DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Amendment and Remarks filed on 11 May 2026 in which claim 12 was canceled, and claim 1 was amended to change the scope and breadth of the claims.
Claims 1-11 and 13-17 are pending in the current application and are examined on the merits herein.
Withdrawn Rejections
Applicant’s amendment, filed 11 May 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-6 and 9-17 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1)/(a)(2), as being anticipated by Ohta et al. as evidenced by Ruike et al., has been fully considered and is persuasive.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite “wherein the compound represented by the General Formula (I) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof is administered at a dosage that results in a blood concentration of 30 µM or more”.
While Ohta et al. teach administering 20 mg/kg SQAP in Example VI, as well as an overall range of suitable doses, Ohta et al. do not expressly disclose administering SQAP in combination with an anti-cancer agent, wherein the SQAP is administered at a dosage that results in a blood concentration of 30 µM or more in the patient.
The rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends the data presented in the Specification show a particularly significant inhibitory effect was observed when the compound of General Formula (I) was administered at a dosage of 30 µM. Applicant argues this effect was found when the compound was administered together with doxorubicin.
The data presented in the Specification has been considered, but they do not appear to be commensurate in scope with the present claims. The examples are drawn towards combinations of SQAP (a compound that reads on General Formula (I)) with mitomycin C, doxorubicin, bleomycin, cisplatin, camptothecin, etoposide, taxol, and methyl methanesulfonate (MMS). However, Applicant’s examples drawn towards a combination of 30 µM SQAP, are limited to a combination with mitomycin C and doxorubicin. The present claims are drawn towards a combination of 30 µM SQAP and any anti-cancer agent.
See MPEP 716.02(d), “Whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the "objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support.".
It is also noted the data presented in Table 2 is unreadable (the front is light gray, too small and blurry).
The rejection is hereby maintained.
Modified Rejections
The following are new ground(s) or modified rejections necessitated by Applicant's amendment, filed on 11 May 2026, where the limitation in pending claim 1 as amended now have been changed. Therefore, rejections from the previous Office Action, dated 10 February 2026, have been modified and are listed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-11 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohta et al. (US Patent No. 7,973,145, cited in previous Office Action) in view of Kawakubo et al. (Bioscience, Biotechnology, and Biochemistry, 2021, vol. 85, no. 1, pp. 85-91, cited in previous Office Action) and further in view of Deb et al. (The Journal of Urology, 2011, vol. 186, pp. 2426-2433, cited in previous Office Action).
Ohta et al. disclose sulfoquinovosylacyl propanediol (SQAP) of formula (I) for treating tumors:
, wherein R1 is an acyl residue of a fatty acid with 1-26 carbon atoms, Y is a number of 1, 2 or 3, M represents a hydrogen ion or a metal ion having a positive charge (abstract; claim 1 and 3). Exemplified salt forms include calcium and sodium (claims 4-6). Ohta et al. teach SQAP functions as a radiosensitizer, an antineoplastic agent or antitumor agent (claims 8 and 9). As a radiosensitizer, it may be combined with other radiosensitizers, antitumor agent, or other substance having pharmacological activity (col. 20:1-9). The composition may be administered to treat a human, a dog or a cat (col.22:9-16). Cancers that can be treated include prostate cancer (i.e. a solid tumor), as well as melanoma and lymphoma (col.19:52-65). Ohta et al. exemplify where R1 is a stearoyl group (example 1). The compound is administered at a dose of 0.001 to 100 mg/kg body weight via oral administration, 0.001 to 50 mg/kg body weight via injection, from 0.001 to 100 mg/kg body weight via transdermal administration, 0.001 to 50 mg/kg body weight via rectal administration, or about 0.001 to 3 wt.% solution via ocular instillation (col.20:54-61). Ohta et al. disclose an example of administering 2 mg/kg of the drug (example V-1; and other examples). They were also administered radiation treatment at a dose of 2 Gy on Day 1 and Day 4. Radiation is given over a period of one week to 6 months (col.21:1-17). Ohta et al. compare the properties of AQAP with 2mg/kg mitomycin C, wherein the mitomycin C serves as a positive control group (example VII-2).
Ohta et al. do not expressly disclose “wherein the compound…is administered at a dosage that results in a blood concentration of 30 µM or more (present claim 1). Ohta et al. do not expressly disclose wherein the anti-cancer agent is a DNA damaging agent (present claim 7).
Kawakubo et al. teach
, which reads on the compound of formula (I), wherein R1 is a stearoyl group, herein after referred to as SQAP (p.86, fig. 1). They report SQAP is a radiosensitizing agent that makes tumor cells more sensitive to radiation therapy (abstract). They found SQAP induced the degradation of hypoxia-inducible factor-1α and then decreased the expression of histone deacetylase (HDAC1). Kawakubo et al. note HDAC inhibitors, such as sodium butyrate and trichostatin A (TSA), enhance the sensitivity of cancer cells to ionizing radiation (p.86, third para). HDAC inhibitors are useful in anticancer therapy because of their ability to inhibit angiogenesis, and HDACs have been shown to be upregulated in response to hypoxia (p.86, fourth para).
Deb et al. teach mitomycin C is a known DNA damaging agent, and valproic acid is a known histone deacetylate (HDAC) inhibitor (abstract). Deb et al. found the combination of mitomycin C with valproic acid appeared to synergistically treat human bladder cancer compared to each drug alone (abstract). The HDAC inhibitor potentiated the induction of cell death by mitomycin C in multiple bladder cancer cells (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer SQAP in doses ranging from 0.001 to 100 mg/kg body, including 20 mg/kg body weight, wherein the SQAP is administered in combination with an anti-cancer agent.
The skilled artisan would have been motivated to administer SQAP in doses ranging from 0.001 to 100 mg/kg body, including 20 mg/kg body weight, wherein the SQAP is administered in combination with an anti-cancer agent, because Ohta et al. expressly exemplify administering 20 mg/kg body weight of SQAP, and teach it can broadly be administered at a dose ranging from 0.001 to 100 mg/kg body weight. Furthermore, Ohta et al. teach it can be administered in combination with an antitumor agent, and radiation treatment.
Combining known therapies into a single therapy is a commonly applied method for identifying improved therapeutic outcomes with minimal adverse effect for the patient because each monotherapy is already known to be effective. Here, SPAQ functions as a radiosensitizing agent that can be used to treat a variety of cancers including in combination with radiation treatment, and a DNA damaging agent. Thus, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the two drugs wherein they each produce different effects for the treatment of cancer. And, Ohta et al. teach SPAQ may be combined with additional radiosensitizing agents or antitumor agent.
Thus, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the combined teaching of the prior art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 9-11 and 13-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,440,505 in view of Kawakubo et al. (cited above) and further in view of Deb et al. (cited above).
The reference Patent is drawn towards administered the same SPAQ compound to treat cancer, including melanoma, adenocarcinoma, or squamous cell carcinoma at a dose of 0.5 mg/kg or more. Radiation is applied at a dose of 10 Gy or more after administering the SPAQ.
The reference Patent do not expressly disclose administering a DNA damaging agent (present claim 7).
Kawabuko et al. and Deb et al. teach as discussed above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer SQAP in combination with mitomycin C to treat cancer.
According to MPEP 2144.06: “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
Combining known therapies into a single therapy is a commonly applied method for identifying improved therapeutic outcomes with minimal adverse effect for the patient because each monotherapy is already known to be effective. Here, SPAQ functions as a radiosensitizing agent that can be used to treat a variety of cancers including in combination with radiation treatment, and a DNA damaging agent. Thus, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the two drugs wherein they each produce different effects for the treatment of cancer.
Thus, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the combined teaching of the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 19 June 2024 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has requested that the provisional rejections be held in abeyance until patentable subject matter is identified.
The obviousness double patenting rejections are hereby maintained.
Conclusion
In view of the rejections to the pending claims set forth above, no claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BAHAR CRAIGO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1699