Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Recitation of “inflow” in line 5 should be corrected to “outflow”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 11 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2021/0085158 A1 to Ikuma et al. (hereinafter “Ikuma”).
Regarding claim 1, Ikuma discloses a system (fig. 1, 23) for detecting abnormalities in a medical device (endoscope) during a medical procedure in a patient (calculus removal), the system comprising:
an inflow tubing 31 defining an inflow lumen, the inflow lumen configured to provide a fluid (saline) from a fluid source 27 to a site of the medical procedure (see paragraph [0101]); an inflow sensor 34 (flow meter) in communication with the inflow lumen to sense an inflow parameter (flow rate) of the fluid within the inflow lumen, the inflow sensor configured to generate an inflow signal indicative of the inflow parameter of the fluid (see paragraph [0101]);
an outflow tubing 32 defining an outflow lumen, the outflow lumen configured to extract debris from the site of the medical procedure (see paragraph [0102]);
an outflow sensor 35 in communication with the outflow lumen to sense an
outflow parameter (flow rate) of the debris within the outflow lumen, the outflow sensor configured to generate an outflow signal indicative of the outflow parameter of the debris (see paragraph [0102]);
a memory including instructions (see paragraphs [0091], [0262]-[0264]); and
processing circuitry (see paragraphs [0091], [0262]-[0264]) that, when in operation, is configured by the instructions to:
receive at least one of the inflow signal (saline flow rate) or the outflow signal (saline and debris flow rate); and
identify an abnormality in either the inflow tubing or the outflow tubing based on comparing the inflow signal or the outflow signal, respectively, to pre-determined thresholds ([0262]: "the control unit may determine whether or not the flow rate in the conduit 32 has the threshold TH or less based on a detection signal from the flowmeter 35”).
Regarding claim 2, Ikuma discloses an inflow pump 22 in communication with the inflow tubing 13 to control a fluid flow rate of the fluid through the inflow lumen; and an outflow pump 23 in communication with the outflow tubing 14 to control a debris flow rate of the debris through the outflow lumen (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, Ikuma discloses that the inflow signal (saline flow rate at flow meter 34: paragraph [0101]) and the outflow signal (saline and debris flow rate at flow meter 35: paragraph [0102]) are indicative of an inflow fluid flow rate and an outflow debris flow rate, respectively.
Regarding claim 19, Ikuma discloses that the processing circuitry is configured to:
transmit a controlling signal based on the abnormality measured in either the inflow tubing or the outflow tubing (see paragraphs [0262]-[0263]).
Regarding claims 20-21, Ikuma discloses that the controlling signal alters a voltage supplied to the inflow pump 22 or the outflow pump 23 to change an inflow pumping rate of the inflow pump or an outflow pumping rate of the outflow pump (see paragraph [0265]: “the control unit can control a water feeding pump 22 or a suction pump 23 based on a detection signal” which implicitly altering voltage supplied to pump to change pumping rate).
Regarding claim 22, Ikuma discloses a debris trap (the partition member 41 in the outflow tubing 14 in Figures 17-18) and the controlling signal opens the debris trap to clear the debris from the debris trap (see Figure 1; paragraphs [0213]-[0216]: the ultrasound transducer 37B in the outlet flow tubing 14 to prevent clogging of the outlet flow tubing 14).
Claims 1-2 and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2002/0019607 A1 (Bui).
Regarding claim1, Bui discloses a system (fig. 1) suitable for detecting abnormalities (see paragraph [0018]: pressure deviation from desired pressure) in a medical device during a medical procedure in a patient (eye surgery), the system comprising:
an inflow tubing 30 defining an inflow lumen (irrigation line), the inflow lumen configured to provide a fluid from a fluid source 32 to a site of the medical procedure;
an inflow sensor 34, 44 in communication with the inflow lumen to sense an inflow parameter (pressure, [0013]-[0016]) of the fluid within the inflow lumen, the inflow sensor configured to generate an inflow signal indicative of the inflow parameter of the fluid;
an outflow tubing 22 defining an outflow lumen (aspiration line 22: see paragraph [0011]), the outflow lumen configured to extract debris from the site of the medical procedure (see paragraph [0010]: "The aspiration system 16 removes the irrigation fluid and any detached tissue from the surgical site");
an outflow sensor 27 (see paragraph [0011]) in communication with the outflow lumen to sense an outflow parameter (pressure) of the debris within the outflow lumen, the outflow sensor configured to generate an outflow signal indicative of the outflow parameter of the debris;
a memory including instructions (see paragraph [0013]); and
processing circuitry that, when in operation, is configured by the instructions (see paragraph [0013]: "The controller 36 may include a microprocessor, memory, etc. that can receive input signals, process the signals in accordance with a software routine(s) and provide output signals.") to:
receive at least one of the inflow signal or the outflow signal (see paragraphs [0013], [0018]); and
identify an abnormality (see paragraph [0018]: "the actual pressure deviates from the desired pressure") in either the inflow tubing or the outflow tubing based on comparing the inflow signal or the outflow signal, respectively, to pre-determined thresholds (see paragraph [0018]: "desired range of pressures").
Regarding claim 2, Bui discloses an inflow pump 28 in communication with the inflow tubing 30 to control a fluid flow rate of the fluid through the inflow lumen; and an outflow pump 24 in communication with the outflow tubing 22 to control a debris flow rate of the debris through the outflow lumen (see paragraphs [0011]-[0012]).
Regarding claim 23, Bui discloses a method for detecting abnormalities (see paragraph [0018]) in a medical device (fig. 1) during a medical procedure in a patient (eye surgery), the method comprising:
receiving, from an inflow sensor 34, 44, an inflow signal indicative of one or more inflow parameters (pressure: see paragraphs [0013]-[0016]) of a fluid within an inflow lumen;
receiving, from an outflow sensor 27, an outflow signal indicative of one or more outflow parameters (pressure) of debris within an outflow lumen (see paragraph [0010]: "The aspiration system 16 removes the irrigation fluid and any detached tissue from the surgical site");
identifying an abnormality (see paragraph [0018]: "the actual pressure deviates from the desired pressure") in the inflow lumen or the outflow lumen by comparing the inflow signal or the outflow signal to an inflow pre-determined threshold and an outflow pre-determined threshold, respectively (see paragraphs [0013], [0018]; and
generating an inflow error or an outflow error based on the abnormality (see paragraph [0023]: "dividing the differential pressure across the system by the flowrate", the differential pressure being based on the actual, deviating pressure i.e. the abnormality) in the inflow lumen or the outflow lumen, respectively (see paragraphs [0020]-[0023], in particular [0023]: "If the actual resistance is greater than the threshold the controller 36 may activate a visual and/or audio indicator 54 to warn the surgeon that an occlusion may exist in the system.").
Regarding claim 24, Bui discloses transmitting, via a display unit, the inflow error or the outflow error to a clinician performing the medical procedure (see paragraph [0023]: “If the actual resistance is greater than the threshold the controller 36 may activate a visual and/or audio indicator 54 to warn the surgeon that an occlusion may exist in the system”).
Regarding claim 25, Bui discloses generating a controlling signal to alter one or more components of the medical device to mitigate the abnormality causing the inflow error or the outflow error (see paragraph [0018]: "If the actual pressure is outside the desired range the controller 36 can vary the pump speed, accordingly.").
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10 and 12-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/John Kim/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777
JK
2/11/26