DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (KR 20020040365 A) in view of Liu et al. (PCT/CN2020/094775 or WO 2021243722 A1).
*Liu et al. (EP 3789276 A1) will be referred to as Liu et al. for the duration of the office action. Liu et al. (PCT/CN2020/094775 or WO 2021243722 A1) will be referred to as Liu 2 for the duration of the office action.*
Re: claim 1, Oh teaches a motor vehicle (Fig. 2) comprising: a spoiler (10) which is displaceably attached (11) to a bearing structure (7) of the motor vehicle, a sensor device (2a) for detecting an imminent collision involving the motor vehicle (Paragraph 0020), and a translation device (6, 6a, 6b, 8, 9, 10b, 12, 13) that is configured to displace the spoiler (10) from a normal operation position (Fig. 2) to a safety position (Annotated Fig. 2 – safety position) in an event that the sensor device (2a) detects the imminent collision (Paragraph 0020). Oh fails to teach wherein the spoiler is a rear spoiler; wherein the sensor device is a camera, lidar or radar; and, a computer that communicates with both the sensor device and the translation device for controlling actuation of the translation device based on a sensed distance between the vehicle and an object approaching the vehicle, as sensed by the sensor device.
However, Liu 2 teaches a rear spoiler (Fig. 2 – 105); wherein the sensor device (Fig. 2 – 106) is a camera (Paragraph 0035 – “may alternatively be a camera device”), lidar or radar (Paragraph 0035 – “may be an ultrasonic radar sensor”); and, a computer (Fig. 6 – 630 & 640) that communicates with both the sensor device and the translation device for controlling actuation of the translation device based on a sensed distance between the vehicle and an object approaching the vehicle, as sensed by the sensor device (Fig. 4 – S305, S3071, S3073) (Refer to Figure 4 & 6).
Oh and Liu 2 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of vehicles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Oh’s spoiler with those of Liu 2’s positioning, sensor, and computer for the benefit of a safer system in that the spoiler and object in collision are less damaged and a more energy efficient system in that the spoiler provides aerodynamics to the rear of the vehicle.
Re: claim 2, Oh teaches wherein the translation device (6, 6a, 6b, 8, 9, 10b, 12, 13) is combined with a locking device (2, 3, 3a, 3b, 4, 5) by which the spoiler (10) is rigidly held in the normal operating position (Seen in Fig. 2). Oh fails to teach wherein the spoiler is a rear spoiler.
However, Liu 2 teaches a rear spoiler (Fig. 2 – 105).
Re: claim 3, Oh teaches wherein the translation device (6, 6a, 6b, 8, 9, 10b, 12, 13) comprises a translation slide (6) that is blocked with the locking device (2, 3, 3a, 3b, 4, 5) to rigidly maintain the spoiler (10) in the normal operation position (Fig. 2) and that is translationally movable (Annotated Fig. 2 – movement of slide) to allow the spoiler (10) to be moved to the safety position (Annotated Fig. 2 – safety position) in the event of the imminent collision detected by the sensor device (2a) (Paragraph 0020). Oh fails to teach wherein the spoiler is a rear spoiler.
However, Liu 2 teaches a rear spoiler (Fig. 2 – 105).
Re: claim 4, Oh teaches wherein the translation device (6, 6a, 6b, 8, 9, 10b, 12, 13) that is configured to shift the spoiler (10) from the normal operation position (Fig. 2) to the safety position (Annotated Fig. 2 – safety position) in the event of the imminent collision detected by the sensor device (2a) (Paragraph 0020). Oh fails to teach wherein the spoiler is a rear spoiler.
However, Liu 2 teaches a rear spoiler (Fig. 2 – 105).
Re: claim 5, Oh teaches wherein the translation device (6, 6a, 6b, 8, 9, 10b, 12, 13) comprises a coupling element (10b) coupled (10a) to the spoiler (10), which is translationally movable (Annotated Fig. 2 – movement of spoiler) relative to the translation slide (6) when the translation slide (6) pretensioned by a translation spring (6b, 8) is released by the locking device (2, 3, 3a, 3b, 4, 5). Oh fails to teach wherein the spoiler is a rear spoiler.
However, Liu 2 teaches a rear spoiler (Fig. 2 – 105).
It is noted by the examiner that the releasing by the locking device is being interpreted as the locking device causing the translation slide to disengage from the coupling of the rear spoiler.
Re: claim 8, Oh teaches wherein the locking device (2, 3, 3a, 3b, 4, 5) comprises a toggle lever kinematics mechanism (2, 3, 3a, 3b, 4, 5) associated (3b & 6a) with the translation slide (6) with two toggle levers (2, 3) by which the spoiler (10) is rigidly held in the normal operation position (Fig. 2). Oh fails to teach wherein the spoiler is a rear spoiler.
However, Liu 2 teaches a rear spoiler (Fig. 2 – 105).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (KR 20020040365 A) in view of Liu et al. (PCT/CN2020/094775 or WO 2021243722 A1) in further view of Liu et al. (EP 3789276 A1).
Re: claim 9, Oh teaches wherein the toggle lever kinematics mechanism (2, 3, 3a, 3b, 4, 5) is configured to be activated via the sensor device (2a) in order to shift the spoiler (10) from the normal operation position (Fig. 2) to the safety position (Annotated Fig. 2 – safety position) in the event of the imminent collision detected by the sensor device (2a) (Paragraph 0020). Oh fails to teach wherein the spoiler is a rear spoiler; and an electromotively driven lifting spindle shaft.
However, Liu 2 teaches a rear spoiler (Fig. 2 – 105). Liu 2 fails to teach an electromotively driven lifting spindle shaft.
However, Liu et al. teaches an electromotively (Fig. 1 – electrical motor 2) driven lifting spindle shaft (Fig. 1 & 4 – motor spindle 3).
Oh, Liu 2, and Liu et al. are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because all are in the same field of vehicles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Oh’s sensor device and toggle lever kinematics mechanism and Liu 2’s sensor and positioning with those of Liu et al.’s electric motor and spindle in order to provide for a safer and less damaging system (i.e., the addition of a motorized portion of Liu et al. to the mechanical system of Oh would allow for the system to more quickly cause the toggle lever kinematics mechanism to move the spoiler to a safety position before impact, causing the spoiler and the impacted object to be less damaged or avoid being damaged.)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments toward the amended claims, see Page 2 and 3, filed 02/09/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-5 and 8-9 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Oh (KR 20020040365 A) in view of Liu et al. (PCT/CN2020/094775 or WO 2021243722 A1) for claims 1-5 and 8 and Oh (KR 20020040365 A) in view of Liu et al. (PCT/CN2020/094775 or WO 2021243722 A1) in further view of Liu et al. (EP 3789276 A1) for claim 9.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 7 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Re: claim 6, the claim has been made an independent claim, incorporating the subject matter of all claims it depended on. Claim 7 depends on claim 6, thus is allowable.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHILIP C ADAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612