DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office action is in response to the applicant’s communication filed 07/07/2026.
Status of the claims:
Claims 1 and 4 – 7 are pending in the application.
Claim 1 is amended.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
the generic placeholder is a “expansion resistance structure” in claim 1, which is coupled to the functional language “configured to give resistance to expansion to the balloon”. Furthermore, there are no structural modifiers either preceding or following the generic placeholders. For the purpose of examination, the “expansion resistance structure” in claim 1 will be read as a strong molded portion of the balloon or a portion of the balloon with a applied meshing, friction, or adhesive (which is the disclosed corresponding structure, as described in paragraph [0046] of the instant specification) or an equivalent structure (which is any structure that performs the identical function of the generic placeholder(s) specified in the claim in substantially the same way).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onishi et al (US 2018/0153536 A1) (previously cited) in view of Chanduszko et al (WO 2014/055514 A2) (previously cited) (cited PDF attached – the page number cited to is the page number of the PDF, where the cover page is page 1).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Onishi discloses a balloon catheter (endoscope 1 with balloon 3) (abstract, paragraphs [0024 – 0025], and Figs. 1 – 13) comprising:
a shaft (sheath 2) that extends in an axial direction from a proximal end side to a distal end side (paragraph [0025] and Figs. 1,2,7); and
a balloon (balloon 3) that is attached to the distal end side of the shaft and is expandable by a fluid supplied from the proximal end side of the shaft (paragraphs [0025], [0029], and Figs. 1,7), a proximal end portion expansion lumen (passage 41) for supplying the fluid to, and [claim 5] terminating at, a proximal end portion inside balloon (balloon 3) (paragraph [0025] an Fig. 1) (Examiner’s note: as shown in Fig. 1 the lumen ends at the proximal end portion of the balloon);
wherein an intermediate portion (intermediate section 33) of the balloon between a distal end portion of the balloon (first region 31) and a proximal end portion of the balloon (second region 32) is provided with an expansion resistance structure (intermediate section 33) that gives a larger resistance to an expansion pressure caused by the fluid than the distal end portion of the balloon and the proximal end portion of the balloon (paragraph [0033], [0037 – 0039], [0040 – 0042], [0046 – 0047], and Figs. 2,9,13) (Examiner’s note: as stated in paragraphs [0042 – 0047] the residual strain in the intermediate section 33 causes a larger resistance to expansion than first and second regions 31,32 (i.e., the distal and proximal portions). Additionally, as stated in the 112(f) claim interpretation section above, the term “expansion resistance structure” is being interpreted as a portion of the balloon that is formed to have an expansion resistance larger than other portions of the balloon, and as stated above the intermediate section 33 is formed to have a larger expansion resistance than the other parts of the balloon. Therefore, the intermediate section 33 is seen as an equivalent structure to the claimed “expansion resistance structure”);
wherein, in the expansion resistance structure (intermediate section 33), a diameter of the intermediate portion of the balloon is smaller than a diameter of the distal end portion of the balloon (first region 31) and a diameter of the proximal end portion of the balloon (second region 32) in a folded state in which the balloon is wrapped around the shaft (sheath 2) to form a completely contracted shape of the balloon before the fluid is supplied to the balloon (paragraphs [0033 – 0037] and Fig. 2).
However, Onishi et al is silent regarding [claims 1 and 5] (i) wherein a portion of the shaft internally includes a distal end portion expansion lumen for supplying the fluid to, and terminating at, a distal end space inside the balloon and the proximal end portion expansion lumen for supplying the fluid to a proximal end space inside the balloon.
As to the above, Chanduszko teaches, in the same field of endeavor, a balloon catheter (-catheter 10 with a balloon 12) (abstract, pg. 8 lines 15 – 28, pg. 9 line 11 – pg. 10 line 31, and Fig. 1) comprising a shaft (outer shaft 14 with inflation lumens 16a/b and tubes 18a/b) and a balloon (balloon 12) that is attached to the distal end side (attachment location of the balloon (12a) to the end of tube 18b) of the shaft (outer shaft 14) (Fig. 1) wherein a portion of the shaft internally includes a distal end portion expansion lumen (inflation lumen 16b/tube 18b) for supplying the fluid to (and terminating at) a distal end portion in the balloon (distal end 12b) and a proximal end portion expansion lumen (inflation lumen 16a/tube 18a) for supplying the fluid to (and terminating at) a proximal end portion in the balloon (proximal end 12a) (pg. 10 lines 11 – 31 and Fig. 1) for the purpose of improving the inflation mechanics of the system (pg. 12 lines 29 – 30).
It should be understood that Onishi et al and Chanduszko are known references in the art that teach balloon catheters (abstract, paragraphs [0024 – 0025], and Figs. 1 – 13 – Onishi et al; abstract and pg. 3 line 28 – pg. 4 line 2 – Chanduszko); and the Examiner contends that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have substituted one means of inflating a balloon with another, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable and resulted in the modified inflation system of Onishi et al being able to function as intended to properly inflate the balloon. The Examiner notes the rejection above is based on KSR int’l Co. V. Teleflex inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007), rational B, outlined in MPEP 2143. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Onishi et al to have the inflation system of Chanduszko, for the purpose of improving the inflation mechanics of the system (pg. 12 lines 29 – 30). It should be understood that the modification above is such that the proximal end portion expansion lumen (passageway 41) of Onishi et al is substituted for both of the expansion lumens (inflation lumen 16a,b / tube 18a,b) of Chanduszko which extend the length of the system.
Regarding claim 6, as discussed above, the combination of Onishi et al and Chanduszko discloses the device of claim 1 above. Additionally, the combination encompasses a fluid supply portion (connecting section 4 and inflator 200 of Onishi) that supplies fluid to the distal end and proximal end portion expansion lumens (inflation lumen 16a,b / tube 18a,b of Chanduszko) (paragraphs [0032] and [0049] of Onishi).
However, however the current combination of Onishi et al and Chanduszko does not expressly disclose (i) wherein the proximal end portion expansion lumen is formed to be longer than the distal end portion expansion lumen in the fluid supply portion that supplies the fluid to the distal end portion expansion lumen and a proximal end portion of the proximal end portion expansion lumen. With respect to (i), Chanduszko teaches, in pg. 11 line 27 – pg. 12 line 7 and pg. 12 lines 14 – 21, varying the length of the expansion lumens (inflation lumens 16a/b / tubes 18a/18b) to allow for the user to achieve the desired / optimal inflation profile.
As to the above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the length of the proximal portion of the proximal end portion expansion lumen (inflation lumen 16a/tube 18a) to be longer in the fluid supply portion (in the proximal end side of the shaft) to be longer than that of the proximal portion of the distal end expansion lumen (inflation lumen 16b/tube 18b) as there are finite options to choose from when determining the relative lengths of the inflation tubes in order to provide the desired / optimal inflation profile, the options are: 1) the proximal end portion expansion lumen being longest, 2) the distal end portion expansion lumen being longest, or 3) the proximal and distal end portion expansion lumens are the same length; and it has been held that “When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product is not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show it was obvious under 35 U.S.C. 103.” KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). Therefore, it would have been obvious to try having a longer proximal portion of the proximal end portion expansion lumen (inflation lumen 16a/tube 18a) in order to obtain the desired / optimal expansion profile. The Examiner notes the rejection above is based on KSR int’l Co. V. Teleflex inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007), rationale E, outlined in MPEP 2143.
Regarding claims 1, 5, and 7, (alternate interpretation, changes have been italicized) Onishi discloses a balloon catheter (endoscope 1 with balloon 3) (abstract, paragraphs [0024 – 0025], and Figs. 1 – 13) comprising:
a shaft (sheath 2) that extends in an axial direction from a proximal end side to a distal end side (paragraph [0025] and Figs. 1,2,7); and
a balloon (balloon 3) that is attached to the distal end side of the shaft and is expandable by a fluid supplied from the proximal end side of the shaft (paragraphs [0025], [0029], and Figs. 1,7), a proximal end portion expansion lumen (passage 41) for supplying the fluid to, and [claim 5] terminating at, a proximal end portion inside balloon (balloon 3) (paragraph [0025] an Fig. 1) (Examiner’s note: as shown in Fig. 1 the lumen ends at the proximal end portion of the balloon);
wherein an intermediate portion (intermediate section 33) of the balloon between a distal end portion of the balloon (first region 31) and a proximal end portion of the balloon (second region 32) is provided with an expansion resistance structure (intermediate section 33) that gives a larger resistance to an expansion pressure caused by the fluid than the distal end portion of the balloon and the proximal end portion of the balloon (paragraph [0033], [0037 – 0039], [0040 – 0042], [0046 – 0047], and Figs. 2,9,13) (Examiner’s note: as stated in paragraphs [0042 – 0047] the residual strain in the intermediate section 33 causes a larger resistance to expansion than first and second regions 31,32 (i.e., the distal and proximal portions). Additionally, as stated in the 112(f) claim interpretation section above, the term “expansion resistance structure” is being interpreted as a portion of the balloon that is formed to have an expansion resistance larger than other portions of the balloon, and as stated above the intermediate section 33 is formed to have a larger expansion resistance than the other parts of the balloon. Therefore, the intermediate section 33 is seen as an equivalent structure to the claimed “expansion resistance structure”);
wherein, in the expansion resistance structure (intermediate section 33), a diameter of the intermediate portion of the balloon is smaller than a diameter of the distal end portion of the balloon (first region 31) and a diameter of the proximal end portion of the balloon (second region 32) in a folded state in which the balloon is wrapped around the shaft (sheath 2) to form a completely contracted shape of the balloon before the fluid is supplied to the balloon (paragraphs [0033 – 0037] and Fig. 2).
However, Onishi et al is silent regarding (i) [claims 1 and 5] wherein a portion of the shaft internally includes a distal end portion expansion lumen for supplying the fluid to (and terminating at) a distal end portion in the balloon and the proximal end portion expansion lumen for supplying the fluid to a proximal end portion in the balloon, and (ii) [claim 7] wherein a single expansion lumen through which the fluid supplied from a proximal end side of the shaft passes is provided at a proximal end side of the proximal end portion of the balloon in the shaft and communicating with the distal end portion expansion lumen and the proximal end portion expansion lumen at a distal end side of the proximal end portion of the balloon in the shaft.
As to the above, Chanduszko teaches, in the same field of endeavor, a balloon catheter (-catheter 10 with a balloon 12) (abstract, pg. 8 lines 15 – 28, pg. 9 line 11 – pg. 10 line 31, and Fig. 1) comprising a shaft (outer shaft 14 with inflation lumens 16a/b and tubes 18a/b), a balloon (balloon 12) that is attached to the distal end side (attachment location of the balloon (12a) to the end of tube 18b) of the shaft (outer shaft 14) (Fig. 1), and a single expansion lumen (separate inflation lumen 16) through which the fluid is supplied from a proximal portion of the shaft provided at a proximal end side of the proximal balloon in the shaft (pg. 11 lines 6 – 14 and Fig. 3), the single expansion lumen (separate inflation lumen 16) in communication with a portion of the shaft that internally includes a distal end portion expansion lumen (inflation lumen 16b/tube 18b) for supplying the fluid to (and terminating at) a distal end portion in the balloon (distal end 12b) and a portion of the shaft that internally includes a proximal end portion expansion lumen (inflation lumen 16a/tube 18a) for supplying the fluid to (and terminating at) a proximal end portion in the balloon (proximal end 12a) (pg. 10 lines 11 – 31 and Fig. 1) for the purpose of improving the inflation mechanics of the system (pg. 12 lines 29 – 30) (Examiner’s note: as stated on pg. 11 lines 6 – 14 the inflation lumen 16 separates into two lumens 16a and 16b (i.e., the distal end portion expansion lumen and the proximal end portion expansion lumen), therefore the inflation lumen 16 is in communication with the above as claimed).
It should be understood that Onishi et al and Chanduszko are known references in the art that teach balloon catheters (abstract, paragraphs [0024 – 0025], and Figs. 1 – 13 – Onishi et al; abstract and pg. 3 line 28 – pg. 4 line 2 – Chanduszko); and the Examiner contends that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have substituted one means of inflating a balloon with another, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable and resulted in the modified inflation system of Onishi et al being able to function as intended to properly inflate the balloon. The Examiner notes the rejection above is based on KSR int’l Co. V. Teleflex inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007), rational B, outlined in MPEP 2143. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Onishi et al to have the inflation system of Chanduszko, for the purpose of improving the inflation mechanics of the system (pg. 12 lines 29 – 30 – Chanduszko). It should be understood that the modification above is such that the proximal end portion expansion lumen (passageway 41) of Onishi et al is substituted for the single expansion lumen (separate inflation lumen 16) which separates / splits into the two expansion lumens (inflation lumen 16a,b / tube 18a,b) of Chanduszko.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. More specifically:
With respect to Applicant’s argument that “The Cited References Teach Away From the Proposed Combination [because] Onishi's Principle of Operation Depends on Deliberately Uneven Inflation [and] Chanduszko's Express Purpose Is To Eliminate Uneven Inflation” and “Chanduszko expressly characterizes uneven/asymmetrical inflation as the problem to be avoided, Chanduszko "criticize[s], discredit[s], or otherwise discourage[s]" the very inflation behavior that Onishi requires, and thus teaches away from a combination that would reintroduce that behavior”, the Examiner acknowledges Chanduszko’s desire to cure uneven expansion, however, the “uneven” expansion discussed by Chanduszko is an “inflation wave” moving proximal to distal (or vice versa) (paragraph [0003] in the “Summary” section on pages 3 and 4 of the previously attached PDF version of Chanduszko), and the “uneven” expansion is overcome by the inflation lumens added to both the proximal and distal ends of the balloon, such that both the proximal and distal ends of the balloon inflate at the same rate. Onishi’s principle operation is to have the proximal and distal portions of the balloon inflate prior to the inflation of the central portion of the balloon, thereby anchoring the balloon in the vasculature, this is aided by the residual strain on the central portion of the balloon, the “uneven” inflation here is inflating the proximal and distal portions prior to the central portion. The addition of the proximal and distal inflation lumens in the respective proximal and distal portions (i.e., the anchoring portions) of the balloon of Onishi would still accomplish the proximal and distal portions of the balloon inflating prior to the central portion thereof as the central portion still has a larger residual strain (i.e., resistance to expansion) than the proximal and distal portions. Therefore, each of the proximal and distal portions (i.e., the anchors) would still be able to anchor the balloon in the vasculature and the combination would not take away the ability for the balloon to be inflated as intended nor render the device of Onishi in operable for its intended. Furthermore, the addition of the proximal and distal inflation lumens in the respective proximal and distal portions (i.e., the anchoring portions) in the balloon of Onishi would prevent the “inflation wave” (described by Chanduszko) as both the proximal and distal portions (i.e., the anchoring portions) are inflated at the same rate; and, as stated above, because the central portion of the balloon has a higher residual strain than that of the proximal and distal portions, the central portion would not inflate any quicker relative to the proximal and distal portions with the added inflation lumens. Therefore, it is the Examiner’s position that Onishi would benefit from the modification and does not teach away from utilizing multiple inflation lumens. Moreover, the Applicant has not provided any evidence to prove the modified device would not operate as intended. Merely, saying that the modification would result in the inoperability of the device is not sufficient to show inoperability of the device. Furthermore, the examiner notes that the arguments of the attorney can not take place of evidence. See In Re Schulze, 346, F.2d 600,602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Andrew Restaino/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771