DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 11, 24, 25, and 28 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3, line 3, states “provided a desired thickness” but should read --provides a desired thickness--.
Claim 11, line 1 states “wherein each V-cuts” but should read --wherein each V-cut of the plurality of V-cuts-- for grammar and antecedent basis.
Claim 24, lines 3-4, states “provided a desired thickness” but should read --provides a desired thickness--.
Claims 25 and 28, line 1, state “The penile sleeve” but should read --The penile sleeve device--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 and 23-26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 8, recites the limitation "a shorter arcuate shaped configuration" which renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear what the arcuate shaped configuration is being compared to.
Claim 1, line 16, recites the limitation " the silicone material" but line 7 recites “a bio-implantable reinforced silicon rubber” which renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear if the silicone material is referencing the silicon rubber of line 7.
Claims 2-21 inherit the same deficiencies.
Claims 2 and 23, line 2 recite “a non-dissolvable/absorbable bio-implantable netting/mesh material” which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if the “/” is intended to be “and” or “or”.
Claims 3, 4, 24 and 25 inherit the same deficiencies.
Claims 26 and 28 recite the limitation "said mesh layer" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-11, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cornell (US20200022812A1) in view of Loria (US9877835B1) and further in view of Elist (US20210361433A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cornell discloses a penile sleeve device configured for implantation in the subcutaneous space of a patient's penis for enhancing or correcting penis shape and size (Abstract), the penis having a glans, a penile shaft, penile dermis and an associated pubic area of the patient (Figure 14B), said penile sleeve device comprising an elongated member having a longitudinal axis (Figure 1) and formed of a bio-implantable reinforced silicon rubber (Paragraphs [0032], [0044])), said elongated member having a distal portion comprising a C-shaped configuration (Figure 1 and Figure 4) and having a proximal portion having a shorter arcuate shaped configuration (Figure 1 and Figure 3, the interior circumference of the proximal portion is smaller than the interior circumference of the distal portion (Figure 4)) and wherein said elongated member further comprises a transitional portion formed between said distal portion and said proximal portion (Figure 2, this could be interpreted as the straight portion of the device), said distal portion configured for implantation on the patient's penile shaft adjacent the glans of the patient's penis and said proximal portion configured for implantation on the patient's penile shaft adjacent the pubic area of the patient (Paragraph [0048]), said elongated member having a pair of longitudinal edges from said distal portion, through said transitional portion and through said proximal portion (Figure 2).
Cornell does not disclose said longitudinal edges each comprise a plurality of V-cuts transversely oriented with regard to said longitudinal axis (the limitation “to avoid or minimize any buckling of the silicone material in said penile sleeve device if the penis is ever rotated or twisted with said penile sleeve device implanted therein.” Is written as intended use). Loria discloses a penile insert device effective to prevent retraction of the penis and to increase the length of a penis in its flaccid or erect state. Loria further discloses the insert device comprises a plurality of alternating lateral plateaus and lateral valleys (Abstract) which serve to provide for a bendable device that can move with the movement of the penis without causing discomfort to the user (Col 2, lines 14-15). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as taught by Cornell, with the longitudinal edges each comprising a plurality of V-cuts transversely oriented with regard to said longitudinal axis as taught by Loria, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of a bendable device that can move with the movement of the penis without causing discomfort to the user (Loria, Col 2, lines 14-15).
Cornell, as modified by Loria, discloses mesh tabs located at the proximal and distal ends of the elongate body for the purpose of suturing the implant and promoting tissue ingrowth (Cornell, Paragraph [0049]). Modified Cornell does not disclose a mesh cover surrounding said elongated member for enhancing anchoring of said elongated member in the penile dermis. Elist discloses a genital implant enhancement device wherein the genital implant device comprises an elongated cylindrical sleeve that is configured to encircle a shaft of a penis (Abstract). Elist further discloses using a mesh layer as the external layer to the device in order to enable tissue ingrowth (Paragraph [0021]) wherein the mesh is configured to cover the sleeve (Paragraph [0062]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as taught by modified Cornell, with a mesh cover surrounding said elongated member for enhancing anchoring of said elongated member in the penile dermis as taught by Elist, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of better allowing the patient to acclimate to the device through tissue ingrowth (Elist, Paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 2, Cornell, as modified by Elist, further discloses said mesh cover includes a mesh layer comprising a non-dissolvable/absorbable bio-implantable netting/mesh material (Elist, Paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Cornell, as modified by Elist, further discloses said mesh layer is coupled to said elongated member with dissolvable sutures (Elist, Paragraphs [0032], [0033]).
Regarding claim 7, Cornell, as modified by Elist further discloses said mesh layer is formed into a shape similar to a shape of said elongated member to form a snug fit around said elongated member (Paragraph [0062]).
Regarding claims 8-10, modified Cornell did not previously disclose said penile sleeve device comprises a length in the range of 1.5-9 inches. Loria discloses the penile insert may be manufactured to have an initial length of about 9-12 inches and then cut down to size to fit each recipient individually and to a desired flaccid penile length (Col 6, lines 6-13). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as taught by modified Cornell, with said penile sleeve device comprising a length to fit each recipient individually and to a desired flaccid penile length as taught by Loria, and since the length disclosed by Loria is greater than 9 inches, it would have been obvious to modified the device to a length in a range of 1.5-9 inches in order to fit individual patients.
Regarding claim 11, Cornell, as modified by Loria, discloses each V-cut is oriented such that a wider opening of said V-cut is along a longitudinal edge, with said V -cut tapering down in a direction towards a dorsal region of said penile sleeve device (Loria, Figure 1).
Regarding claim 14, Cornell, as modified by Loria, discloses said elongated member comprises a
durometer of Shore A (40-50) (Cornell, Paragraph [0034]).
Regrading claims 15-17, Cornell, as modified by Loria, discloses the elongate edges to include distal and proximal portions have pillowed or rounded edges (Cornell, Paragraph [0048]).
Regarding claim 18, Cornell, as modified by Loria, discloses thickness of said elongated member in a portion of said distal portion increases towards a thickness of said elongated member in said transitional portion (Paragraph [0048]).
Claim(s) 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cornell (US20200022812A1) in view of Loria (US9877835B1) and Elist (US20210361433A1) and further in view of Yachia (US4602625A).
Regarding claim 3, modified Cornell does not disclose said mesh cover further comprises at least one silicone sheet coupled to said mesh layer, said at least one silicone sheet comprising silicone sheeting material that is non-reinforced, said at least one silicone sheet provided a desired thickness to said mesh cover. Yachia discloses a penile erectile system for treating male impotency comprising a sleeve of biocompatible material (Abstract) wherein the sleeve is encased in a smooth outer cover of silicone coated mesh (Col 3, lines 61-64, Figure 1, “27”). The coating of silicone can be interpreted as layer or sheet of silicone and the coating would be non-reinforced before it is coupled to the mesh. The coupled mesh and silicone would provide a desired thickness by design. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as taught by modified Cornell, with a mesh cover that further comprises at least one silicone sheet coupled to said mesh layer, said at least one silicone sheet comprising silicone sheeting material that is non-reinforced, said at least one silicone sheet provided a desired thickness to said mesh cover as taught by Yachia, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of controlled elasticity (Col 3, lines 61-64).
Regarding claim 4, Cornell, as modified by Loria and Elist, disclosed the mesh cover is coupled to the elongate member with sutures in claim 5 supra. As Cornell, modified in claim 3 by Yachia, discloses the silicone coats the mesh, as the mesh is sutured to the elongated member, the silicone would also be coupled to the mesh via suture.
Claim(s) 22, 23, and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cornell (US20200022812A1) in view of Elist (US20210361433A1).
Regarding claim 22, Cornell discloses a penile sleeve device configured for implantation in the subcutaneous space of a patient’s penis for enhancing or correcting penis shape and size (Abstract), the penis having a glans, a penile shaft, penile dermis and an associated pubic area of the patient (Figure 14B), said penile sleeve device comprising: an elongated tubular section (Figure 1) comprising a flexible elastomer for maintaining the penis outstretched in a flaccid or erect state (Paragraph [0044]) and a high durometer silicone rubber material providing hardness and structural support features (Paragraph [0033], the hardness of the material varies based on design need), said elongated tubular section having a proximal end flange (Figure 1, “116”), configured for positioning near the pubic bone (Paragraph [0048]), and having a tapered distal end (Figure 1), configured for positioning adjacent the glans of the penis (Paragraph [0048]), said elongated tubular section being configured to be positioned around the penile shaft in the subcutaneous space of the patient’s penis )Figures 14B and 14C)
Cornell discloses mesh tabs located at the proximal and distal ends of the elongate body for the purpose of suturing the implant and promoting tissue ingrowth (Cornell, Paragraph [0049]). Cornell does not disclose said elongated tubular section further comprises a mesh cover surrounding said elongated member for enhancing anchoring of said elongated member in the penile dermis. Elist discloses a genital implant enhancement device wherein the genital implant device comprises an elongated cylindrical sleeve that is configured to encircle a shaft of a penis (Abstract). Elist further discloses using a mesh layer as the external layer to the device in order to enable tissue ingrowth (Paragraph [0021]) wherein the mesh is configured to cover the sleeve (Paragraph [0062]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as taught by Cornell, with a mesh cover surrounding said elongated member for enhancing anchoring of said elongated member in the penile dermis as taught by Elist, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of better allowing the patient to acclimate to the device through tissue ingrowth (Elist, Paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 23, Cornell, as modified by Elist, further discloses said mesh cover includes a mesh layer comprising a non-dissolvable/absorbable bio-implantable netting/mesh material (Elist, Paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claims 26 and 27, Cornell, as modified by Elist, further discloses said mesh layer is coupled to said elongated member with dissolvable sutures (Elist, Paragraphs [0032], [0033]).
Regarding claim 28, Cornell, as modified by Elist, further discloses said mesh layer is formed into a shape similar to a shape of said elongated member to form a snug fit around said elongated member (Elist, Paragraph [0062]).
Claim(s) 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cornell (US20200022812A1) in view of Elist (US20210361433A1) and further in view of Yachia (US4602625A).
Regarding claim 24, modified Cornell does not disclose said mesh cover further comprises at least one silicone sheet coupled to said mesh layer, said at least one silicone sheet comprising silicone sheeting material that is non-reinforced, said at least one silicone sheet provided a desired thickness to said mesh cover. Yachia discloses a penile erectile system for treating male impotency comprising a sleeve of biocompatible material (Abstract) wherein the sleeve is encased in a smooth outer cover of silicone coated mesh (Col 3, lines 61-64, Figure 1, “27”). The coating of silicone can be interpreted as layer or sheet of silicone and the coating would be non-reinforced before it is coupled to the mesh. The coupled mesh and silicone would provide a desired thickness by design. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as taught by modified Cornell, with a mesh cover further comprises at least one silicone sheet coupled to said mesh layer, said at least one silicone sheet comprising silicone sheeting material that is non-reinforced, said at least one silicone sheet provided a desired thickness to said mesh cover as taught by Yachia, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of controlled elasticity (Col 3, lines 61-64).
Regarding claim 25, Cornell, as modified by Loria and Elist, disclosed the mesh cover is coupled to the elongate member with sutures in claim 26 5 supra. As Cornell, modified in claim 24 by Yachia, discloses the silicone coats the mesh, as the mesh is sutured to the elongated member, the silicone would also be coupled to the mesh via suture.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 11-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-12 of copending Application No. 17/994,874 in view of Elist (US20210361433A1). Claims 1 and 11-21 of the instant application are identical to claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 17/994,874, except for claim 1 of the instant application recites “mesh cover surrounding said elongated member for enhancing anchoring of said elongated member in the penile dermis.” Elist discloses a genital implant enhancement device wherein the genital implant device comprises an elongated cylindrical sleeve that is configured to encircle a shaft of a penis (Abstract). Elist further discloses using a mesh layer as the external layer to the device in order to enable tissue ingrowth (Paragraph [0021]) wherein the mesh is configured to cover the sleeve (Paragraph [0062]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as taught by claims of the copending application, with a mesh cover surrounding said elongated member for enhancing anchoring of said elongated member in the penile dermis as taught by Elist, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of better allowing the patient to acclimate to the device through tissue ingrowth (Elist, Paragraph [0021]).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/CHARLES A MARMOR II/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/M.D.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3791