DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Pending and under examination: claims 1-16
Rejected: claims 9-16
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claims 1-8 be found allowable, claims 9-16 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being substantial duplicates thereof, respectively. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janschek et al. (US 20170081751 A1). In the interest of remaining concise, because claims 1-8 and 9-16 are substantial duplicates of each other, the rejections of duplicate claims will be combined.
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Janschek teaches a TiAl alloy having the following composition (in atom %):
[0023] 40%-48% Al,
[0024] 2%-8% Nb,
[0025] 0.1%-9% of at least one element that stabilizes the β phase, selected from Mo, V, Ta, Cr, Mn, Ni, Cu, Fe, Si,
[0026] 0%-0.5% B,
[0027] a balance of Ti.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05 I.).
With regard to the claimed “wherein lamellar grains have an average grain size of 20 µm or more and 200 µm or less” in claims 1 and 9, and the respective lamellar grain size limitations in claims 7-8 and 15-16, Janschek does not explicitly teach this limitation, but instead teaches a substantially similar process and discusses the effects of varying certain parameters. Specifically, Janschek teaches doing a first heat treatment step at 1230-1270°C for 50-100 min [0056], [0076], after which the component is cooled down relatively quickly to a temperature in the range of 900-950°C [0076]. This is followed by a stabilization and relaxation annealing operation at a temperature in the range of 850-950°C, for which it is possible either to heat the component once again or for the prior cooling to already take place to this temperature range [0076]. The hold time here is about 300-360 min [0076].
Moreover, Janschek identifies the relationship between recrystallization annealing, and the formation of a fine lamellar structure (i.e., “α” structure) [0055]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use or modify Janschek’s teachings to arrive at the claimed invention, because varying the presence, amount, and characteristics of the lamellar (α) structure, which imparts properties [0003], [0055] suitable for high stress applications (such as in turbofan aircraft engines) [0003], such as lower weight/density and enhanced static and dynamic properties [0003].
Regarding claims 2-6 and 10-14, as discussed in the rejections of claims 1 and 9 above, respectively, Janschek teaches a TiAl alloy having the following composition (in atom %):
[0023] 40%-48% Al,
[0024] 2%-8% Nb,
[0025] 0.1%-9% of at least one element that stabilizes the β phase, selected from Mo, V, Ta, Cr, Mn, Ni, Cu, Fe, Si,
[0026] 0%-0.5% B,
[0027] a balance of Ti.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05 I.).
Conclusion
/ADIL A. SIDDIQUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735