DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 are pending in the current application.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0049] lines 5, 6 and 8 recite “rotatable shaft 402”, “rudder blade 404” and “rudder blade 404” respectively. The rotatable shaft and rudder blades shown in Figure 5 are reference numbers 502 and 504 respectively.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 3 recites a “tope portion of the rudder blade”. This should be “top portion of the rudder blade”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 6, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Duryea, US 3872817. Duryea discloses a rudder used to turn a watercraft, aerial vehicle, or other vehicle moving through a fluid medium, comprising: an elongated rotatable shaft #24, #26; a rudder blade #14, #16 extending in parallel with the elongated shaft; and at least one arm #38,#40 connecting the elongated shaft to the rudder blade such that the rudder blade is disposed at a distance away from the elongated shaft. Figure 3 shows that the rudder blade forms an outer circumference around the axis of the rotatable shaft as the rotatable shaft is rotated.
Claims 1, 5, 6, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by AT 152891B. As best interpreted by the examiner AT 152891B discloses a rudder used to turn a watercraft, aerial vehicle, or other vehicle moving through a fluid medium, comprising: an elongated rotatable shaft #2; a rudder blade #8 extending in parallel with the elongated shaft; and at least one arm #6, #7 (arms are disposed in parallel) connecting the elongated shaft to the rudder blade such that the rudder blade is disposed at a distance away from the elongated shaft. Figures 2-5 show that the rudder blade forms an outer circumference around the axis of the rotatable shaft as the rotatable shaft is rotated.
Regarding claim 5: Figure 6 appears to show the claimed configuration where an open rectangular space is formed between the first and second horizontal arms and the rudder blade.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duryea. Duryea discloses the invention set forth above but does not explicitly disclose the claimed features of claims 7-10:
Regarding claim 7: Duryea teaches an arm connecting a bottom portion of the shaft to a top portion of the rudder, the rudder blade disposed at a distance from the rotatable shaft, but does not explicitly disclose where the arm is an angled arm connecting a bottom portion of the shaft to a middle portion of the rudder blade. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to angle the arm and attach the arm to a middle portion of the rudder blade rather than the top of the rudder blade. The motivation would be to support the rudder blade in the middle portion, providing better balance to the blade and reduce twisting of the blade when the arm is attached to the top of the rudder blade.
Regarding claims 8-10: the materials cited are common rudder materials used in the art, and foil shapes and tapered sides are commonly used in rudder and foils in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use common rudder materials to form the rudder blade and to form the blade in aerodynamic shapes to minimize drag.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AT 152891B. AT 152891B discloses the invention set forth above but does not explicitly disclose where the pair of extension arm a disposed at different angles with respect to each other. A simple change of shape of the rudder blade from rectangular to triangular would make it obvious to angle the supporting extension arms accordingly. Triangular shaped rudder blades are known in the art and would be an obvious alternative choice for a rudder shape to provide a narrower rudder portion near the stern and a wider rudder portion further aft to increase steering effectiveness. Such changes in shape are typically considered to be within the skills and abilities of an artisan (See MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(B)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rudder design of AT 152891 by using angled extension arms to support a triangular shaped rudder. Angling the support arms would accommodate known rudder shapes such as a triangular rudder.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gasper et al., US 9914504. Gasper discloses a rudder comprising an elongated rudder blade #33P of rectangular shape from the top portion thereof to the bottom portion thereof, (see Figs 2-4), a hinge #37 comprised of hinge pin 53 and hinge arms #49 and #51 attached to the stern of a watercraft. Figure 3 of Gasper depicts the hinge as a single hinge extending the length of the rudder blade #33p. Simply altering the design to include an upper hinge assembly and a lower hinge assembly connected to the upper portion of the rudder blade and the lower portion of the rudder blade would be an alternative arrangement commonly found in hinged components where a piano hinge can be replaced by several smaller hinges to save cost, weight or simplify replacement of parts. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rudder apparatus of Gasper by replace the single continuous hinge assembly on the rudder with upper and lower hinge assemblies comprised of a first connection arm connected at a first end to an upper portion of the rudder blade and the second connection arm being connected at a lower portion of the rudder blade, such that the connection arms extend in parallel away from the rudder blade.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY D WIEST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615