails disposed parallel to the first and second main chassis rails (Bohmer, annotated FIG 2) the first and second lower compartment side rails forming sides of the lower battery compartment (Bohmer, annotated FIG 2).
[CLAIM 9] Regarding claim 9, Bohmer/Sundararajan disclose the chassis of claim 8, wherein an outer surface of the first main chassis rail (28b) is co-planar with an outer surface of the first lower compartment side rail (30b) and an outer surface of the second main chassis rail is co-planar with an outer surface of the second lower compartment side rail (Bohmer, FIG 2 shows the right side of the frames and battery which mirror the left).
[CLAIM 10] Regarding claim 10, Bohmer/Sundararajan disclose the chassis of claim 7, further comprising a plurality of plate-type cross members (Bohmer, supports 32) interconnecting the first and second main chassis rails (Bohmer, when assembled interlocks the frames and supports).
[CLAIM 11] Regarding claim 11, Bohmer/Sundararajan disclose the chassis of claim 7, further comprising one or more tube-type cross members interconnecting the first and second main chassis rails (Bohmer FIG 2 can readily modify the supports 32 to have tube shape if desired).
[CLAIM 12] Regarding claim 12, Bohmer/Sundararajan disclose the chassis of claim 1, further comprising a bottom support frame disposed at a lower end of the first and second side battery compartments (Sundararajan, FIG 5, frames 36, 38, 54) the bottom support frame operable to support a battery pack disposed within the first and second side battery compartments (Sundararajan, FIG 2).
[CLAIM 13] Regarding claim 13, Bohmer/Sundararajan disclose the chassis of claim 12, further comprising a bottom plate member (Bohmer, FIG 2, support 32) disposed on top of the bottom support frame (Bohmer, FIG 2).
[CLAIM 14] Regarding claim 14, Bohmer/Sundararajan disclose the chassis of claim 1, further comprising first and second bottom support frames disposed at respective upper and lower battery compartments (Sundararajan, annotated FIG 2), the first and second bottom support frames operable to support battery packs disposed within the upper and lower battery compartments (Sundararajan, FIG 2).
[CLAIM 15] Regarding claim 15, Bohmer discloses a chassis for an electric vehicle (10) comprising: a main chassis frame (Bohmer, FIG 1) extending along a longitudinal axis of the electric vehicle (10).
-However, it fails to disclose an upper and lower battery compartment disposed within the main chassis frame, the upper battery compartment disposed above the lower battery compartment; first and second side battery compartments attached to opposite sides of the main chassis frame; first and second main chassis rails forming opposing sides of the main chassis frame, the first and second main chassis rails forming sides of the upper battery compartment; first and second lower compartment side rails disposed parallel to the first and second main chassis rails, the first and second lower compartment side rails forming sides of the lower battery compartment.
-Nevertheless, Sundararajan discloses separate stacked cell assemblies in Fig 2 mounted at a center of the vehicle 10 in FIG 1 and side cell assemblies extending laterally therefrom aligned with support frames and interconnections suitable for a longitudinal orientation if desired.
- Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Bohmer to have stacked modules and side modules as taught by Sundararajan with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase energy storage.
-Regarding the remaining limitations: a plurality of a first set of upper mounting holes formed in each of the first and second main chassis rails (Mounting apertures are conventional with frame rails and placed as needed for each vehicle application as desired) each set spaced apart along sides of the upper battery compartment (Mounting apertures are conventional with frame rails and placed as needed for each vehicle application as desired); a plurality of a second set of lower mounting holes formed in the first and second lower compartment side rails (Mounting apertures are conventional with frame rails and placed as needed for each vehicle application as desired), each set disposed directly below a respective set of the plurality of the first set of upper mounting holes (Mounting apertures are conventional with frame rails and placed as needed for each vehicle application as desired); and a plurality of side compartment attachment arms (Sundararajan, annotated FIG 2), each one of the plurality of side compartment attachment arms attached to aligned sets of the plurality of the first and the second set of lower mounting holes (The combination of Bohmer/Sundararajan can place mounting apertures as desired to mount the battery to the chassis) the plurality of side compartment attachment arms forming a side portion of the each of the first and second side battery compartments (Sundararajan, annotated FIG 2).
CLAIM 16] Regarding claim 16, Bohmer/Sundararajan disclose the chassis of claim 15, wherein an outer surface of the first main chassis rail (Bohmer, 28b) is co-planar with an outer surface of the first lower compartment side rail (Bohmer,30b), and an outer surface of the second main chassis rail is co-planar with an outer surface of the second lower compartment side rail (Bohmer, FIG 2 shows the right side of the frames and battery which mirror the left).
[CLAIM 17] Regarding claim 17, Bohmer/Sundararajan disclose the chassis of claim 15, further comprising a bottom support frame disposed at a lower end of the first and second side battery compartments (Sundararajan, annotated FIG 2), the bottom support frame operable to support a battery pack disposed within the first and second side battery compartments (Sundararajan, annotated FIG 2).
[CLAIM 18] Regarding claim 18, Bohmer/Sundararajan disclose the chassis of claim 15, further comprising first and second bottom support frames (Sundararajan, annotated FIG 2) disposed at respective upper and lower battery compartments, the first and second bottom support frames operable to support battery packs disposed within the upper and lower battery compartments (Sundararajan, annotated FIG 2).
[CLAIM 19] Regarding claim 19, Bohmer discloses a chassis for an electric vehicle (10) comprising: a main chassis frame (Bohmer, FIG 1) extending along a longitudinal axis of the electric vehicle (10).
-However, it fails to disclose an upper and lower battery compartment disposed within the main chassis frame, the upper battery compartment disposed above the lower battery compartment; and first and second side battery compartments attached to opposite sides of the main chassis frame wherein: the upper battery compartment is disposed directly above the lower battery compartment; the first and second side battery compartments are longitudinally aligned with the upper and lower battery compartments.
-Nevertheless, Sundararajan discloses separate stacked cell assemblies in Fig 2 mounted at a center of the vehicle 10 in FIG 1 and side cell assemblies extending laterally aligned, the side batteries suitable for a longitudinal orientation if desired.
- Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Bohmer to have stacked modules and side modules as taught by Sundararajan with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase energy storage.
-Regarding the limitation: a lower support of the first and second side battery compartments is located above a lower support of the lower battery compartment and below a lower support of the upper battery compartment (Sundararajan, FIG 5 shows a frame structure that is exemplary and can be modified in any desired orientation to fit a particular vehicle application).
[CLAIM 20] Regarding claim 20, Bohmer/Sundararajan disclose the chassis of claim 19, further comprising a battery pack in each of the upper and lower battery compartments and in the first and second side battery compartments (Sundararajan, FIG 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and can be found on the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JAMES J TRIGGS/Examiner, Art Unit 3614B
/JASON D SHANSKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614