DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
FIG. 5 and FIG. 6 are objected to because the lines of the drawings are not sufficiently sharp and clear to distinguish the various parts of the device. 37 C.F.R. 1.84(l). Reference characters must be plain and legible. 37 C.F.R. 1.84(p)(1). Numbers, letters, and reference characters must measure at least .32 cm. (1/8 inch) in height. 37 C.F.R. 1.84(p)(3).
Claim Objections
Regarding each of Claims 8 and 19, the 3rd to the last line, it appears that the term “wherein” should be changed to “wherein the.”
Regarding Claim 9, the 3rd to the last line, it appears that the term “is” should be changed to “is a.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION. - The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Specifically, Claim 10 is rejected since it is not clear what is meant by the language “user-definable angle.” It is not clear how the angle is defined by a user.
Claim 11 is rejected since it is not clear what is meant by the language “amplification flexible” recited in each of lines 4 and 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reed et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2002/0136485 A1, hereinafter “Reed”).
Specifically, regarding Claim 1, Reed discloses a micro-electromechanical systems (MEMS) switch, comprising: at least one comb drive (100; FIG. 1A) having a first input (105; FIG. 1A) and a second input (110; FIG. 1A), at least one conductive beam (115; FIG. 1A) connected across the at least one comb drive (100), a first contact (via a “communication system”; ¶ [0002]), and a second contact (e.g., a communication system voltage bias may be applied between shuttle 105 and stator 110”; ¶ [0002]), wherein no voltage difference between the first input (105) and the second input (110) does not result in any movement of the MEMS switch (¶ [0011]), and wherein a voltage difference between the first input (105) and the second input (110) causes an electrostatic force to be generated that causes the at least one conductive beam (115) to move in a direction orthogonal to a direction of the electrostatic force (¶ [0011]).
Regarding Claim 2, Reed discloses that the at least one comb drive (100) comprises a stationary first electrically conductive comb (110) having at least one comb finger (140A, 140B, 140C; FIG. 1A) and a movable second electrically conductive comb (115) having at least one comb finger (140A, 140B, 140C), wherein the at least one conductive beam (115; FIG. 1A) comprises one conductive beam (105) connected between the stationary first electrically conductive comb (110) and the movable second electrically conductive comb (115; FIG. 1A), wherein the second contact is fixedly connected to the stationary first electrically conductive comb (110), wherein the first contact is not in contact with the one conductive beam (105) when there is no voltage difference between the first input (105) and the second input (110; ¶ [0011]), and wherein the first input (105) is connected to the stationary first electrically conductive comb (110; in an actuated state) and the second input (110) is connected to the movable second electrically conductive comb (115; in an actuated state) such that the voltage difference between the first input (105) and the second input (110) causes, by the generated electromagnetic force, the movable second electrically conductive comb (115) to be physically drawn inward toward the stationary first electrically conductive comb (110) and causes the one conductive beam (105) to contact the first contact (¶ [0011]).
Regarding Claim 3, Reed discloses that the at least one comb drive (100) comprises a stationary first electrically conductive comb (110) having at least one comb finger (140A, 140B, 140C; FIG. 1A) and a movable second electrically conductive comb (115) having at least one comb finger (140A, 140B, 140C), wherein the at least one conductive beam (115) comprises one conductive beam (105) connected between a first end and a second end of the movable second electrically conductive comb (115; FIG. 1A), wherein the second contact is fixedly connected to the stationary first electrically conductive comb (110; e.g., when the communication system voltage bias is applied, as discussed at ¶ [0002]), wherein the first contact is in contact with the one conductive beam (105) when there is no voltage difference between the first input (105) and the second input (110, e.g., when the communication system voltage bias is applied, as discussed at ¶ [0002]), and wherein the first input (105) is connected to the stationary first electrically conductive comb (110) and the second input (110) is connected to the movable second electrically conductive comb (115) such that the voltage difference between the first input (105) and the second input (110) causes, by the generated electromagnetic force, the movable second electrically conductive comb (115) to be physically drawn outward toward the stationary first electrically conductive comb (110) and causes the one conductive beam (105) to disconnect from the first contact (¶ [0011]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, and 7, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reed.
Reed discloses substantially all of the limitations of the present invention and further discloses a first at least one stationary conductor (140A; FIG. 1A) abutting the movable second electrically conductive comb (115) and a second at least one stationary conductor (140B; FIG. 1A) to restrict movement of the at least one conductive beam (115) in one axis (FIG. 1A), as recited in Claim 7, but does not disclose the claimed second comb drive, third electrically conductive comb, and third input. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize such limitations to establish multiple electrical connections since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reed in view of Tachibana et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2011/01288104 A1, hereinafter “Tachibana”).
Reed discloses substantially all of the limitations of the present invention and further discloses that each of the first conductive beam (115) and the second conductive beam (115) has a shape (FIG. 1A), in an area that contacts the first contact and the second contact, respectively, comprising a flat surface (FIG. 1A), and wherein the each of the first contact and the second contact has a shape, in an area that contacts the first conductive beam (115) and the second conductive beam (115), respectively, comprising a flat surface, as recited in Claim 5, but does not disclose the claimed surfaces.
However, Tachibana discloses (i) a first conductive beam (a 1st one of 56; FIG. 9) and a second conductive beam (a 2nd one of 56; FIG. 9) has a shape comprising at least one raised and rounded surface (an end portion of 56), and at least one raised and pointed surface (56c), as recited in Claim 6, and (ii) a first substrate (200; FIG. 16) on which the MEMS switch is formed and a second substrate (310; FIG. 16) attached to a top of the MEMS switch (FIG. 16), wherein the first substrate (200) and the second substrate (310) each comprise Silicon-On-Insulator (SOI), Silicon-on-Sapphire (SOS), Germanium-on-Silicon, Lithium Tantalate, Zinc Oxide, or photo definable glass (¶¶ [0070], [0111], [0125]), as recited in Claim 8. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tachibana with those of Reed to provide a secure electrical connections upon actuation.
The combination of Reed and Tachibana discloses substantially all of the limitations of the present invention but does not disclose the claimed contacts comprising a plurality of recessed and rounded surfaces. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize such surfaces to provide mutually corresponding conductive contacts for the beams and establish a secure electrical connection.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reed.
Reed discloses substantially all of the limitations of the present invention but does not disclose the claimed force. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize such a force determination to ensure accurate switching timing since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617, F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
/ANTHONY R JIMENEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831