Response to Amendment
This action is in response to amendments and remarks filed on 09/29/2025. Claims 1-3 and 5-20 are considered in this office action. Claims 1 and 16 have been amended. Claim 4 has been cancelled. Claims 1-3 and 5-20 are pending examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant presents the following arguments regarding the previous office action:
Ufheil does not disclose:
(i) Presenting the preferred flow rates to the operator via a graphic display
(i) Operator confirming via the graphical display the preferred flow rate
Regarding argument A, with respect to the independent claims has been fully considered and is moot in light of new grounds for rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, 9, and 16-19 are all rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ufheil et al (US20010032031A1) in view of Kubota (KX Series Features).
Regarding claim 1, Ufheil discloses, a system for controlling a flow rate of hydraulic fluid provided from a work machine to an attachment (Ufheil, 7, the operation of a work tool includes at least one hydraulic circuit, and wherein at least one of the parameters associated with the selected set of operating parameters affects the rate of fluid flow in said at least one hydraulic circuit, said at least one hydraulic circuit including valve means for controlling the rate of fluid flow in said circuit), said system comprising: said work machine; and said attachment, wherein said attachment is configured to be removably coupled to said work machine (Ufheil, 0001, a system and method for electronically configuring the hydraulic and control systems associated with a particular work machine to control the operation of a particular work tool mounted for use on the work machine based upon the operating parameters associated with the work tool), wherein said work machine is configured to provide hydraulic fluid to said attachment, and wherein said work machine is configured to control a flow rate of the hydraulic fluid provided to said attachment (Ufheil, 7, the operation of a work tool includes at least one hydraulic circuit, and wherein at least one of the parameters associated with the selected set of operating parameters affects the rate of fluid flow in said at least one hydraulic circuit, said at least one hydraulic circuit including valve means for controlling the rate of fluid flow in said circuit), wherein said attachment includes an identification module with a transmitter configured to transmit identification information to said work machine when said attachment is coupled to said work machine (Ufheil, 0033, the work tool identification system could comprise an rf telemetry system. The work tool 36 would include appropriate electronics and circuitry to output an rf signal encoded with a specific identification code unique to that particular work tool to be received by an rf receiver positioned and located on the work machine. The rf receiver would decode the work tool signal and convert such signal back into an electrical signal, that is, either an analog or a digital type signal. This converted signal would be indicative of the particular type of work tool mounted to the work machine and this signal would be inputted via conductive path 38 to ECM), wherein said work machine is configured to determine a preferred operating flow rate for hydraulic fluid to be provided to said attachment, (Ufheil, 0011, the various operating parameters associated with a particular work tool such as its operating hydraulic pressures and flow rates can be pre-programmed into one or more ECMs associated with the particular work machine such that once the particular tool is identified by the work machine, the ECM(s) will automatically select the stored parameters associated with the particular work tool and reconfigure the work machine based upon these parameters), wherein said preferred operating flow rate is determined based on the identification information transmitted from said identification module to said work machine, (Ufheil, 0011, more particularly, the various parameters associated with a particular tool machine can be programmed into the appropriate ECMs in the form of a plurality of look-up tables, maps, algorithms or other programming such that when the particular tool is identified by the work machine, the appropriate ECMs will output appropriate signals to the affected hydraulic system control valves), wherein said work machine is configured to present, via a graphic display, an indication to the operator that the preferred operating flow rate has been determined, wherein said work machine is configured to provide hydraulic fluid to said attachment at the preferred operating flow rate (Ufheil, 0040, the operator could access a computer menu through the electronic systems associated with the particular work machine wherein the computer menu would identify all of the various work tools usable with the work machine. The on-board computer system would further include means for selecting any one of such different work tools from the appropriate computer menu and, upon selection of a particular work tool, all of the operating parameters associated with such tool would be accessed and the work machine would be reconfigured in accordance with such parameters as explained above) …(Ufheil, 0042, ECM 25 will automatically electronically reconfigure the various hydraulic and control systems associated with a particular work machine to control the operation of a particular work tool, or such operating parameters could be accessed through other operator selectable means such as a computer menu or other operator selectable commands associated with the on-board computer system). However, Ufheil does not explicitly disclose, the work machine is configured to receive from the operator, via the graphic display, and a confirmation that the preferred operating flow rate is to be provided to the attachment.
Nevertheless, Kubota who is in the same field of endeavor of proportional flow control of auxiliary fluid for attachments, discloses, that the machine is configured to receive from the operator, via the graphic display (Digital Panel, you can conveniently program up to five different oil flow rates for specific attachments on the new digital control panel), and a confirmation that the preferred operating flow rate is to be provided to the attachment, (Proportional Flow Control of Auxiliary Circuit (AUX1) and Maximum Oil Flow Setting, With easy access, simple settings, and easy-to-read indicators and alerts, you'll always be aware of the status of your excavator's critical functions).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ufheil’s disclosure to incorporate teachings of Kubota for the benefit of utilizing a more modern touch screen display This would allow an operator to more easily access information presented on the user interface.
Regarding claim 4, Ufheil and Kubota disclose, the system of claim 1 as discussed supra. Additionally, Ufheil discloses, said work machine is configured to receive from the operator, via the graphic display, a confirmation that the preferred operating flow rate is to be provided to the attachment (Ufheil, 0042, once these operating parameters for a particular work tool have been inputted and stored within a database associated with the work machine, such parameters are accessible for future use either through the tool recognition system 10 (FIG. 1) previously discussed above wherein ECM 25 will automatically electronically reconfigure the various hydraulic and control systems associated with a particular work machine to control the operation of a particular work tool, or such operating parameters could be accessed through other operator selectable means such as a computer menu or other operator selectable commands associated with the on-board computer system).
Regarding claim 5, Ufheil and Kubota disclose, the system of claim 1 as discussed supra. Additionally, Ufheil discloses, the work machine is configured to provide hydraulic fluid at multiple different flow rates (Ufheil, 0011, the various operating parameters associated with a particular work tool such as its operating hydraulic pressures and flow rates can be pre-programmed into one or more ECMs associated with the particular work machine such that once the particular tool is identified by the work machine, the ECM(s) will automatically select the stored parameters associated with the particular work tool and reconfigure the work machine based upon these parameters).
Regarding claim 6, Ufheil and Kubota disclose, the system of claim 1 as discussed supra. Additionally, Ufheil discloses said work machine includes a hydraulic system configured to provide hydraulic fluid to said attachment, wherein the flow rate of hydraulic fluid is controlled by a control system of said work machine, (Ufheil, 7, the operation of a work tool includes at least one hydraulic circuit, and wherein at least one of the parameters associated with the selected set of operating parameters affects the rate of fluid flow in said at least one hydraulic circuit, said at least one hydraulic circuit including valve means for controlling the rate of fluid flow in said circuit), wherein said control system includes one or more processing elements and one or more memory elements, and wherein said control system is configured to present the preferred operating flow rate on the graphic display (Ufheil, 0043, electronic controllers or modules such as ECMs 25, 34 and 44 are commonly used in association with work machines for accomplishing various tasks. In this regard, ECMs 25, 34 and 44 will typically include processing means, such as a microcontroller or microprocessor, associated electronic circuitry such as input/output circuitry, analog circuits or programmed logic arrays, as well as associated memory. ECM 25 can therefore be programmed to sense and recognize the appropriate signals indicative of a particular work tool being attached to a work machine such as the work tool or attachment signal inputted to ECM 25 via conductive path 38) … (Ufheil, 0042, ECM 25 will automatically electronically reconfigure the various hydraulic and control systems associated with a particular work machine to control the operation of a particular work tool, or such operating parameters could be accessed through other operator selectable means such as a computer menu or other operator selectable commands associated with the on-board computer system).
Regarding claim 7, Ufheil and Kubota disclose, the system of claim 6 as discussed supra. Additionally, Ufheil discloses said control system receives a confirmation of the preferred operating flow rate from the graphic display upon the operator selecting the preferred operating flow rate presented on the graphic display (Ufheil, 0040, the on-board computer system would further include means for selecting any one of such different work tools from the appropriate computer menu and, upon selection of a particular work tool, all of the operating parameters associated with such tool would be accessed and the work machine would be reconfigured in accordance with such parameters as explained above).
Regarding claim 16, Ufheil and Kubota disclose, a method of controlling a flow rate of hydraulic fluid provided from a work machine to an attachment, said method comprising the steps of: coupling the attachment to the work machine, wherein the attachment includes an identification module with a transmitter; transmitting identification information from the identification module of the attachment to the work machine; determining a preferred operating flow rate at which hydraulic fluid is to be provided from the work machine to the attachment, wherein the preferred operating flow rate is determined based on the identification information transmitted from the identification module to the work machine; presenting the preferred operating flow rate on a graphic display associated with the work machine; receiving from the operator, via the graphic display, a confirmation that the preferred operating flow rate is to be provided to the attachment; and providing hydraulic fluid, at the preferred operating flow rate, from the work machine to the attachment. The claim recites similar limitations to that of claim 1. Consequentially, claim 16 is rejected for the same reasoning and justification as presented in claim 1. (Ufheil, 7, the operation of a work tool includes at least one hydraulic circuit, and wherein at least one of the parameters associated with the selected set of operating parameters affects the rate of fluid flow in said at least one hydraulic circuit, said at least one hydraulic circuit including valve means for controlling the rate of fluid flow in said circuit), (Ufheil, 0001, a system and method for electronically configuring the hydraulic and control systems associated with a particular work machine to control the operation of a particular work tool mounted for use on the work machine based upon the operating parameters associated with the work tool), (Ufheil, 7, the operation of a work tool includes at least one hydraulic circuit, and wherein at least one of the parameters associated with the selected set of operating parameters affects the rate of fluid flow in said at least one hydraulic circuit, said at least one hydraulic circuit including valve means for controlling the rate of fluid flow in said circuit), (Ufheil, 0033, the work tool identification system could comprise an rf telemetry system. The work tool 36 would include appropriate electronics and circuitry to output an rf signal encoded with a specific identification code unique to that particular work tool to be received by an rf receiver positioned and located on the work machine. The rf receiver would decode the work tool signal and convert such signal back into an electrical signal, that is, either an analog or a digital type signal. This converted signal would be indicative of the particular type of work tool mounted to the work machine and this signal would be inputted via conductive path 38 to ECM), (Ufheil, 0011, the various operating parameters associated with a particular work tool such as its operating hydraulic pressures and flow rates can be pre-programmed into one or more ECMs associated with the particular work machine such that once the particular tool is identified by the work machine, the ECM(s) will automatically select the stored parameters associated with the particular work tool and reconfigure the work machine based upon these parameters), (Ufheil, 0011, more particularly, the various parameters associated with a particular tool machine can be programmed into the appropriate ECMs in the form of a plurality of look-up tables, maps, algorithms or other programming such that when the particular tool is identified by the work machine, the appropriate ECMs will output appropriate signals to the affected hydraulic system control valves), (Ufheil, 0040, the operator could access a computer menu through the electronic systems associated with the particular work machine wherein the computer menu would identify all of the various work tools usable with the work machine. The on-board computer system would further include means for selecting any one of such different work tools from the appropriate computer menu and, upon selection of a particular work tool, all of the operating parameters associated with such tool would be accessed and the work machine would be reconfigured in accordance with such parameters as explained above) …(Ufheil, 0042, ECM 25 will automatically electronically reconfigure the various hydraulic and control systems associated with a particular work machine to control the operation of a particular work tool, or such operating parameters could be accessed through other operator selectable means such as a computer menu or other operator selectable commands associated with the on-board computer system). Additionally, Kubota discloses, receiving from the operator, via the graphic display, a confirmation that the preferred operating flow rate is to be provided to the attachment (Digital Panel, you can conveniently program up to five different oil flow rates for specific attachments on the new digital control panel),
Regarding claim 17, Ufheil and Kubota disclose, the work machine being configured to provide hydraulic fluid at multiple different flow rates. the claim recites similar limitations to that of claim 5. Consequentially, claim 17 is rejected for the same reasoning and justification as presented in claim 5. (Ufheil, 0011, the various operating parameters associated with a particular work tool such as its operating hydraulic pressures and flow rates can be pre-programmed into one or more ECMs associated with the particular work machine such that once the particular tool is identified by the work machine, the ECM(s) will automatically select the stored parameters associated with the particular work tool and reconfigure the work machine based upon these parameters).
Regarding claim 18, Ufheil and Kubota disclose, the hydraulic fluid is provided from a hydraulic system of the work machine to the attachment, wherein the flow rate of hydraulic fluid is controlled by a control system of the work machine, wherein the control system includes one or more processing elements and one or more memory elements, and wherein the control system is configured to present the preferred operating flow rate on the graphic display. The claim recites similar limitations to that of claim 6. Consequentially, claim 18 is rejected for the same reasoning and justification as presented in claim 6. (Ufheil, 7, the operation of a work tool includes at least one hydraulic circuit, and wherein at least one of the parameters associated with the selected set of operating parameters affects the rate of fluid flow in said at least one hydraulic circuit, said at least one hydraulic circuit including valve means for controlling the rate of fluid flow in said circuit), (Ufheil, 0043, electronic controllers or modules such as ECMs 25, 34 and 44 are commonly used in association with work machines for accomplishing various tasks. In this regard, ECMs 25, 34 and 44 will typically include processing means, such as a microcontroller or microprocessor, associated electronic circuitry such as input/output circuitry, analog circuits or programmed logic arrays, as well as associated memory. ECM 25 can therefore be programmed to sense and recognize the appropriate signals indicative of a particular work tool being attached to a work machine such as the work tool or attachment signal inputted to ECM 25 via conductive path 38) … (Ufheil, 0042, ECM 25 will automatically electronically reconfigure the various hydraulic and control systems associated with a particular work machine to control the operation of a particular work tool, or such operating parameters could be accessed through other operator selectable means such as a computer menu or other operator selectable commands associated with the on-board computer system).
Regarding claim 19, Ufheil and Kubota disclose, the control system receives a confirmation of the preferred operating flow rate from the graphic display upon the operator selecting the preferred operating flow rate presented on the graphic display. The claim recites similar limitations to that of claim 7. Consequentially, claim 19 is rejected for the same reasoning and justification as presented in claim 7. (Ufheil, 0040, the on-board computer system would further include means for selecting any one of such different work tools from the appropriate computer menu and, upon selection of a particular work tool, all of the operating parameters associated with such tool would be accessed and the work machine would be reconfigured in accordance with such parameters as explained above).
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ufheil et al (US20010032031A1) in view of Kubota (KX Series Features) further in view of Rossow et al (US6923285B1).
Regarding claim 8, Ufheil and Kubota disclose, the system of claim 7 as discussed supra. Additionally, Rossow who is in the same field of endeavor of attachment control devices discloses, the graphic display being a touchscreen (Rossow, DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE ILLUSTRATIVE EMBODIMENTS, Paragraph 12, electronic controls 66 provide signals indicative of operator inputs from within cab 18. Such electronic controls can include, for example, hand grips on levers 24 and 26, switches or buttons or other operator input devices associated with the hand grips 24 and 26, operator inputs from foot pedals within cab 18, inputs from membrane or keypad or touch screen inputs provided in cab 18, or any other suitable operator input devices).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Ufheil and Kubota to incorporate teachings of Rossow for the benefit of utilizing a more modern touch screen display. This would allow an operator to more easily access information presented on the user interface.
Regarding claim 20, the claim recites similar limitations to that of claim 8. Consequentially, claim 20 is rejected for the same reasoning and justification as presented in claim 8.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ufheil et al (US20010032031A1) in view of Kubota (KX Series Features) further in view of Jessup et al (US20190061683A1).
Regarding claim 10, Ufheil and Kubota disclose, the system of claim 1 as discussed supra. Additionally, Jessup who is in the same field of endeavor of work vehicle attachments discloses, said attachment is a hydraulically-operated attachment selected from the following: an auger, a grinder, a jack hammer/breaker, a tiller, a roller, a trencher, a digger derrick, a cold mill, a brush/sweeper, a grapple, a tree/post puller, and a power rake (Jessup, examples of the one or more systems, devices and/or actuators 28 may include, but are not limited to, a conventional accelerator pedal or similar fueling control mechanism manually movable in a conventional manner between idle and full-throttle positions, a conventional keyed on non-keyed ignition starting switch, a conventional manually-actuated transmission shifting control lever, one or more conventional hydraulically-actuated components such as lift arms, one or more buckets, a backhoe, pallet forks, an angle broom, a sweeper, an auger, a mower, a snow blower, a stump grinder, a tree spade, a trencher, a dumping a hopper, a tiller, a ripper, a grapple, a tilt, a roller, a snow blade, a wheel saw, a cement mixer, a wood chipper, a hydraulic breaker, or the like).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Ufheil and Kubota to incorporate teachings of Jessup for the benefit of a providing a plurality of attachments that can be used in the system. This would promote users being able to do many types of work.
Further justification for combining the combination of Ufheil and Kubota to incorporate the teachings of Jessup not only come from the state-of-the-art but from Ufheil who can support any type of earth moving machine, (Ufheil, 0014, in another aspect of the present invention, the particular work machine can be configured to utilize a particular work tool through input from some type of external device or service tool such as a laptop computer).
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ufheil et al (US20010032031A1 in view of Kubota (KX Series Features) further in view of Reed et al (US20190112792A1).
Regarding claim 11, Ufheil and Kubota disclose, the system of claim 1 as discussed supra. Additionally, Reed who is in the same field of endeavor of work tool identification discloses, said identification module comprises a housing secured to said attachment (Reed, 0023, all of the components of the short-range wireless device 30 may be packaged in a durable housing to protect the components when the short-range wireless device 30 is used in rugged terrain).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Ufheil and Kubota to incorporate teachings of Reed for the benefit of a providing a housing and accelerometer that can be used in the system for detecting movements of the attachment. This would allow the system to determine that an attachment is attached to the machine and then specify what the specific attachment is in order to load the proper hydraulic pressure specification.
Regarding claim 12, Ufheil and Kubota disclose, the system of claim 1 as discussed supra. Additionally, Reed discloses, said identification module comprises one or more processing elements, one or more memory elements, and/or one or more accelerometers, and wherein the transmitter is a wireless transmitter (Reed, 0022, the short-range wireless device 30 may include a processor 32 for processing instructions that control operation of the short-range wireless device 30. The short-range wireless device 30 may include a wireless technology circuit 34, such as, for example, a Bluetooth circuit, for providing short-range wireless communications over a cellular network) … (Reed, 0023, the short-range wireless device 30 may also include a movement detection device 40, such as an accelerometer, measuring acceleration forces) … (Reed, 0023, according to some embodiments, the controller 48 may include a processing component and a data storage component).
Regarding claim 13, Ufheil, Kubota and Reed disclose, the system of claim 12 as discussed supra. Additionally, Ufheil discloses, said memory element stores the identification information, wherein said identification information is indicative of said attachment (Ufheil, 0034, for example, the operating hydraulic pressures and flow rates associated with a particular work tool can be stored within the memory of ECM 25 in the form of a plurality of maps or tables. When the work tool 36 is identified, ECM 25 will access the appropriate operating pressures and flow rates from the appropriate maps or tables and output appropriate signals to the affected valves to set the appropriate pressures and flow rates for the operation of that particular work machine).
Additionally, Reed discloses, said identification module is configured to transmit the identification information to said work machine upon the accelerometers detecting motion indicative of said attachment being coupled with said work machine (Reed, 0038, at box 154, an indication is received at a first short-range wireless device 30 that a first work tool 26 is in a coupled configuration with the machine 10. For example, a movement detection device 40 may detect acceleration that occurs when the work tool 26 is picked up by the machine 10. Data is then transmitted from the first short-range wireless device 30 at a second signal strength in response to the indication, at box 156).
Regarding claim 14, Ufheil, Kubota and Reed disclose, the system of claim 13 as discussed supra. Additionally, Ufheil discloses, said work machine comprises a control system including one or more processing elements and one or more memory elements (Ufheil, 0043, electronic controllers or modules such as ECMs 25, 34 and 44 are commonly used in association with work machines for accomplishing various tasks. In this regard, ECMs 25, 34 and 44 will typically include processing means, such as a microcontroller or microprocessor, associated electronic circuitry such as input/output circuitry, analog circuits or programmed logic arrays, as well as associated memory), wherein said control system is configured to store attachment characteristics for a plurality of different attachments (Ufheil, 0043, ECM 25 can therefore be programmed to sense and recognize the appropriate signals indicative of a particular work tool being attached to a work machine such as the work tool or attachment signal inputted to ECM 25 via conductive path 38. In addition, ECM 25 can be programmed to select and access the appropriate operating parameters for a particular work tool based upon the work tool signal) wherein said control system is configured to determine attachment characteristics of said attachment based on the identification information received from the identification module (Ufheil, 0033, the work tool identification system could comprise an rf telemetry system. The work tool 36 would include appropriate electronics and circuitry to output an rf signal encoded with a specific identification code unique to that particular work tool to be received by an rf receiver positioned and located on the work machine. The rf receiver would decode the work tool signal and convert such signal back into an electrical signal, that is, either an analog or a digital type signal. This converted signal would be indicative of the particular type of work tool mounted to the work machine and this signal would be inputted via conductive path 38 to ECM).
Regarding claim 15, Ufheil, Kubota and Reed disclose, the system of claim 14 as discussed supra. Additionally, Ufheil discloses, wherein the attachment characteristics of said attachment include the preferred operating flow rate (Ufheil, 0043, ECM 25 can be programmed to select and access the appropriate operating parameters for a particular work tool based upon the work tool signal 38 and thereafter output appropriate signals to accomplish certain tasks such as electronically reconfiguring the appropriate line relief valves, control valves and other system components impacted by the operating parameters of a particular work tool such as the control valves).
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ufheil et al (US20010032031A1) in view of Kubota (KX Series Features) further in view of RT-120 Forestry (Compact Track Loader Specifications).
Regarding claim 2, Ufheil and Kubota disclose, the system of claim 1 as discussed supra. Additionally, RT-120 Forestry, a track loader in the same field of endeavor discloses, a low auxiliary hydraulic package that is from 0 – 20 gpm. That flow range lies within the specified 10-25 gpm bracket.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Ufheil and Kubota to a specific flow rate band for an auxiliary circuit. Motivation would come from the well-known gpm safe operational ranges for standard flow attachments. Thus, making the these ranges predictable and obvious to one in the art.
Regarding claim 3, Ufheil and Kubota disclose, the system of claim 1 as discussed supra. Additionally, RT-120 Forestry discloses, a track loader with a high auxiliary hydraulic package that is from 30 – 45 gpm. This flow range lies within the specified 25-50 gpm bracket. Thus, it would be obvious to one in the art to operate in this range for the same reasoning and rationale as discussed supra in claim 2.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.E.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/CHRISTIAN CHACE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665