DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: System For Detecting And Applying a Tightening Specification to a Threaded Mechanical Fastener.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by E.H.. Gjersoe US2733517 (hereinafter “Gjersoe”).
Regarding claim 1, Gjersoe discloses a kit (instrument panel-10) for defining a dot pattern (spotting device-11 is shown in figs 1-2 including a dot pattern) within a readable matrix defining a tightening specification comprising: a head stencil (template-12) for marking a matrix onto a threaded fastener, said head stencil comprising a receiving portion (surface of template-12), said receiving portion defined for being received on a head of a threaded fastener (Col 2 line 2-67); a matrix pattern (plurality of pilot holes-13, Col 2 line 6-67) within said head stencil comprising a plurality of openings, said openings displaying a portion of the head, the plurality of openings capable of receiving a marking element (drill bit/punch/pencil); and said marking element (drill bit/punch/pencil) suitable for marking a matrix pattern into the head of said threaded fastener (Col 2 line 45-67).
Regarding claim 2, Gjersoe discloses the head stencil (template-12) comprises an orienting component (aperture-17) capable of being marked with said head stencil. (Fig 2, Col 2 line 12-18)
Regarding claim 4, Gjersoe discloses said head stencil (template-12) is positioned so as to define marking a readable matrix on a top surface contacting face, the readable matrix comprising a grid dot pattern (pilot holes-13) directly positioned within the top surface contacting face of said head and a portion of said grid dot pattern located on a center point of a longitudinal axis of the threaded fastener. (Col 2 line 3 – 67)
Regarding claim 5, Gjersoe discloses the grid dot pattern (pilot holes-13) of the readable matrix comprises a ratio of pixel diameter to interpixel spacing of between 10:1 and 1:10 and comprising an orienting mark (aperture-17) adjacent to said grid dot pattern, said orienting mark comprising a vertical segment and a horizontal segment (See Fig 2 which shows shank-14), said vertical segment and said horizontal segment being connected at a vertex adjacent to a corner of the readable matrix (Fig 1-2, Col 2 line 3-67).
Regarding claim 6, Gjersoe discloses said grid dot pattern (template-12 includes pilot holes-13) defines a tightening specification. (Col 2 line 3 – 67)
Regarding claim 7, Gjersoe discloses the tightening specification (spotting device-11 is shown in figs 1-2 including a dot pattern) is selected from the group consisting of: minimum required torque moment on a fastener, a specified angle of twist, a direction of the thread, an indicator of presence of lubricants, presence of thread locking compound, a single use fastener, fastener importance, units of force, and combinations thereof. (Fig 1-2, Col 2 line 3 – 67)
Claim(s) 3 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kibblewhite US20130047408.
Regarding claim 3, Kibblewhite discloses a system (See fig 1) for detecting and applying a tightening specification to a threaded fastener (fasteners-6, paragraph 0026-0027) comprising: a. detecting on a threaded fastener a dot pattern (identifying element-9) identifying the tightening specification (Fig 3A, Paragraph 0028, 0032, 0041-0042); b. modifying a component (Fig 1, Regulator-3, paragraph 0025) of a tool (tool-1) to a torque specification defined in the tightening specification (regulator-3 connected with electronic control-2) (Paragraph 0025 ); and c. applying the torque specification to the threaded fastener (Paragraph 0032, 0043).
Regarding claim 8, Kibblewhite discloses the dot pattern (identifying element-9) is defined on a top surface contacting face of a readable matrix comprising a grid dot pattern directly positioned within the top surface contacting face of a head of said threaded fastener (fastener-6) and a portion of said grid dot pattern is located on a center point of a longitudinal axis of the threaded fastener. (Fig 3A, Paragraph 0025, 0032, 0043)
Regarding claim 9, Kibblewhite discloses the grid dot pattern (element-9) of the readable matrix comprises a ratio of pixel diameter to interpixel spacing of between 10:1 and 1:10 and comprising an orienting mark adjacent to said grid dot pattern, said orienting mark comprising a vertical segment and a horizontal segment, said vertical segment and said horizontal segment being connected at a vertex adjacent to a corner of the readable matrix. (Fig 3A, Paragraph 0025, 0032, 0043)
Regarding claim 10, Kibblewhite discloses said grid dot pattern (element-9) defines a tightening specification. (Fig 3A, Paragraph 0025, 0032, 0043)
Regarding claim 11, Kibblewhite discloses the tightening specification is selected from the group consisting of: minimum required torque moment on a fastener, a specified angle of twist, a direction of the thread, an indicator of presence of lubricants, presence of thread locking compound, a single use fastener, fastener importance, units of force, and combinations thereof. (Fig 3A, Paragraph 0025, 0032, 0043)
Regarding claim 12, Kibblewhite discloses the dot pattern (elemet-9) is defined on a top surface contacting face of a readable matrix comprising a grid dot pattern directly positioned within the top surface contacting face of a head of said threaded fastener, said grid dot pattern comprising a ratio of pixel diameter to interpixel spacing of between 10:1 and 1:10 and a portion of said grid dot pattern located on a center point of a longitudinal axis of the threaded fastener with an orienting mark positioned adjacent to the grid dot pattern. (Fig 3A, Paragraph 0025, 0032, 0043, 0047)
Regarding claim 13, Kibblewhite discloses the tool (tool-1) is an electronically controlled tool having onboard electronics (electronic control-2). (Fig 3A, Paragraph 0025, 0032, 0043, 0047)
Regarding claim 14, Kibblewhite discloses the tool (tool-1) is selected from the group consisting of: a manual tool, a handheld electronic tool, a pneumatic torque tool, and a hydraulic torque tool. (Paragraph 0025)
Regarding claim 15, Kibblewhite discloses a system (See Fig 1) for detecting and applying a tightening specification to a threaded fastener (fastener-6) comprising :a. detecting a dot pattern (identifying element-9) on a threaded fastener with a sensor (paragraph 0032), the dot pattern identifying the tightening specification; b. modifying a component of a tool (tool-1) to a torque specification defined in the tightening specification (Fig 1, Regulator-3, paragraph 0025); and c. applying the torque specification to the threaded fastener via the tool (Paragraph 0032, 0043).
Regarding claim 16, Kibblewhite discloses the dot pattern is defined on a top surface contacting face of a readable matrix (Fig 3A, Paragraphs 0025, 0032, 0043) comprising a grid dot pattern directly positioned within the top surface contacting face of a head of said threaded fastener (fastener-6) and a portion of said grid dot pattern located is on a center point of a longitudinal axis of the threaded fastener. (Fig 3A, Paragraph 0025, 0032, 0043, 0047)
Regarding claim 17, Kibblewhite discloses the grid dot pattern of the readable matrix (Fig 3A, Paragraphs 0025, 0032, 0043) comprises a ratio of pixel diameter to interpixel spacing of between 10:1 and 1:10 and comprising an orienting mark adjacent (Paragraph 0032, 0043) to said grid dot pattern, said orienting mark comprising a vertical segment and a horizontal segment, said vertical segment and said horizontal segment being connected at a vertex adjacent to a corner of the readable matrix. (Fig 3A, Paragraph 0025, 0032, 0043, 0047)
Regarding claim 18, Kibblewhite discloses said grid dot pattern (element-9) defines a tightening specification. (Fig 3A, Paragraph 0025, 0032, 0043, 0047)
Regarding claim 19, Kibblewhite discloses the tightening specification is selected from the group consisting of: minimum required torque moment on a fastener, a specified angle of twist, a direction of the thread, an indicator of presence of lubricants, presence of thread locking compound, a single use fastener, fastener importance, units of force, and combinations thereof. (Fig 3A, Paragraph 0025, 0032, 0043)
Regarding claim 20, Kibblewhite discloses the dot pattern (element-9) is defined on a top surface contacting face of a readable matrix comprising a grid dot pattern directly positioned within the top surface contacting face of a head of said threaded fastener (fastener-6), said grid dot pattern comprising a ratio of pixel diameter to interpixel spacing of between 10:1 and 1:10 and a portion of said grid dot pattern located on a center point of a longitudinal axis of the threaded fastener with an orienting mark positioned adjacent to the grid dot pattern. (Fig 3A, Paragraph 0025, 0032, 0043, 0047)
Conclusion
The prior art as cited on the PTO-892 is made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/NIGEL H PLUMB/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/Eric S. McCall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855