DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pylkovas (US 2015/0208790) in view of Crandall et al. (US 2012/0037674, hereinafter ‘Crandall’) and Freeman et al. (US 2020/0305805, hereinafter ‘Freeman’).
Pylkovas discloses a pouch and strap bag device comprising: a storage bag device having a storage bag body defining an internal storage pouch (10) capable of storing a cell phone and other small personal items; wherein said storage bag body having a height and a width; wherein said height is greater than said width (Fig. 1, 5); an adjustable crossbody shoulder strap (16) having a pair of hooks for attaching to said storage bag body (11s); wherein said crossbody shoulder strap looped around an opposing shoulder relative to the placement of said storage bag device proximal to a hip of a user when said storage bag device is in use (functional/intended use); wherein said storage bag body having a pair of planar walls connected along a perimeter for forming said storage pouch therebetween (26, 27); wherein said storage bag body having a selectively fastened top opening (20, Fig. 3) and a pair of selectively fastened side openings (22s); wherein said crossbody shoulder strap having an adjustable strap loop including a pair of loop partitions to slide along a length of said crossbody shoulder strap for adjusting said length of said crossbody shoulder strap (unnumbered, above 16 in Fig. 5); except does not expressly disclose the shoulder pad, or removable wireless charger as claimed.
However, Crandall teachers providing a shoulder strap with a shoulder pad (124) as claimed.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the shoulder strap pad taught by Crandall to the shoulder strap taught by Pylkovas as modified above, in order to absorb shock as taught by Crandall (para 0022).
Further, Freeman teaches providing a carrying bag internal storage compartment having an integrated wireless charger pocket disposed therein; and further wherein said integrated wireless charger pocket selectively removable from said storage bag body (para 0070) as claimed.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the removable wireless charging system taught by Freeman to the storage compartment taught by Pylkovas as modified above, in order to charge an electronic device contained therein as taught by Freeman (para 0070).
Pylkovas as modified above further results in a device wherein said crossbody shoulder strap extends across the body of the user to support said storage bag device and to support said storage bag body proximal to the hip of the user (functional/intended use limitation).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pylkovas (US 2015/0208790) in view of Crandall et al. (US 2012/0037674, hereinafter ‘Crandall’) and Freeman et al. (US 2020/0305805, hereinafter ‘Freeman’) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Cyr (US 6206567).
Pylkovas as modified above discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above and further including said pair of side openings having zippers (Pylkovas 22s) for selective opening and closing except does not expressly disclose the top opening having a zipper as claimed rather disclosing a flap,
However, Cyr teaches a similar bag wherein the top flap has zippers (36) in order to allow access as claimed.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the zippers taught by Cyr to the closure flap taught by Pylkovas as modified above, in order to facilitate rapid access to the storage compartment as taught by Cyr (col. 3, ll. 25-30).
Claim(s) 4-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pylkovas (US 2015/0208790) in view of Crandall et al. (US 2012/0037674, hereinafter ‘Crandall’), Freeman et al. (US 2020/0305805, hereinafter ‘Freeman’), and Cyr (US 6206567) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Lecocke et al. (US 11350718, hereinafter ‘Lecocke’).
Pylkovas as modified above discloses all limitations of the claims including the bag having an auxiliary pocket (23) except does not expressly disclose the beacon as claimed.
However, Lecocke teaches providing a carrying bag with a beacon (1330) as claimed.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the beacon taught by Lecocke to the carrying bag taught by Pylkovas as modified above, in order to allow tracking as taught by Lecocke (col. 6, ll. 44-61).
Pylkovas as modified above results in a device wherein said beacon detects and alerts when the cell phone is beyond a predetermined distance away from said storage bag device (via Bluetooth disconnection); said storage bag body having a material selected from a group consisting of a nylon, a cotton, a canvas, a denim, a leather, an artificial leather, and a plastic (Pylkovas para 0045); said shoulder pad having a material selected from a group consisting of a neoprene cushion, a memory foam rubber cushion, and a silicone cushion (Crandall para 0022, EVA foam has high resilience (memory)); said beacon and the cell phone are paired using a low energy Bluetooth channel (Lecocke col. 6, ll. 44-61).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PETER N HELVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734
May 12, 2025