DETAILED ACTION
This non-final rejection is responsive to the claims filed 10 October 2023. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1 and 11 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asawa (US 2020/0083714 A1) hereinafter known as Asawa.
Regarding independent claim 1, Asawa teaches:
A controller for a power system, comprising: at least one processor; and (Asawa: Figs. 1 and 7 and ¶[0007], ¶[0020], and ¶[0040]; Asawa teaches a controller and a processor.)
at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the controller to perform operations for correcting a state of a first node of the power system, the operations comprising: obtaining rules for correcting the state of the first node, each rule specifying a corrective action for the first node; (Asawa: ¶[0007]; Asawa teaches a memory coupled with a processor to apply energy management policies with a predefined area based on future power demand. Fig. 3 and ¶[0022] and ¶[0029]-¶[0030] teach creating policies for a predefined area, such as a facility.)
...
generating a forecast of the state of the first node based on the instructions; (Asawa: Fig. 3 and ¶[0032]; Asawa teaches determining future power demand from the predefined area.)
monitoring the state of the first node; and (Asawa: Fig. 3 and ¶[0032]; Asawa teaches measuring power usage.)
based on the forecast state and the monitored state of the first node: selecting one of the rules; and (Asawa: Fig. 3 and ¶[0033]; Asawa teaches applying the policies within the predefined area.)
applying the corrective action specified by the selected one of the rules to correct the state of the first node. (Asawa: Fig. 3 and ¶[0033]; Asawa teaches applying the policies within the predefined area.)
An embodiment of Asawa does not explicitly teach but another embodiment teaches:
obtaining instructions for the first node, the instructions at least partially specifying a configuration of the first node; (Asawa: Fig. 2 and ¶[0022]-¶[0029]; Asawa teaches basing the policies for the facility on certain priorities, i.e. energy requirements for a hospital would be very high.)
Asawa is in the same field of endeavor as the present invention, as it is directed to managing power loads and distribution. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine a controller that manages power of a node based by applying policies based on forecasts and measured data with further obtaining a configuration of the node. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine these teachings because the combination allows determining distribution patterns based on the energy requirements of the facilities and the associated priority, as suggested by Asawa: ¶[0025].
Regarding claim 2, Asawa further teaches the controller of claim 1.
Asawa further teaches:
wherein the state of the first node includes variables corresponding to a status or configuration of the first node and wherein selecting the one of the rules comprises: comparing the monitored state and forecast state of the first node; and determining a difference between the forecast state and monitored state, the determined difference being for one of the variables, for a combination of the variables, or for a trajectory of the state. (Asawa: Fig. 3 and ¶[0023] and ¶[0032]-¶[0033]; Asawa teaches monitoring the state and predicting future demand and based on the foregoing, applying the policies. Furthermore, Fig. 2 and ¶[0022]-¶[0029] teach basing the policies for the facility on certain priorities, i.e. energy requirements for a hospital would be very high.)
Regarding claim 3, Asawa further teaches the controller of claim 2.
Asawa further teaches:
wherein: each of the obtained rules corresponds to a difference for one of the variables, for a combination of the variables, or for the trajectory of the state; and the one of the rules is selected based on the determined difference. (Asawa: ¶[0025] and ¶[0033]; Asawa teaches the policies being applied to optimize criteria such as cost, withdrawal from the microgrid or battery, or maximum comfort. Selection of the policies is based on the difference between the measured and the determined future power demand.)
Regarding claim 4, Asawa further teaches the controller of claim 1.
Asawa further teaches:
wherein the one of the rules is selected based on: a previous selection by the controller of another one of the rules; or a magnitude of a difference between the forecast state and monitored state. (Asawa: ¶[0025] and ¶[0033]; Asawa teaches the policies being applied to optimize criteria such as cost, withdrawal from the microgrid or battery, or maximum comfort. Selection of the policies is based on the difference between the measured and the determined future power demand.)
Regarding claim 5, Asawa further teaches the controller of claim 1.
Asawa further teaches:
wherein the corrective action comprises: changing a configuration of a power connection of the first node; changing a rate of charging or discharging of an energy storage device of the first node; or load shedding or load rescheduling. (Asawa: ¶[0025] and ¶[0033]; Asawa teaches the policies being applied to optimize criteria such as cost, withdrawal from the microgrid or battery, or maximum comfort. E.g. deciding whether to charger or withdraw power, which devices should stay on/off.)
Regarding claim 6, Asawa further teaches the controller of claim 1.
Asawa further teaches:
wherein the instructions specify that the first node be configured to receive differing amounts of power over a time interval. (Asawa: ¶[0023]; Asawa teaches the policies defined can include switching off HVAC for a predefined time period.)
Regarding claim 7, Asawa further teaches the controller of claim 1.
Asawa further teaches:
wherein the state includes a state of charge, temperature, or average or instantaneous power transfer of an energy storage device of the first node. (Asawa: ¶[0032]; Asawa teaches measuring charge level of one of the batteries.)
Regarding claim 8, Asawa further teaches the controller of claim 1.
Asawa further teaches:
wherein the operations further comprise updating the forecast state of the first node based on the application of the corrective action. (Asawa: ¶[0023]; Asawa teaches using machine learning to estimate future energy usage pattern within the facility.)
Regarding claim 9, Asawa further teaches the controller of claim 1.
Asawa further teaches:
wherein the forecast is generated based on historical information of the first node concerning: loads drawn from the first node; power received from an intermittent power source connected to the first node; or power received from a main power source connected to the first node. (Asawa: ¶[0023]; Asawa teaches using machine learning to estimate future energy usage pattern within the facility.)
Regarding claims 11-19, these claims recite a method that performs the function of the controller of claims 1-9; therefore, the same rationale for rejection applies.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asawa in view of Chambers (US 2010/0262313 A1) hereinafter known as Chambers.
Regarding claim 10, Asawa further teaches the controller of claim 1.
Asawa does not explicitly teach but Chambers teaches:
wherein the instructions are received, using power line communications, through a power connection of the first node. (Chambers: ¶[0045]; Chambers teaches using power line communication (PLC) for carrying data.)
Asawa and Chambers are in the same field of endeavor as the present invention, as the references are directed to power management. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine a controller that manages power based on forecasts and measured data that is communicated through a network connecting the microgrid with multiple facilities as taught in Asawa with further using PLC for communication as taught in Chambers. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Asawa to include teachings of Chambers because the combination would allow using a known communication technology that also allows for power transmission, as suggested by Chambers: ¶[0045].
Regarding claim 20, this claim recites a method that performs the function of the controller of claim 10; therefore, the same rationale for rejection applies.
Conclusion
/ALEKSEY OLSHANNIKOV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118