DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because in figure 22, which is an exploded view of a ramp platform the reference number “110” should be “21”, which corresponds to the “ramp platform” in the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 claim a ramp apparatus for a vehicle, the ramp apparatus comprising:
a housing mounted on a vehicle body;
a ramp assembly movable between a stowed position in which the ramp assembly is stowed in a cavity of the housing and a deployed position in which the ramp assembly is deployed or extended from the cavity of the housing, the ramp assembly comprising one or more ramp platforms telescopically connected to each other;
a hinge mechanism comprising a moving body movably mounted in the housing and a hinge shaft pivotally connecting the ramp assembly to the moving body; and
a guide mechanism configured to guide pivoting of the ramp assembly.
There needs to be at least two ramp platforms in order to meet the limitation that the ramp platforms are telescopically together.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill et al. (US 2019/0106042) in view of Cuoto et al. (US 2012/0233787).
Claims 1 claim a ramp apparatus, 200, for a vehicle, the ramp apparatus comprising:
a housing, 202, 204, 208, mounted on a vehicle body, 102;
a ramp assembly, 300, movable between a stowed position, see figure 2, in which the ramp assembly is stowed in a cavity of the housing and a deployed position, see figure 3, in which the ramp assembly is deployed or extended from the cavity of the housing, the ramp assembly comprising one ramp platform, 301;
a hinge mechanism, 638, comprising a moving body, 636, movably mounted in the housing and a hinge shaft pivotally connecting the ramp assembly, 300, to the moving body, see figure 7 and paragraph 0039; and
a guide mechanism, 500, configured to guide pivoting of the ramp assembly, see paragraphs 0030 and 0031.
Hill et al. teaches the ramp assembly comprises one ramp platform, 120, Hill et al. does not teach ramp platforms telescopically connected together. Cuoto et al. teaches a ramp assembly comprising three ramp platforms, 30, 32, and 34, telescopically connected to each other, see figures 2-4 and paragraph 0032.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the telescopically connected ramps platforms of Cuoto et al. with the ramp assembly and platform of Hill et al. in order to achieve the predictable result of increase the distance the ramp can be extended to increase the reach of the ramp.
Regarding claim 2, Hill et al. teaches the hinge mechanism further comprises a first hinge lug connected to the moving body, 636, and a second hinge lug connected to the ramp assembly, 300;
and the first hinge lug and the second hinge lug are configured to receive the hinge shaft, see figure 7 and paragraphs 0039.
Regarding claim 10, Hill et al. teaches a moving mechanism, 604, configured to move the moving body of the hinge mechanism, see paragraph 0033.
Regarding claim 11, Hill et al. teaches the moving mechanism comprises a drive sprocket, a driven sprocket spaced apart from the drive sprocket, a chain, 609, connecting the drive sprocket and the driven sprocket, and a motor, 606, configured to drive the drive sprocket; and the chain is connected to the moving body through a chain attachment, 612 see paragraph 0033 and figure 7.
Regarding claim 12, Hill et la. teaches a ramp apparatus, 200, for a vehicle, the ramp apparatus comprising:
a housing, 202, 204, and 208, mounted on a vehicle body, 102;
a ramp assembly, 300, movable between a stowed position, see figure 2, in which the ramp assembly is stowed in a cavity of the housing and a deployed position, see figure 3, in which the ramp assembly is deployed or extended from the cavity of the housing, the ramp assembly comprising:
a first ramp platform, 120, telescopically movable with respect to the housing;
a hinge mechanism, 638, comprising a moving body, 636, movably mounted in the housing and a hinge shaft pivotally connecting the ramp assembly, 300, to the moving body, see figure 7 and paragraph 0039; and
a guide mechanism, 500, configured to guide pivoting of the ramp assembly, see paragraphs 0030 and 0031.
Hill et al. teaches the ramp assembly comprises one ramp platform, 120, that is telescopically housed within the housing, Hill et al. does not teach a second or third ramp platform. Cuoto et al. teaches Cuoto et al. teaches a ramp assembly comprising three ramp platforms, 30, 32, and 34, telescopically connected to each other and movable with respect to each other, see figures 2-4 and paragraph 0032.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the telescopically connected ramps platforms of Cuoto et al. with the ramp assembly and platform of Hill et al. in order to achieve the predictable result of increase the distance the ramp can be extended to increase the reach of the ramp.
Regarding claim 13, Cuoto et al. teaches a drive mechanism configured to move the second ramp platform and the third ramp platform, see figure 12 and paragraph 0045.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill et al. in view of Cuoto et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of EP 3 156 026.
Regarding claim 3, Hill et al. teaches a guide mechanism comprises: guide member, 500, and a guide roller, 674A and 674 B, see paragraph 0045. Hill et al. does not teach a guide member movable mounted on a lead end portion of the housing. EP ‘026 teaches a ramp apparatus including a ramp assembly and a guide member, 22, movably mounted on a leading end portion of the housing, see figures 7-9.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the movably mounted guide member of EP ‘026 with the ramp apparatus of Hill et al. in order to achieve the predictable result of guiding and supporting the ramp when it is in the inclined position for use.
Claim(s) 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill et al. in view of Cuoto et al. as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Richins (US 3,756,343).
Regarding claim 14, Cuoto et al. teaches the drive mechanism comprises:
a drive sprocket rotatably mounted on the second ramp platform;
a driven sprocket, 78, rotatably mounted on the second ramp platform and spaced apart from the drive sprocket;
a chain, 74, connecting the drive sprocket and the driven sprocket; and
a motor, 76, configured to drive the drive sprocket; and
the drive mechanism is configured to move the third ramp platform with respect to the second ramp platform by a rotation of the driven sprocket.
Cuoto et al. fails to teach that the drive mechanism moves both the second ramp platform with respect to the first ramp platform and the third ramp platform with respect to the second ramp platform. Using a singular drive mechanism to telescopically move multiple sections of a telescopic device is well known in the art.
Richins teaches a telescopic arm mechanism including three sections, 122, 124, and 126, and a base, 128. Richins further teaches a drive mechanism that comprises:
a drive sprocket, 228;
a driven sprocket, 232, spaced apart from the drive sprocket;
a chain, 230, connecting the drive sprocket and the driven sprocket; and
a motor, 220, configured to drive the drive sprocket; and
the drive mechanism is configured to move the second section with respect to the first section by a rotation of the drive sprocket and to move the third section with respect to the second section by rotation of the drive sprocket, see column 7, lines 23-62, column 8, lines 4 through 43 and figure 4 and 5.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to replace the drive mechanism of Cuoto et al. with the drive mechanism of Richins in order to achieve the predictable result of combining drive mechanism for the different platforms so that the platforms can be supported for simultaneous movement and only require one motor.
Regarding claim 15, Richins further teaches the drive mechanism further comprises: a first pinion, 140, coupled to the drive sprocket; and a first rack gear, 138, mounted on the first ramp platform and meshing with the first pinion.
Regarding claim 16, Richins teaches the drive mechanism further comprises: a second pinion coupled to the driven sprocket, 144; and a second rack gear, 158, mounted on the third ramp platform and meshing with the second pinion.
Regarding claim 17, Hill et al. teaches the hinge mechanism further comprises a first hinge lug connected to the moving body, 636, and a second hinge lug connected to the ramp assembly, 300;
and the first hinge lug and the second hinge lug are configured to receive the hinge shaft, see figure 7 and paragraphs 0039.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill et al. in view of Cuoto et al. in view of Richins as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of EP 3 156 026.
Regarding claim 18, Hill et al. teaches a guide mechanism comprises: guide member, 500, and a guide roller, 674A and 674 B, see paragraph 0045. Hill et al. does not teach a guide member movable mounted on a lead end portion of the housing. EP ‘026 teaches a ramp apparatus including a ramp assembly and a guide member, 22, movably mounted on a leading end portion of the housing, see figures 7-9.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the movably mounted guide member of EP ‘026 with the ramp apparatus of Hill et al. in order to achieve the predictable result of guiding and supporting the ramp when it is in the inclined position for use.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9, 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, applicant claims the guide mechanism comprises a contact portion protruding to the moving body; and the moving body has a stop shoulder aligned with the contact portion.
Hill et al. is considered to be the best prior art and teaches the claimed invention including a guide member. However, the guide member of Hill et al. is not taught to be movably mounted on a leading end portion of the housing, and is formed as a channel within the housing. The EP ‘026 reference, which is relied on to teach a movable guide portion, does not teach these features. It would not be obvious to modify the EP ‘026 reference to teach this feature, there is no motivation for this.
Smith et al. (US 2021/0000666) teaches a ramp apparatus similar to the applicant’s claimed invention and includes a guide mechanism with a guide member, 200, and a guide roller, 184, however, the guide member, once again, is not movably mounted within the housing.
Both of these mechanisms rely on a fixed guide member.
There is no motivation to modify the prior art to teach the claimed contact portion and shoulder portion as claimed. As such, claim 4, was found to be allowable subject matter.
Claims 5-9 depend from claim 4 and are therefore for also objected to.
Regarding claim 19, applicant claims a guide rail, the guide rail configured to receive the guide member, and the guide member is movable mounted in the cavity of the guide rail.
Hill et al. is considered to be the best prior art and teaches the claimed guide rail and cavity. However, the guide rail of Hill et al. is not taught to receive the movably mounted guide member. The EP ‘026 reference, which is relied on to teach a movable guide portion, does not teach these features. It would not be obvious to modify the EP ‘026 reference to teach this feature, there is no motivation for this.
There is no motivation to modify the prior art to teach the claimed movably mounted guide member. As such, claim 18, was found to be allowable subject matter.
Claim 20 depends from claim 19 and is therefore for also objected to.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Prior art cited on the PTO-892 are included to show additional examples of telescopic ramp apparatuses and the general state of the prior art.
/KAITLIN S JOERGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652
18 December 2025