Applicant’s submission of a Response
Applicant’s submission of a response was received on 11/20/2025. Presently, claims 1-10 are now pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 11/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s representative asserts that the amended claims limitations are not met. However, the rejection of claims 1-10 is maintained as presented below. Moreover, in light of the amendments to the claims, new rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been presented, as discussed in detail below.
Applicant’s representative alleges the following:
In regards to Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. 103, applicant contends that the cited references fail to disclose the features recited in the amended claims.
Regarding point (1), the examiner notes that these limitations are disclosed or taught in the prior art references.
Applicant’s representative argues that the screen shot pictures set forth in the Office Action are too unclear to rely on as disclosing the claimed features. In response to the arguments above, the screenshots serve as a way to visualize the prior art since most of these features are inherently included in the game, and some other features were added later after patch 1.3.27, which released in August 1st, 2018. However, these features will be clarified in the rejection below and show a newly found prior art reference of Farm Together as evidenced by Farm Together Wiki (necessitated by applicant’s amendment) (See office action below).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, since they recite similar features to claim 1, claims 9 and 10 and all dependent claims will be rejected as stated above. Therefore, the rejection is maintained as present below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stardew Valley as evidenced by Stardew Valley Wiki (hereinafter Stardew) in view of Farm Together as evidenced by Farm Together Wiki (hereinafter Farm Wiki).
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 10, Stardew discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a game program to be executed by a computer including a processor (inherent because Stardew valley is played mainly on a computer, Nintendo Switch, PlayStation, Xbox, or mobile devices), the game program causing the processor to execute: presenting a game field of a first player (in Stardew valley a host player can inherently create a game field to share the space with other players and will be presented to the players, this multiplayer feature was introduced in patch 1.3.27 released in August 1st, 2018 as shown in the Figure below),
to the first player; matching the first player and a plurality of second players from the first player (inherent to multiplayer mode to match with other players because coop matches players together; as shown above in the Multiplayer Section above), based on an input operation of the first player and an input operation of the plurality of second players (selecting Co-op from menu requires input from the host player to create the space as shown below in the “Creating a multiplayer world Section” and input from the other players is inherently needed to accept an invitation to the coop field or enter an invitation code);
and associating a shared game object shared by first player and the second players (in coop mode, players inherently share the farmland and everything that grows on it, the crops planted or animals would be the shared game object shared by the first player and second players; shown below in the Gameplay section),
respectively, with the plurality of second players matched with the first player, wherein the presenting comprises: arranging both a game object that only the first player can operate (in Stardew valley, the farmland and everything that grows is shared by all matched players, however, only the host player can inherently arrange certain game objects, such as buildings inside this shared space) and the shared game object (planting crops is considered arranging because you are placing crops in specific places in the field), and performing the presenting of the game field of the first player to the first player (this is all inherently presented to the first player and all the players in the shared farm). Stardew does not explicitly disclose that only the first player can operate the shared game object, but examiner notes only the host player is inherently able to arrange certain objects in the farm (such as buildings). Furthermore, Stardew does not explicitly disclose associated with a second player selected by the first player from among the shared game object respectively associated with the plurality of second players matched with the first player.
However, Farm Wiki relates to another farming game that allows users to match together and the host of the farm can edit what permissions other players have on their farm, which relates to Stardew because they are both farm multiplayer games. Farm Wiki teaches only the first player can operate the shared game object (the host player can make sure that he sets permissions so that no one else can operate the crops; see Fig below);
The shared object associated with a second player selected by the first player from among the shared game object respectively associated with the plurality of second players matched with the first player (in the permissions, the host player can inherently choose what permission a player will have in their farm, it allows a selected player to arrange the shared game object by allowing a player to plant crops).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Stardew to implement the teachings of Farm Wiki for the benefit of allowing the host player to restrict actions of other users in the farm. Although the farm can be a shared space, this space is hosted by the first user and he needs to have full control of the space and what is being done in the space.
Regarding claim 2, Stardew discloses wherein the shared game object is configured to enable the first player and the second players to acquire a different game object (this is just harvesting the crops or animals by any of the matched players and this is an inherent feature of Stardew valley; shown below in the Experience Section),
by establishment of a predetermined condition (the predetermined condition is the crop or animal being ready for harvest) in a state where the first and the second players are matched (between 1-4 players are inherently matched in coop mode), and the game program causes the processor to execute accepting an input operation for acquiring the different game object (left click or c can be used to plant or harvest in the farm, which serves to acquire the product of harvesting crops; as shown below in the Keyboard and Mouse Section).
Stardew does not explicitly disclose accepting an input operation for acquiring the different game object only from the first player or an input operation for acquiring the different game object only from the second players matched with the first player.
However, Farm Wiki relates to another farming game that allows users to match together and the host of the farm can edit what permissions other players have on their farm, which relates to Stardew because they are both farm multiplayer games. Farm Wiki teaches accepting an input operation for acquiring the different game object only from the first player or an input operation for acquiring the different game object only from the second players matched with the first player (in the permissions, the host player can inherently choose what permission a player will have in their farm, it allows a selected player to arrange the shared game object by allowing a player to plant crops, here the host player can allow himself to be the only one to harvest the crops by editing the permissions).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Stardew to implement the teachings of Farm Wiki for the benefit of allowing the host player to restrict actions of other users in the farm. Although the farm can be a shared space, this space is hosted by the first user and he needs to have full control of the space and what is being done in the space.
Regarding claim 3, Stardew discloses wherein the accepting comprises causing at least one of the first player and the second players matched with the first player to acquire the different game object even when both the first player and the second players matched with the first player do not perform the input operation for the acquisition (this is basically a functionality to harvest crops without input from any of the players and this can be done with the Auto-Grabber from Stardew Valley, which automatically harvests animals as shown below and this feature was added in patch 1.3.27 released in August 1st, 2018; see figures below).
Regarding claim 4, Stardew discloses wherein the accepting comprises causing the first player and the second players matched with the first player to acquire the different game object (the different game object would be the product of the crop being harvested and this is inherent because all matched players can use left click or c to place crops or harvest them; shown below in the Keyboard and Mouse Section).
Regarding claim 5, Stardew discloses wherein the game program causes the processor to execute: arranging a first game object (placing the crops is considered arranging) for which the input operation for acquiring the different game object is accepted only from the first player, in the game field; and changing a parameter of the first game object arranged in the game field based on the acceptance of the input operation for acquiring the different game object from the first player (inherent because game objects have multiple parameters, for example here the parameter of the crop can go from “planted” to “harvested” or “planted” to “acquired” after being acquired). Stardew does not explicitly disclose the input operation for acquiring the different game object is accepted only from the first player, in the game field, but examiner notes only the host player is inherently able to arrange certain objects in the farm (such as buildings).
However, Farm Wiki relates to another farming game that allows users to match together and the host of the farm can edit what permissions other players have on their farm, which relates to Stardew because they are both farm multiplayer games. Farm Wiki teaches the input operation for acquiring the different game object is accepted only from the first player, in the game field (in the permissions, the host player can inherently choose what permission a player will have in their farm, it allows the host player to be the only one capable of planting and harvesting crops by restricting what other players can do).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Stardew to implement the teachings of Farm Wiki for the benefit of allowing the host player to restrict actions of other users in the farm. Although the farm can be a shared space, this space is hosted by the first user and he needs to have full control of the space and what is being done in the space.
Regarding claim 6, Stardew discloses wherein the game program causes the processor to execute: displaying information of a plurality of other players matched with the first player (the friends tab, depending on what platform you are using will show information from the players matched with the host players. For example: steam friend list will be able to show the friends you have in coop of Stardew valley); accepting an operation of specifying any one of the plurality of other matched players, from the first player (host player can inherently open friend menu on steam and specify which player he wants to check for their information); and arranging, in the first game field, the shared game object associated with the specified player and the first player in response to acceptance of the operation of specifying (inherent to this game because planting the seeds is considered arranging and any of the players specified can plant seeds). Stardew does not explicitly disclose displaying information of a plurality of other players matched with the first player, on a screen on which game field is displayed to the first player.
However, Farm Wiki relates to another farming game that allows users to match together and the host of the farm can edit what permissions other players have on their farm, which relates to Stardew because they are both farm multiplayer games. Farm Wiki teaches displaying information of a plurality of other players matched with the first player, on a screen on which game field is displayed to the first player (when you press ESC you can see more information about the other people on the farm, such as people’s name, etc.; See Controls in-game section below).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Stardew to implement the teachings of Farm Wiki for the benefit of allowing the host player to know the details of each player on their farm, and keep track of who they are and what they are doing.
Regarding claim 7, Stardew discloses wherein the game program causes the processor to execute arranging, in the first field (planting crops is considered arranging), only the shared game object associated with the first player and the specified player, among shared game objects each associated with respective one of the plurality of other matched players (this is inherent because the specified player or specified players are the players chosen by the host player in the shared farm space and the only ones able to interact with harvesting the crops; shown below in the Multiplayer Section).
Regarding claim 8, Stardew discloses wherein an area for arranging the shared game object in the game field is fixed irrespective of which one of the plurality of other players matched is specified by the first player (an inherent feature of Stardew valley is that crops can’t be moved once planted, therefore the arranging of the shared object is fixed).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSE ANGELES/Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/DMITRY SUHOL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715