Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 is rejected under 112 second paragraph since claim 1 recited in optional format (i.e “such that” and “can be” at line 8 in claim 1) and not a positive recitation. Words “such as, such that, may, might, can, could, in case, when, potentially, possibly” are optional language and do not narrow claim limitations (In re Johnston, 77 USPQ2d 1788 (Fed Cir 2006)).
Claims 3-18 are rejected under 112 second paragraph since claims 3-18 are dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No US 2021/0158151 to Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang) in view of U.S. Publication No US 2022/0108014 to Schiffman et al. (hereinafter Schiffman) in view of U.S. Publication No US 2022/0400371 to Elshafie et al. (hereinafter Elshafie)
As to claim 19, Wang discloses a method of artificial intelligence (AI) setting within a communication system with a base station and several user equipments (UEs), the method comprising:
reporting, by each of the several user equipments, an artificial intelligence parameter for universal communications identifier (UCI) capabilities to the base station (Wang; [0168]; Fig.13:1305 shows and discloses plurality of UEs reports metric and capability information to a base station using machine-learning architectures. [0158] discloses machine-learning architectures for broadcast and multicast communications. In implementations, a network entity determines a configuration of a deep neural network (DNN) for processing broadcast or multicast communications transmitted over a wireless communication system, where the communications are directed to a targeted group of user equipments (UEs));
grouping, by the base station, the user equipments into groups based on the artificial intelligence parameter for the universal communications identifier capabilities (Wang; [0168]; Fig.13:1305 shows and discloses plurality of UEs reports metric and capability information to a base station using machine-learning architectures. [0158] discloses machine-learning architectures for broadcast and multicast communications. In implementations, a network entity determines a configuration of a deep neural network (DNN) for processing broadcast or multicast communications transmitted over a wireless communication system, where the communications are directed to a targeted group of user equipments (UEs));
Wang discloses wherein the user equipments are grouped by the base station, but fails to disclose wherein UEs report universal communications identifier capabilities. However, Schiffman discloses
wherein the user equipments are grouped by the base station based on the universal communications identifier capabilities (Schiffman; [0044] discloses the remote party 302 may obtain information regarding the capabilities of each of the computing devices 300a-d from the attestation, as well as potentially being able to obtain the identity of each of the computing devices 300a-d and their individual capabilities from the attestation. Information regarding the capabilities may be conveyed by the attestation in the form of an indicator or Universal Resource Identifier (URI) to more complete information about the capability).
It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings before the effective filing date of the invention. One would be motivated to combine the teachings in order to report more complete information about the capability.
Wang- Schiffman discloses a base station sending information to a plurality of UEs, but fails to disclose multicasting, by the base station, a respective artificial intelligence configuration to each group of user equipments separately in dependency of the artificial intelligence parameter for the universal communications identifier capabilities of the respective group. However, Elshafie discloses
multicasting, by the base station, a respective artificial intelligence configuration to each group of user equipments separately in dependency of the artificial intelligence parameter for the universal communications identifier capabilities of the respective group (Elshafie; [0074] discloses each UE may transmit, to the base station, information that indicates whether the respective UE has a capability to support machine learning algorithms. one or more UEs may have a capability to perform one or more tasks in a machine learning mode. Accordingly, because a UE generally needs to support machine learning algorithms in order to participate in federated learning, each UE may signal machine learning or federated learning capabilities to the base station (e.g., using radio resource control (RRC) signaling and/or a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE). For example, as described herein, the machine learning or federated learning capabilities may at least indicate whether a UE supports machine learning and/or federated learning algorithms. Furthermore, in some aspects, the machine learning or federated learning capabilities may vary over time for a particular UE (e.g., a UE may indicate support for machine learning algorithms when the UE is willing to participate in federated learning because the UE has computational resources available for local training, and may indicate that machine learning algorithms are unsupported at other times when the UE may be unwilling to participate in federated learning. [0079]-[0080] discloses the base station may transmit, and the UEs may receive, configuration information that indicates one or more tasks to be performed in the machine learning mode or the non-machine learning mode. For example, UEs that lack support for machine learning algorithms may be configured to perform wireless communication tasks and/or other suitable tasks in the non-machine learning mode only, and UEs that support machine learning algorithms may be configured to perform wireless communication tasks and/or other suitable tasks in the machine learning mode or the non-machine learning mode. The base station may configure the same set of CSI-RS resources and/or SRS resources to be used for channel sounding in the machine learning mode and the non-machine learning mode, or the base station may configure different CSI-RS resources and/or SRS resources to be used for channel sounding in the machine learning mode and the non-machine learning mode. In either case, the base station and the UE may coordinate which CSI-RS and/or SRS resources are to be used in each mode)
It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings before the effective filing date of the invention. One would be motivated to combine the teachings in order to use machine learning mode or non-machine learning mode by a group of UEs based on the information received from a base station and thus use the limited resources in an effective way.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FAISAL CHOUDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478