DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I (claims 1-14) in the reply filed on 7/13/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that it would not create a undue burden to search and examine the claims of Inventions I-III. This is not found persuasive because Invention I is drawn to a water heater configured to modulate the power so that the heating elements are turned on for an equal amount of time, classified in F24H 15/269 and Invention II is drawn to a water heater having a ultrasonic flow sensor to measure the rate of flow of water in the fluid pathway, classified in F24H 15/238 and Invention III is drawn to a water heater configured to modify the power based on the difference between the water temperature at the outlet temperature sensor and an expected water temperature, classified in F24H 15/175. Therefore, in order to examine Inventions I-III it would require different classifications and different keywords to search the full scope of the distinct inventions
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Accordingly, claims 15-20 are withdrawn consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 1 recites “wherein the controller is configured to determine the power that is less than the maximum power that needs to be applied to the one or more heating elements and control the power electronics unit to modulate the power applied to the one or more heating elements so that the power is equally distributed across the one or more heating elements and whereby during any fixed period of time each of the heating elements is turned on for an equal amount of time.” This limitation is not enabled in view of the following Wands factors:
The breadth of the claims and (B) the nature of the invention
Claim 1 requires to be used for any fixed period of times. The scope of this limitation includes any fixed period of times including both a very long period (e.g., thousands of years) and a very short period (e.g., femtosecond). The nature of the invention must be able to withstand ages of wear and also must be able to transmit equal power for a microscopic interval.
(F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor
The inventor provides the heater period duration is 100 half cycles which translates to 833 ms. The direction provided by the inventor does not encompass the full scope of the invention requiring operation in any fixed period of time including the two extreme time periods illustrated above.
Claims 2-14 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claims 1-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 requires “one or more heating element” and “the power is equally distributed across the one or more heating elements”. Therefore, the claim scope also includes a device having only one heating element. It is unclear what the equal power distribution across one heating element is.
Claims 2-14 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claim 4 recites “large variations in current requirements are minimized”. However, the claims and the specification fail to provide a standard to determine what is a large variation and what being is considered as minimization of the variation in current.
Claim 11 recites “a calibration algorithm configured to modify the power applied to the one or more heating elements based on the difference between the water temperature measured at the outlet water temperature sensor and an expected water temperature expected to be measured at the outlet water temperature sensor.” Claim 1, which claim 11 depends upon, recites “the power is equally distributed across the one or more heating elements”. If the power applied to one or more heating elements was modified, the power distribution across the heating elements would not be equal. Therefore, claim 11 contradicts with the scope of claim 1. Claim 12 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) by virtue of its dependency on claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 11, 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seitz (U.S. Patent No. 6,080,971).
As per claim 1, Seitz (U.S. Patent No. 6,080,971) discloses a water heater comprising: a cold water inlet (13; figure 1); a hot water outlet (56); a fluid pathway arranged between the cold water inlet and the hot water outlet and adapted to convey water flowing from the cold water inlet to the hot water outlet (in the arrows shown; figure 1); one or more heating elements adapted to heat water that is in the fluid pathway (heating elements 22, 34, 44, 50; figure 1); a power electronics unit coupled to the one or more heating elements (TRIAC connected to heating elements; figure 15); a controller configured to regulate a temperature of the water in the fluid pathway to an adjustable hot water temperature by controlling the power electronics unit (microcontroller MCU 182 connected to the TRIAC and heating elements; figure 15); a flow sensor to detect a water flow through the fluid pathway (two thermistors to compare temperature differential to detect fluid flow through heater 10; column 10, lines 11-15); and an inlet water temperature sensor (18) adapted to determine an inlet temperature of the water; wherein the controller is configured to determine the power that is less than the maximum power that needs to be applied (applying less than 100% of its rated wattage output; column 17, lines 35-37) to the one or more heating elements and control the power electronics unit to modulate the power applied to the one or more heating elements so that the power is equally distributed across the one or more heating elements (each heating element receives equal power from the electrical supply distributed by the controller in sequential increments of the half cycles of the sine wave; column 5, lines 15-17) and whereby during any fixed period of time each of the heating elements is turned on for an equal amount of time (same amount of on-time is delivered to each heater element; column 13, lines 41-43).
As per claim 2, Seitz discloses the water heater of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the controller is configured to control the power electronics unit to apply power to the one or more heating elements when the AC phase of the input power corresponds to 0 volts (zero crossing window from 0 to 5 volts; column 12, lines 42-47).
As per claim 3, Seitz discloses the water heater of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the controller is configured to control the power electronics unit to apply power to the one or more heating elements when the AC phase of the input power corresponds to other than 0 volts (zero crossing window from 0 to 5 volts; column 12, lines 42-47).
As per claim 4, Seitz discloses the water heater of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the power applied to the one or more heating elements is equally distributed over time, whereby large variations in current requirements are minimized (firing at half cycles to allow same amount of on-time is deliver to each heater element; column 13, lines 34-43).
As per claim 5, Seitz discloses the water heater of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the water heater comprises two or more heating elements and applying power to the heating elements comprises sequentially applying power to each heating element (applying power to heaters 34, 22, 44, 50 in sequence; column 13, lines 34-50).
As per claim 6, Seitz discloses the water heater of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the water heater comprises two or more heating elements and applying power to the heating elements comprises sequentially (applying power to heaters 34, 22, 44, 50 in sequence; column 13, lines 34-50) applying the same average power to each heating element (each heating element receives equal power from the electrical supply distributed by the controller in sequential increments of the half cycles of the sine wave; column 5, lines 15-17).
As per claim 7, Seitz discloses the water heater of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the water heater comprises two or more heating elements and applying power to the heating elements comprises applying the same amount of power to each heating element with each heating element being powered on in a programmed sequence (applying power to heaters 34, 22, 44, 50 in sequence; column 13, lines 34-50).
As per claim 11, Seitz discloses the water heater of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the water heater further comprises an outlet water temperature sensor (54; figure 1) adapted to determine an outlet temperature of the water (as shown; figure 1) and a calibration algorithm configured to modify the power applied to the one or more heating elements based on the difference between the water temperature measured at the outlet water temperature sensor and an expected water temperature expected to be measured at the outlet water temperature sensor (voltage output is derived from thermistor 54 and one voltage input is a control set point voltage 139 (corresponding to the expected temperature); column 11, lines 28-31; increasing output voltage until the proper power level is achieved to produce the operational set point temperature at the existing flow rate; column 11, lines 54-57).
As per claim 13, Seitz discloses the water heater of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the controller is programmed to detect air in the fluid pathway and if air is detected in the fluid pathway, to apply no power to the heating elements (when the water flow is interrupted (e.g., air in the fluid chamber instead of water), the top of each chamber is hotter than the bottom of the same chamber and the standby circuit comparator circuitry effectively de-energizes heating elements 22, 44 and 50; column 10, lines 51-57).
As per claim 14, Seitz discloses the water heater of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the controller is programmed to detect an inlet water temperature and apply an amount of power to the one or more heating elements sufficient to prevent freezing of a fluid in the fluid pathway if the temperature of the water measured is below a set value (the circuitry provides a minimum standby set point temperature in order to prevent freezing; column 9, lines 56-58).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seitz.
As per claim 10, Seitz discloses the water heater of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the controller is programmed to measure a voltage of the electricity provided to the water heater (voltage sensor incorporated to the MUCU to enhance the precision of the temperature set point; column 15, lines 18-21). Seitz does not explicitly teach modifying the duty cycle applied to the heating elements based on the voltage of the electricity provided to the water heater.
However, Seitz teaches regarding the voltage sensor, no additional disclosure or circuitry is necessary since one skilled in the art, given the disclosure, may easily develop the necessary software for the MCU. The fact that the power is proportional to the voltage (P=V^2/R) is well known principle in the art. Seitz also teaches the duty cycle determines the percentage of power or wattage output applied to the heaters (column 12, lines 33-36).
Therefore, in order to control the power to the heaters, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Setiz’s control unit MCU to incorporate the already existing voltage sensor to modify the duty cycle applied to the heating elements based on the voltage since it is well known principle that the power is proportion to the voltage and Seitz teaches that the duty cycle determines the percentage of the power applied to the heaters.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seitz in view of Kozak (U.S. Patent No. 4,588,875).
As per claim 8, Seitz discloses the water heater of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the water heater comprises two or more heating elements and applying power to the heating elements comprises applying the same amount of power to each heating element with each heating element being powered on in a sequence (applying power to heaters 34, 22, 44, 50 in sequence; column 13, lines 34-50).. However, Seitz does not explicitly teach wherein the sequence is a random sequence.
Kozak (U.S. Patent No. 4,588,875) is related prior art in that it deals with a controller for a water haeter. Kozak teaches using a random sequence to substantially equalize the operating period of the heating elements (abstract). Kozak also teaches this provides substantial equalization of the operating life of the load means, i.e., heaters (claim 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Seitz’s sequence to incorporate Kozak’s random sequence of the heaters as it would provide substantial equalization of the operating life of the load means (claim 1).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seitz in view of Stebbins (U.S. Patent No. 9,341,391).
As per claim 9, Seitz discloses the water heater of claim 1. Seitz does not explicitly teach wherein the flow sensor to detect a water flow through the fluid pathway comprises an ultrasonic flow sensor.
Stebbins (U.S. Patent No. 9,341,391) is related prior art in that it deals with a controller for a tankless water heater. Stebbins teaches water flow sensors including ultrasonic sensors can be used and it may be desirable to use more than one type of flow sensor to measure across a wide range of flows or with varying levels of precision (column 5, lines 60-67). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Seitz’s water flow sensor to further include an ultrasonic sensor because as Stebbins teaches it may be desirable to use more than one type of flow sensor to measure across a wide range of flows or with varying levels of precision (column 5, lines 60-67).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 12 contains allowable subject matter wherein the calibration algorithm is further configured to analyze the amount of modification of the power applied to the one or more heating elements and if the amount of modification is more than a set amount, the calibration algorithm is configured to cycle between the one or more heating elements to determine which heating element requires the amount of modification of the power applied to be more than the set amount and provide an indication of the heating element.
In the closest prior art, Seitz ‘831 (U.S. Patent No. 6,246,831) teaches detecting anomalies by comparing accumulated temperature rise against a threshold to determine if the heating element is not delivering sufficient heat (column 12, lin58 – column 3, line 17). However, Seitz ‘831 does not sufficiently teach the claimed calibration algorithm.
No relevant prior art of record sufficiently teaches the allowable subject matter in such a way that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the prior arts to create the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cabrera (U.S. Patent No. 7,945,146) teaches a power modulation system for a tankless water heater.
Chu (U.S. Patent No. 6,539,173) teaches a sensor controller water heater.
Johnson (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2010/0086289) teaches a power control circuitry for tankless water heater.
Lutz (U.S. Patent No. 8,787,742) teaches also teaches an on-demand water heater.
/SANG K KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745