DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3,4,8,9,13,18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al.(Self-adaptive diversity reception of ultra-low-power signal for FSO communication system. Authors: Te Chen, Ao Fang, Xiaozhou Yang, and Weiwei HuAuthors Info & Affiliations Publication: Electronics Letters
Volume 48, Issue 7 @ 03/29/2012: Submitted as an IDS) in view of Mokhtari et al.(US 2004/0166817).
Considering Claim 1 Chen discloses an apparatus, comprising: a processing system including a processor(See fig. 1 i.e. a processing system including a processor(a control center)); and the processing system, facilitate performance of operations, comprising: receiving, via one or more spatially distinct receivers, a plurality of transmitted optical signals associated with a spatially-diverse optical communication link(See Page 1 Col. 1 Paragraph 4, fig. 1 i.e. receiving, via one or more spatially distinct receivers(multiple coupling lenses), a plurality of transmitted optical signals associated with a spatially-diverse optical communication link(self-adaptive diversity reception system)), wherein the plurality of transmitted optical signals are generated based on a system configured for generating a first optical signal, generating a first electrical signal from input data, modulating the first optical signal according to the first electrical signal to produce a second optical signal, directing the second optical signal to one or more spatially distinct transmitters coupled to a plurality of turbulent channels to produce the plurality of transmitted optical signals(See Page 1 Col. 1 Paragraph 4, fig. 1 i.e. a respective phase modulator for modulating the first optical signal according to the first electrical signal(received via the control center) to produce a second optical signal, directing the second optical signal to one or more spatially distinct transmitters coupled to a plurality of turbulent channels to produce the plurality of transmitted optical signals); forming a third optical signal based on a combination of the plurality of transmitted optical signals(See Page 1 Col. 1 Paragraph 4, fig. 1 i.e. a coupler for forming a third optical signal based on a combination of the plurality of transmitted optical signals); converting the third optical signal to a second electrical signal(See Page 1 Col. 1 Paragraph 4, fig. 1 i.e. a photodiode(PD) for converting the third optical signal(output of the coupler) to a second electrical signal); processing the second electrical signal to produce output data, the output data associated with the input data(See Page 1 Col. 1 Paragraph 4, fig. 1 i.e. the control center for processing the second electrical signal to produce output data, the output data associated with the input data); extracting one or more parameters from the second electrical signal(See Page 1 Col. 1 Paragraph 4, fig. 1 i.e. the control center for extracting one or more parameters(power information) from the second electrical signal); and controlling, based on the one or more parameters, the forming of the third optical signal, the converting of the third optical signal, the processing of the second electrical signal, the extracting of the one or more parameters, or any combinations thereof(See Col. 1 Page 1 Paragraph 4, fig. 1 i.e. the control center for controlling, based on the one or more parameters, the forming of the third optical signal, the converting of the third optical signal, the processing of the second electrical signal, the extracting of the one or more parameters, or any combinations thereof).
Chen does not explicitly disclose a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations; the input data is a multi-gigabit digital input data; and the output data is a multi-gigabit digital output data.
Mokhtari teaches a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations(See Paragraph 81, fig. 11 i.e. a memory(638) that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system which is DSP(550), facilitate performance of operations); the input data is a multi-gigabit digital input data(See Abstract, Paragraph 95,98, fig. 19 i.e. the input data(112) is a multi-gigabit digital input data(digital input burst data)(112)); and the output data is a multi-gigabit digital output data(114) (See Paragraph 99, fig. 19 i.e. the output data is a multi-gigabit digital output data(114)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Chen, and have a memory to store executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations; the input data to be a multi-gigabit digital input data; and the output data to be a multi-gigabit digital output data, as taught by Mokhtari, thus providing an efficient transmission system by optimizing data transmission rate, minimzing power consumption using a digital communication system, as discussed by Mokhtari (Paragraph 20).
Considering Claim 3 Chen and Mokhtari disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first electrical signal or the second electrical signal is digital, analog, or a combination thereof(See Chen: Col. 1 Page 1 Paragraph 4, fig. 1 i.e. the first electrical signal or the second electrical signal output from the photodiode(PD) is digital, analog, or a combination thereof).
Considering Claim 4 Chen and Mokhtari disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first optical signal is generated with one or more lasers, a laser with electro-optic modulation, a laser coupled to a nonlinear medium, a mode locked laser, or combinations thereof(See Mokhtari: Paragraph 98, fig. 19 i.e. wherein the first optical signal is generated with one or more lasers(1125), a laser with electro-optic modulation, a laser coupled to a nonlinear medium, a mode locked laser, or combinations thereof).
Considering Claim 8 Chen and Mokhtari disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of turbulent channels correspond to a ground to ground optical link, a ground to air link, a ground to space link, an air to air link, an air to space link, a space to space link, an underwater link, a link through bulk liquids or solids, or any combinations thereof(See Chen: fig. 1 i.e. wherein the plurality of turbulent channels(incident wavefront) correspond to a ground to ground optical link, a ground to air link, a ground to space link, an air to air link, an air to space link, a space to space link, an underwater link, a link through bulk liquids or solids, or any combinations thereof).
Considering Claim 9 Chen and Mokhtari disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more spatially distinct transmitters correspond to one or more transmitter apertures, wherein the one or more transmitter apertures have one or more distinct spatial modes (See Chen: Page 1 Col. 1 Paragraph 4 i.e. the one or more spatially distinct transmitters(N-unit array waveguide) correspond to one or more transmitter apertures(N apertures), wherein the one or more transmitter apertures(N apertures) have one or more distinct spatial modes).
Considering Claim 13 Chen and Mokhtari disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first optical signal, the second optical signal, or both are composed of multiple wavelengths to introduce wavelength diversity, and wherein the one or more spatially distinct transmitters and the one or more spatially distinct receivers are wavelength-diverse(See Mokhtari: Paragraph 104-16, fig. 21 i.e. the first optical signal, the second optical signal, or both are composed of multiple wavelengths to introduce wavelength diversity via a wavelength demultiplexer(1322), and wherein the one or more spatially distinct transmitters(output fibers of the wavelength) and the one or more spatially distinct receivers(1324,1147) are wavelength-diverse).
Considering Claim 18 Chen and Mokhtari disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the directing the second optical signal is performed in a similar manner to the forming of the third optical signal, and wherein the one or more parameters is utilized for controlling the directing of the second optical signal or the forming of the third optical signal or combinations thereof(See Chen: fig. 1 i.e. the directing the second optical signal(optical signal output from the respective phase modulator) is performed in a similar manner to the forming of the third optical signal(optical signal output of the coupler), and wherein the one or more parameters is utilized for controlling the directing of the second optical signal or the forming of the third optical signal or combinations thereof(using the control feedback signal from the control center)).
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reason as in claim 1.
Claim 20 is rejected for the same reason as in claim 1.
Claims 2,17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Chen et al.(Self-adaptive diversity reception of ultra-low-power signal for FSO communication system. Authors: Te Chen, Ao Fang, Xiaozhou Yang, and Weiwei HuAuthors Info & Affiliations Publication: Electronics Letters
Volume 48, Issue 7 @ 03/29/2012: Submitted as an IDS) in view of Mokhtari et al.(US 2004/0166817) further in view of Moro et al.(US 11,546,062).
Considering Claim 2 Chen and Mokhtari disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first optical signal, the second optical signal, the third optical signal, the first electrical signal, the second electrical signal or combinations thereof are composed of one or more carriers(See Chen: Page 1 Col. 1 Paragraph 1, Col. 2 last paragraph, fig. 1 i.e. wherein the first optical signal(outputs of the coupling lenses), the second optical signal(outputs of the phase modulators), the third optical signal(outputs of the coupler), the first electrical signal(outputs of the photodetector), the second electrical signal(outputs of the control center) or combinations thereof are composed of one or more carriers(fibers and free space)), wherein the modulating on each of the one or more carriers is similar or identical to a remainder of the one or more carriers, and wherein the modulating occurs in an optical modem(See Chen: fig. 1 i.e. wherein the modulating using phase modulators on each of the one or more carriers(fibers) is similar or identical to a remainder of the one or more carriers).
Chen and Mokhtari do not explicitly disclose wherein the modulating occurs in an optical modem.
Moro teaches wherein the modulating occurs in an optical modem(See Col. 3 lines 43-48, fig. 2 i.e. wherein the modulating occurs in an optical modem(216)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Chen and Mokhtari, and have the modulating to occur in an optical modem, as taught by Moro, thus improving transmission system by minimizing interference using optical modem.
Considering Claim 17 Chen and Mokhtari disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the spatially-diverse optical communication link is a bidirectional link.
Moro teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the spatially-diverse optical communication link is a bidirectional link(See Col. 3 lines 8-17, fig. 2 i.e. wherein the spatially-diverse optical communication link is a bidirectional link(201,222)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Chen and Mokhtari, and have the spatially-diverse optical communication link to be a bidirectional link, as taught by Jung, thus providing an efficient transmission system by optimizing transmission capacity using a bidirectional link.
Claims 10,15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Chen et al.(Self-adaptive diversity reception of ultra-low-power signal for FSO communication system. Authors: Te Chen, Ao Fang, Xiaozhou Yang, and Weiwei HuAuthors Info & Affiliations Publication: Electronics Letters Volume 48, Issue 7 @ 03/29/2012: Submitted as an IDS) in view of Mokhtari et al.(US 2004/0166817) further in view of Pepper et al.(US 8,229,304).
Considering Claim 10 Chen and Mokhtari do not explicitly disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more spatially distinct receivers correspond to one or more receiver apertures placed within or outside of a coherence length corresponding to the plurality of turbulent channels, wherein the one or more receiver apertures direct one or more distinct spatial modes into one or more waveguides.
Pepper teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more spatially distinct receivers correspond to one or more receiver apertures placed within or outside of a coherence length corresponding to the plurality of turbulent channels, wherein the one or more receiver apertures direct one or more distinct spatial modes into one or more waveguides(See fig. 4 i.e. the one or more spatially distinct receivers(PD1…PD4) correspond to one or more receiver apertures(108) placed within or outside of a coherence length corresponding to the plurality of turbulent channels(120), wherein the one or more receiver apertures(108) direct one or more distinct spatial modes into one or more waveguides(141)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Chen and Mokhtari, and have the one or more spatially distinct receivers correspond to one or more receiver apertures to be placed within or outside of a coherence length corresponding to the plurality of turbulent channels, wherein the one or more receiver apertures to direct one or more distinct spatial modes into one or more waveguides, as taught by Pepper, thus improving transmission signal quality by minimizing noise and increasing signal to noise ratio by focusing the received signal using apertures.
Considering Claim 15 Chen and Mokhtari do not explicitly disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the converting to the second electrical signal comprises mixing the third optical signal with a fourth optical signal according to coherent detection.
Pepper teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the converting to the second electrical signal comprises mixing the third optical signal with a fourth optical signal according to coherent detection(See Col. 10 lines 22-31, fig. 4 i.e. the converting to the second electrical signal(142) comprises mixing the third optical signal(output of the first coupler(143) with a fourth optical signal(output of a second optical coupler) according to coherent detection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Chen and Mokhtari, and have the converting to the second electrical signal to comprise mixing the third optical signal with a fourth optical signal according to coherent detection, as taught by Pepper, thus improving transmission signal quality by optimizing gain, and improving short-noise limited sensitivity using coherent detection, as discussed by Pepper(Col. 1 lines 19-27).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Chen et al.(Self-adaptive diversity reception of ultra-low-power signal for FSO communication system. Authors: Te Chen, Ao Fang, Xiaozhou Yang, and Weiwei HuAuthors Info & Affiliations Publication: Electronics Letters Volume 48, Issue 7 @ 03/29/2012: Submitted as an IDS) in view of Mokhtari et al.(US 2004/0166817) further in view of Robinson (US 2018/0269648).
Considering Claim 12 Chen and Mokhtari disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first optical signal, the second optical signal, the third optical signal, the first electrical signal, the second electrical signal or combinations thereof are time-delayed.
Robinson teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first optical signal, the second optical signal, the third optical signal, the first electrical signal, the second electrical signal or combinations thereof are time-delayed(See Paragraph 51, fig. 8 i.e. the first optical signal, the second optical signal, the third optical signal, the first electrical signal, the second electrical signal or combinations thereof are time-delayed(TD)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Chen and Mokhtari, and have the first optical signal, the second optical signal, the third optical signal, the first electrical signal, the second electrical signal or combinations thereof to be time-delayed, as taught by Robinson, thus providing an efficient transmission system by improving signal integrity, controlling congestion by controlling data transmission using time delay.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Chen et al.(Self-adaptive diversity reception of ultra-low-power signal for FSO communication system. Authors: Te Chen, Ao Fang, Xiaozhou Yang, and Weiwei HuAuthors Info & Affiliations Publication: Electronics Letters Volume 48, Issue 7 @ 03/29/2012: Submitted as an IDS) in view of Mokhtari et al.(US 2004/0166817) further in view of Jung et al.(US 2002/0048063).
Considering Claim 16 Chen and Mokhtari disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controlling is performed by a processor(See Chen: fig. 1 i.e. wherein the controlling is performed by a processor(Control Center) ).
Chen and Mokhtari do not explicitly disclose the converting, the processing, the extracting, the controlling, or any combinations thereof is performed according to dithering, pilot signals, pilot frequency tones, pilot symbols, frequency shifts, or combinations thereof.
Jung teaches wherein the receiving, the forming, the converting, the processing, the extracting, the controlling, or any combinations thereof is performed according to dithering, pilot signals, pilot frequency tones, pilot symbols, frequency shifts, or combinations thereof(See Paragraph 54,55,59, fig. 1 i.e. wherein the receiving, the forming, the converting, the processing, the extracting, the controlling, or any combinations thereof is performed according to dithering, pilot signals(pilot tones(W1….Wn)), pilot frequency tones, pilot symbols, frequency shifts, or combinations thereof).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Chen and Mokhtari, and have the receiving, the forming, the converting, the processing, the extracting, the controlling, or any combinations thereof to be performed according to dithering, pilot signals, pilot frequency tones, pilot symbols, frequency shifts, or combinations thereof, as taught by Jung, thus improving transmission system by suppressing deterioration and by implementing performance monitoring using pilot tones, as discussed by Jung(Paragraph 59).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7,11,14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HIBRET A WOLDEKIDAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635