Response to Amendment
The amendment filed November 21, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-17, 20, 22, 24, 27, 29, and 31-40 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-5, 7-17, 20, 22, 24, 27, 29, and 31-40 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-17, 20, 22, 24, 27, 29, and 31-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papasakellariou (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0087510) in view of Chen et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2024/0314790), and further in view of Yoshioka et al. (EP 3890393A1).
Regarding claim 1, Papasakellariou teaches “[a]n apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: a transceiver; one or more memories configured to, individually or in combination, store instructions; and one or more processors communicatively coupled with the one or more memories, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to: receive, from a network node, . . . downlink control information (DCI) . . . including a parameter having a value indicating whether uplink control information (UCI) is to be multiplexed with an uplink control channel or . . . uplink shared channel” (see ¶¶ [0054], [0058], [0131] and [0133]; UE (i.e., apparatus for wireless communication) includes a RF transceiver, processor, and memory; the processor is also capable of executing other processes and programs resident in the memory; multiplexing of multicast HARQ-ACK information in the PUCCH can also be controlled by a serving gNB (i.e., network node) through an indication in a DCI format (i.e., receive, from a network node, downlink control information (DCI)) scheduling the PUSCH transmission; the DCI format can include a 1-bit field (i.e., a parameter having a value indicating) that indicates whether the UE should multiplex multicast HARQ-ACK information in the PUCCH or in the PUSCH (i.e., uplink control channel or an uplink shared channel); the indication by the 1-bit field may also apply for unicast UCI; thus, indicating whether uplink control information (UCI) is to be multiplexed with an uplink control channel or an uplink shared channel);
Papasakellariou also teaches “. . . multiplex the UCI with the uplink control channel; . . . multiplex the UCI with . . . uplink shared channel” (see ¶ [0133]; when the indication (i.e., based on the value) is to multiplex UCI in the PUSCH, the UE multiplexes the UCI in the PUSCH (the uplink shared channel); otherwise, the UE multiplexes the UCI in the PUCCH (the uplink control channel)); and
Papasakellariou also teaches “transmit one of the uplink control channel or the . . . uplink shared channel . . . multiplexed with the UCI” (see ¶ [0133]; UE multiplexes the UCI in the PUSCH (the uplink shared channel) and does not transmit the PUCCH (the uplink control channel); UE multiplexes and transmits PUSCH (the uplink shared channel) and PUCCH (the uplink control channel); thus, the UE transmits one of the uplink control channel or the uplink shared channel multiplexed with the UCI).
Papasakellariou does not explicitly disclose receiving “multiple” DCIs, “each scheduling an uplink shared channel of multiple uplink shared channels,” “when no parameter of the multiple DCIs has a value greater than zero,” “when at least one parameter of the multiple DCIs has a value greater than zero, multiplex the UCI with each of the multiple” uplink shared channels, and transmitting the “multiple” uplink shared channels of claim 1. However, foregoing limitations are well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Chen teaches receive “multiple” DCIs, “each scheduling an uplink shared channel of multiple uplink shared channels”, and “transmit . . . the multiple uplink shared channels multiplexed with the UCI” (see ¶¶ [0198], [0201], and [0202]; the terminal device (i.e., apparatus for wireless communication) may receive a plurality of third signalings (e.g., DCI or RRC signalings), each third signaling is used to schedule one PUSCH (i.e., each scheduling an uplink shared channel of multiple uplink shared channels), and the plurality of PUSCHs are transmitted (i.e., transmit the “multiple” uplink shared channels); the terminal device may transmit the UCI by multiplexing the UCI with data of one or more PUSCHs (i.e., the multiple uplink shared channels multiplexed with the UCI); thus, Chen teaches an apparatus for wireless communication receives multiple DCIs, where each scheduling an uplink shared channel of multiple uplink shared channels, and transmit . . . the multiple uplink shared channels multiplexed with the UCI). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Papasakellariou to incorporate teachings of Chen to have an apparatus for wireless communication that receives multiple DCIs each scheduling an uplink shared channel of multiple uplink shared channels, and transmit the multiple uplink shared channels multiplexed with the UCI. The motivation to do so would have been to solve the problem of how to multiplex the UCI onto multiple PUSCHs (see ¶ [0041] of Chen).
Furthermore, as explained above, since Papasakellariou teaches “DCI . . . including a parameter having a value indicating whether uplink control information (UCI) is to be multiplexed with an uplink control channel or . . . uplink shared channel,” before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to have such a parameter included in the multiple DCIs received by the apparatus for wireless communication based on the teachings of Papasakellariou in view of Chen. The motivation to do so would have been to determine a multiplexing procedure for UCI in PUSCH.
While, as explained above, the combination of Papasakellariou and Chen discloses “multiplex the UCI with the uplink control channel” and “multiplex the UCI with multiple uplink shared channels” of claim 1, it does not explicitly disclose “when no parameter of the multiple DCIs has a value greater than zero” and “when at least one parameter of the multiple DCIs has a value greater than zero” of claim 1. However, the foregoing limitations are well known in the art. For example, Yoshioka discloses “when no parameter of the multiple DCIs has a value greater than zero” and “when at least one parameter of the multiple DCIs has a value greater than zero” (see ¶¶ [0039] and [0040]; the UE receives 1-bit UL DAI (first DAI) in a UL grant for scheduling a PUSCH; In the case where the value of UL DAI is "1" and the PUCCH for an HARQ-ACK report and the PUSCH conflict in at least one symbol, the UE piggybacks the HARQ-ACK onto the PUSCH (UCI on PUSCH) (i.e., multiplex on uplink shared channel)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Papasakellariou in view of Chen to incorporate teachings of Yoshioka to multiplex based on DAI greater than zero. The motivation to do so would have been to improve communication quality (see ¶ [0008] of Yoshioka).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Papasakellariou, Chen, and Yoshioka teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein at least one parameter of the multiple DCIs is greater than zero, and wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to multiplex, with each of the multiple uplink shared channels, the UCI on physical uplink control channels (PUCCHs) scheduled or configured in a same slot as the multiple uplink shared channels” (see ¶¶ [0091], and [0131] – [0133]; PUCCH and PUSCH can overlap in a slot (i.e., PUCCH and uplink shared channel are scheduled in a same slot). the UE determines whether to multiplex UCI in the PUSCH (the uplink shared channel), or whether to simultaneously transmit the PUCCH and the PUSCH, based on the indication; when the indication is to multiplex UCI in the PUSCH, the UE multiplexes the UCI in the PUSCH; otherwise, the UE multiplexes the UCI in the PUCCH (the uplink control channel); thus, multiplex, with the uplink shared channel, the UCI on PUCCHs scheduled or configured in a same slot as the uplink shared channel).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Papasakellariou, Chen, and Yoshioka teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the parameter indicates UCI is to be multiplexed with the uplink shared channel, and wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to multiplex, with the uplink shared channel, the UCI on physical uplink control channels (PUCCHs) that overlap in time with the uplink shared channel” (see ¶¶ [0132] and [0136]; UE to multiplex UCI in a PUSCH or in a PUCCH when the PUSCH and PUCCH transmissions would overlap in time; UE determines whether to multiplex UCI in a PUSCH or in a PUCCH when the PUSCH and PUCCH transmissions would overlap in time; thus, multiplex, with the uplink shared channel, the UCI on physical uplink control channels (PUCCHs) that overlap in time with the uplink shared channel).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Papasakellariou, Chen, and Yoshioka teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to multiplex the UCI with the uplink control channel, wherein the parameter indicates UCI is to be multiplexed with the uplink control channel, and wherein the uplink control channel is dedicated for UCI multiplexing” (see ¶ [0086]; UE determines a PUCCH resource based on a value of the PRI field in a last DCI format that the UE correctly decodes; thus, the PUCCH is dedicated resource for the multiplexing when DCI indicates whether UCI should multiplex in the PUCCH).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Papasakellariou, Chen, and Yoshioka teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to multiplex the UCI with the uplink control channel, wherein the parameter indicates UCI is to be multiplexed with the uplink control channel, and wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to select resources for the uplink control channel from a pool of uplink control channel resources dedicated for UCI multiplexing” (see ¶ [0086]; to enable flexible allocation of PUCCH resources, a PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) field, with fixed or configurable size, can be included in a DCI format scheduling a PDSCH reception and a UE can then determine a PUCCH resource based on a value of the PRI field; UE determines a PUCCH resource based on a value of the PRI field in a last DCI format that the UE correctly decodes; thus, resources for the uplink control channel are selected from a pool of uplink control channel resources dedicated for UCI multiplexing).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Papasakellariou, Chen, and Yoshioka teaches the apparatus of claim 12, and further teaches “wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to select the resources for the uplink control channel based on a physical uplink control channel resource indicator (PRI) value specified in the DCI” (see ¶ [0086]; to enable flexible allocation of PUCCH resources, a PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) field, with fixed or configurable size, can be included in a DCI format scheduling a PDSCH reception and a UE can then determine a PUCCH resource based on a value of the PRI field; UE determines a PUCCH resource based on a value of the PRI field in a last DCI format that the UE correctly decodes).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Papasakellariou, Chen, and Yoshioka teaches the apparatus of claim 12, and further teaches “wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to select the resources for the uplink control channel based on a set indicator value and a physical uplink control channel resource indicator (PRI) value specified in the DCI, wherein the set indicator value indicates one of multiple sets of uplink control channel resources, and the PRI value indicates the uplink control channel in the one of the multiple sets of uplink control channel resources” (see ¶ [0086]; to enable flexible allocation of PUCCH resources, a PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) field, with fixed or configurable size (i.e., the PRI value indicates the uplink control channel in the one of the multiple sets of uplink control channel resources), can be included in a DCI format scheduling a PDSCH reception and a UE can then determine a PUCCH resource based on a value of the PRI field; UE determines a PUCCH resource based on a value of the PRI field in a last DCI format that the UE correctly decodes).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Papasakellariou, Chen, and Yoshioka teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the parameter is an uplink downlink assignment index (DAI)” (see ¶¶ [0039 and [0040]; the UE receives 1-bit UL DAI (first DAI) in a UL grant for scheduling a PUSCH; In the case where the value of UL DAI is "1" and the PUCCH for an HARQ-ACK report and the PUSCH conflict in at least one symbol, the UE piggybacks the HARQ-ACK onto the PUSCH (UCI on PUSCH) (i.e., multiplex on uplink shared channel)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Papasakellariou and Chen to incorporate teachings of Yoshioka to multiplex based on DAI. The motivation to do so would have been to improve communication quality (see ¶ [0008] of Yoshioka).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Papasakellariou, Chen, and Yoshioka teaches the apparatus of claim 17, and further teaches “wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to multiplex the UCI with a number of feedback bits indicated at least in part by the DAI, wherein the number of feedback bits is indicated at least in part by the DAI with a modulo operation based on a maximum value for the DAI minus 1” (see ¶¶ [0027], [0028], [0036], [0037], [0039], and [0040]; for the HARQ-ACK feedback, UE may determine the number of bits based on a DAI field; UE multiplexes HARQ-ACK (UCI) based in part on the DAI value (i.e., value indicating the number of bits); the UE receives 1-bit UL DAI (first DAI) in a UL grant for scheduling a PUSCH; In the case where the value of UL DAI is "1" and the PUCCH for an HARQ-ACK report and the PUSCH conflict in at least one symbol, the UE piggybacks the HARQ-ACK onto the PUSCH (UCI on PUSCH) (i.e., multiplex on uplink shared channel)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Papasakellariou to incorporate teachings of Yoshioka to multiplex the UCI with number of feedback bits indicated in by DAI. The motivation to do so would have been to improve communication quality (see ¶ [0008] of Yoshioka).
Regarding claim 22, Papasakellariou teaches “[a]n apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: a transceiver; one or more memories configured to, individually or in combination, store instructions; and one or more processors communicatively coupled with the one or more memories, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to: generate, for a user equipment (UE), . . . downlink control information (DCI) . . . including a parameter having a value indicating whether uplink control information (UCI) is to be multiplexed with an uplink control channel or . . . uplink shared channel” (see ¶¶ [0043], [0048], [0131], and [0133] ; BS comprises RF transceiver, processor, and memory; processor capable of executing programs and other processes resident in the memory; multiplexing of multicast HARQ-ACK information in the PUCCH can also be controlled by a serving gNB (i.e., network node; the apparatus) through an indication in a DCI format (i.e., receive, from a network node, downlink control information (DCI)) scheduling the PUSCH transmission; the DCI format can include a 1-bit field (i.e., a parameter having a value indicating) that indicates whether the UE should multiplex multicast HARQ-ACK information in the PUCCH or in the PUSCH (i.e., uplink control channel or an uplink shared channel); the indication by the 1-bit field may also apply for unicast UCI; thus, the network node (the apparatus) generates DCI including a parameter indicating whether UCI is to be multiplexed with an uplink control channel or an uplink shared channel); and
Papasakellariou does not explicitly disclose “generate . . . multiple DCIs each scheduling an uplink shared channel of multiple uplink shared channels,” and “transmit, for the UE, each of the multiple DCIs” of claim 1. However, the foregoing is well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Chen teaches “generate . . . multiple downlink control information (DCIs) each scheduling an uplink shared channel of multiple uplink shared channels” and “transmit, for the UE, each of the multiple DCIs” (see ¶¶ [0198], [0201], and [0202]; the terminal device may receive a plurality of third signalings (e.g., DCI or RRC signalings) (i.e., generate and transmit for UE multiple DCIs), each third signaling is used to schedule one PUSCH (i.e., each scheduling an uplink shared channel of multiple uplink shared channels); thus multiple downlink control information (DCIs) each scheduling an uplink shared channel of multiple uplink shared channels are transmitted). (see ¶¶ [0039] and [0040]; the UE receives 1-bit UL DAI (first DAI) in a UL grant for scheduling a PUSCH; In the case where the value of UL DAI is "1" and the PUCCH for an HARQ-ACK report and the PUSCH conflict in at least one symbol, the UE piggybacks the HARQ-ACK onto the PUSCH (UCI on PUSCH) (i.e., multiplex on uplink shared channel)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Papasakellariou in view of Chen to incorporate teachings of Yoshioka to demultiplex based on DAI value. The motivation to do so would have been to improve communication quality (see ¶ [0008] of Yoshioka).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Papasakellariou and Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 22, and further teaches “wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to: receive, from the UE, UCI multiplexed with each of the multiple uplink shared channels; and demultiplex, for each uplink shared channel of the multiple uplink shared channels and based on the parameter, the UCI corresponding to physical uplink control channels (PUCCHs) scheduled or configured in a same slot as the uplink shared channel” (see ¶¶ [0091], and [0131] – [0133]; PUCCH and PUSCH can overlap in a slot (i.e., PUCCH and uplink shared channel are scheduled in a same slot); the UE determines whether to multiplex UCI in the PUSCH (the uplink shared channel), or whether to simultaneously transmit the PUCCH and the PUSCH, based on the indication; when the indication is to multiplex UCI in the PUSCH, the UE multiplexes the UCI in the PUSCH; otherwise, the UE multiplexes the UCI in the PUCCH (the uplink control channel); thus, at the network node (i.e., the apparatus) the received UCI is multiplexed with the uplink shared channel based on the parameter, where the PUCCH of the UCI and the uplink shared channel are scheduled or configured in the same slot; the network node (i.e., the apparatus) can demultiplex the UCI based on the parameter indicated in the DCI).
The combination of Papasakellariou and Chen does not explicitly disclose “wherein at least one parameter of the multiple DCIs has a value greater than zero” of claim 1. However, the foregoing is well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Yoshioka teaches “wherein at least one parameter of the multiple DCIs has a value greater than zero” (see ¶¶ [0039] and [0040]; the UE receives 1-bit UL DAI (first DAI) in a UL grant for scheduling a PUSCH; In the case where the value of UL DAI is "1" and the PUCCH for an HARQ-ACK report and the PUSCH conflict in at least one symbol, the UE piggybacks the HARQ-ACK onto the PUSCH (UCI on PUSCH) (i.e., multiplex on uplink shared channel); thus when received, the network node will correspondingly demultiplex the UCI corresponding the PUSCH). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Papasakellariou in view of Chen to incorporate teachings of Yoshioka to demultiplex based on DAI greater than zero. The motivation to do so would have been to improve communication quality (see ¶ [0008] of Yoshioka).
Regarding claims 27 and 31, 32, -40, they are method claims corresponding to claims 1 and 3, 4, 8, 12, 13 and 16 that have been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 1 and 3, 4, 8, 12, 13 and 16. Claims 27 and 31-40 are rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 29, it is method claim corresponding to claim 22 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 22. Claim 29 is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papasakellariou in view of Chen, further in view of Yoshioka, and further in view of Han et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2024/0260027).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Papasakellariou, Chen, and Yoshioka teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein at least one of the parameter of the multiple DCIs is greater than zero, and wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to multiplex” (see ¶¶ [0131] and [0133]). The combination of Papasakellariou, Chen, and Yoshioka does not explicitly disclose “with each of the multiple uplink shared channels, multiple UCIs on physical uplink control channels (PUCCHs) scheduled or configured in a same slot as multiple the uplink shared channels” as recited in claim 5. However, the foregoing is well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Han teaches “multiplex, with each of multiple uplink shared channels, multiple UCIs on physical uplink control channels (PUCCHs) scheduled or configured in a same slot as multiple the uplink shared channels” (see ¶ [0064]; two different UCI (i.e., multiple UCIs) on multiple PUCCHs; PUCCH #0 carrying UCI #0 to TRP #0 overlaps with PUSCH repetition to TRP #0 in slot #0, and PUCCH #1 carrying UCI #1 to TRP #1 overlaps with PUSCH repetition to TRP #1 in slot #1 (i.e., physical uplink control channels (PUCCHs) scheduled or configured in a same slot as multiple the uplink shared channels); UCI #0 carried by PUCCH #0 is multiplexed on PUSCH to TRP #0 in slot #0; and UCI #1 carried by PUCCH #1 is multiplexed on PUSCH to TRP #1 in slot #1; thus, the multiple UCIs are multiplexed with the multiple uplink shared channels). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Papasakellariou in view of Chen and further in view of Yoshioka to incorporate teachings of Han to have multiple UCIs multiplexed with multiple PUSCHs that are scheduled with the same slot as multiple PUCCHs carrying the multiple UCIs. The motivation to do so would have been to improve efficiency of channel resource usage by multiplexing UCI. (¶¶ [0006] of Han).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papasakellariou in view of Chen, further in view of Yoshioka, and further in view of Yang et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0292320).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Papasakellariou, Chen, and Yoshioka teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to multiplex the UCI with the uplink shared channel” (see ¶ [0133]). The combination of Papasakellariou, Chen, and Yoshioka does not explicitly disclose “based at least in part on the UCI and uplink shared channel being associated with a same component carrier (CC) or being associated with different CCs in intra-band continuous carrier aggregation” of claim 7. However, the foregoing is well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Yang teaches “based at least in part on the UCI and uplink shared channel being associated with a same component carrier (CC) or being associated with different CCs in intra-band continuous carrier aggregation” (see ¶ [0025]; UCI is multiplexed with a PUSCH, and the PUSCH can be on the same component carrier (CC) as PUCCH (i.e., the PUCCH configured to carry the UCI); thus, the UCI is being multiplexed with an uplink shared channel and based at least in part the uplink shared channel are associated with a same component carrier (CC)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Papasakellariou in view of Chen and further in view of Yoshioka to incorporate teachings of Yang to have UCI multiplex with an uplink shared channel based at least in part on the UCI and uplink shared channel associated with the same CC. The motivation to do so would have been to improve network performance (see ¶ [0020] of Yang).
Claims 9–11, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papasakellariou in view of Chen, further in view of Yoshioka, and further in view of Xiong et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0261361).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Papasakellariou, Chen, and Yoshioka teaches the apparatus of claim 8, and further teaches “wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to multiplex the UCI with the uplink control channel dedicated for UCI multiplexing” (see ¶ [0086]). The combination of Papasakellariou, Chen, and Yoshioka does not explicitly disclose “based at least in part on detecting multiple UCIs within a slot” of claim 9. However, the foregoing is well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Xiong teaches “based at least in part on detecting multiple UCIs within a slot” (see ¶ [0036]; when PUCCH resources carrying different UCI types (i.e., multiple UCIs) overlap at least one symbol in time in a slot (i.e., detected within a slot), UE can multiplex dynamic HARQ-ACK and/or SR and/or one or more CSI (i.e., UCI) in a resource which is indicated by a PUCCH (i.e., the uplink control channel) resource indication field in downlink control information (DCI)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Papasakellariou, Chen, and Yoshioka to incorporate teachings of Xiong to multiplex UCI with uplink control channel based at least in part on multiple UCIs detected in a slot. The motivation to do so would have been to improve network performance (see ¶ [0003] of Xiong).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Papasakellariou, Chen, Yoshioka, and Xiong teaches the apparatus of claim 9, and further teaches “wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to multiplex, with the uplink control channel, the multiple UCIs within the slot” (see ¶ [0036] of Xiong; when PUCCH resources carrying different UCI types (i.e., multiple UCIs) overlap at least one symbol in time in a slot (i.e., detected within a slot), UE can multiplex dynamic HARQ-ACK and/or SR and/or one or more CSI (i.e., the multiple UCIs) in a resource which is indicated by a PUCCH (i.e., the uplink control channel) resource indication field in downlink control information (DCI)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Papasakellariou to incorporate teachings of Xiong to multiplex with uplink control channel the multiple UCIs within the slot. The motivation to do so would have been to improve network performance (see ¶ [0003] of Xiong).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Papasakellariou, Chen, Yoshioka, and Xiong teaches the apparatus of claim 9, and further teaches “wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to multiplex, with the uplink control channel, a portion of the multiple UCIs within the slot that overlap the uplink control channel in time” (see ¶ [0036] of Xiong; when PUCCH resources carrying different UCI types (i.e., multiple UCIs) overlap at least one symbol in time in a slot (i.e., detected within a slot), UE can multiplex dynamic HARQ-ACK and/or SR and/or one or more CSI (i.e., a portion of the multiple UCIs) in a resource which is indicated by a PUCCH (i.e., the uplink control channel) resource indication field in downlink control information (DCI); thus, a portion of the multiple UCIs are multiplexed within the slot that overlap the uplink control channel in time). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Papasakellariou to incorporate teachings of Xiong to multiplex with uplink control channel a portion of the multiple UCIs within the slot that overlap the uplink control channel in time. The motivation to do so would have been to improve network performance (see ¶ [0003] of Xiong).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Papasakellariou, Chen, and Yoshioka teaches the apparatus of claim 12, but does not explicitly disclose “wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to multiplex, with the uplink control channel, multiple UCIs within a slot” of claim 14. However, the foregoing is well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Xiong teaches “wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to multiplex, with the uplink control channel, multiple UCIs within a slot” (see ¶ [0036] of Xiong; when PUCCH resources carrying different UCI types (i.e., multiple UCIs) overlap at least one symbol in time in a slot (i.e., detected within a slot), UE can multiplex dynamic HARQ-ACK and/or SR and/or one or more CSI (i.e., the multiple UCIs) in a resource which is indicated by a PUCCH (i.e., the uplink control channel) resource indication field in downlink control information (DCI)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Papasakellariou, Chen, and Yoshioka to incorporate teachings of Xiong to multiplex with uplink control channel the multiple UCIs within the slot. The motivation to do so would have been to improve network performance (see ¶ [0003] of Xiong).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Papasakellariou, Chen, and Yoshioka teaches the apparatus of claim 12, but does not explicitly disclose “wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to multiplex, with the uplink control channel, a portion of multiple UCIs within a slot that overlap the uplink control channel in time” of claim 15. However, the foregoing is well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Xiong teaches “wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to multiplex, with the uplink control channel, a portion of multiple UCIs within a slot that overlap the uplink control channel in time” (see ¶ [0036] of Xiong; when PUCCH resources carrying different UCI types (i.e., multiple UCIs) overlap at least one symbol in time in a slot (i.e., detected within a slot), UE can multiplex dynamic HARQ-ACK and/or SR and/or one or more CSI (i.e., a portion of the multiple UCIs) in a resource which is indicated by a PUCCH (i.e., the uplink control channel) resource indication field in downlink control information (DCI); thus, a portion of the multiple UCIs are multiplexed within the slot that overlap the uplink control channel in time). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Papasakellariou, Chen, and Yoshioka to incorporate teachings of Xiong to multiplex with uplink control channel a portion of the multiple UCIs within the slot that overlap the uplink control channel in time. The motivation to do so would have been to improve network performance (see ¶ [0003] of Xiong).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SRIHARSHA REDDY VANGAPATY/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475