DETAILED ACTION
Application 18/483,658, “BATTERY ENCLOSURE INCLUDING MULTI-FUNCTIONAL, MULTI-LAYERED THERMOPLASTIC COMPOSITE LAMINATED STRUCTURE”, was filed with the USPTO on 10/10/2023.
This office action is in response to communication filed on 6/26/2026.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species D (FIG. 8) from Set 1, and Species F (FIG. 10) from Set 2 in the reply filed on 6/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/9/2024 and 8/16/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “cathode current collectors 26” in paragraph [0037] of the specification filed on 10/10/2023. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[0033]: “discontinuous fibers, or a mixtures thereof”: “a mixtures” should read “mixtures”;
[0041]: “reinforcing layer 110” is inconsistent with “inner layer 110” in [0042] and [0043].
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because: “the continuous reinforcing fibers” appears to read “the continuous fibers”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 is indefinite because “wherein is selected from a group consisting of” has no subject therefore it is unclear what is selected from. For examination purposes, the aforementioned recitation has been interpreted as “wherein the thermoplastic resin is selected from a group consisting of”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 7, 11, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Winter et al. (US 20240116266 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Winter et al. teaches a battery enclosure (integrated battery housing, [0135]) for a battery system, comprising:
a reinforcing layer (c2.1) Silicate fibre needle mat, [0129]; note: Silicate fibre needle mats have high mechanical load-bearing capacity, see [0054]) including reinforcing fibers (Silicate fibre, [0129]);
a shielding layer (c2.2) Stainless steel foil, [0130]; note: a metal foil e.g. stainless steel foil enables effective shielding from electromagnetic radiation, see [0105]); and
a thermal protection layer (b2) Fire protection layer, [0128]),
wherein at least one of the reinforcing fibers, the shielding layer, and the thermal protection layer is consolidated (the individual layers b2) to d2) (including c2.1 and c2.2) bonded to one another via an adhesive layer, [0133]) using a thermoplastic resin (adhesive layer as described above, [0133]; note: adhesive layer contains thermoplastic polymers, see [0099]) into one of a body and a cover of the battery enclosure (composite body with layers a2) to e2) to use as integrated battery housing, [0135]; the battery housing has to have at least one of a body and a lid),
wherein the shielding layer (c2.2), [0130]) is arranged on one side (the side of c2.1) that c2.2) adjacent to, see [0129]-[0130]) of the one of the body (composite body with layers a2) to e2) to use as integrated battery housing, [0135]) and the cover and the thermal protection layer (b2), [0128]) is arranged on opposite side (the other side of c2.1) that b2) adjacent to, see [0128]-[0129]) of the one of the body (composite body with layers a2) to e2) to use as integrated battery housing, [0135]) and the cover (note: composite body with layers a2) to e2) split by c2.1) into two halves, one of the two halves is the side c2.2 arranged on while the other of the two halves is the opposite side b2) arranged on).
Regarding claim 5, Winter et al. teaches wherein the thermoplastic resin (adhesive layer as described above, [0133]; note: adhesive layer contains thermoplastic polymers, see [0099]) is selected from a group consisting of polyether ether ketone (PEEK) (polyether ether ketone (PEEK), [0099]), polyether ketone ketone (PEKK), polyphenylene sulfide (PPS), polyether imide (PEI), low melt PEEK (LMPEEK), and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 7, Winter et al. teaches wherein the shielding layer (c2.2) Stainless steel foil, [0130]) is selected from a group consisting of a woven metal mesh, a flexible fabric, a coated veil, a metal sheet (stainless steel foil is a type of metal sheet), a perforated metal sheet, and a metal-coated fiber-filled material.
Regarding claim 11, Winter et al. teaches a battery enclosure (integrated battery housing, [0135]) for a battery system, comprising:
a reinforcing layer (c2.1) Silicate fibre needle mat, [0129]; note: Silicate fibre needle mats have high mechanical load-bearing capacity, see [0054]) including reinforcing fibers (Silicate fibre, [0129]);
a shielding layer (c2.2) Stainless steel foil, [0130]; note: a metal foil e.g. stainless steel foil enables effective shielding from electromagnetic radiation, see [0105]); and
a thermal protection layer (b2) Fire protection layer, [0128]),
wherein one of:
the reinforcing fibers in the reinforcing layer (c2.1), [0129]) are consolidated (bonded to one another via an adhesive layer, [0133]) using thermoplastic resin (adhesive layer as described above, [0133]; note: adhesive layer contains thermoplastic polymers, see [0099]),
the reinforcing fibers in the reinforcing layer (c2.1), [0129]) and the shielding layer (c2.2), [0130]) are consolidated (bonded to one another via an adhesive layer, [0133]) using thermoplastic resin (adhesive layer as described above, [0133]; note: adhesive layer contains thermoplastic polymers, see [0099]), and
the reinforcing fibers in the reinforcing layer (c2.1), [0129]) and the thermal protection layer (b2) Fire protection layer, [0128]) are consolidated (bonded to one another via an adhesive layer, [0133]) using thermoplastic resin (adhesive layer as described above, [0133]; note: adhesive layer contains thermoplastic polymers, see [0099]);
wherein after consolidation, one of the shielding layer and the thermal protection layer (b2) Fire protection layer, [0128]) is arranged on one side (the other side of c2.1) that b2) adjacent to, see [0128]-[0129]) of a composite core (composite of c2.1) and c2.2) after bonded to one another via an adhesive layer, [0133]; note: composite of c2.1) and c2.2) forms preferred carrier layer, carrier layer see [0056]) and one of (interpreted as “one of the shielding layer and the thermal protection layer”) (b2) Fire protection layer, [0128]) consolidated with (bonded to one another via an adhesive layer, [0133]) and adhered to the composite core (composite of c2.1) and c2.2) after bonded to one another via an adhesive layer, [0133]).
Regarding claim 15, Winter et al. teaches wherein (interpretation see 112b rejection above) (adhesive layer as described above, [0133]; contains thermoplastic polymers, see [0099]) is selected from a group consisting of polyether ether ketone (PEEK) (polyether ether ketone (PEEK), [0099]), polyether ketone ketone (PEKK), polyphenylene sulfide (PPS), polyether imide (PEI), low melt PEEK (LMPEEK), and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 17, Winter et al. teaches wherein the shielding layer (c2.2) Stainless steel foil, [0130]) is selected from a group consisting of a woven metal mesh, a flexible fabric, a coated veil, a metal sheet (stainless steel foil is a type of metal sheet), a perforated metal sheet, and a metal-coated fiber-filled material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winter et al. (US 20240116266 A1) in view of Kuroiwa et al. (US 20200212389 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Winter et al. does not teach wherein the reinforcing fibers include at least one of continuous reinforcing fibers and discontinuous reinforcing fibers.
Kuroiwa et al. teaches wherein the reinforcing fibers (the fibers in fiber-reinforce thermoplastic resin, [0048]; also see 51 of 5, Fig. 2) include at least one of continuous reinforcing fibers (glass fiber as a UD tape, [0048]) and discontinuous reinforcing fibers (glass fibers and carbon fibers in a chopped discontinuous fiber state, [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the c2.1) Silicate fibre needle mat taught by Winter et al. by adding the glass fiber as a UD tape and the glass fibers and carbon fibers in a chopped discontinuous fiber state taught by Kuroiwa et al. because glass fibers in continuous fiber state as a UD tape and in a chopped discontinuous fiber state are known in the art for weight reduction (see Kuroiwa [0048]).
Regarding claim 3, Winter et al. in view of Kuroiwa et al. teaches the continuous reinforcing fibers (glass fiber as a UD tape, Kuroiwa [0048]) are selected from a group consisting of unidirectional tape (UD tape, Kuroiwa [0048]), nonwoven mat, and directed long fiber melts.
Winter et al. in view of Kuroiwa et al. does not teach the continuous reinforcing fibers are arranged in planar portions of the one of the body and the cover.
Kuroiwa et al. teaches the continuous reinforcing fibers (glass fiber as a UD tape in 51, [0048]) are arranged in planar portions of the one of the body (planar portion of tray 2, [0040]; note: tray 2 is made of the laminate 5 containing 51; fibers in 51 contain glass fibers as a UD tape, see [0048]) and the cover.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the battery housing taught by Winter et al. in view of Kuroiwa et al. to have a planar shape tray taught by Kuroiwa et al. because such planar shape is known in the art (see Kuroiwa [0040]). When the battery housing contains a planar shape, the glass fiber as a UD tape are arranged in the planar portion of the battery housing.
Regarding claim 12, Winter et al. does not teach wherein the reinforcing fibers include at least one of continuous fibers and discontinuous fibers.
Kuroiwa et al. teaches wherein the reinforcing fibers (the fibers in fiber-reinforce thermoplastic resin, [0048]; also see 51 of 5, Fig. 2) include at least one of continuous fibers (glass fiber as a UD tape, [0048]) and discontinuous fibers (glass fibers and carbon fibers in a chopped discontinuous fiber state, [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the c2.1) Silicate fibre needle mat taught by Winter et al. by adding the glass fiber as a UD tape and the glass fibers and carbon fibers in a chopped discontinuous fiber state taught by Kuroiwa et al. because glass fibers in continuous fiber state as a UD tape and in a chopped discontinuous fiber state are known in the art for weight reduction (see Kuroiwa [0048]).
Regarding claim 13, Winter et al. in view of Kuroiwa et al. teaches the continuous reinforcing fibers (glass fiber as a UD tape, Kuroiwa [0048]) are selected from a group consisting of unidirectional tape (UD tape, Kuroiwa [0048]), nonwoven mat, and directed long fiber melts.
Winter et al. in view of Kuroiwa et al. does not teach the continuous fibers are arranged in planar portions of the one of the body and the cover.
Kuroiwa et al. teaches the continuous reinforcing fibers (glass fiber as a UD tape in 51, [0048]) are arranged in planar portions of the one of the body (planar portion of tray 2, [0040]; note: tray 2 is made of the laminate 5 containing 51; fibers in 51 contain glass fibers as a UD tape, see [0048]) and the cover.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the battery housing taught by Winter et al. in view of Kuroiwa et al. to have a planar shape tray taught by Kuroiwa et al. because such planar shape is known in the art (see Kuroiwa [0040]). When the battery housing contains a planar shape, the glass fiber as a UD tape are arranged in the planar portion of the battery housing.
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winter et al. (US 20240116266 A1) in view of Kuroiwa et al. (US 20200212389 A1) in view of Zhu et al. (US 20210122891 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Winter et al. in view of Kuroiwa et al. does not teach wherein:
the discontinuous reinforcing fibers are arranged in at least one of planar and non-planar portions of the one of the body and the cover, and
the discontinuous reinforcing fibers comprise chopped unidirectional tape.
Kuroiwa et al. teaches the discontinuous reinforcing fibers (glass fibers and carbon fibers in a chopped discontinuous fiber state, [0048]) are arranged in at least one of planar and non-planar portions of the one of the body (planar portion of tray 2, [0040]; note: tray 2 is made of the laminate 5 containing 51; fibers in 51 contain glass fibers and carbon fibers in a chopped discontinuous fiber state, see [0048]) and the cover.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the battery housing taught by Winter et al. in view of Kuroiwa et al. to have a planar shape tray taught by Kuroiwa et al. because such planar shape is known in the art (see Kuroiwa [0040]). When the battery housing contains a planar shape, the glass fibers and carbon fibers in a chopped discontinuous fiber state are arranged in the planar portion of the battery housing.
However, Winter et al. in view of Kuroiwa et al. does not teach the discontinuous reinforcing fibers comprise chopped unidirectional tape.
Zhu et al. teaches the discontinuous reinforcing fibers comprise chopped unidirectional tape (chopped unidirectional tape, see [0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the glass fibers and carbon fibers in a chopped discontinuous fiber state taught by Winter et al. in view of Kuroiwa et al. to be the chopped unidirectional tape taught by Zhu et al. to use as a sheet molding compound to form parts and molds for use in making parts (see Zhu [0006]).
Regarding claim 14, Winter et al. in view of Kuroiwa et al. does not teach wherein:
the discontinuous fibers are arranged in at least one of planar and non-planar portions of the one of the body and the cover, and
the discontinuous fibers comprise chopped unidirectional tape.
Kuroiwa et al. teaches the discontinuous fibers (glass fibers and carbon fibers in a chopped discontinuous fiber state, [0048]) are arranged in at least one of planar and non-planar portions of the one of the body (planar portion of tray 2, [0040]; note: tray 2 is made of the laminate 5 containing 51; fibers in 51 contain glass fibers and carbon fibers in a chopped discontinuous fiber state, see [0048]) and the cover.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the battery housing taught by Winter et al. in view of Kuroiwa et al. to have a planar shape tray taught by Kuroiwa et al. because such planar shape is known in the art (see Kuroiwa [0040]). When the battery housing contains a planar shape, the glass fibers and carbon fibers in a chopped discontinuous fiber state are arranged in the planar portion of the battery housing.
However, Winter et al. in view of Kuroiwa et al. does not teach the discontinuous fibers comprise chopped unidirectional tape.
Zhu et al. teaches the discontinuous fibers comprise chopped unidirectional tape (chopped unidirectional tape, see [0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the glass fibers and carbon fibers in a chopped discontinuous fiber state taught by Winter et al. in view of Kuroiwa et al. to be the chopped unidirectional tape taught by Zhu et al. to use as a sheet molding compound to form parts and molds for use in making parts (see Zhu [0006]).
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winter et al. (US 20240116266 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Winter et al. teaches further comprising at least one metal portion (a2) Aluminium foil, [0127]).
Winter et al. does not teach one metal portion that is consolidated with the reinforcing fibers, the shielding layer, and the thermal protection layer using the thermoplastic resin.
Different embodiment of Winter et al. teaches one metal portion (aluminium foil, [0110]-[0113]) that is consolidated with the reinforcing fibers, the shielding layer, and the thermal protection layer (fire protection layer, [0110]-[0113]) using the thermoplastic resin (an adhesive layer provided between the fire protection layer and the aluminium foil, [0110]; the aluminium foils each be bonded to the fire protection layer via an adhesive layer, [0113]; adhesive layer contains thermoplastic polymers, see [0099]). (note: “aluminium” should read “aluminum”, but mapping keeps consistent with the original text as it in the reference.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to add the adhesive layer taught by different embodiment of Winter et al. between a2) aluminum foil and b2) fire protection layer taught by Winter et al. to have aluminium foils bonded to the fire protection layer via an adhesive layer (see Winter [0113]). Further, it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in a prior art patent does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art. When the adhesive layer adds between a2) aluminum foil and b2) fire protection layer, a2) is bonded with c2.1), c2.2), and b2).
Regarding claim 16, Winter et al. teaches further comprising at least one metal portion.
Winter et al. does not teach one metal portion that is consolidated with the reinforcing fibers, the shielding layer, and the thermal protection layer using the thermoplastic resin.
Different embodiment of Winter et al. teaches one metal portion (aluminium foil, [0110]-[0113]) that is consolidated with the reinforcing fibers, the shielding layer, and the thermal protection layer (fire protection layer, [0110]-[0113]) using the thermoplastic resin (an adhesive layer provided between the fire protection layer and the aluminium foil, [0110]; the aluminium foils each be bonded to the fire protection layer via an adhesive layer, [0113]; adhesive layer contains thermoplastic polymers, see [0099]). (note: “aluminium” should read “aluminum”, but mapping keeps consistent with the original text as it in the reference.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to add the adhesive layer taught by different embodiment of Winter et al. between a2) aluminum foil and b2) fire protection layer taught by Winter et al. to have aluminium foils bonded to the fire protection layer via an adhesive layer (see Winter [0113]). Further, it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in a prior art patent does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art. When the adhesive layer adds between a2) aluminum foil and b2) fire protection layer, a2) is bonded with c2.1), c2.2), and b2).
Claims 8-10 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winter et al. (US 20240116266 A1) in view of He et al. (CN 110890488 A, provided on IDS filed on 8/16/2024, citations see machine translation).
Regarding claim 8, Winter et al. teaches wherein the body of the battery enclosure further comprises: metal portions (e2) Aluminium foil, [0132]); (note: “aluminium” should read “aluminum”, but mapping keeps consistent with the original text as it in the reference.)
wherein the reinforcing fibers (c2.1), [0129]), the shielding layer (c2.2), [0130]), and the thermal protection layer (b2), [0128]) are consolidated (the individual layers b2) to d2) (including c2.1 and c2.2) bonded to one another via an adhesive layer, [0133]) using the thermoplastic resin (adhesive layer as described above, [0133]; note: adhesive layer contains thermoplastic polymers, see [0099]).
Winter et al. does not teach
a first metal portion arranged at one end of the body; and
a second metal portion arranged at an opposite end of the body,
wherein the first metal portion and the second metal portion are consolidated with the reinforcing fibers, the shielding layer, and the thermal protection layer.
He et al. teaches wherein the body (6, Fig. 4) of the battery enclosure further comprises (6 is formed by prepreg molding of 1/2/3/4, see [0040] and Fig. 1):
a first metal portion (3 at one end; 3 see [0036] and Fig. 1; one end, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) arranged at one end (one end, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) of the body (6, Fig. 4); and
a second metal portion (3 at opposite end; 3 see [0036] and Fig. 1; opposite end, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) arranged at an opposite end (opposite end, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) of the body (6, Fig. 4),
wherein the first metal portion (3 at one end; 3 see [0036] and Fig. 1; one end, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) and the second metal portion (3 at opposite end; 3 see [0036] and Fig. 1; opposite end, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) are consolidated (prepreg molding, [0040]) with the reinforcing fibers (2, Fig. 1), and the thermal protection layer (1, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the battery housing taught by Winter et al. to be the box shaped body with four sidewalls and a bottom as taught by He et al. because such shape configuration of the battery box is known in the art (see He et al. Fig. 4); to prepare the composite layer sturcture of the battery housing taught by Winter et al. by the prepreg molding taught by He et al. to form integral structures of the battery box with simplified manufacturing process and installation process of the battery box (see He et al. [0025] and [0040]). When the battery housing is modified to the box shaped body, the e2) aluminum foil is at one end and opposite end of the body, and the prepreg molding makes e2) bonded with c2.1), c2.2) and b2).
Regarding claim 9, Winter et al. in view of He et al. teaches further comprising:
a third metal portion (e2) Aluminum foil at one side; e2) see Winter [0132]; one side, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) arranged along one side (one side, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) of the body; and
a fourth metal portion (e2) Aluminum foil at opposite side; e2) see Winter [0132]; opposite side, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) arranged along an opposite side (opposite side, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) of the body,
wherein the third metal portion (e2) Aluminum foil at one side; e2) see Winter [0132]; one side, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) and the fourth metal portion (e2) Aluminum foil at opposite side; e2) see Winter [0132]; opposite side, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) are consolidated (prepreg molding, see He [0040]) with the reinforcing fibers (c2.1), Winter [0129]), the shielding layer (c2.2), Winter [0130]), and the thermal protection layer (b2), Winter [0128]) using the thermoplastic resin (adhesive layer as described above, Winter [0133]; contains thermoplastic polymers, see Winter [0099]).
Regarding claim 10, Winter et al. in view of He et al. does not teach wherein the body further comprise consolidated ribs extending from the one side of the body to the other side of the body.
He et al. teaches wherein the body further comprise consolidated (ribs of 8 are completely attached to the outer surface of the box, see [0047]) ribs (8, Figs 5 and 6; also see [0047]) extending from the one (one side, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) side of the body to the other side (the other side, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4; the other side is the bottom side of the box) of the body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the battery housing taught by Winter et al. in view of He et al. by adding the reinforcing rib-lifting lug taught by He et al. to achieve the assembly of the battery box (see He et al. [0049]).
Regarding claim 18, Winter et al. teaches wherein a body of the battery enclosure further comprises: metal portions (e2) Aluminium foil, [0132]); (note: “aluminium” should read “aluminum”, but mapping keeps consistent with the original text as it in the reference.)
wherein the reinforcing fibers (c2.1), [0129]), the shielding layer (c2.2), [0130]), and the thermal protection layer (b2), [0128]) are consolidated (the individual layers b2) to d2) (including c2.1 and c2.2) bonded to one another via an adhesive layer, [0133]) using the thermoplastic resin (adhesive layer as described above, [0133]; note: adhesive layer contains thermoplastic polymers, see [0099]).
Winter et al. does not teach
a first metal portion arranged at one end of the body; and
a second metal portion arranged at an opposite end of the body,
wherein the first metal portion and the second metal portion are consolidated with the reinforcing fibers, the shielding layer, and the thermal protection layer.
He et al. teaches wherein the body (6, Fig. 4) of the battery enclosure further comprises (6 is formed by prepreg molding of 1/2/3/4, see [0040] and Fig. 1):
a first metal portion (3 at one end; 3 see [0036] and Fig. 1; one end, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) arranged at one end (one end, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) of the body (6, Fig. 4); and
a second metal portion (3 at opposite end; 3 see [0036] and Fig. 1; opposite end, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) arranged at an opposite end (opposite end, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) of the body (6, Fig. 4),
wherein the first metal portion (3 at one end; 3 see [0036] and Fig. 1; one end, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) and the second metal portion (3 at opposite end; 3 see [0036] and Fig. 1; opposite end, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) are consolidated (prepreg molding, [0040]) with the reinforcing fibers (2, Fig. 1), and the thermal protection layer (1, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the battery housing taught by Winter et al. to be the box shaped body with four sidewalls and a bottom as taught by He et al. because such shape configuration of the battery box is known in the art (see He et al. Fig. 4); to prepare the composite layer sturcture of the battery housing taught by Winter et al. by the prepreg molding taught by He et al. to form integral structures of the battery box with simplified manufacturing process and installation process of the battery box (see He et al. [0025] and [0040]). When the battery housing is modified to the box shaped body, the e2) aluminum foil is at one end and opposite end of the body, and the prepreg molding makes e2) bonded with c2.1), c2.2) and b2).
Regarding claim 19, Winter et al. in view of He et al. teaches further comprising:
a third metal portion (e2) Aluminum foil at one side; e2) see Winter [0132]; one side, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) arranged along one side (one side, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) of the body; and
a fourth metal portion (e2) Aluminum foil at opposite side; e2) see Winter [0132]; opposite side, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) arranged along an opposite side (opposite side, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) of the body,
wherein the third metal portion (e2) Aluminum foil at one side; e2) see Winter [0132]; one side, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) and the fourth metal portion (e2) Aluminum foil at opposite side; e2) see Winter [0132]; opposite side, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) are consolidated (prepreg molding, see He [0040]) with the reinforcing fibers (c2.1), Winter [0129]), the shielding layer (c2.2), Winter [0130]), and the thermal protection layer (b2), Winter [0128]) using the thermoplastic resin (adhesive layer as described above, Winter [0133]; contains thermoplastic polymers, see Winter [0099]).
Regarding claim 20, Winter et al. in view of He et al. does not teach wherein the body includes consolidated ribs extending from the one side of the body to the other side of the body.
He et al. teaches wherein the body includes consolidated (ribs of 8 are completely attached to the outer surface of the box, see [0047]) ribs (8, Figs 5 and 6; also see [0047]) extending from the one (one side, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) side of the body to the other side (the other side, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4; the other side is the bottom side of the box) of the body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the battery housing taught by Winter et al. in view of He et al. by adding the reinforcing rib-lifting lug taught by He et al. to achieve the assembly of the battery box (see He et al. [0049]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(Men): CN 208819956 U, Fig. 1
(Miloaga): US 20210305544 A1, claim 9 and Fig. 5.
/NING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723