DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed August 17th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-5 remain pending in the application. Claims 2-4 have been withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 & 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endoh et al. (US 20080118806 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Endoh teaches a membrane electrode assembly (Par. 0001; “membrane-electrode assembly”) comprising: a solid polymer electrolyte membrane (Par. 0001); an anode catalyst layer disposed on one surface of the solid polymer electrolyte membrane (Par. 0045, a catalyst layer is placed on each side of the membrane; Par. 0046, one catalyst layer functions as an anode); and a cathode catalyst layer disposed on the other surface of the solid polymer electrolyte membrane (Par. 0045, a catalyst layer is placed on each side of the membrane; Par. 0046, one catalyst layer functions as a cathode), wherein the anode catalyst layer at least comprises an electrode catalyst (Par. 0046, the anode catalyst layer contains a catalyst; Par. 0047, the catalyst is either platinum or a platinum alloy), an ionomer having sulfonate group (Par. 0049; catalyst layer contains an ion-exchange resin, made of a perfluorocarbon polymer having sulfonic acid groups), cerium ions (Par. 0049; the catalyst layer contains an ion-exchange resin, which contains cerium ions), and a host compound capable of forming an inclusion compound with the metal ion (Par. 0049, the catalyst layer’s ion-exchange resin may contain an organic compound (X); Par. 0013, the organic compound (X) is capable of forming an inclusion compound with the cerium metal ions, therefore the organic compound (X) serves as a host compound). Endoh teaches that a crown ether is used and that a crown ether other than the exemplary compositions can be used (Par. 0021-22). However, Endoh teaches 12-crown-4,15-crown-5 or 18-crown-6, and dibenzo-18-crown-6, dicyclohexano-18-crown-6, and (+)-(18-crown-6)-2,3,11,12-tetracarboxylic acid, and does not specifically provide 21-crown-7-ether, 24-crown-8-ether, or benzo-18-crown-6-ether. However, Endoh teaches that crown ethers and their derivatives having a crown ether structure may be used (Par. 0021; “it may, for example, be a crown ether such as … 18-crown-6, a crown ether derivative such as dibenzo-18-crown-6, dicyclohexano-18-crown-6 or (+)-(18-crown-6)-2,3,11,12-tetracarboxylic acid, or a crown ether other than the above”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the anode catalyst layer taught by Endoh by incorporating benzo-18-crown-6-ether, which is a derivative of 18-crown-6-ether, as the host compound. One of ordinary skill would have recognized that the derivative benzo-18-crown-6-ether is a suitable material for a host compound, as stated in Endoh.
Regarding claim 5, modified Endoh teaches the membrane electrode assembly of claim 1, wherein the ionomer is a perfluoro sulfonic acid polymer (Par. 0049; catalyst layer contains an ion-exchange resin, made of a perfluorocarbon polymer having sulfonic acid groups).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed August 17th, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-5 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) over Endoh have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Endoh.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CAMERON M BAIRD/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728