DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Invention I, claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 11 August 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that, “the Examiner has not met this burden. Specifically, the restriction requirement separates claims 1-10, 11-17, and 18-20 into three alleged inventions. However, the claims are not directed to independent or distinct inventions as required by MPEP §§ 803 and 806. Rather, all claims are directed to the same underlying inventive concept: a removable wire guide cassette mounted to a crimping tool that guides a wire into a terminal and is movable between open and closed positions independently of the crimping operation…Claims 1 and 11 are both directed to substantially the same wire guide cassette/crimping tool combination. Claim 1 recites the invention as a "system for attaching electrical terminals to wires," while claim 11 recites a "wire guide system for hand tools."…Any search directed to the detailed structural limitations of claims 2-10 would necessarily identify the same prior art relevant to claims 11-17 because the same components and operational relationships are recited. Accordingly, the Examiner has not demonstrated a separate field of search or a serious search burden… Therefore, searching one claim group would substantially cover the others, and examination of all three claim sets would not impose a serious burden beyond that normally encountered during examination.” This is not found persuasive.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Firstly, as clearly articulated in the Election/Restriction requirement office action, Inventions I and II have materially different designs and modes of operation. Invention I does not have “the wire guide cassette is movable, via actuation of the actuation ring, independent from crimping actuation of the crimping tool” as recited in Invention II, claim 11. Further, as recited in claim 1, “the wire guide cassette is movable independent from crimping actuation of the crimping tool”. However, claim 11 recites “the wire guide cassette is movable, via actuation of the actuation ring, independent from crimping actuation of the crimping tool”. This results in a divergent search, because a search for one group would require searching for limitations not required by any of the other groups. Thus, different search queries or thought processes must be employed in locating prior art, and a reference applicable against one group is not likely to be directly applicable against another group.
Secondly, if, during prosecution, a linking claim becomes allowable, the withdrawn claims depending therefrom would be rejoined and examined for patentability from a 35 U.S.C. 112 perspective.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3, line 9: “the lower carriage plate has a plurality of mirrored ramps are formed” should read: -- the lower carriage plate has a plurality of mirrored ramps formed --
and lines 14-15: “circular “head” to a pointed “tail” of” should read:
-- circular head to a pointed tail of --
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the limitation in line 6, “the wire guide cassette is movable independent from crimping actuation of the crimping tool” renders claim indefinite because, line 3 recites “the wire guide cassette is removably mounted to the crimping tool”. If the wire guide cassette is mounted to the crimping tool, it is unclear how “the wire guide cassette is movable independent” from the crimping tool as recited in line 6.
Claims 2-10 depend on claim 1. Therefore, claims 1-10 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung (US 20190363501.
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches, a system for attaching electrical terminals to wires (crimp tool, Figs. 1A to 7B) comprises:
a wire guide cassette (cassette 200, annotated Fig. 1A below); and
a crimping tool (tool body 100), wherein the wire guide cassette is removably mounted to the crimping tool (head 130 is connected with the first handle 110 and has an opening 131 for receiving the cassette 200…cassette body 210 is detachably disposed in an opening 131 of the head 130 of the tool body 100 and has a machining opening 214 therein, para. [0023-0024]), wherein the wire guide cassette is movable between at least a closed position (working state, Fig. 1B, para. [0023]) and an open position (resting state, Fig. 1A, para. [0023]) displaced from the closed position, wherein the wire guide cassette
[AltContent: textbox (wire guide cassette)][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Fig. 1A, Hung.
is movable independent from crimping actuation of the crimping tool, wherein a wire inserted into the wire guide cassette in the closed position is located and guided into an end terminal (connector, a user grasps the handles 110, 120, the second handle 120 urges the driving element 140 to move upward and the cassette 200 is actuated to machine the connector and the cable, para. [0023]) held in the crimping tool, and the crimping tool is actuated to crimp the end terminal onto a stripped end of the wire, and wherein in the open position, the wire and end terminal are freely movable relative to and removable from the wire guide cassette and crimping tool (when a user grasps the handles 110, 120, the second handle 120 urges the driving element 140 to move upward and the cassette 200 is actuated to machine the connector and the cable, such as shearing and/or crimping the connector and the cable…When the user releases the handles 110, 120, a spring provided at the pivot of the two handles 110, 120 biases the second handle 120 so that the handles 110, 120 are urged into the expanded position, and the driving element 140 retreats to its original position…During the above operation, the direction of motion (i.e., upward or downward direction) of the driving element 140 defines a first axis (L1), para. [0023]).
From the teaching of Hung in Figs. 1A and 1B and para. [0023-0024], the tool body 100 comprises a first handle 110, a second handle 120, a head 130 and a driving element 140 and head 130 is connected with the first handle 110 and has an opening 131 for receiving the cassette 200, and the second handle 120 urges the driving element 140 to move upward and the cassette 200 is actuated to machine the connector and the cable, one of ordinary skill in the art would have known that, the cassette moves between the open and closed positions, and in closed position, the cable is guided into an end terminal held in the crimping tool and in the open position, the cable and end terminal are freely movable relative to and removable from the cassette and crimping tool. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Hung in para. [0023-0025], it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cable crimping tool of Hung and a wire inserted into the wire guide cassette in the closed position is located and guided into an end terminal held in the crimping tool, so that it enables to crimp connectors and cables with different specifications.
Note: Hung teaches the recited limitation “the crimping tool is actuated to crimp the end terminal onto a stripped end of the wire, and wherein in the open position, the wire and end terminal are freely movable relative to and removable from the wire guide cassette and crimping tool.”, because the recited limitation deemed to read as an intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See, MPEP § 2111.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action. Claims 3-10 are allowable by virtue of its dependency.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter:
Claim 12 would be allowable for disclosing a system for attaching electrical terminals to wires, wherein the wire guide cassette further comprises: a mounting plate affixed coaxially to the crimping tool by one or more mounting plate fasteners; a lower lift plate coaxially disposed overtop the mounting plate opposite the crimping tool; one or more ball bearings disposed in ramps formed in the lower lift plate opposite the crimping tool; a bearing retainer plate disposed overtop and coaxially located with the lower lift plate and the mounting plate, the bearing retainer plate movably retaining the one or more ball bearings; a lower carriage plate coaxially disposed overtop the bearing retainer plate; a plurality of wire guide portions disposed overtop the bearing retainer plate, the plurality of wire guide portions defining a wire guide cone tip extending coaxially through each of the lower carriage plate, the bearing retainer plate, the lower lift plate, the mounting plate, and into the crimping tool; an upper carriage plate disposed overtop the plurality of wire guide portions, and located coaxially with the lower carriage plate, the bearing retainer plate, the lower lift plate, the mounting plate, and the crimping tool; a washer disposed coaxially overtop the upper carriage plate; a cover plate disposed coaxially overtop the upper carriage plate and secured to the upper carriage plate, the lower carriage plate, the bearing retainer plate, the lower lift plate and the mounting plate with one or more cover plate fasteners; and an activation ring circumferentially surrounding at least the bearing retainer plate, the lower carriage plate, the one or more wire guide portions, and the upper carriage plate, wherein the activation ring is locked for rotational movement in concert with the bearing retainer plate, wherein as the activation ring is moved from the closed position to the open position, the activation ring causes rotational and axial movement of the bearing retainer plate, the lower carriage plate, the one or more wire guide portions, and the upper carriage plate relative to the mounting plate and the crimping tool, wherein the axial movement defines an increase in axial distance between the bearing retainer plate, the lower carriage plate, the one or more wire guide portions, and the upper carriage plate and the mounting plate and crimping tool.
Though, prior art of record Hung teaches a system for attaching electrical terminals to wire including a wire guide cassette and a crimping tool, Hung fails to teach, a mounting plate affixed coaxially to the crimping tool by one or more mounting plate fasteners; a lower lift plate coaxially disposed overtop the mounting plate opposite the crimping tool; one or more ball bearings disposed in ramps formed in the lower lift plate opposite the crimping tool; a bearing retainer plate disposed overtop and coaxially located with the lower lift plate and the mounting plate, the bearing retainer plate movably retaining the one or more ball bearings; a lower carriage plate coaxially disposed overtop the bearing retainer plate; a plurality of wire guide portions disposed overtop the bearing retainer plate, the plurality of wire guide portions defining a wire guide cone tip extending coaxially through each of the lower carriage plate, the bearing retainer plate, the lower lift plate, the mounting plate, and into the crimping tool; an upper carriage plate disposed overtop the plurality of wire guide portions, and located coaxially with the lower carriage plate, the bearing retainer plate, the lower lift plate, the mounting plate, and the crimping tool; a washer disposed coaxially overtop the upper carriage plate; a cover plate disposed coaxially overtop the upper carriage plate and secured to the upper carriage plate, the lower carriage plate, the bearing retainer plate, the lower lift plate and the mounting plate with one or more cover plate fasteners; and an activation ring circumferentially surrounding at least the bearing retainer plate, the lower carriage plate, the one or more wire guide portions, and the upper carriage plate, wherein the activation ring is locked for rotational movement in concert with the bearing retainer plate, wherein as the activation ring is moved from the closed position to the open position, the activation ring causes rotational and axial movement of the bearing retainer plate, the lower carriage plate, the one or more wire guide portions, and the upper carriage plate relative to the mounting plate and the crimping tool, wherein the axial movement defines an increase in axial distance between the bearing retainer plate, the lower carriage plate, the one or more wire guide portions, and the upper carriage plate and the mounting plate and crimping tool.
Therefore, claim 2 would be allowable. Claims 3-10 would be allowable by virtue of its dependency.
Conclusion
Prior art Battenfeld (US 20090217791) teaches, a crimping tool including a wire guide cassette; and a, wherein the wire guide cassette is removably mounted to the crimping tool, and the crimping tool is actuated to crimp the end terminal onto a stripped end of the wire, and wherein in the open position, the wire and end terminal are freely movable relative to and removable from the wire guide cassette and crimping tool.
Prior art Hoppe (US 20170110842) teaches, a system for attaching electrical terminals to wires comprises: a wire guide cassette; and a crimping tool, the wire guide cassette is removably mounted to the crimping tool, and the crimping tool is actuated to crimp the end terminal onto a stripped end of the wire, and wherein in the open position, the wire and end terminal are freely movable relative to and removable from the wire guide cassette and crimping tool.
Prior art Slater (US 8839506) teaches, a crimping tool including a wire guide cassette; and the wire guide cassette is removably mounted to the crimping tool.
Prior art Wilson (US 6655013) teaches, a crimping tool including a wire guide cassette; and the wire guide cassette is removably mounted to the crimping tool.
/JOSE K ABRAHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3729