Drawings
The drawings are objected to because “element 11c is referenced in Fig. 24 and 25; however, it is not described in specification”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill et al. (US 20190106042 A1) in view of Couto et al. (US 20120233787 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hill et al. discloses a ramp apparatus (Fig. 2, 200), for a vehicle (Fig. 1, 100), the ramp apparatus comprising:
a housing (Fig. 4, 202, 204, 208) mounted on a vehicle body (Fig. 1, 102);
a first ramp platform (Fig. 3, 301) telescopically movable with respect to the housing (It can be seen in Fig. 2 and 3, a first ramp platform telescopically movable with respect to the housing)
a hinge mechanism (Fig. 7, 638) configured to move the first ramp platform (Paragraph 0028, Fig. 3, 301) between a stowed position (Fig.2) and a deployed position (Fig. 3) and to allow the first ramp platform to pivot with respect to the housing in a state in which the first ramp platform is in the deployed position, (See Fig. 3 where it can be seen ramp platform to pivot with respect to the housing in a state in which the first ramp platform is in the deployed position);
Hill et al. dose not discloses a second ramp platform telescopically movable with respect to the first ramp platform; a third ramp platform telescopically movable with respect to the second ramp platform; and a drive mechanism configured to move the second ramp platform and the third ramp platform.
Couto et al. teaches a first ramp platform (Fig. 5, 30) telescopically movable, (Fig. 5) with respect to the housing (Fig. 5, 22);
a second ramp platform (Fig. 5, 32) telescopically movable (Fig. 5) with respect to the first ramp platform (Fig. 5, 30)
a third ramp platform, (Fig. 5, 34) telescopically movable (Fig. 5) with respect to the second ramp platform (Fig. 5, 32);
and a drive mechanism configured to move the second ramp platform and the third ramp platform (Fig. 12, Paragraph [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the applicant’s claim to combine the ramp assembly and platform of Hill et al. with the telescopically connected ramps platforms and a drive mechanism configured to move the second ramp platform and the third ramp platform in view of Couto et al. in order to achieve the predictable result of increase the distance and the ramp can be extended to increases the reach of the ramp.
Regarding claim 5, Hill et al. discloses the hinge mechanism (Fig. 7, 638) comprises: a moving body (Fig.7, 636) connected to the first ramp platform (Fig. 2, 300) through a hinge shaft (Fig. 7, paragraph 0039): a hinge drive unit mounted on the main body (See annotated attached Fig. 7): and a moving mechanism (Fig. 7, 604) configured to allow the moving body to move (Paragraph 0033).
Regarding claim 18, Hill et al. discloses a ramp apparatus (Fig. 2, 200) for a vehicle, the ramp apparatus comprising: a housing mounted (Fig. 4, 202, 204, 208) on a vehicle body (Fig. 1, 100), the housing comprising a pair of guide rails (Fig. 7, 644, Paragraph 0039, lines 30-33);
a first ramp platform (Fig. 3, 301) telescopically movable with respect to the housing (It can be seen in Fig. 2 and 3, a first ramp platform telescopically movable with respect to the housing);
a hinge mechanism (Fig. 7, 638) configured to move the first ramp platform (Paragraph 0028, Fig. 3, 301) between a stowed position (Fig.2) and a deployed position (Fig. 3) and to allow the first ramp platform to pivot with respect to the housing in a state in which the first ramp platform is in the deployed position, (See Fig. 3 where it can be seen ramp platform to pivot with respect to the housing in a state in which the first ramp platform is in the deployed position); wherein the pair of guide rails (Fig. 7, 644, Paragraph 0039, lines 30-33) is configured to guide a movement of the first ramp platform (Fig. 2-3, Paragraph 0033) and a movement of the hinge mechanism (Fig. 7, 638);
Hill et al. dose not discloses a second ramp platform telescopically movable with respect to the first ramp platform; a third ramp platform telescopically movable with respect to the second ramp platform; and a drive mechanism configured to move the second ramp platform and the third ramp platform.
Couto et al. teaches a first ramp platform (Fig. 5, 30) telescopically movable, (Fig. 5) with respect to the housing (Fig. 5, 22);
a second ramp platform (Fig. 5, 32) telescopically movable (Fig. 5) with respect to the first ramp platform (Fig. 5, 30)
a third ramp platform, (Fig. 5, 34) telescopically movable (Fig. 5) with respect to the second ramp platform (Fig. 5, 32);
and a drive mechanism configured to move the second ramp platform and the third ramp platform (Fig. 12, Paragraph [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the applicant’s claim to combine the ramp assembly and platform of Hill et al. with the telescopically connected ramps platforms and a drive mechanism configured to move the second ramp platform and the third ramp platform in view of Couto et al. in order to achieve the predictable result of increase the distance and the ramp can be extended to increases the reach of the ramp.
Regarding claim 19, Hill et al. discloses each guide rail (Fig. 9, 644) comprises: a guide groove (See attached annotated Fig. 9); a mounting portion located below the guide groove (See attached annotated Fig. 9); and a plurality of main rollers rotatably mounted on the mounting portion (Fig. 10, 660 and 662).
Regarding claim 20, Hill et al. discloses the mounting portion has a cavity (See attached annotated Fig. 9) defined therein; the plurality of main rollers are rotatably mounted in the cavity of the mounting portion (See attached annotated Fig. 9 and Fig. 10, 622); the mounting portion has a plurality of through holes (Fig. 9, 648); and a portion of each main roller protrudes through the corresponding through hole and is located in the guide groove (It can be seen in Fig. 10 that roller protrudes through the corresponding through hole and is located in the guide groove).
Hill et al. discloses only one main roller is rotatably mounted in the cavity of the mounting portion.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the applicant’s claim to modify a roller mechanism of Hill et al. by introducing the duplication of the part to eliminate the belt drive and introduce the rollers for telescopic movement. Since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. V. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill et al. in view of Couto et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Richins (US 3756433 A).
Regarding claim 2, Hill et al. does not disclose the drive mechanism comprises: a drive sprocket rotatably mounted on the second ramp platform; a driven sprocket rotatably mounted on the second ramp platform and spaced apart from the drive sprocket; a chain connecting the drive sprocket and the driven sprocket; and a motor configured to drive the drive sprocket; and the drive mechanism is configured to move the second ramp platform with respect to the first ramp platform by a rotation of the drive sprocket and to move the third ramp platform with respect to the second ramp platform by a rotation of the driven sprocket.
Couto et al. teaches the drive mechanism comprises: a drive sprocket rotatably mounted on the second ramp platform;
a driven sprocket (Fig. 12, 78) rotatably mounted on the second ramp platform and spaced apart from the drive sprocket;
a chain (Fig. 12, 74) connecting the drive sprocket and the driven sprocket; and
a motor (Fig. 12, 76) configured to drive the drive sprocket;
and the drive mechanism is configured to move the second ramp platform with respect to the first ramp platform by a rotation of the drive sprocket (Fig. 12, Paragraph [0045]).
Hill et al. and Couto et al. both fail to teach that the drive mechanism moves the third ramp platform with respect to the second ramp platform by a rotation of the driven sprocket. (using a singular drive mechanism to telescopically move the multiple section of telescopic device is well known in the art.)
Richins teaches a telescopic arm mechanism including three sections (Fig. 4, 122, 124, 126) and a base (Fig. 4, 128). Richins further teaches a drive mechanism that comprises:
a drive sprocket (Fig. 4, 228);
a driven sprocket (Fig. 4, 232) spaced apart from the drive sprocket;
a chain (Fig. 4, 230) connecting the drive sprocket and the driven sprocket; and
a motor (Fig. 4, 220) configured to drive the sprocket; and
the drive mechanism is configured to move the second section with respect to the first section by a rotation of the drive sprocket and to move the third section with respect to the second section by rotation of the drive sprocket (See, Column 6, lines 12-30, column 7, lines 7-62, column 8, lines 4 through 43 and figure 4 and 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the ramp assembly of Hill et al. and Couto et al. and replace the drive mechanism of Couto et al. with the drive mechanism in view of Richins in order to achieve the predictable result of combining drive mechanism for the multiple platforms such that the platforms are supported for simultaneous movement with only one motor.
Regarding claim 3, Hill et al. and Couto et al. fail to disclose the drive mechanism further comprises: a first pinion coupled to the drive sprocket; and a first rack gear mounted on the first ramp platform and meshing with the first pinion
Richins teaches the drive mechanism further comprises: a first pinion (Fig. 4, 140) coupled to the drive sprocket; and a first rack gear (Fig. 4, 138) mounted on the first ramp platform and meshing with the first pinion (column 7, lines 7-62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the applicant’s claim to modify the combination of the ramp assembly of Hill et al. and Couto et al. by incorporating the drive mechanism further comprises: a first pinion coupled to the drive sprocket; and a first rack gear mounted on the first ramp platform and meshing with the first pinion in further view of Richins in order to increase the linear travel speed of the ramp during telescopic extension and retraction.
Regarding claim 4, Richins teaches the drive mechanism further comprises: a second pinion coupled to the driven sprocket (Fig. 4, 144); and a second rack gear (Fig. 4, 156) mounted on the third ramp platform and meshing with the second pinion (column 7, lines 7-62, See rejection of claim 3).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill et al. in view of Couto et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of KR 102422681 B1.
Regarding claim 6, Hill et al. does not disclose a linear light indicator mounted on the first ramp platform, the second ramp platform, or the third ramp platform.
Couto et al. teaches the first ramp platform (Fig. 5, 30), the second ramp platform (Fig. 5, 32), or the third ramp platform (Fig. 5, 34).
Hill et al. and Couto et al. also do not teach a linear light indicator mounted on the first ramp platform, the second ramp platform, or the third ramp platform. (See rejection of claim 1 for combining multiple platforms).
KR ‘681 teaches a linear light indicator (Fig. 4, 400) mounted on the ramp platform (Fig. 4, 110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the applicant’s claim to modify the combination of the ramp assembly of Hill et al. and Couto et al. by incorporating a linear light indicator mounted on the multiple ramp platforms in view of KR ‘681 in order to enhance the safety, visibility and to verify the operational of the telescopic extension and retraction of the ramp.
Claim(s) 7-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Couto et al. in view of Hill et al. and further in view of CN 219192055 U.
Regarding claim 7, Couto et al. discloses a ramp apparatus for a vehicle (Fig. 1, 20. Abstract), the ramp apparatus comprising: a housing (Fig. 1, 22), mounted on a vehicle body (paragraph 0031);
a first ramp platform (Fig. 5, 30) telescopically movable (Fig. 5) with respect to the housing (Fig. 5, 22), the first ramp platform comprising: a first ramp plate (Fig. 5, 30C);
a pair of first side rails attached to both side edges of the first ramp plate, respectively (See attached annotated fig. 5, it can be seen first side rails attached to both side of 30C);
a second ramp platform (Fig. 5, 32) telescopically movable (Fig. 5) with respect to the first ramp platform (Fig. 5, 30)
a third ramp platform, (Fig. 5, 34) telescopically movable (Fig. 5) with respect to the second ramp platform (Fig. 5, 32);
and a drive mechanism configured to move the second ramp platform and the third ramp platform (Fig. 12, Paragraph [0045]).
Couto et al. does not disclose a hinge mechanism configured to move the first ramp platform between a stowed position and a deployed position and to allow the first ramp platform to pivot with respect to the housing in a state in which the first ramp platform is in the deployed position.
Hill et al. teaches a hinge mechanism (Fig. 7, 638) configured to move the first ramp platform (Paragraph 0028, Fig. 3, 301) between a stowed position (Fig.2) and a deployed position (Fig. 3) and to allow the first ramp platform to pivot with respect to the housing in a state in which the first ramp platform is in the deployed position, (See Fig. 3 where it can be seen ramp platform to pivot with respect to the housing in a state in which the first ramp platform is in the deployed position).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the applicant’s claim to modify Couto et al. by incorporating a hinge mechanism of the ramp assembly in view of Hill et al. in order to allow relative angular movement between ramp sections and to reduce bending stresses during extension and retraction.
Couto et al. and Hill et al. fail to disclose or teach a first mounting portion attached to a central portion of the first ramp plate.
CN ‘055 teaches a first mounting portion attached to a central portion of the first ramp plate (See attached annotated Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the applicant’s claim to modify the combination of Couto et al. and Hill et al. by incorporating a first mounting portion to a central portion of the first ramp in further view of CN ’055 to achieve structural stability of the ramp.
Regarding claim 8, 12 and 16, Couto et al. discloses first side, second and third rail has an upper guide portion protruding upwardly from the first, second and third ramp plate by a predetermined height (See attached annotated fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, Couto et al. discloses the second ramp platform (Fig. 5, 32) comprises: a second ramp plate (Fig. 5, 32c); a pair of second side rails attached to both side edges of the second ramp plate (See attached annotated fig. 5, it can be seen first side rails attached to both side of 32C).
Couto et al. and Hill et al. do not disclose a second mounting portion attached to a central portion of the second ramp plate.
CN ’055 teaches a second mounting portion attached to a central portion of the second ramp plate (See attached annotated Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the applicant’s claim to modify the combining of second ramp plate of Couto et al. and Hill et al. by incorporating a second mounting portion to a central portion of the second ramp in further view of CN ’055 to achieve structural stability of ramp.
Regarding claim 10, Couto et al. discloses each first side rail (See annotated fig. 5) has a channel-shaped section which is open to the second ramp platform (It can be seen in Fig. 5 and 12, 42 and 40, a channel-shaped section which is open to the second ramp platform 32); and each second side rail is configured to slide along the corresponding first side rail (See annotated fig. 5, it can be seen second side rail is configured to slide along the corresponding first side rail).
Regarding claim 11 and 15, Couto et al. and CN ‘055 do not disclose the second or third ramp platform further comprises an upper or lower roller mechanism mounted on each second or third side rail; and the upper or lower roller mechanism is in rolling contact with each first or each second side rail.
Hill et al. teaches the ramp platform further comprises roller mechanism (Fig. 8, 674B) mounted on each second side rail (Fig. 8, 644); and the roller mechanism is in rolling contact with each first side rail (Paragraph 0045, lines 52-54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the applicant’s claim to modify the combination of Couto et al. and CN ‘055 by incorporating roller mechanism mounted on each second side rail; and the roller mechanism is in rolling contact with each first side rail in view of Hill et al. in order to reduce the friction during the telescopic movement of the ramp platform.
Regarding claim 13, Couto et al. discloses the third ramp platform (Fig. 5, 34) comprises: a third ramp plate (Fig. 5, 34c); a pair of third side rails attached to both side edges of the third ramp plate (See above attached annotated fig. 5, it can be seen first side rails attached to both side of 34C).
Couto et al. and Hill et al. do not disclose a third mounting portion attached to a central portion of the third ramp plate.
CN ’055 teaches a third mounting portion attached to a central portion of the third ramp plate (See above attached annotated Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the applicant’s claim to modify the combination of the third ramp plate of Couto et al. and Hill et al by incorporating a third mounting portion to a central portion of the third ramp in further view of CN ’055 to achieve structural stability of ramp.
Regrading claim 14, Couto et al. discloses each second side rail (See annotated fig. 5) has a channel-shaped cross section which is open to the third ramp platform (It can be seen in Fig. 5 and 12, 44 and 46, a channel-shaped section which is open to the third ramp platform 34); and each third side rail is configured to slide along the corresponding second side rail (See above attached annotated fig. 5, it can be seen third side rail is configured to slide along the corresponding second side rail).
Regarding claim 17, Couto et al. disclose the drive mechanism (Fig. 12, Paragraph [0045]).
Couto et al and Hill et al. explicitly fail to disclose the drive mechanism is disposed on the first mounting portion of the first ramp platform, the second mounting portion of the second ramp platform, and the third mounting portion of the third ramp platform.
CN ’055 teaches a mounting portion attached to a central portion of the ramp plate (See above attached annotated Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the applicant’s claim to modify the combination of the drive mechanism of Couto et al. and Hill et al. with a mounting portion attached to a central portion of the ramp plate, (by incorporating mounting portion to first, second and third ramp to achieve structurer stability of ramp as per the rejection of claims 9 and 13) in view of CN ‘055 to allow easier access for the maintenance or replacement of the ramp floor plate or drive mechanism.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional cited references show other telescopic ramp apparatuses.
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/JAIMIN G PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3652