DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined in this application.
This action is in response to the “request for continued examination” filed 04/29/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 & 3 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1: Correct antecedent basis to reflect amendment.
“…wherein the handling part is configured to transport the target object to [[a]]the destination and perform a self-replacement operation of replacing the target object with [[a]]the replacement target object located at the destination.”
Claims 3: Correct antecedent basis to reflect amendment.
“…configured to perform [[a]]the first acquisition operation of acquiring the target object based on the first pickup operation and [[a]]the second acquisition operation of acquiring the replacement target object based on the second pickup operation.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “driving part configured to move along a travel path” in claim 1 and repeated throughout.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US20130099815) in view of Dan (US11839981).
Claim 1:
Kim explicitly teaches:
A driving apparatus comprising: a driving part configured to move along a travel path; and
(Kim) – “A pair of drive wheels 12 for traveling and a pair of casters 13 freely changing direction are installed on the lower portion of the main body 10, and the drive wheels 12 are driven by a transaxle motor 14.” (Para 0051)
a handling part mounted on the driving part,the handling part configured to and a replacement target object,
(Kim) – “The transfer robot may include a vertical transfer unit to move the transfer robot in a vertical direction and may be rotatable about a vertical axis of the vertical transfer unit. The transfer robot may further include a telescopic arm being expandable and contractible in the horizontal direction.” (Para 0023)
“The transfer robot 30 includes a vertical transfer unit 31 provided to be movable upward and downward from the drawer unit 20 in the vertical direction, a robot arm 32 installed at the upper end of the vertical transfer unit 31 in the horizontal direction, a rotation unit 33 to support the robot arm 32 such that the robot arm 32 is rotatable in the horizontal direction about the vertical transfer unit 31, and the holding unit 100 installed at the end of the robot arm 32 to hold the probe card P. A portion of the transfer robot 30 may be disposed on a side of the vertical part 25 of the drawer unit 20.” (Para 0057)
“First, a worker travels the carriage 1 to be located close to the tester (not shown)…When extension of the drawer unit 20, the support device 50 and the fall prevention unit 90 have been completed, the probe card P from the slot 11a is held by the holding unit 100, and rotation of the holding unit 100, extension of the robot arm 32, downward movement of the holding unit 100, and loading of the probe card P on the tester are sequentially executed.” (Para 0089)
“Thereafter, when transfer of the probe card P to the tester has been completed, such operations are executed in reverse order.” (Para 0090)
“According to the above described embodiments, a probe card handling carriage has been disclosed which is capable of safely transferring probe cards of various standards and dimensions.” (Para 0091)
Examiner Note: Fig. 1 shows a handling part mounted on the driving part.
wherein the handling part comprises a base unit mounted on the driving part, a pickup unit interlocking with the base unit, the pickup unit configured to perform a first pickup operation of lifting the target object, and
(Kim) – “The transfer robot 30 includes a vertical transfer unit 31 provided to be movable upward and downward from the drawer unit 20 in the vertical direction, a robot arm 32 installed at the upper end of the vertical transfer unit 31 in the horizontal direction, a rotation unit 33 to support the robot arm 32 such that the robot arm 32 is rotatable in the horizontal direction about the vertical transfer unit 31, and the holding unit 100 installed at the end of the robot arm 32 to hold the probe card P. A portion of the transfer robot 30 may be disposed on a side of the vertical part 25 of the drawer unit 20.” (Para 0057)
“When extension of the drawer unit 20, the support device 50 and the fall prevention unit 90 have been completed, the probe card P from the slot 11a is held by the holding unit 100, and rotation of the holding unit 100, extension of the robot arm 32, downward movement of the holding unit 100, and loading of the probe card P on the tester are sequentially executed.” (Para 0089)
“Thereafter, when transfer of the probe card P to the tester has been completed, such operations are executed in reverse order.” (Para 0090)
“According to the above described embodiments, a probe card handling carriage has been disclosed which is capable of safely transferring probe cards of various standards and dimensions.” (Para 0091)
Examiner Note: Fig. 1 shows a holding unit (100) interlocked with a base unit.
an acquisition unit interlocking with the base unit, the acquisition unit configured to perform a first acquisition operation of acquiring the target object lifted by the pickup unit,
(Kim) – “The transfer robot 30 includes a vertical transfer unit 31 provided to be movable upward and downward from the drawer unit 20 in the vertical direction, a robot arm 32 installed at the upper end of the vertical transfer unit 31 in the horizontal direction, a rotation unit 33 to support the robot arm 32 such that the robot arm 32 is rotatable in the horizontal direction about the vertical transfer unit 31, and the holding unit 100 installed at the end of the robot arm 32 to hold the probe card P. A portion of the transfer robot 30 may be disposed on a side of the vertical part 25 of the drawer unit 20.” (Para 0057)
“When extension of the drawer unit 20, the support device 50 and the fall prevention unit 90 have been completed, the probe card P from the slot 11a is held by the holding unit 100, and rotation of the holding unit 100, extension of the robot arm 32, downward movement of the holding unit 100, and loading of the probe card P on the tester are sequentially executed.” (Para 0089)
“Thereafter, when transfer of the probe card P to the tester has been completed, such operations are executed in reverse order.” (Para 0090)
“According to the above described embodiments, a probe card handling carriage has been disclosed which is capable of safely transferring probe cards of various standards and dimensions.” (Para 0091)
Examiner Note: Holding unit (100) further corresponds with acquisition unit.
wherein the handling part is further configured, with respect to the replacement target object [disposed at a destination to which the target object is transported], to perform a second pickup operation of lifting the replacement target object and a second acquisition operation of acquiring the replacement target object, and
(Kim) – “The transfer robot 30 includes a vertical transfer unit 31 provided to be movable upward and downward from the drawer unit 20 in the vertical direction, a robot arm 32 installed at the upper end of the vertical transfer unit 31 in the horizontal direction, a rotation unit 33 to support the robot arm 32 such that the robot arm 32 is rotatable in the horizontal direction about the vertical transfer unit 31, and the holding unit 100 installed at the end of the robot arm 32 to hold the probe card P. A portion of the transfer robot 30 may be disposed on a side of the vertical part 25 of the drawer unit 20.” (Para 0057)
“First, a worker travels the carriage 1 to be located close to the tester (not shown)…When extension of the drawer unit 20, the support device 50 and the fall prevention unit 90 have been completed, the probe card P from the slot 11a is held by the holding unit 100, and rotation of the holding unit 100, extension of the robot arm 32, downward movement of the holding unit 100, and loading of the probe card P on the tester are sequentially executed.” (Para 0089)
“Thereafter, when transfer of the probe card P to the tester has been completed, such operations are executed in reverse order.” (Para 0090)
“According to the above described embodiments, a probe card handling carriage has been disclosed which is capable of safely transferring probe cards of various standards and dimensions.” (Para 0091)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection. This notation convention will be used throughout the rejection unless otherwise specified.
wherein the handling part is configured to transport the target object to a destination and perform a self-replacement operation of replacing the target object with a replacement target object [located at the destination].
(Kim) – “The transfer robot 30 includes a vertical transfer unit 31 provided to be movable upward and downward from the drawer unit 20 in the vertical direction, a robot arm 32 installed at the upper end of the vertical transfer unit 31 in the horizontal direction, a rotation unit 33 to support the robot arm 32 such that the robot arm 32 is rotatable in the horizontal direction about the vertical transfer unit 31, and the holding unit 100 installed at the end of the robot arm 32 to hold the probe card P. A portion of the transfer robot 30 may be disposed on a side of the vertical part 25 of the drawer unit 20.” (Para 0057)
“First, a worker travels the carriage 1 to be located close to the tester (not shown)…When extension of the drawer unit 20, the support device 50 and the fall prevention unit 90 have been completed, the probe card P from the slot 11a is held by the holding unit 100, and rotation of the holding unit 100, extension of the robot arm 32, downward movement of the holding unit 100, and loading of the probe card P on the tester are sequentially executed.” (Para 0089)
“Thereafter, when transfer of the probe card P to the tester has been completed, such operations are executed in reverse order.” (Para 0090)
“According to the above described embodiments, a probe card handling carriage has been disclosed which is capable of safely transferring probe cards of various standards and dimensions.” (Para 0091)
Kim does not explicitly teach:
disposed at a destination to which the target object is transported …located at the destination
Dan, in the same field of endeavor of autonomous handling equipment, teaches:
disposed at a destination to which the target object is transported …located at the destination
(Dan) – “firstly, the control system controls the running mechanism to run so as to move the unloaded autonomous moving transfer robot to a first position in which the target object is stored; …Then, the running mechanism is controlled to run so as to move the autonomous moving transfer robot and target object loaded thereof to a second position to which the target objects are to be transferred, and the target objects are in turn gripped by the manipulators from the corresponding bearers and moved to corresponding storage positions in the second position, thereby achieving the “unloading” of the target objects. In the process, the position of the autonomous moving transfer robot could be changed by controlling the running mechanism to run so as to facilitate the operation of the manipulators.” (Col 2 Ln 1-26)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the probe card handling carriage of Kim with the autonomous moving transfer robot of Dan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, “to achieve efficient, economical and flexible unmanned production” (Dan Col 1 Ln 27-28)
Claim 2:
Kim in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Kim further teaches:
wherein is configured to perform the first pickup operation of picking up the target object and the second pickup operation of picking up the replacement target object.
(Kim) – “The transfer robot 30 includes a vertical transfer unit 31 provided to be movable upward and downward from the drawer unit 20 in the vertical direction, a robot arm 32 installed at the upper end of the vertical transfer unit 31 in the horizontal direction, a rotation unit 33 to support the robot arm 32 such that the robot arm 32 is rotatable in the horizontal direction about the vertical transfer unit 31, and the holding unit 100 installed at the end of the robot arm 32 to hold the probe card P. A portion of the transfer robot 30 may be disposed on a side of the vertical part 25 of the drawer unit 20.” (Para 0057)
“When extension of the drawer unit 20, the support device 50 and the fall prevention unit 90 have been completed, the probe card P from the slot 11a is held by the holding unit 100, and rotation of the holding unit 100, extension of the robot arm 32, downward movement of the holding unit 100, and loading of the probe card P on the tester are sequentially executed.” (Para 0089)
“Thereafter, when transfer of the probe card P to the tester has been completed, such operations are executed in reverse order.” (Para 0090)
“According to the above described embodiments, a probe card handling carriage has been disclosed which is capable of safely transferring probe cards of various standards and dimensions.” (Para 0091)
Claim 3:
Kim in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 2 teach those respective limitations. Kim further teaches:
wherein is configured to perform a first acquisition operation of acquiring the target object based on the first pickup operation and a second acquisition operation of acquiring the replacement target object based on the second pickup operation.
(Kim) – “The transfer robot 30 includes a vertical transfer unit 31 provided to be movable upward and downward from the drawer unit 20 in the vertical direction, a robot arm 32 installed at the upper end of the vertical transfer unit 31 in the horizontal direction, a rotation unit 33 to support the robot arm 32 such that the robot arm 32 is rotatable in the horizontal direction about the vertical transfer unit 31, and the holding unit 100 installed at the end of the robot arm 32 to hold the probe card P. A portion of the transfer robot 30 may be disposed on a side of the vertical part 25 of the drawer unit 20.” (Para 0057)
“When extension of the drawer unit 20, the support device 50 and the fall prevention unit 90 have been completed, the probe card P from the slot 11a is held by the holding unit 100, and rotation of the holding unit 100, extension of the robot arm 32, downward movement of the holding unit 100, and loading of the probe card P on the tester are sequentially executed.” (Para 0089)
“Thereafter, when transfer of the probe card P to the tester has been completed, such operations are executed in reverse order.” (Para 0090)
“According to the above described embodiments, a probe card handling carriage has been disclosed which is capable of safely transferring probe cards of various standards and dimensions.” (Para 0091)
Examiner Note: Holding unit (100) further corresponds with acquisition unit Per BRI, the second acquisition may simply be a subsequent use of the handling carriage.
Claim 4:
Kim in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 3 teach those respective limitations. Kim further teaches:
wherein the acquisition unit is thereby enabling the first acquisition operation for the target object and the second pickup operation for the replacement target object
(Kim) – “The transfer robot 30 includes a vertical transfer unit 31 provided to be movable upward and downward from the drawer unit 20 in the vertical direction, a robot arm 32 installed at the upper end of the vertical transfer unit 31 in the horizontal direction, a rotation unit 33 to support the robot arm 32 such that the robot arm 32 is rotatable in the horizontal direction about the vertical transfer unit 31, and the holding unit 100 installed at the end of the robot arm 32 to hold the probe card P. A portion of the transfer robot 30 may be disposed on a side of the vertical part 25 of the drawer unit 20.” (Para 0057)
“When extension of the drawer unit 20, the support device 50 and the fall prevention unit 90 have been completed, the probe card P from the slot 11a is held by the holding unit 100, and rotation of the holding unit 100, extension of the robot arm 32, downward movement of the holding unit 100, and loading of the probe card P on the tester are sequentially executed.” (Para 0089)
“Thereafter, when transfer of the probe card P to the tester has been completed, such operations are executed in reverse order.” (Para 0090)
“According to the above described embodiments, a probe card handling carriage has been disclosed which is capable of safely transferring probe cards of various standards and dimensions.” (Para 0091)
Examiner Note: See Fig 10.
Claim 13:
Kim in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Kim further teaches:
wherein if the target object corresponds to a probe card, and the destination corresponds to a probe station.
(Kim) – “The transfer robot 30 includes a vertical transfer unit 31 provided to be movable upward and downward from the drawer unit 20 in the vertical direction, a robot arm 32 installed at the upper end of the vertical transfer unit 31 in the horizontal direction, a rotation unit 33 to support the robot arm 32 such that the robot arm 32 is rotatable in the horizontal direction about the vertical transfer unit 31, and the holding unit 100 installed at the end of the robot arm 32 to hold the probe card P. A portion of the transfer robot 30 may be disposed on a side of the vertical part 25 of the drawer unit 20.” (Para 0057)
“First, a worker travels the carriage 1 to be located close to the tester (not shown)…When extension of the drawer unit 20, the support device 50 and the fall prevention unit 90 have been completed, the probe card P from the slot 11a is held by the holding unit 100, and rotation of the holding unit 100, extension of the robot arm 32, downward movement of the holding unit 100, and loading of the probe card P on the tester are sequentially executed.” (Para 0089)
Claim 14:
Kim in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Kim further teaches:
wherein the driving part is configured to perform autonomous driving
(Dan) – “An autonomous moving transfer robot, including a main body with a base and a vertical plate; a traveling mechanism having a driving wheel and a driven wheel mounted on the base… and a control system for controlling the walking/stopping and steering of the traveling mechanism and the movement of the manipulators.” (Abstract)
“The autonomous moving transfer robot of the present disclosure is applicable to an unmanned production workshop, for example, a production workshop for silicon wafers” (Col 6 Ln 11-14)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the probe card handling carriage of Kim with the autonomous moving transfer robot of Dan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, “to achieve efficient, economical and flexible unmanned production” (Dan Col 1 Ln 27-28)
Claim 15:
Kim explicitly teaches:
A driving apparatus comprising: a driving part configured to drive and
(Kim) – “A pair of drive wheels 12 for traveling and a pair of casters 13 freely changing direction are installed on the lower portion of the main body 10, and the drive wheels 12 are driven by a transaxle motor 14.” (Para 0051)
a handling part positioned above the driving part and configured to rotate
(Kim) – “The transfer robot may include a vertical transfer unit to move the transfer robot in a vertical direction and may be rotatable about a vertical axis of the vertical transfer unit. The transfer robot may further include a telescopic arm being expandable and contractible in the horizontal direction.” (Para 0023)
“The transfer robot 30 includes a vertical transfer unit 31 provided to be movable upward and downward from the drawer unit 20 in the vertical direction, a robot arm 32 installed at the upper end of the vertical transfer unit 31 in the horizontal direction, a rotation unit 33 to support the robot arm 32 such that the robot arm 32 is rotatable in the horizontal direction about the vertical transfer unit 31, and the holding unit 100 installed at the end of the robot arm 32 to hold the probe card P. A portion of the transfer robot 30 may be disposed on a side of the vertical part 25 of the drawer unit 20.” (Para 0057)
Examiner Note: Fig. 1 shows a handling part positioned above the driving part.
wherein the handling part is configured to transport the target object to a destination and perform a replacement operation in which the target object is replaced with a replacement target object [located at the destination],
(Kim) – “The transfer robot 30 includes a vertical transfer unit 31 provided to be movable upward and downward from the drawer unit 20 in the vertical direction, a robot arm 32 installed at the upper end of the vertical transfer unit 31 in the horizontal direction, a rotation unit 33 to support the robot arm 32 such that the robot arm 32 is rotatable in the horizontal direction about the vertical transfer unit 31, and the holding unit 100 installed at the end of the robot arm 32 to hold the probe card P. A portion of the transfer robot 30 may be disposed on a side of the vertical part 25 of the drawer unit 20.” (Para 0057)
“First, a worker travels the carriage 1 to be located close to the tester (not shown)…When extension of the drawer unit 20, the support device 50 and the fall prevention unit 90 have been completed, the probe card P from the slot 11a is held by the holding unit 100, and rotation of the holding unit 100, extension of the robot arm 32, downward movement of the holding unit 100, and loading of the probe card P on the tester are sequentially executed.” (Para 0089)
“Thereafter, when transfer of the probe card P to the tester has been completed, such operations are executed in reverse order.” (Para 0090)
“According to the above described embodiments, a probe card handling carriage has been disclosed which is capable of safely transferring probe cards of various standards and dimensions.” (Para 0091)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection. This notation convention will be used throughout the rejection unless otherwise specified.
wherein the handling part includes a base unit and an acquisition unit, the pickup unit interlocking with the base unit the pickup unit configured to perform a first pickup operation the acquisition unit interlocking with the base unit, the acquisition unit configured to perform a first acquisition operation and a second acquisition operation, and
(Kim) – “The transfer robot 30 includes a vertical transfer unit 31 provided to be movable upward and downward from the drawer unit 20 in the vertical direction, a robot arm 32 installed at the upper end of the vertical transfer unit 31 in the horizontal direction, a rotation unit 33 to support the robot arm 32 such that the robot arm 32 is rotatable in the horizontal direction about the vertical transfer unit 31, and the holding unit 100 installed at the end of the robot arm 32 to hold the probe card P. A portion of the transfer robot 30 may be disposed on a side of the vertical part 25 of the drawer unit 20.” (Para 0057)
“When extension of the drawer unit 20, the support device 50 and the fall prevention unit 90 have been completed, the probe card P from the slot 11a is held by the holding unit 100, and rotation of the holding unit 100, extension of the robot arm 32, downward movement of the holding unit 100, and loading of the probe card P on the tester are sequentially executed.” (Para 0089)
“Thereafter, when transfer of the probe card P to the tester has been completed, such operations are executed in reverse order.” (Para 0090)
“According to the above described embodiments, a probe card handling carriage has been disclosed which is capable of safely transferring probe cards of various standards and dimensions.” (Para 0091)
Examiner Note: Fig. 1 shows a holding unit (100) interlocked with a base unit. Holding unit (100) further corresponds with acquisition unit Per BRI, the second acquisition may simply be a subsequent use of the handling carriage.
Examiner Note: Holding unit (100) further corresponds with acquisition unit Per BRI, the second acquisition may simply be a subsequent use of the handling carriage.
wherein the target object corresponds to a probe card, and the destination corresponds to a probe station.
(Kim) – “The transfer robot 30 includes a vertical transfer unit 31 provided to be movable upward and downward from the drawer unit 20 in the vertical direction, a robot arm 32 installed at the upper end of the vertical transfer unit 31 in the horizontal direction, a rotation unit 33 to support the robot arm 32 such that the robot arm 32 is rotatable in the horizontal direction about the vertical transfer unit 31, and the holding unit 100 installed at the end of the robot arm 32 to hold the probe card P. A portion of the transfer robot 30 may be disposed on a side of the vertical part 25 of the drawer unit 20.” (Para 0057)
“First, a worker travels the carriage 1 to be located close to the tester (not shown)…When extension of the drawer unit 20, the support device 50 and the fall prevention unit 90 have been completed, the probe card P from the slot 11a is held by the holding unit 100, and rotation of the holding unit 100, extension of the robot arm 32, downward movement of the holding unit 100, and loading of the probe card P on the tester are sequentially executed.” (Para 0089)
Kim does not explicitly teach:
located at the destination
Dan, in the same field of endeavor of autonomous handling equipment, teaches:
located at the destination
(Dan) – “firstly, the control system controls the running mechanism to run so as to move the unloaded autonomous moving transfer robot to a first position in which the target object is stored; …Then, the running mechanism is controlled to run so as to move the autonomous moving transfer robot and target object loaded thereof to a second position to which the target objects are to be transferred, and the target objects are in turn gripped by the manipulators from the corresponding bearers and moved to corresponding storage positions in the second position, thereby achieving the “unloading” of the target objects. In the process, the position of the autonomous moving transfer robot could be changed by controlling the running mechanism to run so as to facilitate the operation of the manipulators.” (Col 2 Ln 1-26)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the probe card handling carriage of Kim with the autonomous moving transfer robot of Dan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, “to achieve efficient, economical and flexible unmanned production” (Dan Col 1 Ln 27-28)
Claim(s) 5-12, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US20130099815) in view of Dan (US11839981) further in view of Kim Hae Chul (KR20070120373).
Claim 5:
Kim in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 4 teach those respective limitations. Kim further teaches:
wherein the acquisition unit is configured to perform the first acquisition operationand the second acquisition operation [via a vertical inversion operation].
(Kim) – “The transfer robot 30 includes a vertical transfer unit 31 provided to be movable upward and downward from the drawer unit 20 in the vertical direction, a robot arm 32 installed at the upper end of the vertical transfer unit 31 in the horizontal direction, a rotation unit 33 to support the robot arm 32 such that the robot arm 32 is rotatable in the horizontal direction about the vertical transfer unit 31, and the holding unit 100 installed at the end of the robot arm 32 to hold the probe card P. A portion of the transfer robot 30 may be disposed on a side of the vertical part 25 of the drawer unit 20.” (Para 0057)
“When extension of the drawer unit 20, the support device 50 and the fall prevention unit 90 have been completed, the probe card P from the slot 11a is held by the holding unit 100, and rotation of the holding unit 100, extension of the robot arm 32, downward movement of the holding unit 100, and loading of the probe card P on the tester are sequentially executed.” (Para 0089)
“Thereafter, when transfer of the probe card P to the tester has been completed, such operations are executed in reverse order.” (Para 0090)
“According to the above described embodiments, a probe card handling carriage has been disclosed which is capable of safely transferring probe cards of various standards and dimensions.” (Para 0091)
Kim does not explicitly teach:
via a vertical inversion operation
Hae Chul, in the same field of endeavor of robotic manipulators, teaches:
via a vertical inversion operation
(Kim Hae Chul) – “A wafer buffer station is provided to arbitrarily select the front and back surfaces of a wafer and perform a predetermined treatment process by varying the vertical position of upper and lower edge grippers. An upper edge gripper(141A) is assembled with a rod which is able to be rotated, and loads a first wafer. A lower edge gripper(141B) loads a second wafer, combined with the rod in a manner that is vertically separated from the upper edge gripper. A driving part rotates the rod with respect to the axis of the rod, combined with the rod. The upper and lower edge grippers are varied in vertical position by the rotation of the rod.” (Abstract)
At this time, the wafers are facing the back side (W2b) below, the load (141C) the upper and lower edge by a gripper rotation about its axis (141A, 141B) of the lower inverted vertical position is changed by the gripper edge (141B) is located toward the top Accordingly, the variation and the back (W2b) of the wafer (W2) is facing up.” (Para 35)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the probe card handling carriage of Kim with the upper and lower edge grippers of Kim Hae Chul. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “in that the equipment is to increase the rate of operation there is a cost savings as well as eliminating the need for new investment” (Kim Hae Chul Para 22)
Claim 6:
Kim in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 5 teach those respective limitations. Kim further teaches:
wherein the acquisition unit comprises an upper panel module, a lower panel module, and an interlocking module configured to interlock the upper panel module with the lower panel module, and the lower panel module is configured to receive the replacement target object.
(Kim) – “With reference to FIGS. 10 to 12, the holding unit 100 includes a ring-shaped frame 110, a hook module 120 installed on the frame 110, a protective ring 130 separated downward from the frame 110, and insertion guides 140 and guide pins 150 and 151 respectively provided at the outside and the inside of the frame 110 and the protective ring 130.” (Para 0075)
“The transfer robot 30 includes a vertical transfer unit 31 provided to be movable upward and downward from the drawer unit 20 in the vertical direction, a robot arm 32 installed at the upper end of the vertical transfer unit 31 in the horizontal direction, a rotation unit 33 to support the robot arm 32 such that the robot arm 32 is rotatable in the horizontal direction about the vertical transfer unit 31, and the holding unit 100 installed at the end of the robot arm 32 to hold the probe card P. A portion of the transfer robot 30 may be disposed on a side of the vertical part 25 of the drawer unit 20.” (Para 0057)
“When extension of the drawer unit 20, the support device 50 and the fall prevention unit 90 have been completed, the probe card P from the slot 11a is held by the holding unit 100, and rotation of the holding unit 100, extension of the robot arm 32, downward movement of the holding unit 100, and loading of the probe card P on the tester are sequentially executed.” (Para 0089)
“Thereafter, when transfer of the probe card P to the tester has been completed, such operations are executed in reverse order.” (Para 0090)
“According to the above described embodiments, a probe card handling carriage has been disclosed which is capable of safely transferring probe cards of various standards and dimensions.” (Para 0091)
Examiner Note: See Fig 10. Per BRI, upper panel and lower panel may correspond with any structure with corresponding orientation. See 112 rejection.
Claim 7:
Kim in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 6 teach those respective limitations. Kim further teaches:
further comprising: a plurality of first fixing members disposed along a circumference of an upper part of the upper panel module the plurality of first fixing members configured to secure the target object at the upper panel module; and
(Kim Hae Chul) – “A wafer buffer station is provided to arbitrarily select the front and back surfaces of a wafer and perform a predetermined treatment process by varying the vertical position of upper and lower edge grippers. An upper edge gripper(141A) is assembled with a rod which is able to be rotated, and loads a first wafer. A lower edge gripper(141B) loads a second wafer, combined with the rod in a manner that is vertically separated from the upper edge gripper. A driving part rotates the rod with respect to the axis of the rod, combined with the rod. The upper and lower edge grippers are varied in vertical position by the rotation of the rod.” (Abstract)
“Referring to Figures 2 and 3, the wafer buffer station 141 is provided with the upper and lower edge grippers (141A, 141B). The upper edge of the gripper (141A) is held with equal angle took place three grippers (1410A) is provided with gripping the edge of the wafer (W2). The lower edge of the gripper (141B) is also provided with three grippers (1410B) is equal angle, like this happened while holding grip the edge of the wafer (W2). Upper edge grippers (141A) is to hold the wafer (W2) so that this disclosure toward the top front (W2f), the lower edge gripper (141B) is held so that the back of the wafer (W2b) are released towards the bottom (W2).” (Para 32)
a plurality of second fixing members disposed along a circumference of a lower part of the lower panel module and configured to secure the replacement target object at the lower panel module,
(Kim Hae Chul) – “A wafer buffer station is provided to arbitrarily select the front and back surfaces of a wafer and perform a predetermined treatment process by varying the vertical position of upper and lower edge grippers. An upper edge gripper(141A) is assembled with a rod which is able to be rotated, and loads a first wafer. A lower edge gripper(141B) loads a second wafer, combined with the rod in a manner that is vertically separated from the upper edge gripper. A driving part rotates the rod with respect to the axis of the rod, combined with the rod. The upper and lower edge grippers are varied in vertical position by the rotation of the rod.” (Abstract)
“Referring to Figures 2 and 3, the wafer buffer station 141 is provided with the upper and lower edge grippers (141A, 141B). The upper edge of the gripper (141A) is held with equal angle took place three grippers (1410A) is provided with gripping the edge of the wafer (W2). The lower edge of the gripper (141B) is also provided with three grippers (1410B) is equal angle, like this happened while holding grip the edge of the wafer (W2). Upper edge grippers (141A) is to hold the wafer (W2) so that this disclosure toward the top front (W2f), the lower edge gripper (141B) is held so that the back of the wafer (W2b) are released towards the bottom (W2).” (Para 32)
wherein the plurality of first fixing members are configured to grasp the target object on the upper panel module using a joint rotation method or to press and secure a circumference of the target object by slidably moving on the upper panel module, and
(Kim Hae Chul) – “A wafer buffer station is provided to arbitrarily select the front and back surfaces of a wafer and perform a predetermined treatment process by varying the vertical position of upper and lower edge grippers. An upper edge gripper(141A) is assembled with a rod which is able to be rotated, and loads a first wafer. A lower edge gripper(141B) loads a second wafer, combined with the rod in a manner that is vertically separated from the upper edge gripper. A driving part rotates the rod with respect to the axis of the rod, combined with the rod. The upper and lower edge grippers are varied in vertical position by the rotation of the rod.” (Abstract)
“Referring to Figures 2 and 3, the wafer buffer station 141 is provided with the upper and lower edge grippers (141A, 141B). The upper edge of the gripper (141A) is held with equal angle took place three grippers (1410A) is provided with gripping the edge of the wafer (W2). The lower edge of the gripper (141B) is also provided with three grippers (1410B) is equal angle, like this happened while holding grip the edge of the wafer (W2). Upper edge grippers (141A) is to hold the wafer (W2) so that this disclosure toward the top front (W2f), the lower edge gripper (141B) is held so that the back of the wafer (W2b) are released towards the bottom (W2).” (Para 32)
wherein the plurality of second fixing members are configured to grasp the replacement target object on the lower panel module using a-the joint rotation method or to press and secure a circumference of the replacement target object by slidably moving on the lower panel module.
(Kim Hae Chul) – “A wafer buffer station is provided to arbitrarily select the front and back surfaces of a wafer and perform a predetermined treatment process by varying the vertical position of upper and lower edge grippers. An upper edge gripper(141A) is assembled with a rod which is able to be rotated, and loads a first wafer. A lower edge gripper(141B) loads a second wafer, combined with the rod in a manner that is vertically separated from the upper edge gripper. A driving part rotates the rod with respect to the axis of the rod, combined with the rod. The upper and lower edge grippers are varied in vertical position by the rotation of the rod.” (Abstract)
“Referring to Figures 2 and 3, the wafer buffer station 141 is provided with the upper and lower edge grippers (141A, 141B). The upper edge of the gripper (141A) is held with equal angle took place three grippers (1410A) is provided with gripping the edge of the wafer (W2). The lower edge of the gripper (141B) is also provided with three grippers (1410B) is equal angle, like this happened while holding grip the edge of the wafer (W2). Upper edge grippers (141A) is to hold the wafer (W2) so that this disclosure toward the top front (W2f), the lower edge gripper (141B) is held so that the back of the wafer (W2b) are released towards the bottom (W2).” (Para 32)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the probe card handling carriage of Kim with the upper and lower edge grippers of Kim Hae Chul. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “in that the equipment is to increase the rate of operation there is a cost savings as well as eliminating the need for new investment” (Kim Hae Chul Para 22)
Claim 8:
Kim in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 7 teach those respective limitations. Kim further teaches:
[wherein the vertical inversion operation comprises a first vertical inversion operation performed before departure of the driving part to the destination, in which the upper panel module at holding the target object is replaced with the lower panel module] performed ]after
(Kim) – “First, a worker travels the carriage 1 to be located close to the tester (not shown)… When extension of the drawer unit 20, the support device 50 and the fall prevention unit 90 have been completed, the probe card P from the slot 11a is held by the holding unit 100, and rotation of the holding unit 100, extension of the robot arm 32, downward movement of the holding unit 100, and loading of the probe card P on the tester are sequentially executed.” (Para 0089)
“Thereafter, when transfer of the probe card P to the tester has been completed, such operations are executed in reverse order.” (Para 0090)
Kim does not explicitly teach:
wherein the vertical inversion operation comprises a first vertical inversion operation performed before departure of the driving part to the destination, in which the upper panel module at holding the target object is replaced with the lower panel module…a second vertical inversion operation performed
Hae Chul, in the same field of endeavor of robotic manipulators, teaches:
wherein the vertical inversion operation comprises a first vertical inversion operation performed before departure of the driving part to the destination, in which the upper panel module at holding the target object is replaced with the lower panel module…a second vertical inversion operation performed
(Kim Hae Chul) – “A wafer buffer station is provided to arbitrarily select the front and back surfaces of a wafer and perform a predetermined treatment process by varying the vertical position of upper and lower edge grippers. An upper edge gripper(141A) is assembled with a rod which is able to be rotated, and loads a first wafer. A lower edge gripper(141B) loads a second wafer, combined with the rod in a manner that is vertically separated from the upper edge gripper. A driving part rotates the rod with respect to the axis of the rod, combined with the rod. The upper and lower edge grippers are varied in vertical position by the rotation of the rod.” (Abstract)
At this time, the wafers are facing the back side (W2b) below, the load (141C) the upper and lower edge by a gripper rotation about its axis (141A, 141B) of the lower inverted vertical position is changed by the gripper edge (141B) is located toward the top Accordingly, the variation and the back (W2b) of the wafer (W2) is facing up.” (Para 35)
Examiner Note: The rotation operation may be repeated any number of times.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the probe card handling carriage of Kim with the upper and lower edge grippers of Kim Hae Chul. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “in that the equipment is to increase the rate of operation there is a cost savings as well as eliminating the need for new investment” (Kim Hae Chul Para 22)
Claim 9:
Kim in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 8 teach those respective limitations. Kim further teaches:
the pickup unit is configured to perform a third pickup operation of picking up the target object from the upper panel module and positioning the target object at the destination.
(Kim) – “First, a worker travels the carriage 1 to be located close to the tester (not shown)… When extension of the drawer unit 20, the support device 50 and the fall prevention unit 90 have been completed, the probe card P from the slot 11a is held by the holding unit 100, and rotation of the holding unit 100, extension of the robot arm 32, downward movement of the holding unit 100, and loading of the probe card P on the tester are sequentially executed.” (Para 0089)
“Thereafter, when transfer of the probe card P to the tester has been completed, such operations are executed in reverse order.” (Para 0090)
Kim does not explicitly teach:
wherein the acquisition unit is configured to displace the upper panel module to corresponding to the lower panel module via the second vertical inversion operation after the first vertical inversion operation, and
Hae Chul, in the same field of endeavor of robotic manipulators, teaches:
wherein the acquisition unit is configured to displace the upper panel module to corresponding to the lower panel module via the second vertical inversion operation after the first vertical inversion operation, and
(Kim Hae Chul) – “A wafer buffer station is provided to arbitrarily select the front and back surfaces of a wafer and perform a predetermined treatment process by varying the vertical position of upper and lower edge grippers. An upper edge gripper(141A) is assembled with a rod which is able to be rotated, and loads a first wafer. A lower edge gripper(141B) loads a second wafer, combined with the rod in a manner that is vertically separated from the upper edge gripper. A driving part rotates the rod with respect to the axis of the rod, combined with the rod. The upper and lower edge grippers are varied in vertical position by the rotation of the rod.” (Abstract)
At this time, the wafers are facing the back side (W2b) below, the load (141C) the upper and lower edge by a gripper rotation about its axis (141A, 141B) of the lower inverted vertical position is changed by the gripper edge (141B) is located toward the top Accordingly, the variation and the back (W2b) of the wafer (W2) is facing up.” (Para 35)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the probe card handling carriage of Kim with the upper and lower edge grippers of Kim Hae Chul. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “in that the equipment is to increase the rate of operation there is a cost savings as well as eliminating the need for new investment” (Kim Hae Chul Para 22)
Claim 10:
Kim in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 8 teach those respective limitations. Kim further teaches:
wherein the first pickup operation then performed based on the first pickup operation, then travels
(Kim) – “The transfer robot 30 includes a vertical transfer unit 31 provided to be movable upward and downward from the drawer unit 20 in the vertical direction, a robot arm 32 installed at the upper end of the vertical transfer unit 31 in the horizontal direction, a rotation unit 33 to support the robot arm 32 such that the robot arm 32 is rotatable in the horizontal direction about the vertical transfer unit 31, and the holding unit 100 installed at the end of the robot arm 32 to hold the probe card P. A portion of the transfer robot 30 may be disposed on a side of the vertical part 25 of the drawer unit 20.” (Para 0057)
“First, a worker travels the carriage 1 to be located close to the tester (not shown)…When extension of the drawer unit 20, the support device 50 and the fall prevention unit 90 have been completed, the probe card P from the slot 11a is held by the holding unit 100, and rotation of the holding unit 100, extension of the robot arm 32, downward movement of the holding unit 100, and loading of the probe card P on the tester are sequentially executed.” (Para 0089)
“Thereafter, when transfer of the probe card P to the tester has been completed, such operations are executed in reverse order.” (Para 0090)
“According to the above described embodiments, a probe card handling carriage has been disclosed which is capable of safely transferring probe cards of various standards and dimensions.” (Para 0091)
Claim 11:
Kim in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 10 teach those respective limitations. Kim further teaches:
wherein the pickup unit is configured to position the replacement target object on the lower panel module [that has been subjected to the first vertical inversion operation], via the second pickup operation.
(Kim) – “The transfer robot 30 includes a vertical transfer unit 31 provided to be movable upward and downward from the drawer unit 20 in the vertical direction, a robot arm 32 installed at the upper end of the vertical transfer unit 31 in the horizontal direction, a rotation unit 33 to support the robot arm 32 such that the robot arm 32 is rotatable in the horizontal direction about the vertical transfer unit 31, and the holding unit 100 installed at the end of the robot arm 32 to hold the probe card P. A portion of the transfer robot 30 may be disposed on a side of the vertical part 25 of the drawer unit 20.” (Para 0057)
“First, a worker travels the carriage 1 to be located close to the tester (not shown)…When extension of the drawer unit 20, the support device 50 and the fall prevention unit 90 have been completed, the probe card P from the slot 11a is held by the holding unit 100, and rotation of the holding unit 100, extension of the robot arm 32, downward movement of the holding unit 100, and loading of the probe card P on the tester are sequentially executed.” (Para 0089)
“Thereafter, when transfer of the probe card P to the tester has been completed, such operations are executed in reverse order.” (Para 0090)
“According to the above described embodiments, a probe card handling carriage has been disclosed which is capable of safely transferring probe cards of various standards and dimensions.” (Para 0091)
Kim does not explicitly teach:
that has been subjected to the first vertical inversion operation
Hae Chul, in the same field of endeavor of robotic manipulators, teaches:
that has been subjected to the first vertical inversion operation
(Kim Hae Chul) – “A wafer buffer station is provided to arbitrarily select the front and back surfaces of a wafer and perform a predetermined treatment process by varying the vertical position of upper and lower edge grippers. An upper edge gripper(141A) is assembled with a rod which is able to be rotated, and loads a first wafer. A lower edge gripper(141B) loads a second wafer, combined with the rod in a manner that is vertically separated from the upper edge gripper. A driving part rotates the rod with respect to the axis of the rod, combined with the rod. The upper and lower edge grippers are varied in vertical position by the rotation of the rod.” (Abstract)
At this time, the wafers are facing the back side (W2b) below, the load (141C) the upper and lower edge by a gripper rotation about its axis (141A, 141B) of the lower inverted vertical position is changed by the gripper edge (141B) is located toward the top Accordingly, the variation and the back (W2b) of the wafer (W2) is facing up.” (Para 35)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the probe card handling carriage of Kim with the upper and lower edge grippers of Kim Hae Chul. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “in that the equipment is to increase the rate of operation there is a cost savings as well as eliminating the need for new investment” (Kim Hae Chul Para 22)
Claim 12:
Kim in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 7 teach those respective limitations. Kim further teaches:
wherein the upper panel module is configured to chuck the target object, and
(Kim Hae Chul) – “A wafer buffer station is provided to arbitrarily select the front and back surfaces of a wafer and perform a predetermined treatment process by varying the vertical position of upper and lower edge grippers. An upper edge gripper(141A) is assembled with a rod which is able to be rotated, and loads a first wafer. A lower edge gripper(141B) loads a second wafer, combined with the rod in a manner that is vertically separated from the upper edge gripper. A driving part rotates the rod with respect to the axis of the rod, combined with the rod. The upper and lower edge grippers are varied in vertical position by the rotation of the rod.” (Abstract)
“Referring to Figures 2 and 3, the wafer buffer station 141 is provided with the upper and lower edge grippers (141A, 141B). The upper edge of the gripper (141A) is held with equal angle took place three grippers (1410A) is provided with gripping the edge of the wafer (W2). The lower edge of the gripper (141B) is also provided with three grippers (1410B) is equal angle, like this happened while holding grip the edge of the wafer (W2). Upper edge grippers (141A) is to hold the wafer (W2) so that this disclosure toward the top front (W2f), the lower edge gripper (141B) is held so that the back of the wafer (W2b) are released towards the bottom (W2).” (Para 32)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the probe card handling carriage of Kim with the upper and lower edge grippers of Kim Hae Chul. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “in that the equipment is to increase the rate of operation there is a cost savings as well as eliminating the need for new investment” (Kim Hae Chul Para 22)
Claim 16:
Kim explicitly teaches:
An operating method of a driving apparatus, comprising: providing a driving part configured to move along a travel path and
(Kim) – “A pair of drive wheels 12 for traveling and a pair of casters 13 freely changing direction are installed on the lower portion of the main body 10, and the drive wheels 12 are driven by a transaxle motor 14.” (Para 0051)
a handling part mounted on the driving part;
(Kim) – “The transfer robot may include a vertical transfer unit to move the transfer robot in a vertical direction and may be rotatable about a vertical axis of the vertical transfer unit. The transfer robot may further include a telescopic arm being expandable and contractible in the horizontal direction.” (Para 0023)
“The transfer robot 30 includes a vertical transfer unit 31 provided to be movable upward and downward from the drawer unit 20 in the vertical direction, a robot arm 32 installed at the upper end of the vertical transfer unit 31 in the horizontal direction, a rotation unit 33 to support the robot arm 32 such that the robot arm 32 is rotatable in the horizontal direction about the vertical transfer unit 31, and the holding unit 100 installed at the end of the robot arm 32 to hold the probe card P. A portion of the transfer robot 30 may be disposed on a side of the vertical part 25 of the drawer unit 20.” (Para 0057)
performing, by a pickup unit of the handling part, a first pickup operation of lifting a target object;
(Kim) – “The transfer robot 30 includes a vertical transfer unit 31 provided to be movable upward and downward from the drawer unit 20 in the vertical direction, a robot arm 32 installed at the upper end of the vertical transfer unit 31 in the horizontal direction, a rotation unit 33 to support the robot arm 32 such that the robot arm 32 is rotatable in the horizontal direction about the vertical transfer unit 31, and the holding unit 100 installed at the end of the robot arm 32 to hold the probe card P. A portion of the transfer robot 30 may be disposed on a side of the vertical part 25 of the drawer unit 20.” (Para 0057)
“When extension of the drawer unit 20, the support device 50 and the fall prevention unit 90 have been completed, the probe card P from the slot 11a is held by the holding unit 100, and rotation of the holding unit 100, extension of the robot arm 32, downward movement of the holding unit 100, and loading of the probe card P on the tester are sequentially executed.” (Para 0089)
“Thereafter, when transfer of the probe card P to the tester has been completed, such operations are executed in reverse order.” (Para 0090)
“According to the above described embodiments, a probe card handling carriage has been disclosed which is capable of safely transferring probe cards of various standards and dimensions.” (Para 0091)
performing, by an acquisition unit of the handling part, a first acquisition operation of acquiring the target object lifted by the first pickup operation;
(Kim) – “The transfer robot 30 includes a vertical transfer unit 31 provided to be movable upward and downward from the drawer unit 20 in the vertical direction, a robot arm 32 installed at the upper end of the vertical transfer unit 31 in the horizontal direction, a rotation unit 33 to support the robot arm 32 such that the robot arm 32 is rotatable in the horizontal direction about the vertical transfer unit 31, and the holding unit 100 installed at the end of the robot arm 32 to hold the probe card P. A portion of the transfer robot 30 may be disposed on a side of the vertical part 25 of the drawer unit 20.” (Para 0057)
“When extension of the drawer unit 20, the support device 50 and the fall prevention unit 90 have been completed, the probe card P from the slot 11a is held by the holding unit 100, and rotation of the holding unit 100, extension of the robot arm 32, downward movement of the holding unit 100, and loading of the probe card P on the tester are sequentially executed.” (Para 0089)
“Thereafter, when transfer of the probe card P to the tester has been completed, such operations are executed in reverse order.” (Para 0090)
“According to the above described embodiments, a probe card handling carriage has been disclosed which is capable of safely transferring probe cards of various standards and dimensions.” (Para 0091)
transporting by moving the driving part;
(Kim) – “The transfer robot 30 includes a vertical transfer unit 31 provided to be movable upward and downward from the drawer unit 20 in the vertical direction, a robot arm 32 installed at the upper end of the vertical transfer unit 31 in the horizontal direction, a rotation unit 33 to support the robot arm 32 such that the robot arm 32 is rotatable in the horizontal direction about the vertical transfer unit 31, and the holding unit 100 installed at the end of the robot arm 32 to hold the probe card P. A portion of the transfer robot 30 may be disposed on a side of the vertical part 25 of the drawer unit 20.” (Para 0057)
“First, a worker travels the carriage 1 to be located close to the tester (not shown)…When extension of the drawer unit 20, the support device 50 and the fall prevention unit 90 have been completed, the probe card P from the slot 11a is held by the holding unit 100, and rotation of the holding unit 100, extension of the robot arm 32, downward movement of the holding unit 100, and loading of the probe card P on the tester are sequentially executed.” (Para 0089)
“Thereafter, when transfer of the probe card P to the tester has been completed, such operations are executed in reverse order.” (Para 0090)
“According to the above described embodiments, a probe card handling carriage has been disclosed which is capable of safely transferring probe cards of various standards and dimensions.” (Para 0091)
performing, by the pickup unit, a second pickup operation of lifting a replacement target object [disposed at the destination]; and
(Kim) – “The transfer robot 30 includes a vertical transfer unit 31 provided to be movable upward and downward from the drawer unit 20 in the vertical direction, a robot arm 32 installed at the upper end of the vertical transfer unit 31 in the horizontal direction, a rotation unit 33 to support the robot arm 32 such that the robot arm 32 is rotatable in the horizontal direction about the vertical transfer unit 31, and the holding unit 100 installed at the end of the robot arm 32 to hold the probe card P. A portion of the transfer robot 30 may be disposed on a side of the vertical part 25 of the drawer unit 20.” (Para 0057)
“First, a worker travels the carriage 1 to be located close to the tester (not shown)…When extension of the drawer unit 20, the support device 50 and the fall prevention unit 90 have been completed, the probe card P from the slot 11a is held by the holding unit 100, and rotation of the holding unit 100, extension of the robot arm 32, downward movement of the holding unit 100, and loading of the probe card P on the tester are sequentially executed.” (Para 0089)
“Thereafter, when transfer of the probe card P to the tester has been completed, such operations are executed in reverse order.” (Para 0090)
“According to the above described embodiments, a probe card handling carriage has been disclosed which is capable of safely transferring probe cards of various standards and dimensions.” (Para 0091)
performing, by the acquisition unit, a second acquisition operation of acquiring the replacement target object,
(Kim) – “The transfer robot 30 includes a vertical transfer unit 31 provided to be movable upward and downward from the drawer unit 20 in the vertical direction, a robot arm 32 installed at the upper end of the vertical transfer unit 31 in the horizontal direction, a rotation unit 33 to support the robot arm 32 such that the robot arm 32 is rotatable in the horizontal direction about the vertical transfer unit 31, and the holding unit 100 installed at the end of the robot arm 32 to hold the probe card P. A portion of the transfer robot 30 may be disposed on a side of the vertical part 25 of the drawer unit 20.” (Para 0057)
“First, a worker travels the carriage 1 to be located close to the tester (not shown)…When extension of the drawer unit 20, the support device 50 and the fall prevention unit 90 have been completed, the probe card P from the slot 11a is held by the holding unit 100, and rotation of the holding unit 100, extension of the robot arm 32, downward movement of the holding unit 100, and loading of the probe card P on the tester are sequentially executed.” (Para 0089)
“Thereafter, when transfer of the probe card P to the tester has been completed, such operations are executed in reverse order.” (Para 0090)
“According to the above described embodiments, a probe card handling carriage has been disclosed which is capable of safely transferring probe cards of various standards and dimensions.” (Para 0091)
wherein the target object is released [at the destination while the replacement target object is acquired] such that replacement operation, in which and the are exchanged is performed by the handling part.
(Kim) – “The transfer robot 30 includes a vertical transfer unit 31 provided to be movable upward and downward from the drawer unit 20 in the vertical direction, a robot arm 32 installed at the upper end of the vertical transfer unit 31 in the horizontal direction, a rotation unit 33 to support the robot arm 32 such that the robot arm 32 is rotatable in the horizontal direction about the vertical transfer unit 31, and the holding unit 100 installed at the end of the robot arm 32 to hold the probe card P. A portion of the transfer robot 30 may be disposed on a side of the vertical part 25 of the drawer unit 20.” (Para 0057)
“First, a worker travels the carriage 1 to be located close to the tester (not shown)…When extension of the drawer unit 20, the support device 50 and the fall prevention unit 90 have been completed, the probe card P from the slot 11a is held by the holding unit 100, and rotation of the holding unit 100, extension of the robot arm 32, downward movement of the holding unit 100, and loading of the probe card P on the tester are sequentially executed.” (Para 0089)
“Thereafter, when transfer of the probe card P to the tester has been completed, such operations are executed in reverse order.” (Para 0090)
“According to the above described embodiments, a probe card handling carriage has been disclosed which is capable of safely transferring probe cards of various standards and dimensions.” (Para 0091)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection. This notation convention will be used throughout the rejection unless otherwise specified.
Kim does not explicitly teach:
disposed at the destination … at the destination while the replacement target object is acquired
Dan, in the same field of endeavor of autonomous handling equipment, teaches:
disposed at the destination … at the destination
(Dan) – “firstly, the control system controls the running mechanism to run so as to move the unloaded autonomous moving transfer robot to a first position in which the target object is stored; …Then, the running mechanism is controlled to run so as to move the autonomous moving transfer robot and target object loaded thereof to a second position to which the target objects are to be transferred, and the target objects are in turn gripped by the manipulators from the corresponding bearers and moved to corresponding storage positions in the second position, thereby achieving the “unloading” of the target objects. In the process, the position of the autonomous moving transfer robot could be changed by controlling the running mechanism to run so as to facilitate the operation of the manipulators.” (Col 2 Ln 1-26)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the probe card handling carriage of Kim with the autonomous moving transfer robot of Dan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, “to achieve efficient, economical and flexible unmanned production” (Dan Col 1 Ln 27-28)
Dan does not explicitly teach:
while the replacement target object is acquired
Hae Chul, in the same field of endeavor of robotic manipulators, teaches:
while the replacement target object is acquired
(Kim Hae Chul) – “The apparatus 100 includes a wafer conveying system for taking out the wafer W4 from the cassette holding units 161 and 162 and simultaneously placing the wafer W4 in one of the processing units 111-127.” (Para 28)
“A wafer buffer station is provided to arbitrarily select the front and back surfaces of a wafer and perform a predetermined treatment process by varying the vertical position of upper and lower edge grippers. An upper edge gripper(141A) is assembled with a rod which is able to be rotated, and loads a first wafer. A lower edge gripper(141B) loads a second wafer, combined with the rod in a manner that is vertically separated from the upper edge gripper. A driving part rotates the rod with respect to the axis of the rod, combined with the rod. The upper and lower edge grippers are varied in vertical position by the rotation of the rod.” (Abstract)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the probe card handling carriage of Kim with the upper and lower edge grippers of Kim Hae Chul. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “in that the equipment is to increase the rate of operation there is a cost savings as well as eliminating the need for new investment” (Kim Hae Chul Para 22)
Claim 17:
Rejected based on the same rationale as Claim 2
Claim 18:
Rejected based on the same rationale as Claim 3
Claim 19:
Rejected based on the same rationale as Claim 4
Claim 20:
Rejected based on the same rationale as Claim 5
Response to Arguments
The Claim Objections mailed 02/09/2026 has been withdrawn as the amendments filed 04/03/2026 sufficiently overcome this rejection.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim interpretation mailed 02/09/2026 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Specifically, the Applicant argues:
“The Office Action maintains the invocation of 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) with regard to the claim term "a driving part" without providing any response to our argument filed on December 15, 2025.
Applicants continue to believe the term "driving part" is an unmistakable physical thing, on which a handling part is positioned, performs autonomous driving and obstacle recognition on the driving path (see par. 31 of the instant application), and thus there is no need to invoke § 112(f) to interpret the meaning of "driving part."
Accordingly, Applicants request the Examiner to reconsider and withdraw the thee invocation of § 112(f) with regard to the term "driving part."”
However this is not convincing. Specifically, Applicant’s assertion that the invocation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) was maintained “without providing any response to our argument” is demonstrably untrue. A response was explicitly provided on page 43-44 of the office action mailed 02/09/2026. Applicant fails to address any portion of the aforementioned response. As previously discussed, Applicant fails to address the three prong test used for establishing the need for interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Applicant’s argument seems to reinforce the need to interpret under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) by referring to the element as a generic term (i.e. “thing”) and referencing the specification (i.e. “par. 31”) for description of the term. It is unclear how this reference to the specification can possibly support the assertion that the specification should not be relied upon in interpreting the limitation. As such the term still invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection mailed 09/15/2025 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Specifically, the Applicant argues:
“The Examiner alleges that Kim teaches the handling part as recited in claim 1. Applicants note, however, that Kim merely teaches a conventional robot arm with a holding unit, which performs a single gripping function, without any functional separation or cooperative interaction between distinct units. Thus, Kim fails to specifically disclose or fairly teach "a pickup unit configured to perform a first pickup operation of lifting the target object" and "an acquisition unit configured to perform a first acquisition operation of acquiring the target object lifted by the pickup unit," as required by claim 1 as amended.
Furthermore, Kim merely performs a simple gripping and transfer operation. In other words, Kim fails to teach that the alleged handling part is configured to perform a first pickup operation and a first acquisition operation with regard to the target object, and configured to perform a second pickup operation and a second acquisition operation with regard to the replacement target object at the destination. Thus, Kim fails to specifically disclose or fairly teach "wherein the handling part comprises ... a pickup unit ... configured to perform a first pickup operation of lifting the target object, and an acquisition unit ... configured to perform a first acquisition operation of acquiring the target object lifted by the pickup unit," and "wherein the handling part is further configured, with respect to the replacement target object disposed at a destination to which the target object is transported, to perform a second pickup operation of lifting the replacement target object and a second acquisition operation of acquiring the replacement target object," as required by claim 1 as amended.
Claim 1 as amended specifically requires that the handling part is "configured to, with respect to the replacement target object disposed at a destination to which the target object is transported, to perform a second replacement operation of lifting the replacement target object." Applicants note that Kim is entirely silent as to any replacement operation, and thus does not contemplate releasing one object while acquiring another object in a coordinated manner.
From even a cursory review of Dan, it is readily apparent that Dan fails to cure the above deficiencies of Kim with regard to claim 1.
For at least the reasons set forth above, a prima facie case of obviousness has not been established with regard to claim 1. Consequently, a prima facie case of obviousness has not been established with regard to claims 2-4, 13, and 14, at least by virtue of their dependency from claim 1.
Claims 15 and 16 have been amended to recite similar limitations as claim 1. Accordingly, a prima facie case of obviousness has not been established with regard to claims 15 and 16 for at least reasons somewhat similar to those discussed above with regard to claim 1. Consequently, a prima facie case of obviousness has not been established with regard to claims 17-19, at least by virtue of their dependency from claim 16.
Accordingly, Applicants respectfully request the Examiner to reconsider and withdraw the above rejection.”
However this is not convincing. Examiner maintains that the prior art of record teaches every claimed limitation. When taken per BRI, Examiner believes that the pickup and acquisition steps as claimed may correspond to repeated operations of as described in the examiner notes above in the rejection rationale. As currently claimed, the specific nature of the multiple pickup and acquisition operations as alleged in the Applicant’s arguments is not explicit. Amending to better clarify the nature of these may be able to overcome this, however.
As such, as fully evidenced in the above rejection rationale, all claims remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mizoguchi (US20220241963) teaches simultaneous and sequential gripping and release of objects.
/DAVID RUBEN PEDERSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3658