CTNF 18/483,567 CTNF 101402 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions 08-25-01 AIA Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-3 , in the reply filed on 1 June 2026 is acknowledged. Priority Acknowledgment is made that the instant application was effectively filed on 10 October 2023, but claims priority to Japanese Patent Application No. JP2022-189197 filed on 28 November 2022. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10 October 2023 and 19 March 2025 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takebayashi (U.S. Pub. US 2016/0372754), in view of Wolverton et al. (U.S. Pub. US 2021/0194042) . Regarding claim 1 , Takebayashi teaches a battery ( 100, Fig. 1 ) comprising a positive electrode ( 10, Fig, 1 ), a negative electrode ( 20, Fig. 1 ), and an electrolyte ( nonaqueous electrolytic solution not shown, [0063]), wherein the positive electrode ( 10 ) includes a positive electrode active material ( positive electrode active material layer , [0026]), the positive electrode active material includes a lithium nickel composite oxide ( lithium nickel manganese composite oxide of Formula I , [0031 and 0068]), the lithium nickel composite oxide includes iron ( LiNi 0.5 Mn 1.5 O 4 Fe-doped , [0068]), but does not teach an X-ray absorption fine structure spectrum at a K-absorption edge of the iron in the positive electrode has a peak top in a range of 7132±2 eV. However, Wolverton teaches an X-ray absorption fine structure spectrum at a K-absorption edge of the iron in the positive electrode has a peak top in a range of 7132±2 eV ( Fe-K edge at 7130 eV , [0044], see Fig. 7B ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the K-absorption edge of the iron in the positive electrode of Takebayashi to have a peak top at 7130 eV, as taught by Wolverton, to have iron present in a 3+ oxidation state, allowing for a reversible iron redox couple ([0044]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takebayashi (U.S. Pub. US 2016/0372754), in view of Wolverton et al. (U.S. Pub. US 2021/0194042), further in view of Ho et al. (U.S. Pub. US 2018/0123187) Regarding claim 2 , Takebayashi, in view of Wolverton, does not teach wherein the lithium nickel cobalt oxide includes iron at a mass fraction of 1 to 2%. However, Ho teaches wherein the lithium nickel cobalt oxide ( Li 1+z Ni x Mn y Co 1-x-y , [0068]) includes iron ( doping element selected from the group consisting of Fe , [0071]) at a mass fraction of 1 to 2% ( about 0.1% to about 2% by weight , [0072]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the iron mass fraction of Takebayashi, in view of Wolverton, such that it was below 2%, as taught by Ho, to suppress capacity fade and improve cycling stability at elevated temperatures ([0070]). Regarding claim 3 , Takebayashi, in view of Wolverton, does not teach wherein the lithium nickel composite oxide includes at least one selected from a group consisting of a lithium-nickel-cobalt-manganese composite oxide and a lithium-nickel-cobalt-aluminum composite oxide. However, Ho teaches wherein the lithium nickel composite oxide includes at least one selected from a group consisting of a lithium-nickel-cobalt-manganese composite oxide ( Li 1+z Ni x Mn y Co 1-x-y , [0068]) and a lithium-nickel-cobalt-aluminum composite oxide. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the lithium nickel composite oxide of Takebayashi, in view of Wolverton, such that it further contained cobalt, as taught by Ho, to provide high capacity per unit weight ([0069]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Aidan L Papandria whose telephone number is (571)272-1831. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8-5 ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tiffany Legette can be reached at (571) 270-7078. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /AIDAN LACHLAN PAPANDRIA/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/483,567 Page 2 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/483,567 Page 3 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/483,567 Page 4 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/483,567 Page 5 Art Unit: 1723