DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment/arguments filed on 7/15/2026 which was in response to the office action mailed on 4/9/2026 (hereinafter the prior office action).
Claim(s) 1-21 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 1 and 12 is/are amended.
Claim(s) 1 and 12 is/are independent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 7/15/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states in Pg. 6-7 in “Remarks” that Gottron fails to teach distributed control at a field device level because Gottron discloses a switch for connecting devices, not what runs on the field device.
Examiner respectfully disagrees because Gottron teaches more than just a switch. Gottron teaches Applicant’s control implemented via a field device because Gottron discloses in Para. 2 and 37 that a device can be part of field device where control is distributed over field devices.
Applicant further states in Pg. 7 in “Remarks” that Gottron does not teach virtual controller.
Examiner respectfully disagrees because Gottron discloses in Para. 2 that virtual machines are implemented in industrial automation, i.e. on the field device, where Gottron’s invention is set in such a setting using the virtual machines.
Applicant further states in Pg. 7 in “Remarks” that Gottron does not teach virtual controller configured to provide one or more of historian, workstation, and HMI functionality on the field device.
Examiner respectfully disagrees because Gottron discloses in Para. 2 and 37 that a device can be part of field device where control is distributed over field devices, where the devices are implemented in industrial automation which includes workstation/HMI functionality, etc.
Applicant further states in Pg. 8 in “Remarks” that Gottron does not teach in claim 3 managing resources, automated device operating system and application management in an industrial network.
Examiner respectfully disagrees because Gottron discloses in Para. 1 that controller is implemented in an industrial network; further Gottron discloses in Para. 2 that virtual machines are implemented in industrial automation, i.e. on the field device. Industrial automation thus includes the managing of resources, automation and application management as recited in the claim.
Applicant further states in Pg. 8 in “Remarks” that Gottron does not teach in claim 5 machine-learned model.
Examiner respectfully disagrees because claim 5 recites the model encapsulating Layer 1 (APL) and above control in the field device. Gottron discloses in Para. 26 that APL is used; further, Gottron discloses Para. 7 in APL constitutes layer 1 extension. Thus, Gottron teaches encapsulating layer 1 and above.
Applicant further states in Pg. 8-9 in “Remarks” that Gottron does not teach in claim 6 a user-defined function.
Examiner respectfully disagrees because Gottron discloses in Para. 10 that functional group, i.e. block, is used, where such functional groups are defined by user and not discloses as an automatically generated functional block. Thus Gottron teaches user-defined function.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited in the information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 7/15/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gottron et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0006864) (hereinafter “Gottron”).
Regarding claim 1 and corresponding claim 12, Gottron teaches an Intrinsically Safe (IS) Advanced Physical Layer (APL) based low power field device, (Para. 26 - - intrinsically safe advanced physical layer based device is used; Para. 37 - - device can be part of field device)
comprising: a processor; and a memory storing processor-executable instructions that, when executed, configure the processor (Para. 3 - - computer units comprise processors with memory)
to implement a virtual controller on the field device, (Para. 2 - - virtual machines are implemented in industrial automation, i.e. on the field device)
the virtual controller configured to provide distributed control at a field device level and one or more of historian, workstation, and HMI functionality on the field device. (Para. 2, 37 - - device can be part of field device where control is distributed over field devices)
Regarding claim 2 and corresponding claim 18, Gottron teaches one or more analog interfaces for at least one of a current-driven and a voltage-driven Layer 0 device; and an IS APL connection providing power to the field device and the Layer 0 device. (Fig. 1 - - analog interface is used; Para. 26 - - power is transmitted)
Regarding claim 3 and corresponding claim 13, Gottron teaches wherein the virtual controller implemented on the field device is configured for managing resources in conjunction with an automated device operating system and application management in an industrial network. (Para. 1 - - controller is implemented in an industrial network; Para. 2 - - virtual machines are implemented in industrial automation, i.e. on the field device)
Regarding claim 4 and corresponding claim 14, Gottron teaches to operate the field device as a managed resource of an industrial network. (Para. 1 - - controller is implemented in an industrial network)
Regarding claim 5 and corresponding claim 15, Gottron teaches to generate a machine-learned model for encapsulating Layer 1 and above control in the field device. (Para. 26 - - APL is used; Para. 7 - - APL constitutes layer 1 extension)
Regarding claim 6 and corresponding claim 16, Gottron teaches wherein the machined-learned model comprises a user- defined function block executed by the processor. (Para. 10 - - functional group, i.e. block, is used)
Regarding claim 7 and corresponding claim 17, Gottron teaches wherein the user-defined function block provides an interface to one or more inputs/outputs configured to be connected in a virtual control system for controlling and/or monitoring of a Layer 0 device. (Para. 26-27 - - data is received, i.e. monitored, and transmitted for control of field devices)
Regarding claim 8 and corresponding claim 19, Gottron teaches to enable gateway functionality between one or more field device protocols and one or more industrial network protocols. (Para. 27 - - coding of signals is changed/mapped, i.e. gateway functionality is enabled between different protocols)
Regarding claim 9 and corresponding claim 20, Gottron teaches wherein the industrial network protocols are configured to operate the field device as an OPC-UA/FX server with publish/subscribe support for OPC- UA/FX clients. (Para. 27 - - coding of signals is changed/mapped, i.e. gateway functionality is enabled between different protocols)
Regarding claim 10, Gottron teaches at least one physical APL 10BaseT1 port connecting the field device to an industrial network an APL switch. (Para. 1, 37 - - field devices in industrial network are connected using switch)
Regarding claim 11 and corresponding claim 21, Gottron teaches an APL Internet Protocol (IP) interface; (Para. 26 - - APL is used, and devices are galvanically isolated)
one or more galvanically isolated digital inputs coupled to the APL IP interface and configured for coupling one or more external digital circuits to the field device via the APL IP interface; (Para. 26 - - APL is used, and devices are galvanically isolated; Para. 26-27 - - data is received, i.e. monitored, and transmitted for control of field devices, i.e. inputs and outputs)
and one or more galvanically isolated digital outputs coupled to the APL IP interface and configured for coupling the one or more external digital circuits to the field device via the APL IP interface, (Para. 26 - - devices are galvanically isolated; Para. 26-27 - - data is received, i.e. monitored, and transmitted for control of field devices, i.e. inputs and outputs)
wherein the field device is configured for monitoring and controlling the one or more external digital circuits through IP via the APL IP interface. (Para. 26-27 - - data is received, i.e. monitored, and transmitted for control of field devices)
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0221002 by Gustafsson, which discloses machining unit for machining a component including an industrial robot (Title/Abstract).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAAD M KABIR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119