DETAILED ACTION
The present application is a domestic application filed 10 October 2023, which claims priority to US Provisional Application No. 63/414,955, filed 11 October 2022. Claims 1-17 are pending in the current application and are examined on the merits herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ohta et al. (US Patent No. 7,973,145, cited in IDS submitted 10 October 2023) as evidenced by Ruike et al. (Xenobiotica, 2019, vol. 49, no. 3, pp. 346-362, cited in PTO-892).
Ohta et al. disclose sulfoquinovosylacyl propanediol (SQAP) of formula (I) for treating tumors:
, wherein R1 is an acyl residue of a fatty acid with 1-26 carbon atoms, Y is a number of 1, 2 or 3, M represents a hydrogen ion or a metal ion having a positive charge (abstract; claim 1 and 3). Exemplified salt forms include calcium and sodium (claims 4-6). Ohta et al. teach SQAP functions as a radiosensitizer, an antineoplastic agent or antitumor agent (claims 8 and 9). As a radiosensitizer, it may be combined with other radiosensitizers, antitumor agent, or other substance having pharmacological activity (col. 20:1-9). The composition may be administered to treat a human, a dog or a cat (col.22:9-16). Cancers that can be treated include prostate cancer (i.e. a solid tumor), as well as melanoma and lymphoma (col.19:52-65). Ohta et al. exemplify where R1 is a stearoyl group (example 1). The compound is administered at a dose of 0.001 to 100 mg/kg body weight via oral administration, 0.001 to 50 mg/kg body weight via injection, from 0.001 to 100 mg/kg body weight via transdermal administration, 0.001 to 50 mg/kg body weight via rectal administration, or about 0.001 to 3 wt.% solution via ocular instillation (col.20:54-61). Ohta et al. disclose an example of administering 2 mg/kg of the drug (example V-1; and other examples). They were also administered radiation treatment at a dose of 2 Gy on Day 1 and Day 4. Radiation is given over a period of one week to 6 months (col.21:1-17). Ohta et al. compare the properties of AQAP with 2mg/kg mitomycin C, wherein the mitomycin C serves as a positive control group (example VII-2)
Thus, Ohta et al. disclose a method of treating cancer, comprising administering the compound of formula (I) in combination with radiation treatment, and wherein the compound can be administered with an additional radiosensitizer or antitumor agent.
As evidenced by Ruike et al., 2 mg of [glucose-U-14C]-SQAP resulted in 4400 (ng eq•h/g or mL), (Table 1). Taking the MW of the compound to be 567.319 (p.353, LC/MS (MS/MS) measurement of plasma and tumor), the 4400 (ng eq•h/g or mL) of compound found in the plasma is equivalent to about 7.826 µM. This was determined by converting 4400 ng/mL to g/mL, which is 4.4400x10-6 g/mL. This is then multiplied by 1000 to give 4.4400x10-3 g/L. This is then divided by the molar mass of the SQAP to give 7.8263x10-6 mol/L. This is then multiplied by 1x106 to give 7.826 µmol/L or 7.826 µM. Thus, a 2 mg dose results in a blood concentration of SPAQ of 7.826 µM, which is less than 60 µM as recited in claim 10, and more than 1 µM as recited in present claim 12.
Thus, the disclosure of Ohta et al. as evidenced by Ruike et al. anticipates claims 1-6 and 9-17 of the present application
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohta et al. (cited above) as evidenced by Ruike et al. (cited above) in view of Kawakubo et al. (Bioscience, Biotechnology, and Biochemistry, 2021, vol. 85, no. 1, pp. 85-91, cited in PTO-892) and further in view of Deb et al. (The Journal of Urology, 2011, vol. 186, pp. 2426-2433, cited in PTO-892).
Ohta et al. teach as discussed above.
Ohta et al. do not expressly disclose administering mitomycin C (present claims 7 and 8).
Kawakubo et al. teach
, which reads on the compound of formula (I), wherein R1 is a stearoyl group, herein after referred to as SQAP (p.86, fig. 1). They report SQAP is a radiosensitizing agent that makes tumor cells more sensitive to radiation therapy (abstract). They found SQAP induced the degradation of hypoxia-inducible factor-1α and then decreased the expression of histone deacetylase (HDAC1). Kawakubo et al. note HDAC inhibitors, such as sodium butyrate and trichostatin A (TSA), enhance the sensitivity of cancer cells to ionizing radiation (p.86, third para). HDAC inhibitors are useful in anticancer therapy because of their ability to inhibit angiogenesis, and HDACs have been shown to be upregulated in response to hypoxia (p.86, fourth para).
Deb et al. teach mitomycin C is a known DNA damaging agent, and valproic acid is a known histone deacetylate (HDAC) inhibitor (abstract). Deb et al. found the combination of mitomycin C with valproic acid appeared to synergistically treat human bladder cancer compared to each drug alone (abstract). The HDAC inhibitor potentiated the induction of cell death by mitomycin C in multiple bladder cancer cells (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer SQAP in combination with mitomycin C to treat cancer.
According to MPEP 2144.06: “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
Combining known therapies into a single therapy is a commonly applied method for identifying improved therapeutic outcomes with minimal adverse effect for the patient because each monotherapy is already known to be effective. Here, SPAQ functions as a radiosensitizing agent that can be used to treat a variety of cancers including in combination with radiation treatment, while mitomycin C was a known DNA damaging agent (see p.75 Cocco, Discussion). Thus, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the two drugs wherein they each produce different effects for the treatment of cancer. And, Ohta et al. teach SPAQ may be combined with additional radiosensitizing agents or antitumor agent.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to select mitomycin C because Deb et al. found its anticancer effects were potentiated when combined with an HDAC inhibitor. While SPAQ does not inhibit histone deacetylase, it does suppress expression of the enzyme, and increases acetylation of histone cells. Thus, SPAQ has a similar effect as an HDAC inhibitor. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to combine SPAQ with mitomycin C to treat cancer with a reasonable expectation of success in treating cancer.
Thus, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the combined teaching of the prior art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,440,505 in view of Kawakubo et al. (cited above) and further in view of Deb et al. (cited above).
The reference Patent is drawn towards administered the same SPAQ compound to treat cancer, including melanoma, adenocarcinoma, or squamous cell carcinoma at a dose of 0.5 mg/kg or more. Radiation is applied at a dose of 10 Gy or more after administering the SPAQ.
The reference Patent do not expressly disclose administering mitomycin C (present claims 7 and 8).
Kawabuko et al. and Deb et al. teach as discussed above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer SQAP in combination with mitomycin C to treat cancer.
According to MPEP 2144.06: “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
Combining known therapies into a single therapy is a commonly applied method for identifying improved therapeutic outcomes with minimal adverse effect for the patient because each monotherapy is already known to be effective. Here, SPAQ functions as a radiosensitizing agent that can be used to treat a variety of cancers including in combination with radiation treatment, while mitomycin C was a known DNA damaging agent (see p.75 Cocco, Discussion). Thus, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the two drugs wherein they each produce different effects for the treatment of cancer.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to select mitomycin C because Deb et al. found its anticancer effects were potentiated when combined with an HDAC inhibitor. While SPAQ does not inhibit histone deacetylase, it does suppress expression of the enzyme, and increases acetylation of histone cells. Thus, SPAQ has a similar effect as an HDAC inhibitor. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to combine SPAQ with mitomycin C to treat cancer with a reasonable expectation of success in treating cancer.
Thus, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the combined teaching of the prior art.
Conclusion
In view of the rejections to the pending claims set forth above, no claim is allowed.
/BAHAR CRAIGO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1699