DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in the current application. Applicant's submission filed on July 22, 2026, has been entered.
Drawings
FIG. 5 is objected to because numbers, letters, and reference characters must measure at least .32 cm. (1/8 inch) in height. 37 C.F.R. 1.84(p)(3). The text below each of 521 and 525 does not meet this requirement. The text above each of 521 and 522 does not meet this requirement. Additionally, it does not appear that each of the numerical identifiers meet this requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Behin et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2001/0034938A1, hereinafter “Behin”).
Specifically, regarding Claim 1, Behin discloses a micro-electromechanical systems (MEMS) switch, comprising at least one comb drive having a first input (16, 18; FIG. 1A, ¶ [0024]) and a second input (28, 30; FIG. 1A, ¶ [0024]), at least one conductive beam (34, 36) connected across the at least one comb drive (FIG. 1A), a first contact (16; FIG. 1A), and a second contact (30; FIG. 1A), wherein no voltage difference between the first input (16, 18) and the second input (28, 30) does not result in any movement of the MEMS switch (FIG. 1A), and wherein a voltage difference between the first input (16, 18) and the second input (28, 30) causes an electrostatic force to be generated that causes the at least one conductive beam (34, 36) to move in a direction orthogonal to a direction of the electrostatic force (¶¶ [0023] - [0025]).
Regarding Claim 2, Behin discloses that the at least one comb drive comprises a stationary first electrically conductive comb (25) having at least one comb finger (14; FIG. 1A) and a movable second electrically conductive comb (22) having at least one comb finger (24; FIG. 1A), wherein the at least one conductive beam (34, 36) comprises one conductive beam (34, 36) connected between the stationary first electrically conductive comb (25) and the movable second electrically conductive comb (22; a bottom portion of 36 is between 22 and 25; FIG. 1A), wherein the second contact (30) is fixedly connected to the stationary first electrically conductive comb (25; FIG. 1A), wherein the first contact (16) is not in contact with the one conductive beam (34, 36) when there is no voltage difference between the first input (16, 18) and the second input (28, 30; ¶ [0024]), and wherein the first input (16, 18) is connected to the stationary first electrically conductive comb (25) and the second input (28, 30) is connected to the movable second electrically conductive comb (22) such that the voltage difference between the first input (16, 18) and the second input (28, 30) causes the movable second electrically conductive comb (22) to be physically drawn inward by the generated electrostatic force toward the stationary first electrically conductive comb and causes the one conductive beam (34, 36) to contact the first contact (16; ¶ [0024]).
Regarding Claim 3, Behin discloses that the at least one comb drive comprises a stationary first electrically conductive comb (25) having at least one comb finger (FIG. 1A) and a movable second electrically conductive comb (22) having at least one comb finger (FIG. 1A), wherein the at least one conductive beam (34, 36) comprises one conductive beam (34, 36) connected between a first end and a second end of the movable second electrically conductive comb (22; FIG. 1A), wherein the second contact (30) is fixedly connected to the stationary first electrically conductive comb (25), wherein the first contact (16) is in contact with the one conductive beam (34, 36) when there is no voltage difference between the first input (16, 18) and the second input (28, 30; FIG. 1A), and wherein the first input (16, 18) is connected to the stationary first electrically conductive comb (25) and the second input (28, 30) is connected to the movable second electrically conductive comb (22) such that the voltage difference between the first input (16, 18) and the second input (28, 30) causes the movable second electrically conductive comb (22) to be physically drawn outward by the generated electrostatic force toward the stationary first electrically conductive comb (25) and causes the one conductive beam (34, 36) to disconnect from the first contact (16; ¶ [0024]).
Claims 11, 12, 13, and 14, include language similar to that of Claims 1, 1, 2, and 3, respectively, and are rejected for reasons at least similar to those discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Behin in view of Tachibana et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2011/01288104 A1, hereinafter "Tachibana").
Behin discloses substantially all of the limitations of the present invention but does not disclose the claimed substrates. However, Tachibana discloses a first substrate (200; FIG. 16) on which the MEMS switch is formed and a second substrate (310; FIG. 16) attached to a top of the MEMS switch (FIG. 16), wherein the first substrate (200) and the second substrate (310) each comprise Silicon-On-Insulator (SOI), Silicon-on-Sapphire (SOS), Germanium-on-Silicon, Lithium Tantalate, Zinc Oxide, or photo definable glass (¶¶ [0070], [0111], [0125]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tachibana with those of Behin to provide a secure electrical connection upon actuation.
Claim 19 includes language similar to that of Claim 8 and is rejected for reasons at least similar to those discussed above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7, 9-10, 15-18, and 20, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY R JIMENEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831