DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The 112 rejections remain as the scope of the claims remain unclear as to what the metes and bonds of the claim terms are and applicant’s arguments do no render any further clarity.
Applicant primarily argues the colorful of Kwon uses LED light sources for illumination while the present application utilizes a non-luminous colorful film. While this may be true there is no limitation in the claims as to where the light is sourced or how the color is presented. It is noted that reflected light would still be present in film of modified Kwon.
Applicant argues that the colored film or Kwon is not the colorful film of the present invention. It is noted that no limitations are set forth in the claims or the Spec. to how to deem the film to be colorful. Thus, the fact that color is presented through the film is enough to make it colorful. The colored portion is taught to have a color outside of the night luminated red [0003].
Applicant argues further about the colorful film limitations that are outside the scope of the claims such as the forming of a halo around the film’s effect.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 has limitations drawn to vibrant light and shadow interplay which do not have support in the Instant Specification. There is no description of the light present other than the term colorful.
Regarding dependent claims 2-11, these claims do not remedy the deficiencies of parent claim 1 noted above and are rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, “multi-level colorful effect”, “colorful film” and “colorful patterns” leave the claim indefinite. The Instant Specification gives no guidance to the materials or observed properties that would lead one of ordinary skill in the art determine the metes and bounds of the terms. For example, is a film colorful if there is a color present or do multiple colors need be present or if the film is reflective or does it need to be prismatic or iridescent to meet the limitation. Additionally, the terms are subjective, See MPEP 2173.05 (b) IV.
Dependent claims 2-11, are rejected for these same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (US 200090277059 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Kwon teaches a bi-color illuminated automotive emblem (i.e., an automobile sign plate with multi-level colorful effect) [Abstract, 0006]. The emblem comprises a substrate (42), a colored layer (16, 40) (i.e., a colorful film), raised portions (12, 18, 26) (i.e., refractive portions) on the colored layer, and an edge strip (14) surrounding the substrate and raised above (i.e., exceeds a surface) the colored layer [0039-0041, 0046, Figs. 1-3, 7]. The edge strip has a metallic look and thus is considered to have a mirror surface [0039-0040]. The refraction portions generate colorful patterns including light and shadow depending on the angle of viewing [0039-0041, 0046, Figs. 1-3, 7]..
Kwon discloses the claimed invention except for the edge strip having a chamfer portion. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have chamfered the edge portion, since it has been held that the configuration was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration claimed was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Additionally, a chamfer portion on the edge would be able to better reflect the light back towards the emblem and highlight the emblem and thus improve and make the emblem more eye catching.
The recitation of " for generating colorful patterns and shadow interplay “is considered an intended use of the refraction portions. Kwon teaches a substantially identical emblem as that which is claimed and therefore is considered capable of performing the claimed intended use, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2111.01 and 2112.01.
In regards to claims 2 and 9, Kwon further teaches a shielding groove is formed between the edge strip and the laying gap between the colored layer and the substrate [Figs. 1-3, 7].
In regards to claim 3, Kwon further teaches the raised portions are linear or curved [Figs. 1, 3].
In regards to claim 5, Kwon further teaches a protective film is applied over colored layer for a more realistic look [0050].
In regards to claim 6, Kwon teaches the claimed invention except for the height of the shielding groove formed by the edge strip. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to made the height to be 0.05-1 mm, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
In regards to claim 7, Kwon teaches the claimed invention except for the angle of the chamfer portion. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to made the angle to be between 30-50 degrees since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
In regards to claim 8, Kwon further teaches a mounting portion is arranged on a back side of the substrate [0045, 0060, Fig. 7].
In regards to claim 10, Kwon further teaches the refraction portions are capable of being directly placed on the substrate [0028, 0030, 0039, Figs. 1, 3].
In regards to claim 11, Kwon further teaches the refraction portions are capable of being stacked in multiple layers [0028, 0030, 0039, Figs. 1, 3].
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (US 200090277059 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cha et al. (US 20210379926 A1).
In regards to claim 4, Kwon does not expressly teach that re3fraction portions are refraction grooves.
Cha teaches an emblem for a vehicle [Abstract, 0003].
Cha further teaches the emblem has a color layer with fine patterns on the surface [0016, 0049]. The color and fine pattern diversify the image of the emblem [0016, 0049]. Such a pattern would include grooves as a result of the pattern.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have added the fine patterns of Cha to the colored layer of Kwon. One would have been motivated to do so due to the patterns ability to diversify the design of the emblem.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure includes Ford Global Tech LLC (DE 202017106128 U1).
/ELIZABETH COLLISTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784