DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-27 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 2/24/2026, with respect to claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claims 1-27 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3, 5-10, 13, 15, 17-21, 26, and 27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-8, 10, 13, 15, 17-20, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakis et al. (US PG Pub 2023/0354436, which was cited in the prior office action) in view of Han et al. (US PG Pub 2025/0267721) and Myung et al. (US PG Pub 2024/0073842, which was cited in the prior office action).
As per claim 1, Manolakis et al. teach an apparatus configured for wireless communications, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors being configured to cause the apparatus [Manolakis, ¶ 0122 - 0124, 0126, fig. 8, elements 802, 804, 806, and 808, The reference teaches a generic apparatus structure for the UE and gNB (or satellite), which includes a processor (element 802), a memory (element 804) including program code (element 806), and a communications interface (element 808). The combined structure performs the operations disclosed.] to:
obtain a configuration for pre-compensating at least one transmission associated with at least one random access communication [Manolakis, ¶ 0107, “FIG. 6 illustrates an example of direct transmission of multiple random access preambles. Operations 601 to 606 may be similar to operations 501 to 506, respectively”, The UE receives a SSB and measures received power (see fig. 6, step 601, ¶ 0084). The UE further performs doppler measurement on the received SSB (see fig. 6, step 602 and fig. 5, step 501, ¶ 0084). This measurement is used to determine the carrier frequency offset (CFO, see steps 502 and 602, ¶ 0085). If GNSS quality is poor (see steps 504 and 604, ¶ 0099), the UE determines a number of pre-compensation values (see steps 507 and 607, ¶s 0102 and 0108), which are frequency offsets applied to a PRACH preamble based on doppler shift (see ¶ 0100).],
send a plurality of first transmissions for random access in accordance with the configuration [Manolakis, ¶ 0109, “At operation 608, UE 110 may transmit a plurality of RA preambles corresponding to the plurality of frequency pre-compensation values determined at operation 607. UE 110 apply each frequency pre-compensation value to a respective RA preamble, for example by frequency shifting the RA preamble. UE 110 may transmit the plurality of RA preambles (e.g. a burst of preambles) before the expected reception time of the RA response”, The RA preamble (or msg1, see also fig. 3, step 301, ¶ 0070) may be transmitted (see step 608) a number of times. The repeated RA preamble transmissions allow for a number frequency pre-compensation values to be used. The configuration is conveyed via SSB, as the UE may use the SSB to obtain pre-compensation values for transmission (see ¶s 0084 and 0085).],
after sending the plurality of first transmissions, receive one or more second transmissions [Manolakis, ¶ 0104, “At operation 509, UE 110 may determine whether an RA response has been received, for example within a predetermined time period (e.g. RA response period)”, The process concludes when a random access (RA) response (or RAR/msg2, see fig. 3, step 302, ¶ 0071) is received. While fig. 6 does not explicitly show the reception of a RAR, knowledge within the art and ¶ 0110 show this needs to be performed for successful connection setup.].
Manolakis et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the configuration comprises an indication of a total number of the plurality of first transmissions associated with the at least one random access communication…communicate with a network entity based at least in part on the one or more second transmissions.
However, in an analogous art, Han et al. teach wherein the configuration comprises an indication of a total number of the plurality of first transmissions associated with the at least one random access communication [Han, ¶ 0135, “Step 1201: A base station sends an SSB, PRACH configuration information, and a first set to a terminal, where the first set may also be referred to as a set of quantities of repetition times of a preamble”, Fig. 12 shows the configuration of a PRACH resource (see ¶ 0134). In step 1201, configuration is sent to the UE, which includes the number of repetitions for a RA preamble (or the first message).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to explicitly adopt the RACH configuration process as taught by Han et al. into Manolakis et al. One would have been motivated to do this, because the a quantity of ROs in a radio frame supports different TDD configurations (see Han, ¶ 0133) with a reasonable expectation of success.
Moreover, in an analogous art, Myung et al. teach, communicate with a network entity based at least in part on the one or more second transmissions [Myung, ¶ 0290, “In operation 2829, the UE applies TA, based on the TA control value included in the MAC CE and transmits a PUSCH/PUCCH. Transmission of PUSCH/PUCCH may represent transmission of at least one of the PUSCH and the PUCCH in various embodiments of the disclosure”, The PUSCH is used for scheduled uplink communications from the UE to the gNB. As a whole, fig. 28 is directed to a related method of adjusting timing advance for UEs in a NTN system (see ¶s 0286-0290). In particular, configuration information is obtained by the UE (see steps 2811-2815), PRACH is transmitted (see step 2819), and RAR information is received (see step 2823). At the conclusion of the RACH process, communication is performed between the UE and gNB.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to explicitly adopt the communication process after RACH as taught by Myung et al. into Manolakis et al. One would have been motivated to do this, because the RACH process is recognized as the first part of connection setup, and communication may be expected between a UE and a gNB after its conclusion.
As per claim 3, Manolakis et al. in view of Han et al. and Myung et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1. Manolakis et al. also teach wherein to send the plurality of first transmissions the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: for each transmission of the plurality of first transmissions, send that transmission with at least one of a different frequency shift to adjust a carrier frequency or a different timing shift to adjust a timing advance [Manolakis, ¶ 0109, “At operation 608, UE 110 may transmit a plurality of RA preambles corresponding to the plurality of frequency pre-compensation values determined at operation 607. UE 110 apply each frequency pre-compensation value to a respective RA preamble, for example by frequency shifting the RA preamble. UE 110 may transmit the plurality of RA preambles (e.g. a burst of preambles) before the expected reception time of the RA response”, The RA preamble (or msg1, see also fig. 3, step 301, ¶ 0070) may be transmitted (see step 608) a number of times. The repeated RA preamble transmissions allow for a number frequency pre-compensation values to be used. Msg2, which is returned as a result of successful reception of msg1, includes a time advance value/command (see ¶s 0060 and 0072).].
As per claim 5, Manolakis et al. in view of Han et al. and Myung et al. teach the apparatus of claim 3. Manolakis et al. also teach wherein: the respective frequency shift corresponds to applying a frequency pre-compensation for a Doppler shift associated with a communication link between the network entity and the apparatus [Manolakis, ¶ 0109, “At operation 608, UE 110 may transmit a plurality of RA preambles corresponding to the plurality of frequency pre-compensation values determined at operation 607. UE 110 apply each frequency pre-compensation value to a respective RA preamble, for example by frequency shifting the RA preamble. UE 110 may transmit the plurality of RA preambles (e.g. a burst of preambles) before the expected reception time of the RA response”, The RA preamble (or msg1, see also fig. 3, step 301, ¶ 0070) may be transmitted (see step 608) a number of times. The repeated RA preamble transmissions allow for a number frequency pre-compensation values to be used. Msg2, which is returned as a result of successful reception of msg1, includes a time advance value/command (see ¶s 0060 and 0072).], and the respective timing shift corresponds to applying a timing pre-compensation for a propagation delay associated with the communication link [Examiner Note: The limitation further defines an alternative from the parent claim.].
As per claim 6, Manolakis et al. in view of Han et al. and Myung et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1. Manolakis et al. also teach wherein: each of the plurality of first transmissions comprises a random access preamble transmission in a random access channel (RACH) [Manolakis, ¶ 0109, “At operation 608, UE 110 may transmit a plurality of RA preambles corresponding to the plurality of frequency pre-compensation values determined at operation 607. UE 110 apply each frequency pre-compensation value to a respective RA preamble, for example by frequency shifting the RA preamble. UE 110 may transmit the plurality of RA preambles (e.g. a burst of preambles) before the expected reception time of the RA response”, The RA preamble (or msg1, see also fig. 3, step 301, ¶ 0070) may be transmitted (see step 608) a number of times. The repeated RA preamble transmissions allow for a number frequency pre-compensation values to be used.]; and the one or more first transmissions comprise a random access response in a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) [Manolakis, ¶ 0074, “At operation 304, gNB 320 may transmit a contention resolution message. The contention resolution may comprise a fourth message (Msg4). The contention resolution massage may be transmitted on the PDCCH or the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)”, The RACH procedure of fig. 3 includes two response transmissions from the gNB: msg2 RAR and msg4: contention resolution. Msg4 contention resolution is received on the PDSCH.].
As per claim 7, Manolakis et al. in view of Han et al. and Myung et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1. Manolakis et al. also teach wherein: each of the plurality of first transmissions comprises an uplink transmission in a physical uplink shared channel, the uplink transmission being scheduled via a random access response [Manolakis, ¶ 0076, “At operation 401, UE 110 may transmit both a random access preamble and data (PUSCH). These messages may be transmitted together (e.g. one after another) and the combination of these messages may be referred to as MsgA. Therefore, MsgA may comprise a first element, Msg1 (= MsgA preamble), and a second element, Msg3 (= MsgA PUSCH)”, A two-step RACH process includes uplink transmissions of msg1 + msg3 (PUSCH). In a four step RACH (see fig. 3), these are separated. Regardless, the uplink transmissions from a UE in a RACH process include msg3 on PUSCH.]; and the one or more transmissions comprises a contention resolution transmission [Manolakis, ¶ 0077, “At operation 402, gNB 320 may transmit an RA response and a contention resolution message”, A two-step RACH process includes downlink transmissions of msg2 + msg4 (contention resolution). In a four step RACH (see fig. 3), these are separated. Regardless, the downlink transmissions from a gNB in a RACH process include msg4 as contention resolution.].
As per claim 8, Manolakis et al. in view of Han et al. and Myung et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1. Manolakis et al. also teach wherein the one or more second transmissions comprise a single random access response associated with the plurality of first transmissions [Manolakis, ¶ 0104, “At operation 509, UE 110 may determine whether an RA response has been received, for example within a predetermined time period (e.g. RA response period)”, The process concludes when a random access (RA) response (or RAR/msg2, see fig. 3, step 302, ¶ 0071) is received. While fig. 6 does not explicitly show the reception of a RAR, knowledge within the art and ¶ 0110 show this needs to be performed for successful connection setup.].
As per claim 10, Manolakis et al. in view of Han et al. and Myung et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1. Manolakis et al. also teach wherein to receive the one or more transmissions, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: receive at least one of the one or more transmissions in a response window [Manolakis, ¶ 0104, “At operation 509, UE 110 may determine whether an RA response has been received, for example within a predetermined time period (e.g. RA response period). This period may be calculated for example from transmission of a previous (e.g. latest) RA preamble. The time period may comprise an expected reception time for the RA response. The expected reception time may for example be the latest point of an expected reception time window”, A RA response period (or response window) may be integrated with RAR monitoring. This requires a combination of step 509 with step 609.]; and refrain from monitoring for an additional transmission in the response window in response to successfully decoding the at least one of the one or more transmissions [Manolakis, fig. 5, “End”, If Step 509 is successful, then another iteration of step 507 is not performed.].
As per claim 13, Manolakis et al. teach an apparatus configured for wireless communications, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors being configured to cause the apparatus [Manolakis, ¶ 0122 - 0124, 0126, fig. 8, elements 802, 804, 806, and 808, The reference teaches a generic apparatus structure for the UE and gNB (or satellite), which includes a processor (element 802), a memory (element 804) including program code (element 806), and a communications interface (element 808). The combined structure performs the operations disclosed.] to:
send a configuration for pre-compensating at least one transmission associated with at least one random access communication [Manolakis, ¶ 0107, “FIG. 6 illustrates an example of direct transmission of multiple random access preambles. Operations 601 to 606 may be similar to operations 501 to 506, respectively”, The UE receives a SSB and measures received power (see fig. 6, step 601, ¶ 0084). The UE further performs doppler measurement on the received SSB (see fig. 6, step 602 and fig. 5, step 501, ¶ 0084). This measurement is used to determine the carrier frequency offset (CFO, see steps 502 and 602, ¶ 0085). If GNSS quality is poor (see steps 504 and 604, ¶ 0099), the UE determines a number of pre-compensation values (see steps 507 and 607, ¶s 0102 and 0108), which are frequency offsets applied to a PRACH preamble based on doppler shift (see ¶ 0100). The configuration is conveyed via SSB, as the UE may use the SSB to obtain pre-compensation values for transmission (see ¶s 0084 and 0085).],
obtain a plurality of first transmissions for random access in accordance with the configuration [Manolakis, ¶ 0107, “FIG. 6 illustrates an example of direct transmission of multiple random access preambles. Operations 601 to 606 may be similar to operations 501 to 506, respectively”, The UE receives a SSB and measures received power (see fig. 6, step 601, ¶ 0084). The UE further performs doppler measurement on the received SSB (see fig. 6, step 602 and fig. 5, step 501, ¶ 0084). This measurement is used to determine the carrier frequency offset (CFO, see steps 502 and 602, ¶ 0085). If GNSS quality is poor (see steps 504 and 604, ¶ 0099), the UE determines a number of pre-compensation values (see steps 507 and 607, ¶s 0102 and 0108), which are frequency offsets applied to a PRACH preamble based on doppler shift (see ¶ 0100).],
in response to obtaining the plurality of first transmissions, send one or more transmissions [Manolakis, ¶ 0104, “At operation 509, UE 110 may determine whether an RA response has been received, for example within a predetermined time period (e.g. RA response period)”, The process concludes when a random access (RA) response (or RAR/msg2, see fig. 3, step 302, ¶ 0071) is received. While fig. 6 does not explicitly show the reception of a RAR, knowledge within the art and ¶ 0110 show this needs to be performed for successful connection setup.].
Manolakis et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the configuration comprises an indication of a total number of the plurality of first transmissions associated with the at least one random access communication…communicate with a user equipment (UE) based at least in part on the one or more second transmissions.
However, in an analogous art, Han et al. teach wherein the configuration comprises an indication of a total number of the plurality of first transmissions associated with the at least one random access communication [Han, ¶ 0135, “Step 1201: A base station sends an SSB, PRACH configuration information, and a first set to a terminal, where the first set may also be referred to as a set of quantities of repetition times of a preamble”, Fig. 12 shows the configuration of a PRACH resource (see ¶ 0134). In step 1201, configuration is sent to the UE, which includes the number of repetitions for a RA preamble (or the first message).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to explicitly adopt the RACH configuration process as taught by Han et al. into Manolakis et al. One would have been motivated to do this, because the a quantity of ROs in a radio frame supports different TDD configurations (see Han, ¶ 0133) with a reasonable expectation of success.
Moreover, in an analogous art, Myung et al. teach, communicate with a user equipment (UE) based at least in part on the one or more second transmissions [Myung, ¶ 0290, “In operation 2829, the UE applies TA, based on the TA control value included in the MAC CE and transmits a PUSCH/PUCCH. Transmission of PUSCH/PUCCH may represent transmission of at least one of the PUSCH and the PUCCH in various embodiments of the disclosure”, The PUSCH is used for scheduled uplink communications from the UE to the gNB. PUSCH is accompanied by PDSCH for downlink transmission. As a whole, fig. 28 is directed to a related method of adjusting timing advance for UEs in a NTN system (see ¶s 0286-0290). In particular, configuration information is obtained by the UE (see steps 2811-2815), PRACH is transmitted (see step 2819), and RAR information is received (see step 2823). At the conclusion of the RACH process, communication is performed between the UE and gNB.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to explicitly adopt the communication process after RACH as taught by Myung et al. into Manolakis et al. One would have been motivated to do this, because the RACH process is recognized as the first part of connection setup, and communication may be expected between a UE and a gNB after its conclusion.
As per claim 15, Manolakis et al. in view of Han et al. and Myung et al. teach the apparatus of claim 13. Manolakis et al. also teach wherein to obtain the plurality of first transmissions the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: for each transmission of the plurality of first transmissions, obtain that transmission with at least one of a different frequency shift that adjusted a carrier frequency or a different timing shift that adjusted a timing advance [Manolakis, ¶ 0109, “At operation 608, UE 110 may transmit a plurality of RA preambles corresponding to the plurality of frequency pre-compensation values determined at operation 607. UE 110 apply each frequency pre-compensation value to a respective RA preamble, for example by frequency shifting the RA preamble. UE 110 may transmit the plurality of RA preambles (e.g. a burst of preambles) before the expected reception time of the RA response”, The RA preamble (or msg1, see also fig. 3, step 301, ¶ 0070) may be transmitted (see step 608) a number of times. The repeated RA preamble transmissions allow for a number frequency pre-compensation values to be used. Msg2, which is returned as a result of successful reception of msg1, includes a time advance value/command (see ¶s 0060 and 0072).].
As per claim 17, Manolakis et al. in view of Han et al. and Myung et al. teach the apparatus of claim 15. Manolakis et al. also teach wherein: the respective frequency shift corresponds to a frequency pre-compensation for a Doppler shift associated with a communication link between the UE and the apparatus [Manolakis, ¶ 0109, “At operation 608, UE 110 may transmit a plurality of RA preambles corresponding to the plurality of frequency pre-compensation values determined at operation 607. UE 110 apply each frequency pre-compensation value to a respective RA preamble, for example by frequency shifting the RA preamble. UE 110 may transmit the plurality of RA preambles (e.g. a burst of preambles) before the expected reception time of the RA response”, The RA preamble (or msg1, see also fig. 3, step 301, ¶ 0070) may be transmitted (see step 608) a number of times. The repeated RA preamble transmissions allow for a number frequency pre-compensation values to be used. Msg2, which is returned as a result of successful reception of msg1, includes a time advance value/command (see ¶s 0060 and 0072).], and the respective timing shift corresponds to a timing pre-compensation for a propagation delay associated with the communication link [Examiner Note: The limitation further defines an alternative from the parent claim.].
As per claim 18, Manolakis et al. in view of Han et al. and Myung et al. teach the apparatus of claim 13. Manolakis et al. also teach wherein: each of the plurality of first transmissions comprises a random access preamble transmission in a random access channel (RACH) [Manolakis, ¶ 0109, “At operation 608, UE 110 may transmit a plurality of RA preambles corresponding to the plurality of frequency pre-compensation values determined at operation 607. UE 110 apply each frequency pre-compensation value to a respective RA preamble, for example by frequency shifting the RA preamble. UE 110 may transmit the plurality of RA preambles (e.g. a burst of preambles) before the expected reception time of the RA response”, The RA preamble (or msg1, see also fig. 3, step 301, ¶ 0070) may be transmitted (see step 608) a number of times. The repeated RA preamble transmissions allow for a number frequency pre-compensation values to be used.]; and the one or more second transmissions comprise a random access response in a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) [Manolakis, ¶ 0074, “At operation 304, gNB 320 may transmit a contention resolution message. The contention resolution may comprise a fourth message (Msg4). The contention resolution massage may be transmitted on the PDCCH or the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)”, The RACH procedure of fig. 3 includes two response transmissions from the gNB: msg2 RAR and msg4: contention resolution. Msg4 contention resolution is received on the PDSCH.].
As per claim 19, Manolakis et al. in view of Han et al. and Myung et al. teach the apparatus of claim 13. Manolakis et al. also teach wherein: each of the plurality of first transmissions comprises an uplink transmission in a physical uplink shared channel, the uplink transmission being scheduled via a random access response [Manolakis, ¶ 0076, “At operation 401, UE 110 may transmit both a random access preamble and data (PUSCH). These messages may be transmitted together (e.g. one after another) and the combination of these messages may be referred to as MsgA. Therefore, MsgA may comprise a first element, Msg1 (= MsgA preamble), and a second element, Msg3 (= MsgA PUSCH)”, A two-step RACH process includes uplink transmissions of msg1 + msg3 (PUSCH). In a four step RACH (see fig. 3), these are separated. Regardless, the uplink transmissions from a UE in a RACH process include msg3 on PUSCH.]; and the one or more second transmissions comprises a contention resolution transmission [Manolakis, ¶ 0077, “At operation 402, gNB 320 may transmit an RA response and a contention resolution message”, A two-step RACH process includes downlink transmissions of msg2 + msg4 (contention resolution). In a four step RACH (see fig. 3), these are separated. Regardless, the downlink transmissions from a gNB in a RACH process include msg4 as contention resolution.].
As per claim 20, Manolakis et al. in view of Han et al. and Myung et al. teach the apparatus of claim 13. Manolakis et al. also teach wherein the one or more first transmissions comprise a single random access response associated with the plurality of second transmissions [Manolakis, ¶ 0104, “At operation 509, UE 110 may determine whether an RA response has been received, for example within a predetermined time period (e.g. RA response period)”, The process concludes when a random access (RA) response (or RAR/msg2, see fig. 3, step 302, ¶ 0071) is received. While fig. 6 does not explicitly show the reception of a RAR, knowledge within the art and ¶ 0110 show this needs to be performed for successful connection setup.].
As per claim 26, Manolakis et al. teach a method of wireless communications by an apparatus, comprising:
obtaining a configuration for pre-compensating at least one transmission associated with at least one random access communication [Manolakis, ¶ 0107, “FIG. 6 illustrates an example of direct transmission of multiple random access preambles. Operations 601 to 606 may be similar to operations 501 to 506, respectively”, The UE receives a SSB and measures received power (see fig. 6, step 601, ¶ 0084). The UE further performs doppler measurement on the received SSB (see fig. 6, step 602 and fig. 5, step 501, ¶ 0084). This measurement is used to determine the carrier frequency offset (CFO, see steps 502 and 602, ¶ 0085). If GNSS quality is poor (see steps 504 and 604, ¶ 0099), the UE determines a number of pre-compensation values (see steps 507 and 607, ¶s 0102 and 0108), which are frequency offsets applied to a PRACH preamble based on doppler shift (see ¶ 0100).];
sending a plurality of first transmissions for random access in accordance with the configuration [Manolakis, ¶ 0107, “FIG. 6 illustrates an example of direct transmission of multiple random access preambles. Operations 601 to 606 may be similar to operations 501 to 506, respectively”, The UE receives a SSB and measures received power (see fig. 6, step 601, ¶ 0084). The UE further performs doppler measurement on the received SSB (see fig. 6, step 602 and fig. 5, step 501, ¶ 0084). This measurement is used to determine the carrier frequency offset (CFO, see steps 502 and 602, ¶ 0085). If GNSS quality is poor (see steps 504 and 604, ¶ 0099), the UE determines a number of pre-compensation values (see steps 507 and 607, ¶s 0102 and 0108), which are frequency offsets applied to a PRACH preamble based on doppler shift (see ¶ 0100). The configuration is conveyed via SSB, as the UE may use the SSB to obtain pre-compensation values for transmission (see ¶s 0084 and 0085).];
after sending the plurality of first transmissions, receiving one or more second transmissions [Manolakis, ¶ 0104, “At operation 509, UE 110 may determine whether an RA response has been received, for example within a predetermined time period (e.g. RA response period)”, The process concludes when a random access (RA) response (or RAR/msg2, see fig. 3, step 302, ¶ 0071) is received. While fig. 6 does not explicitly show the reception of a RAR, knowledge within the art and ¶ 0110 show this needs to be performed for successful connection setup.].
Manolakis et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the configuration comprises an indication of a total number of the plurality of first transmissions associated with the at least one random access communication…communicating with a network entity based at least in part on the one or more second transmissions.
However, in an analogous art, Han et al. teach wherein the configuration comprises an indication of a total number of the plurality of first transmissions associated with the at least one random access communication [Han, ¶ 0135, “Step 1201: A base station sends an SSB, PRACH configuration information, and a first set to a terminal, where the first set may also be referred to as a set of quantities of repetition times of a preamble”, Fig. 12 shows the configuration of a PRACH resource (see ¶ 0134). In step 1201, configuration is sent to the UE, which includes the number of repetitions for a RA preamble (or the first message).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to explicitly adopt the RACH configuration process as taught by Han et al. into Manolakis et al. One would have been motivated to do this, because the a quantity of ROs in a radio frame supports different TDD configurations (see Han, ¶ 0133) with a reasonable expectation of success.
Moreover, in an analogous art, Myung et al. teach, communicating with a network entity based at least in part on the one or more second transmissions [Myung, ¶ 0290, “In operation 2829, the UE applies TA, based on the TA control value included in the MAC CE and transmits a PUSCH/PUCCH. Transmission of PUSCH/PUCCH may represent transmission of at least one of the PUSCH and the PUCCH in various embodiments of the disclosure”, The PUSCH is used for scheduled uplink communications from the UE to the gNB. As a whole, fig. 28 is directed to a related method of adjusting timing advance for UEs in a NTN system (see ¶s 0286-0290). In particular, configuration information is obtained by the UE (see steps 2811-2815), PRACH is transmitted (see step 2819), and RAR information is received (see step 2823). At the conclusion of the RACH process, communication is performed between the UE and gNB.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to explicitly adopt the communication process after RACH as taught by Myung et al. into Manolakis et al. One would have been motivated to do this, because the RACH process is recognized as the first part of connection setup, and communication may be expected between a UE and a gNB after its conclusion.
As per claim 27, Manolakis et al. teach a method of wireless communications by an apparatus, comprising:
sending a configuration for pre-compensating at least one transmission associated with at least one random access communication [Manolakis, ¶ 0107, “FIG. 6 illustrates an example of direct transmission of multiple random access preambles. Operations 601 to 606 may be similar to operations 501 to 506, respectively”, The UE receives a SSB and measures received power (see fig. 6, step 601, ¶ 0084). The UE further performs doppler measurement on the received SSB (see fig. 6, step 602 and fig. 5, step 501, ¶ 0084). This measurement is used to determine the carrier frequency offset (CFO, see steps 502 and 602, ¶ 0085). If GNSS quality is poor (see steps 504 and 604, ¶ 0099), the UE determines a number of pre-compensation values (see steps 507 and 607, ¶s 0102 and 0108), which are frequency offsets applied to a PRACH preamble based on doppler shift (see ¶ 0100). The configuration is conveyed via SSB, as the UE may use the SSB to obtain pre-compensation values for transmission (see ¶s 0084 and 0085).];
obtaining a plurality of first transmissions for random access in accordance with the configuration [Manolakis, ¶ 0107, “FIG. 6 illustrates an example of direct transmission of multiple random access preambles. Operations 601 to 606 may be similar to operations 501 to 506, respectively”, The UE receives a SSB and measures received power (see fig. 6, step 601, ¶ 0084). The UE further performs doppler measurement on the received SSB (see fig. 6, step 602 and fig. 5, step 501, ¶ 0084). This measurement is used to determine the carrier frequency offset (CFO, see steps 502 and 602, ¶ 0085). If GNSS quality is poor (see steps 504 and 604, ¶ 0099), the UE determines a number of pre-compensation values (see steps 507 and 607, ¶s 0102 and 0108), which are frequency offsets applied to a PRACH preamble based on doppler shift (see ¶ 0100).];
in response to obtaining the plurality of first transmissions, sending one or more second transmissions [Manolakis, ¶ 0104, “At operation 509, UE 110 may determine whether an RA response has been received, for example within a predetermined time period (e.g. RA response period)”, The process concludes when a random access (RA) response (or RAR/msg2, see fig. 3, step 302, ¶ 0071) is received. While fig. 6 does not explicitly show the reception of a RAR, knowledge within the art and ¶ 0110 show this needs to be performed for successful connection setup.].
Manolakis et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the configuration comprises an indication of a total number of the plurality of first transmissions associated with the at least one random access communication…communicating with a user equipment (UE) based at least in part on the one or more second transmissions.
However, in an analogous art, Han et al. teach wherein the configuration comprises an indication of a total number of the plurality of first transmissions associated with the at least one random access communication [Han, ¶ 0135, “Step 1201: A base station sends an SSB, PRACH configuration information, and a first set to a terminal, where the first set may also be referred to as a set of quantities of repetition times of a preamble”, Fig. 12 shows the configuration of a PRACH resource (see ¶ 0134). In step 1201, configuration is sent to the UE, which includes the number of repetitions for a RA preamble (or the first message).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to explicitly adopt the RACH configuration process as taught by Han et al. into Manolakis et al. One would have been motivated to do this, because the a quantity of ROs in a radio frame supports different TDD configurations (see Han, ¶ 0133) with a reasonable expectation of success.
Moreover, in an analogous art, Myung et al. teach, communicating with a user equipment (UE) based at least in part on the one or more second transmissions [Myung, ¶ 0290, “In operation 2829, the UE applies TA, based on the TA control value included in the MAC CE and transmits a PUSCH/PUCCH. Transmission of PUSCH/PUCCH may represent transmission of at least one of the PUSCH and the PUCCH in various embodiments of the disclosure”, The PUSCH is used for scheduled uplink communications from the UE to the gNB. PUSCH is accompanied by PDSCH for downlink transmission. As a whole, fig. 28 is directed to a related method of adjusting timing advance for UEs in a NTN system (see ¶s 0286-0290). In particular, configuration information is obtained by the UE (see steps 2811-2815), PRACH is transmitted (see step 2819), and RAR information is received (see step 2823). At the conclusion of the RACH process, communication is performed between the UE and gNB.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to explicitly adopt the communication process after RACH as taught by Myung et al. into Manolakis et al. One would have been motivated to do this, because the RACH process is recognized as the first part of connection setup, and communication may be expected between a UE and a gNB after its conclusion.
Claims 9 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakis et al. (US PG Pub 2023/0354436, which was cited in the prior office action) in view of Han et al. (US PG Pub 2025/0267721), Myung et al. (US PG Pub 2024/0073842, which was cited in the prior office action) and Kang et al. (US PG Pub 2021/0282180, which was cited in the prior office action and is now listed on PTO-892).
As per claim 9, Manolakis et al. in view of Han et al. and Myung et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1. Manolakis et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the one or more transmissions comprise a plurality of random access responses associated with the plurality of transmissions.
However, in an analogous art, Kang et al. teach wherein the one or more transmissions comprise a plurality of random access responses associated with the plurality of transmissions [Kang, ¶ 0760, “The UE receives a plurality of random access responses (RARs) corresponding to the plurality of PRACH preambles from the gNB (S2920)”, Fig. 29 shows a RA procedure, with multiple RA responses transmitted by the UE (see ¶ 0758, step s2910). In response, the UE receives multiple RA responses from the base station.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adopt known RA techniques of Kang et al. into Manolakis et al. One would have been motivated to do this because substituting multiple transmissions for a single one is a recognized substitution technique within the art.
As per claim 21, Manolakis et al. in view of Han et al. and Myung et al. teach the apparatus of claim 13. Manolakis et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the one or more transmissions comprise a plurality of random access responses associated with the plurality of transmissions.
However, in an analogous art, Kang et al. teach wherein the one or more transmissions comprise a plurality of random access responses associated with the plurality of transmissions [Kang, ¶ 0760, “The UE receives a plurality of random access responses (RARs) corresponding to the plurality of PRACH preambles from the gNB (S2920)”, Fig. 29 shows a RA procedure, with multiple RA responses transmitted by the UE (see ¶ 0758, step s2910). In response, the UE receives multiple RA responses from the base station.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adopt known RA techniques of Kang et al. into Manolakis et al. One would have been motivated to do this because substituting multiple transmissions for a single one is a recognized substitution technique within the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, 11, 12, 14, 16, 22-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Paul H. Masur/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2417