DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on December 15, 2025 in response to the previous Office Action (09/15/2025) is acknowledged and has been entered.
Claims 1, 3 – 8, 10 – 15 and 17 – 20 are currently pending.
Claims 2, 9 and 16 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 15, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits that Jang does not disclose all the limitations of amended claim 1, 8 and 15. Specifically, Applicant argues that Jang fails to disclose that (1) “the first interface component dynamically presents at least two frames of preview images during a first time period”; (2) “target scenario information which represents a target content category of media data, let alone determining target media data according to the target scenario information, and generating the at least two frames of preview images based on the target media data”; and Jiang fails to disclose (3) “presenting a target visual effect added to the preview images” (see Remarks, pp. 10-11).
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding argument (1), Jang teaches displaying a predetermined number of thumbnail images (¶286) and then providing an animation for the thumbnails (¶289). Without specificity regarding the dynamic presentation, Jang reads on the claim as currently written.
Regarding argument (2), Jang teaches that a user selects a specific folder (corresponding to acquiring target scenario information representing a target content category), and the thumbnails displayed are based on that folder selection (¶248). The folder represents the target content that the user desires. This reads on the claim as currently written, since there is not specificity regarding the content category.
Regarding argument (3), Jiang teaches displaying associated elements of a preset virtual scene page in a preview page, the elements can be special effects, animation, etc. Then the image is taken with the special effects (¶47-48, 69).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 7, 8, 11, 13, 14, 15, 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anvaripour et al. (US 2022/0206738).
Regarding claim 8, Anvaripour discloses an image preview apparatus, comprising: a processor (1104), and a memory (1106) communicatively connected to the processor (fig. 11; ¶167); the memory stores instructions executable by the processor (¶168), and the instructions are executed by the processor, so that the processor is configured to: in response to a camera starting instruction, launch a camera preview page (¶107:selecting preview button and launching preview user interface), wherein the camera preview page comprises a first interface component therein, and the first interface component provides an interactive entrance to a media database (local memory) (¶110: preserving and re-presenting the video clips and/or edits with respect to user switching between other interfaces and/or application); and present a corresponding preview image based on the first interface component (¶110: preserving and re-presenting the video clips and/or edits with respect to user switching between other interfaces and/or application); wherein the first interface component presents at least two frames of preview images during a first time period, and the preview images are generated based on media data in the media database (fig. 5, 7; ¶100-102, 126: the preview user interface 702 includes an add video button 710 for adding video clips to the captured video clips (e.g., which are viewable via the video preview 708); before the presenting the corresponding preview image based on the first interface component, the processor is further configured to: acquire target scenario information, wherein the target scenario information represents a target content category of the media data (¶112, 125-126: the preview user interface 504 provides for a media content item to be generated based on the multiple video clips by combining the multiple video clips, together with modifications or annotations, to generate the media content item based on the combined video clips); and generate the at least two frames of preview images based on the target media data (¶125-126: combined video clips looped); wherein the camera preview page further comprises a second interface component (526/704) configured to present a target visual special effect added to the preview images (¶111, 124); the processor is further configured to: generate special-effect images corresponding to the preview images based on the target visual special effect presented by the second interface component (¶124-126: user-selectable icons (e.g., buttons) for modifying/annotating (e.g., drawing on, adding text to, adding stickers to, cropping, and the like) the captured video clips. The user-selectable icons may include an option for selecting between looping, bouncing (e.g., switching between forward and reverse playback) and/or single playback with respect to the resulting media content item).
Regarding claim 11, Anvaripour disclose the limitations of claim 8. Anvaripour also teaches wherein the target media data comprises a target video stored in the media database, and the processor, when generating the at least two frames of preview images based on the target media data, is further configured to: acquire at least two key frames of the target video; and generate, based on the key frames, corresponding preview images (¶19: media content item can be generated by combining one or more of the multiple video clips (e.g., with respective edits per clip) together).
Regarding claim 13, Anvaripour in view of Jiang disclose the limitations of claim 8. Anvaripour also teaches the processor is further configured to: obtain, based on target scenario information, the target visual special effect, wherein the target scenario information represents a target content category of the media data; and display the target visual special effect on the second interface component (¶111, 124-126).
Regarding claim 14, Anvaripour disclose the limitations of claim 8. Jang also teaches the processor is further configured to: generate output media data in response to a second trigger operation for the first interface component, wherein the second trigger operation indicates a target preview image in the first interface component, and the output media data is generated based on the target preview image or target media data corresponding to the target preview image; and display the output media data on a front page of the camera preview page (¶124-126: user-selectable icons (e.g., buttons) for modifying/annotating (e.g., drawing on, adding text to, adding stickers to, cropping, and the like) the captured video clips. The user-selectable icons may include an option for selecting between looping, bouncing (e.g., switching between forward and reverse playback) and/or single playback with respect to the resulting media content item).
Claims 1, 4, 6, 7, 15, 18, 20 rejected as applied to claims 8, 11, 13, 14 above. The method steps as claimed would have been implied by the apparatus of Anvaripour.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5 – 8, 10, 12, 13, 14, 17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. in view of Chinese Patent Publication CN 114385299A (hereinafter Jiang).
Regarding claim 8, Jang discloses an image preview apparatus, comprising: a processor (controller 180), and a memory (170) communicatively connected to the processor; the memory stores instructions executable by the processor, and the instructions are executed by the processor, so that the processor is configured to: in response to a camera starting instruction, launch a camera preview page, wherein the camera preview page comprises a first interface component therein, and the first interface component provides an interactive entrance to a media database (figs. 9-10; ¶293: controller 180 may display a preview image acquired through the camera on a first area within an execution screen of the camera application, and may control the display unit 151 to display a plurality of preview images corresponding to a plurality of images stored in the memory on the second area within the execution screen); and present a corresponding preview image based on the first interface component (fig. 9; ¶293); wherein the first interface component presents at least two frames of preview images during a first time period, and the preview images are generated based on media data in the media database (fig. 9; ¶289, 294: adjusts the thumbnails); before the presenting the corresponding preview image based on the first interface component, the processor is further configured to: acquire target scenario information, wherein the target scenario information represents a target content category of the media data; determine target media data according to the target scenario information; and generate the at least two frames of preview images based on the target media data (¶248: selected folder). Jang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the camera preview page further comprises a second interface component configured to present a target visual special effect added to the preview images; the processor is further configured to: generate special-effect images corresponding to the preview images based on the target visual special effect presented by the second interface component.
In a similar field of endeavor, Jiang teaches a mobile device wherein may include a specific virtual scene page in the presence of special effect, animation image, prop or identification and so on. further comprising preset virtual scene page associated with the preset theme related elements, such as Spring Festival theme related elements can include spring festival couplets, firecracker and zodiac, related elements of the story theme can include chocolate and rose and so on (fig. 4; ¶48). In light of the teaching of Jiang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Jiang’s teaching in Jang’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would result in enhanced the interest of page display and human-computer interaction and improve the page browsing experience.
Regarding claim 10, Jang et al. in view of Jiang disclose the limitations of claim 8. Jiang also teaches before the launching the camera preview page, the processor is further configured to: acquire page information corresponding to a front page, wherein the page information represents a page theme corresponding to the front page, the front page comprises a third interface component therein, and the third interface component is configured to generate user self-made media corresponding to the page theme; and generate the camera starting instruction in response to a first trigger operation for the third interface component, wherein the camera starting instruction comprises therein the page information; and when acquiring the target scenario information, the processor is further configured to: generate the target scenario information according to the page information in the camera starting instruction (fig. 4; ¶57: preset virtual scene page corresponds to the Spring Festival theme and a door-shaped virtual
viewfinder 402 is fixedly displayed in the target page 401).
Regarding claim 12, Jang et al. in view of Jiang disclose the limitations of claim 8. Jiang also teaches the processor, when presenting the at least two frames of preview images during the first time period based on the first interface component, is further configured to: present, based on the first interface component, the special-effect images respectively corresponding to the at least two frames of preview images in the first time period (¶4; ¶48: a specific virtual scene page in the presence of special effect, animation image, prop or identification and so on. further comprising preset virtual scene page associated with the preset theme related elements, such as Spring Festival theme related elements can include spring festival couplets, firecracker and zodiac, related elements of the story theme can include chocolate and rose and so on).
Regarding claim 13, Jang et al. in view of Jiang disclose the limitations of claim 8. Jiang also teaches the processor is further configured to: obtain, based on target scenario information, the target visual special effect, wherein the target scenario information represents a target content category of the media data; and display the target visual special effect on the second interface component (fig. 4; ¶48, 57).
Regarding claim 14, Jang et al. in view of Jiang disclose the limitations of claim 8. Jang also teaches the processor is further configured to: generate output media data in response to a second trigger operation for the first interface component, wherein the second trigger operation indicates a target preview image in the first interface component, and the output media data is generated based on the target preview image or target media data corresponding to the target preview image; and display the output media data on a front page of the camera preview page (fig. 9, 11).
Claims 1, 3, 5 – 7 rejected as applied to claims 8, 10, 12, 13 and 14 above. The method steps as claimed would have been implied by the apparatus of Jang et al. in view of Jiang.
Claims 15, 17, 19, 20 rejected as applied to claims 8, 10, 12, 13 above. The method steps as claimed would have been implied by the apparatus of Jang et al. in view of Jiang.
Claim(s) 4, 11, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. in view of Jiang in view of Son et al. (US 2018/0232128).
Regarding claim 11, Jang et al. disclose the limitations of claim 8. Jang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the target media data comprises a target video stored in the media database, and the processor, when generating the at least two frames of preview images based on the target media data, is further configured to: acquire at least two key frames of the target video; and generate, based on the key frames, corresponding preview images.
In a similar field of endeavor, Son teaches an image reproduction apparatus wherein multiple thumbnails are generated from a video image and displayed (fig. 7; ¶74-76). In light of the teaching of Jiang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Jiang’s teaching in Jang’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would result in enhanced the interest of page display and human-computer interaction and improve the page browsing experience.
Claims 4 is rejected as applied to claims 11 above. The method steps as claimed would have been implied by the apparatus of Jang et al. in view of Son et al.
Claims 18 rejected as applied to claims 11 above. The method steps as claimed would have been implied by the apparatus of Jang et al. in view of Son et al.
Claim(s) 3, 5, 10, 12, 17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anvaripour view of Chinese Patent Publication CN 114385299A (hereinafter Jiang).
Regarding claim 10, Anvaripour disclose the limitations of claim 8. Anvaripour fails to explicitly disclose before the launching the camera preview page, the processor is further configured to: acquire page information corresponding to a front page, wherein the page information represents a page theme corresponding to the front page, the front page comprises a third interface component therein, and the third interface component is configured to generate user self-made media corresponding to the page theme; and generate the camera starting instruction in response to a first trigger operation for the third interface component, wherein the camera starting instruction comprises therein the page information; and when acquiring the target scenario information, the processor is further configured to: generate the target scenario information according to the page information in the camera starting instruction.
In a similar field of endeavor, Jiang teaches a mobile device wherein a preset virtual scene page corresponds to the Spring Festival theme and a door-shaped virtual
viewfinder 402 is fixedly displayed in the target page 401 (fig. 4; ¶57). In light of the teaching of Jiang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Jiang’s teaching in Anvaripour’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would result in enhanced the interest of page display and human-computer interaction and improve the page browsing experience.
Regarding claim 12, Anvaripour disclose the limitations of claim 8. Anvaripour fails to explicitly disclose wherein the camera preview page further comprises a second interface component configured to present a target visual special effect added to the preview images; the processor is further configured to: generate special-effect images corresponding to the preview images based on the target visual special effect presented by the second interface component; and the processor, when presenting the at least two frames of preview images during the first time period based on the first interface component, is further configured to: present, based on the first interface component, the special-effect images respectively corresponding to the at least two frames of preview images in the first time period.
In a similar field of endeavor, Jiang teaches a mobile device wherein may include a specific virtual scene page in the presence of special effect, animation image, prop or identification and so on. further comprising preset virtual scene page associated with the preset theme related elements, such as Spring Festival theme related elements can include spring festival couplets, firecracker and zodiac, related elements of the story theme can include chocolate and rose and so on (fig. 4; ¶48). In light of the teaching of Jiang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Jiang’s teaching in Anvaripour’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would result in enhanced the interest of page display and human-computer interaction and improve the page browsing experience.
Claims 3, 5 is rejected as applied to claims 10, 12 above. The method steps as claimed would have been implied by the apparatus of Anvaripour in view of Jiang.
Claims 17, 19 rejected as applied to claims 10, 12 above. The method steps as claimed would have been implied by the apparatus of Anvaripour in view of Jiang.
Contact
/ANTOINETTE T SPINKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639