DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10, 14-19 are currently pending and have been examined in this application. Claims 11-13, 20 are Canceled.
This action is in response to the “request for continued examination” filed 01/22/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-10, 14, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehmann (US20200131741) in view of Matzelle (US20210132577) further in view of Kreiling (US20210043085).
Claim 1:
Lehmann explicitly teaches:
A system for controlling a position of an attachment coupled to a work machine, said system comprising: said work machine wherein said work machine comprises a control system including one or more processing elements and one or more memory elements, [wherein said control system is configured to store attachment characteristics for a plurality of different attachments, wherein the attachment characteristics include physical dimensions for the plurality of different attachments]; and said attachment, wherein said attachment is configured to be removably coupled to said work machine,
(Lehmann) – “An attachment calibration control system for a work machine where the system comprises a boom, an attachment, a boom actuator, an attachment actuator, a boom position sensor, an attachment position sensor, and a machine control module having a receiving unit, a calculation unit, and a calibration unit. The receiving unit is configured to receive a plurality of boom position signals and a plurality of attachment positions signal correlating to a plurality of sequential attachment position signals. The calculation unit is configured to calculate geometric parameters of the attachments based on the plurality of attachment position signal and the plurality of boom position signals correlating to the plurality of sequential attachment positions. The calibration unit is communicatively coupled to the boom actuator and the attachment actuator, and configured to adjust a default parameter of at least one of the boom position and the attachment position based on the geometric parameters of the attachment.” (Abstract)
“It should be appreciated that the machine control module 180 may correspond to an existing machine control module 180 of the work machine or the machine control module 180 may correspond to a separate processing device.” (Para 0021)
“For example, pre-defined loading and unloading positions may be stored within the machine control module's memory that correspond to pre-programmed factory settings and/or operator directed position settings.” (Para 0028)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
wherein said attachment includes an identification module [with a transmitter] configured to transmit identification information to said work machine when said attachment is coupled to said work machine, wherein said identification module further comprises [accelerometers to monitor movement of the attachment in three spatial dimensions], and said identification module is further configured to transmit position information [obtained from the accelerometers] to said work machine,
(Lehmann) – “An attachment calibration control system for a work machine where the system comprises a boom, an attachment, a boom actuator, an attachment actuator, a boom position sensor, an attachment position sensor, and a machine control module having a receiving unit, a calculation unit, and a calibration unit. The receiving unit is configured to receive a plurality of boom position signals and a plurality of attachment positions signal correlating to a plurality of sequential attachment position signals. The calculation unit is configured to calculate geometric parameters of the attachments based on the plurality of attachment position signal and the plurality of boom position signals correlating to the plurality of sequential attachment positions. The calibration unit is communicatively coupled to the boom actuator and the attachment actuator, and configured to adjust a default parameter of at least one of the boom position and the attachment position based on the geometric parameters of the attachment.” (Abstract)
“An attachment position sensor may be coupled to the attachment actuator, where the attachment position sensor is configured to sense an attachment position and send an attachment position signal. The system may further comprise a machine control module having a receiving unit, a calculation unit, and a calibration unit. The receiving unit is configured to receive a plurality of boom position signals and a plurality of attachment position signals. The plurality of boom position signals and the plurality of attachment position signals correlate to a plurality of sequential attachment positions. The calculation unit is configured to calculate geometric parameters of the attachment based on these plurality of attachment position signals and the plurality of boom position signals. The calibration unit may be communicatively coupled to the boom actuator and the attachment actuator. The calibration unit is configured to adjust the parameter of at least one of the boom position and the attachment position based on the geometric parameters of the attachment.” (Para 0004)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection. Per BRI, identification information may correspond with any information related to the attachment.
wherein said work machine is configured to determine one or more physical dimensions of said attachment based on the identification information transmitted to said work machine from said identification module,
(Lehmann) – “An attachment calibration control system for a work machine where the system comprises a boom, an attachment, a boom actuator, an attachment actuator, a boom position sensor, an attachment position sensor, and a machine control module having a receiving unit, a calculation unit, and a calibration unit. The receiving unit is configured to receive a plurality of boom position signals and a plurality of attachment positions signal correlating to a plurality of sequential attachment position signals. The calculation unit is configured to calculate geometric parameters of the attachments based on the plurality of attachment position signal and the plurality of boom position signals correlating to the plurality of sequential attachment positions. The calibration unit is communicatively coupled to the boom actuator and the attachment actuator, and configured to adjust a default parameter of at least one of the boom position and the attachment position based on the geometric parameters of the attachment.” (Abstract)
“An attachment position sensor may be coupled to the attachment actuator, where the attachment position sensor is configured to sense an attachment position and send an attachment position signal. The system may further comprise a machine control module having a receiving unit, a calculation unit, and a calibration unit. The receiving unit is configured to receive a plurality of boom position signals and a plurality of attachment position signals. The plurality of boom position signals and the plurality of attachment position signals correlate to a plurality of sequential attachment positions. The calculation unit is configured to calculate geometric parameters of the attachment based on these plurality of attachment position signals and the plurality of boom position signals. The calibration unit may be communicatively coupled to the boom actuator and the attachment actuator. The calibration unit is configured to adjust the parameter of at least one of the boom position and the attachment position based on the geometric parameters of the attachment.” (Para 0004)
wherein said work machine is configured to determine a position of said attachment based on the position information and on the one or more physical dimensions of said attachment.
(Lehmann) – “An attachment calibration control system for a work machine where the system comprises a boom, an attachment, a boom actuator, an attachment actuator, a boom position sensor, an attachment position sensor, and a machine control module having a receiving unit, a calculation unit, and a calibration unit. The receiving unit is configured to receive a plurality of boom position signals and a plurality of attachment positions signal correlating to a plurality of sequential attachment position signals. The calculation unit is configured to calculate geometric parameters of the attachments based on the plurality of attachment position signal and the plurality of boom position signals correlating to the plurality of sequential attachment positions. The calibration unit is communicatively coupled to the boom actuator and the attachment actuator, and configured to adjust a default parameter of at least one of the boom position and the attachment position based on the geometric parameters of the attachment.” (Abstract)
“An attachment position sensor may be coupled to the attachment actuator, where the attachment position sensor is configured to sense an attachment position and send an attachment position signal. The system may further comprise a machine control module having a receiving unit, a calculation unit, and a calibration unit. The receiving unit is configured to receive a plurality of boom position signals and a plurality of attachment position signals. The plurality of boom position signals and the plurality of attachment position signals correlate to a plurality of sequential attachment positions. The calculation unit is configured to calculate geometric parameters of the attachment based on these plurality of attachment position signals and the plurality of boom position signals. The calibration unit may be communicatively coupled to the boom actuator and the attachment actuator. The calibration unit is configured to adjust the parameter of at least one of the boom position and the attachment position based on the geometric parameters of the attachment.” (Para 0004)
Lehmann does not explicitly teach:
wherein said control system is configured to store attachment characteristics for a plurality of different attachments, wherein the attachment characteristics include physical dimensions for the plurality of different attachments…with a transmitter…accelerometers to monitor movement of the attachment in three spatial dimensions…obtained from the accelerometers…wherein the one or more physical dimensions are determined from the attachment characteristics stored in the control system of the work machine
Matzelle, in the same field of endeavor of work machine control, teaches:
wherein said control system is configured to store attachment characteristics for a plurality of different attachments
(Matzelle) – “The work tool data system 140 can record the work tool data 200 and the machine data 210 collected in one or more data logs using a data log application 240 which can be a computer executable software program configured to read and write data in electronically stored data log files. The data logs can be tabular or charted representations of the work tool data 200 and machine data 210 that can be processed and analyzed by a computer system to obtain insight and information about the interchangeable work tool attachment 102 and its interaction with the machine 100. The data log application 240 can periodically or continuously record or write the work tool data 200 and machine data 210 as data entries to the data logs periodically or continuously over time so that the work tool data system 140 generates a continuous log of relevant data with respect to time. The data logs can be saved in the data storage 146 associated with the electronic machine controller 142.” (Para 0028)
“In an embodiment, the data transmission device 180 can be configured to repeatedly or continuously transmit or broadcast work tool data 200 including tool identification data 202 and tool usage data 204 using the tool transmitter 184.” (Para 0031)
with a transmitter
(Matzelle) – “Referring to FIGS. 1 and 2, and in accordance with an aspect of the disclosure, to monitor and collect data regarding the work tool attachment 102, a data transmission device 180 may be associated with the work tool attachment and operatively interacts with the work tool data system 140 associated with the machine 100. In an embodiment, the data transmission device 180 may be physically installed and located on the interchangeable work tool attachment 102 so that it will remain associated with the work tool attachment as it is changed and relocated between various machines 100. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the data transmission device 180 can be configured as a compact structure the components of which may be disposed in a plastic housing 182 that can mounted to a suitable location on the work tool attachment 102 to avoid damage or interference with operation of the work tool attachment.…Referring to FIG. 2, to wirelessly transmit and/or receive data signals in the form of radio waves, the data transmission device 180 can include a transmitter 184 such as a radio wave antenna and associated wireless transmission circuitry 186 that can encode data signals as radio waves for transmission via a network such as, for example, a cellular network, a WiFi network, or other suitable wireless communications network.” (Para 0021)
accelerometers …obtained from the accelerometers
(Matzelle) – “The data transmission device 180 may include additional components for functionality. For example, the data transmission device 180 can also include logic circuitry 190 that may be a microprocessor or similar integrated circuit having logic functions to control operation of the device. To store information in the form of data about the work tool attachment 102 or about the data transmission device 180, a data storage 192 can be included as part of the device that can be electronically accessed by the logic circuitry 190. The data storage 192 can be in the form of computer readable and/or writable memory. In addition, to sense movement of the work tool attachment 102, for example, when coupled to and picked up by the machine, the data transmission device 180 can include a motion detector 194 such as an accelerometer that can measure acceleration forces.” (Para 0022)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the attachment calibration control system of Lehmann with the data system for tracking use of a work tool attachment of Matzelle. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “It is desirable to monitor usage of the work tool over time, for example, to determine when repair and/or replacement of the work tool may be needed or to measure efficiency of tool use.” (Matzelle Para 0002)
Matzelle does not explicitly teach:
wherein the attachment characteristics include physical dimensions for the plurality of different attachments … to monitor movement of the attachment in three spatial dimensions …wherein the one or more physical dimensions are determined from the attachment characteristics stored in the control system of the work machine
Kreiling, in the same field of endeavor of work machine control, teaches:
wherein the attachment characteristics include physical dimensions for the plurality of different attachments …wherein the one or more physical dimensions are determined from the attachment characteristics stored in the control system of the work machine
(Kreiling) – “For example, in certain implementations, the memory 52 may store an implement attribute database 72 containing information pertaining to different implement types, such as critical dimensions, key physical attributes, and/or files containing different graphical depictions of varying types of work implement. As a more specific example, in embodiments in which varying types of work implements can be attached to a work vehicle, as in the case of the loader 20 shown in FIG. 1, the controller 48 may be configured to determine the type of work implement currently attached to the work vehicle and then generate certain implement-specific graphics corresponding to the determined type of work implement, as recalled from the database 72, when generating one or more implement guidance displays.” (Para 0051)
to monitor movement of the attachment in three spatial dimensions
(Kreiling) – “In more complex embodiments, the controller 48 may consider the present motion state of the work implement in establishing the projected trajectory of the work vehicle implement. In such embodiments, implement tracking sensors 68 may further include sensors for monitoring not only the orientation of the work implement, but sensors for directly monitoring the motion state of the FEL bale spear attachment 28 (or other work implement). In this regard, one or more accelerometers or gyroscopes may be mounted to the FEL bale spear attachment 28 and/or to regions of the boom assembly 32 in embodiments. When present, such sensors may also be utilized to determine the tilt angle the FEL bale spear attachment 28, when this information is utilized by the implement guidance display system 22 in generating the below-described implement guidance symbology. In some embodiments, a multi-axis accelerometer and a multi-axis gyroscope implemented as Microelectromechanical System (MEMS) devices and packaged as, for example, an Inertial Measurement Unit (IMU) may be utilized; e.g., affixed to the FEL bale spear attachment 28 or to the distal end of the boom assembly 32 for capturing such data. Displacement measurements may further be considered over a predetermined time period to determine the motion state of a work implement relative to the work vehicle chassis by monitoring change in positioning over time.” (Para 0048)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the attachment calibration control system of Lehmann with the work vehicle guidance display system of Kreiling. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “By rapid visual reference to the guidance symbology, an operator gain improved awareness of the likely path followed by a work vehicle given a present set of conditions, thereby allowing the operator to better guide the work vehicle along an optimal path when carrying-out a task demanding relatively precise control of vehicle movement.” (Kreiling Para 0113)
Claim 2:
Lehmann in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Lehmann further teaches:
wherein the position of said attachment is an angular position or orientation of said attachment.
(Lehmann) – “Now returning to FIG. 2, the receiving unit 300 on the machine control module 180 receives the plurality of sequential attachment position signals 315 from positions 325 (FIG. 3A), 330 (FIG. 3B), and possibly 335 (FIG. 3C). The calculation unit 305 on the machine control module 180 may be configured to calculate geometric parameters 240 of the attachment 170 based on the plurality of attachment position signals 290 and the plurality of boom position signals 285 correlating to the plurality of sequential attachment positions 315. The geometric parameters 240 may comprise of an angular position data 340 (also shown as 13) of the attachment pivot 230 relative to the attachment tip 265 and the bottom surface 327, a vertical position data 345 of the attachment pivot 230 relative to the bottom surface 327, a horizontal position data 350 of the attachment pivot 230 relative to the attachment tip 265, and a linear distance of the attachment pivot relative to the attachment tip 343. These geometric parameters 240 are sufficient to determine a depth of the attachment 170, or an approximate “working volume” or “working depth”. The geometric parameter 240 most relevant to “working depth” is the horizontal position data 350.” (Para 0035)
Claim 3:
Lehmann in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Lehmann further teaches:
wherein the position of said attachment is a spatial position of said attachment.
(Lehmann) – “Now returning to FIG. 2, the receiving unit 300 on the machine control module 180 receives the plurality of sequential attachment position signals 315 from positions 325 (FIG. 3A), 330 (FIG. 3B), and possibly 335 (FIG. 3C). The calculation unit 305 on the machine control module 180 may be configured to calculate geometric parameters 240 of the attachment 170 based on the plurality of attachment position signals 290 and the plurality of boom position signals 285 correlating to the plurality of sequential attachment positions 315. The geometric parameters 240 may comprise of an angular position data 340 (also shown as 13) of the attachment pivot 230 relative to the attachment tip 265 and the bottom surface 327, a vertical position data 345 of the attachment pivot 230 relative to the bottom surface 327, a horizontal position data 350 of the attachment pivot 230 relative to the attachment tip 265, and a linear distance of the attachment pivot relative to the attachment tip 343. These geometric parameters 240 are sufficient to determine a depth of the attachment 170, or an approximate “working volume” or “working depth”. The geometric parameter 240 most relevant to “working depth” is the horizontal position data 350.” (Para 0035)
Claim 5:
Lehmann in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Lehmann further teaches:
wherein the physical dimensions of said attachment include a height, a width, or a length of said attachment.
(Lehmann) – “Now returning to FIG. 2, the receiving unit 300 on the machine control module 180 receives the plurality of sequential attachment position signals 315 from positions 325 (FIG. 3A), 330 (FIG. 3B), and possibly 335 (FIG. 3C). The calculation unit 305 on the machine control module 180 may be configured to calculate geometric parameters 240 of the attachment 170 based on the plurality of attachment position signals 290 and the plurality of boom position signals 285 correlating to the plurality of sequential attachment positions 315. The geometric parameters 240 may comprise of an angular position data 340 (also shown as 13) of the attachment pivot 230 relative to the attachment tip 265 and the bottom surface 327, a vertical position data 345 of the attachment pivot 230 relative to the bottom surface 327, a horizontal position data 350 of the attachment pivot 230 relative to the attachment tip 265, and a linear distance of the attachment pivot relative to the attachment tip 343. These geometric parameters 240 are sufficient to determine a depth of the attachment 170, or an approximate “working volume” or “working depth”. The geometric parameter 240 most relevant to “working depth” is the horizontal position data 350.” (Para 0035)
Claim 6:
Lehmann in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Lehmann further teaches:
wherein said work machine comprises a track loader.
(Lehmann) – “While one non-limiting example of the work machine 100 is illustrated as a loader, it will be understood that the work machine 100 may include other types of machines such as but not limited to a skid steer, front-end loader, a construction machine, a forestry machine, an agricultural machine, or an industrial mining machine.” (Para 0020)
Claim 8:
Lehmann in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Lehmann does not fully, explicitly teach the following limitations. However, Matzelle further teaches:
wherein said identification module comprises a housing secured to said attachment.
(Matzelle) – “Referring to FIGS. 1 and 2, and in accordance with an aspect of the disclosure, to monitor and collect data regarding the work tool attachment 102, a data transmission device 180 may be associated with the work tool attachment and operatively interacts with the work tool data system 140 associated with the machine 100. In an embodiment, the data transmission device 180 may be physically installed and located on the interchangeable work tool attachment 102 so that it will remain associated with the work tool attachment as it is changed and relocated between various machines 100. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the data transmission device 180 can be configured as a compact structure the components of which may be disposed in a plastic housing 182 that can mounted to a suitable location on the work tool attachment 102 to avoid damage or interference with operation of the work tool attachment.…Referring to FIG. 2, to wirelessly transmit and/or receive data signals in the form of radio waves, the data transmission device 180 can include a transmitter 184 such as a radio wave antenna and associated wireless transmission circuitry 186 that can encode data signals as radio waves for transmission via a network such as, for example, a cellular network, a WiFi network, or other suitable wireless communications network.” (Para 0021)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the attachment calibration control system of Lehmann with the data system for tracking use of a work tool attachment of Matzelle. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “It is desirable to monitor usage of the work tool over time, for example, to determine when repair and/or replacement of the work tool may be needed or to measure efficiency of tool use.” (Matzelle Para 0002)
Claim 9:
Lehmann in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Lehmann does not fully, explicitly teach the following limitations. However, Matzelle further teaches:
wherein said identification module comprises one or more processing elements, one or more memory elements, and the accelerometers, and
(Matzelle) – “The data transmission device 180 may include additional components for functionality. For example, the data transmission device 180 can also include logic circuitry 190 that may be a microprocessor or similar integrated circuit having logic functions to control operation of the device. To store information in the form of data about the work tool attachment 102 or about the data transmission device 180, a data storage 192 can be included as part of the device that can be electronically accessed by the logic circuitry 190. The data storage 192 can be in the form of computer readable and/or writable memory. In addition, to sense movement of the work tool attachment 102, for example, when coupled to and picked up by the machine, the data transmission device 180 can include a motion detector 194 such as an accelerometer that can measure acceleration forces.” (Para 0022)
wherein the transmitter is a wireless transmitter.
(Matzelle) – “Referring to FIGS. 1 and 2, and in accordance with an aspect of the disclosure, to monitor and collect data regarding the work tool attachment 102, a data transmission device 180 may be associated with the work tool attachment and operatively interacts with the work tool data system 140 associated with the machine 100. In an embodiment, the data transmission device 180 may be physically installed and located on the interchangeable work tool attachment 102 so that it will remain associated with the work tool attachment as it is changed and relocated between various machines 100. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the data transmission device 180 can be configured as a compact structure the components of which may be disposed in a plastic housing 182 that can mounted to a suitable location on the work tool attachment 102 to avoid damage or interference with operation of the work tool attachment.…Referring to FIG. 2, to wirelessly transmit and/or receive data signals in the form of radio waves, the data transmission device 180 can include a transmitter 184 such as a radio wave antenna and associated wireless transmission circuitry 186 that can encode data signals as radio waves for transmission via a network such as, for example, a cellular network, a WiFi network, or other suitable wireless communications network.” (Para 0021)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the attachment calibration control system of Lehmann with the data system for tracking use of a work tool attachment of Matzelle. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “It is desirable to monitor usage of the work tool over time, for example, to determine when repair and/or replacement of the work tool may be needed or to measure efficiency of tool use.” (Matzelle Para 0002)
Claim 10:
Lehmann in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 9 teach those respective limitations. Lehmann does not fully, explicitly teach the following limitations. However, Matzelle further teaches:
wherein said memory element stores the identification information, wherein said identification information is indicative of said attachment, and
(Matzelle) – “The data transmission device 180 may include additional components for functionality. For example, the data transmission device 180 can also include logic circuitry 190 that may be a microprocessor or similar integrated circuit having logic functions to control operation of the device. To store information in the form of data about the work tool attachment 102 or about the data transmission device 180, a data storage 192 can be included as part of the device that can be electronically accessed by the logic circuitry 190. The data storage 192 can be in the form of computer readable and/or writable memory. In addition, to sense movement of the work tool attachment 102, for example, when coupled to and picked up by the machine, the data transmission device 180 can include a motion detector 194 such as an accelerometer that can measure acceleration forces.” (Para 0022)
wherein said identification module is configured to transmit the identification information to said work machine upon the accelerometers detecting motion indicative of said attachment being coupled with said work machine.
(Matzelle) – “The data transmission device 180 may include additional components for functionality. For example, the data transmission device 180 can also include logic circuitry 190 that may be a microprocessor or similar integrated circuit having logic functions to control operation of the device. To store information in the form of data about the work tool attachment 102 or about the data transmission device 180, a data storage 192 can be included as part of the device that can be electronically accessed by the logic circuitry 190. The data storage 192 can be in the form of computer readable and/or writable memory. In addition, to sense movement of the work tool attachment 102, for example, when coupled to and picked up by the machine, the data transmission device 180 can include a motion detector 194 such as an accelerometer that can measure acceleration forces.” (Para 0022)
“If during the monitoring step 302 a first work tool event 304 occurs, the work tool data system 140 may perform or execute a series of queries to collect data about the work tool attachment 102, the machine 100, and their operative interaction at the time of the first work tool event 304. The first work tool event 304 may be indicative that the machine 100 has recently coupled to a work tool attachment 102 such as may be determined through a closed coupling event 214, as in the case of a quick coupler, or a profile change 218 in the case of manual coupling.” (Para 0030)
“For example, the work tool data system 140 can receive a first tool data set 310 regarding the work tool attachment 102 and that can be provided by the data transmission device 180.” (Para 0031)
“Referring to FIGS. 1 and 2, and in accordance with an aspect of the disclosure, to monitor and collect data regarding the work tool attachment 102, a data transmission device 180 may be associated with the work tool attachment and operatively interacts with the work tool data system 140 associated with the machine 100. In an embodiment, the data transmission device 180 may be physically installed and located on the interchangeable work tool attachment 102 so that it will remain associated with the work tool attachment as it is changed and relocated between various machines 100. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the data transmission device 180 can be configured as a compact structure the components of which may be disposed in a plastic housing 182 that can mounted to a suitable location on the work tool attachment 102 to avoid damage or interference with operation of the work tool attachment.…Referring to FIG. 2, to wirelessly transmit and/or receive data signals in the form of radio waves, the data transmission device 180 can include a transmitter 184 such as a radio wave antenna and associated wireless transmission circuitry 186 that can encode data signals as radio waves for transmission via a network such as, for example, a cellular network, a WiFi network, or other suitable wireless communications network.” (Para 0021)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the attachment calibration control system of Lehmann with the data system for tracking use of a work tool attachment of Matzelle. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “It is desirable to monitor usage of the work tool over time, for example, to determine when repair and/or replacement of the work tool may be needed or to measure efficiency of tool use.” (Matzelle Para 0002)
Claim 11: Canceled
Claim 12: Canceled
Claim 13: Canceled
Claim 14:
Lehmann in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Lehmann further teaches:
said work machine includes a the control system [[for]] is further configured to control[[ling]] one or more functions of said work machine,
(Lehmann) – “Moreover, the work machine 100 may include a machine control module 180 configured to monitor and execute various operational commands and other such functions of the work machine 100, such as the various hydraulic components of the work machine 100. The machine control module 180 may be communicatively coupled to one or more operator input device(s) 160. In some embodiments, the machine control module 180 may be communicably coupled to operator input devices 160 such as but not limited to, a steering input device (not shown), a throttle control (not shown), an attachment control (shown as an operator input device 160), and other such operational controls. Furthermore, the machine control module 180 may be communicably coupled to a display device (not shown) which displays or otherwise outputs instructions or other operational commands to the operator of the work machine 100. As a result, the machine control module 180 may receive and send input signals, output signals and other such data communicated between the various operational controls (not shown) of the work machine 100.” (Para 0021)
“Additionally, the method may include sending the first boom position signal and the first attachment position signal to a machine control module located on the frame of the work machine. The method may further include positioning the attachment in a second position, and creating a second boom position signal using the boom position sensor and a second attachment position signal using the attachment position sensor based on the second position. This may include sending the second boom position signal and the second attachment position signal to the machine control module.” (Para 0005)
wherein said control system is configured to provide an indication of the position of said attachment on a graphic display of said work machine.
(Lehmann) – “Moreover, the work machine 100 may include a machine control module 180 configured to monitor and execute various operational commands and other such functions of the work machine 100, such as the various hydraulic components of the work machine 100. The machine control module 180 may be communicatively coupled to one or more operator input device(s) 160. In some embodiments, the machine control module 180 may be communicably coupled to operator input devices 160 such as but not limited to, a steering input device (not shown), a throttle control (not shown), an attachment control (shown as an operator input device 160), and other such operational controls. Furthermore, the machine control module 180 may be communicably coupled to a display device (not shown) which displays or otherwise outputs instructions or other operational commands to the operator of the work machine 100. As a result, the machine control module 180 may receive and send input signals, output signals and other such data communicated between the various operational controls (not shown) of the work machine 100.” (Para 0021)
“Additionally, the method may include sending the first boom position signal and the first attachment position signal to a machine control module located on the frame of the work machine. The method may further include positioning the attachment in a second position, and creating a second boom position signal using the boom position sensor and a second attachment position signal using the attachment position sensor based on the second position. This may include sending the second boom position signal and the second attachment position signal to the machine control module.” (Para 0005)
Claim 16:
Lehmann in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 14 teach those respective limitations. Lehmann further teaches:
wherein said control system is configured to receive an intended position of said attachment, and
(Lehmann) – “Moreover, the work machine 100 may include a machine control module 180 configured to monitor and execute various operational commands and other such functions of the work machine 100, such as the various hydraulic components of the work machine 100. The machine control module 180 may be communicatively coupled to one or more operator input device(s) 160. In some embodiments, the machine control module 180 may be communicably coupled to operator input devices 160 such as but not limited to, a steering input device (not shown), a throttle control (not shown), an attachment control (shown as an operator input device 160), and other such operational controls. Furthermore, the machine control module 180 may be communicably coupled to a display device (not shown) which displays or otherwise outputs instructions or other operational commands to the operator of the work machine 100. As a result, the machine control module 180 may receive and send input signals, output signals and other such data communicated between the various operational controls (not shown) of the work machine 100.” (Para 0021)
“Additionally, the method may include sending the first boom position signal and the first attachment position signal to a machine control module located on the frame of the work machine. The method may further include positioning the attachment in a second position, and creating a second boom position signal using the boom position sensor and a second attachment position signal using the attachment position sensor based on the second position. This may include sending the second boom position signal and the second attachment position signal to the machine control module.” (Para 0005)
wherein said control system is configured to generate an alert if the position of said attachment deviates from said intended position.
(Lehman) – “Now turning to FIGS. 4A-4D with continued reference to FIG. 2, the machine control module 180 may further comprise an object clearance unit 370, wherein the object clearance unit 370 may be communicatively coupled to the boom actuator 215 and the attachment actuator 220. The object clearance unit 370 may be configured to activate and de-activate an object clearance mode 375 based on an object clearance signal 380 from the operator input device 160. Alternatively, the object clearance mode 375 may be automated as part of a dumping cycle pre-programmed on the machine control module 180. When dumping material into a bin 385, it is not uncommon for an operator to slightly misjudge the placement of the attachment 170 relative to the bin 385 of a dump truck. This slight misjudgment can result in unwanted contact between the attachment 170 and the bin 385. For example, if the work machine 100 were to move rearwardly with the attachment positioned as shown in FIG. 4A, the bottom surface 327 of the attachment would interfere with the bin 385. This erroneous positioning is further aggravated by use of aftermarket components where the machine control module 180 does not recognize the attachment 170, or the geometric parameters 240 of the attachment 170. The object clearance unit 370 in combination with the aforementioned units (i.e. the receiving unit 300, the calculation unit 305, the calibration unit 310 of the attachment calibration control system 250) addresses this issue. The object clearance mode 375 restricts the sequential movement of the attachment 170 after a dumping position 390 (shown in FIG. 4A) to a leveling position 395 (shown in FIG. 4B) and subsequently to a lowering position 400 (shown in FIG. 4D). The lowering position 400 (shown in FIG. 4D) is restricted until a rearward movement (designated by arrow in FIG. 4C) of the work machine 100 exceeds a predetermined threshold. The predetermined threshold may comprise a first horizontal position data 350 of the attachment pivot 230 relative to the attachment tip 265 (acquired during the steps of the attachment calibration control system 250), and a second horizontal position data 410 of the attachment pivot 230 relative to the ground engaging supports 130 which is a known value as this is based on the linkage geometry and kinematics of the boom 190.” (Para 0042)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, object clearance mode corresponds with alert.
Claim 17:
Lehmann in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 14 teach those respective limitations. Lehmann further teaches:
wherein said control system is configured to receive an intended position of said attachment, and wherein said control system is configured to automatically adjust the position of said attachment to match the intended position.
(Lehman) – “As will be described below, such control of the positioning and/or orientation of the various components of the work machine 100 may allow the boom 190 and the attachment 170 to be automatically moved to one or more pre-defined positions during operation of the work machine 100. For example, when the work machine 100 is being utilized to perform a material moving operation, such as moving material from a pile and dumping it back into the bin of a dump truck 385 (shown in FIG. 4A-4D), the boom 190 and attachment 170 may be automatically moved between a digging and loading position and a dumping or unloading position (shown in FIG. 4A-4D). Additionally, utilizing automated features such as “return to level” and “object clearance” mode improves the overall efficiency of the work machine 100 when performing the material moving operation. Moving the attachment 170 with such precision in manual mode and/or utilizing the automated features requires the machine control module 180 to recognize the geometric parameters 240 (exemplary embodiment of geometric parameters or present disclosure shown in FIG. 3A-3C) of the attachment 170.” (Para 0024)
“Moreover, the work machine 100 may include a machine control module 180 configured to monitor and execute various operational commands and other such functions of the work machine 100, such as the various hydraulic components of the work machine 100. The machine control module 180 may be communicatively coupled to one or more operator input device(s) 160. In some embodiments, the machine control module 180 may be communicably coupled to operator input devices 160 such as but not limited to, a steering input device (not shown), a throttle control (not shown), an attachment control (shown as an operator input device 160), and other such operational controls. Furthermore, the machine control module 180 may be communicably coupled to a display device (not shown) which displays or otherwise outputs instructions or other operational commands to the operator of the work machine 100. As a result, the machine control module 180 may receive and send input signals, output signals and other such data communicated between the various operational controls (not shown) of the work machine 100.” (Para 0021)
“Additionally, the method may include sending the first boom position signal and the first attachment position signal to a machine control module located on the frame of the work machine. The method may further include positioning the attachment in a second position, and creating a second boom position signal using the boom position sensor and a second attachment position signal using the attachment position sensor based on the second position. This may include sending the second boom position signal and the second attachment position signal to the machine control module.” (Para 0005)
Claim 18:
Lehmann explicitly teaches:
A method of controlling a position of an attachment coupled to a work machine, wherein the work machine comprises a control system including one or more processing elements and one or more memory elements, [wherein the control system is configured to store attachment characteristics for a plurality of different attachments, wherein the attachment characteristics include physical dimensions for the plurality of different attachments], said method comprising the steps of: coupling the attachment to the work machine, wherein the attachment includes an identification module [with a transmitter and accelerometers configured to sense movement in three spatial dimensions]; transmitting identification information from the identification module of the attachment to the work machine;
(Lehmann) – “An attachment calibration control system for a work machine where the system comprises a boom, an attachment, a boom actuator, an attachment actuator, a boom position sensor, an attachment position sensor, and a machine control module having a receiving unit, a calculation unit, and a calibration unit. The receiving unit is configured to receive a plurality of boom position signals and a plurality of attachment positions signal correlating to a plurality of sequential attachment position signals. The calculation unit is configured to calculate geometric parameters of the attachments based on the plurality of attachment position signal and the plurality of boom position signals correlating to the plurality of sequential attachment positions. The calibration unit is communicatively coupled to the boom actuator and the attachment actuator, and configured to adjust a default parameter of at least one of the boom position and the attachment position based on the geometric parameters of the attachment.” (Abstract)
“It should be appreciated that the machine control module 180 may correspond to an existing machine control module 180 of the work machine or the machine control module 180 may correspond to a separate processing device.” (Para 0021)
“For example, pre-defined loading and unloading positions may be stored within the machine control module's memory that correspond to pre-programmed factory settings and/or operator directed position settings.” (Para 0028)
“An attachment position sensor may be coupled to the attachment actuator, where the attachment position sensor is configured to sense an attachment position and send an attachment position signal. The system may further comprise a machine control module having a receiving unit, a calculation unit, and a calibration unit. The receiving unit is configured to receive a plurality of boom position signals and a plurality of attachment position signals. The plurality of boom position signals and the plurality of attachment position signals correlate to a plurality of sequential attachment positions. The calculation unit is configured to calculate geometric parameters of the attachment based on these plurality of attachment position signals and the plurality of boom position signals. The calibration unit may be communicatively coupled to the boom actuator and the attachment actuator. The calibration unit is configured to adjust the parameter of at least one of the boom position and the attachment position based on the geometric parameters of the attachment.” (Para 0004)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection. Per BRI, identification information may correspond with any information related to the attachment.
determining one or more physical dimensions of the attachment, wherein the one or more physical dimensions are determined based on the identification information transmitted from the identification module to the work machine; measuring, [in real time via the accelerometers], position information for the attachment; transmitting the position information from the identification module of the attachment to the work machine; and
(Lehmann) – “An attachment calibration control system for a work machine where the system comprises a boom, an attachment, a boom actuator, an attachment actuator, a boom position sensor, an attachment position sensor, and a machine control module having a receiving unit, a calculation unit, and a calibration unit. The receiving unit is configured to receive a plurality of boom position signals and a plurality of attachment positions signal correlating to a plurality of sequential attachment position signals. The calculation unit is configured to calculate geometric parameters of the attachments based on the plurality of attachment position signal and the plurality of boom position signals correlating to the plurality of sequential attachment positions. The calibration unit is communicatively coupled to the boom actuator and the attachment actuator, and configured to adjust a default parameter of at least one of the boom position and the attachment position based on the geometric parameters of the attachment.” (Abstract)
“An attachment position sensor may be coupled to the attachment actuator, where the attachment position sensor is configured to sense an attachment position and send an attachment position signal. The system may further comprise a machine control module having a receiving unit, a calculation unit, and a calibration unit. The receiving unit is configured to receive a plurality of boom position signals and a plurality of attachment position signals. The plurality of boom position signals and the plurality of attachment position signals correlate to a plurality of sequential attachment positions. The calculation unit is configured to calculate geometric parameters of the attachment based on these plurality of attachment position signals and the plurality of boom position signals. The calibration unit may be communicatively coupled to the boom actuator and the attachment actuator. The calibration unit is configured to adjust the parameter of at least one of the boom position and the attachment position based on the geometric parameters of the attachment.” (Para 0004)
determining a real-time position of said attachment based on the position information and on the one or more physical dimensions of said attachment.
(Lehmann) – “An attachment calibration control system for a work machine where the system comprises a boom, an attachment, a boom actuator, an attachment actuator, a boom position sensor, an attachment position sensor, and a machine control module having a receiving unit, a calculation unit, and a calibration unit. The receiving unit is configured to receive a plurality of boom position signals and a plurality of attachment positions signal correlating to a plurality of sequential attachment position signals. The calculation unit is configured to calculate geometric parameters of the attachments based on the plurality of attachment position signal and the plurality of boom position signals correlating to the plurality of sequential attachment positions. The calibration unit is communicatively coupled to the boom actuator and the attachment actuator, and configured to adjust a default parameter of at least one of the boom position and the attachment position based on the geometric parameters of the attachment.” (Abstract)
“An attachment position sensor may be coupled to the attachment actuator, where the attachment position sensor is configured to sense an attachment position and send an attachment position signal. The system may further comprise a machine control module having a receiving unit, a calculation unit, and a calibration unit. The receiving unit is configured to receive a plurality of boom position signals and a plurality of attachment position signals. The plurality of boom position signals and the plurality of attachment position signals correlate to a plurality of sequential attachment positions. The calculation unit is configured to calculate geometric parameters of the attachment based on these plurality of attachment position signals and the plurality of boom position signals. The calibration unit may be communicatively coupled to the boom actuator and the attachment actuator. The calibration unit is configured to adjust the parameter of at least one of the boom position and the attachment position based on the geometric parameters of the attachment.” (Para 0004)
Lehmann does not explicitly teach:
wherein the control system is configured to store attachment characteristics for a plurality of different attachments, wherein the attachment characteristics include physical dimensions for the plurality of different attachments…with a transmitter and accelerometers configured to sense movement in three spatial dimensions… in real time via the accelerometers …wherein the one or more physical dimensions are determined from the attachment characteristics stored in the control system of the work machine
Matzelle, in the same field of endeavor of work machine control, teaches:
wherein said control system is configured to store attachment characteristics for a plurality of different attachments
(Matzelle) – “The work tool data system 140 can record the work tool data 200 and the machine data 210 collected in one or more data logs using a data log application 240 which can be a computer executable software program configured to read and write data in electronically stored data log files. The data logs can be tabular or charted representations of the work tool data 200 and machine data 210 that can be processed and analyzed by a computer system to obtain insight and information about the interchangeable work tool attachment 102 and its interaction with the machine 100. The data log application 240 can periodically or continuously record or write the work tool data 200 and machine data 210 as data entries to the data logs periodically or continuously over time so that the work tool data system 140 generates a continuous log of relevant data with respect to time. The data logs can be saved in the data storage 146 associated with the electronic machine controller 142.” (Para 0028)
“In an embodiment, the data transmission device 180 can be configured to repeatedly or continuously transmit or broadcast work tool data 200 including tool identification data 202 and tool usage data 204 using the tool transmitter 184.” (Para 0031)
with a transmitter and
(Matzelle) – “Referring to FIGS. 1 and 2, and in accordance with an aspect of the disclosure, to monitor and collect data regarding the work tool attachment 102, a data transmission device 180 may be associated with the work tool attachment and operatively interacts with the work tool data system 140 associated with the machine 100. In an embodiment, the data transmission device 180 may be physically installed and located on the interchangeable work tool attachment 102 so that it will remain associated with the work tool attachment as it is changed and relocated between various machines 100. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the data transmission device 180 can be configured as a compact structure the components of which may be disposed in a plastic housing 182 that can mounted to a suitable location on the work tool attachment 102 to avoid damage or interference with operation of the work tool attachment.…Referring to FIG. 2, to wirelessly transmit and/or receive data signals in the form of radio waves, the data transmission device 180 can include a transmitter 184 such as a radio wave antenna and associated wireless transmission circuitry 186 that can encode data signals as radio waves for transmission via a network such as, for example, a cellular network, a WiFi network, or other suitable wireless communications network.” (Para 0021)
accelerometers
(Matzelle) – “The data transmission device 180 may include additional components for functionality. For example, the data transmission device 180 can also include logic circuitry 190 that may be a microprocessor or similar integrated circuit having logic functions to control operation of the device. To store information in the form of data about the work tool attachment 102 or about the data transmission device 180, a data storage 192 can be included as part of the device that can be electronically accessed by the logic circuitry 190. The data storage 192 can be in the form of computer readable and/or writable memory. In addition, to sense movement of the work tool attachment 102, for example, when coupled to and picked up by the machine, the data transmission device 180 can include a motion detector 194 such as an accelerometer that can measure acceleration forces.” (Para 0022)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the attachment calibration control system of Lehmann with the data system for tracking use of a work tool attachment of Matzelle. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “It is desirable to monitor usage of the work tool over time, for example, to determine when repair and/or replacement of the work tool may be needed or to measure efficiency of tool use.” (Matzelle Para 0002)
Matzelle does not explicitly teach:
wherein the attachment characteristics include physical dimensions for the plurality of different attachments … configured to sense movement in three spatial dimensions… in real time via the accelerometers …wherein the one or more physical dimensions are determined from the attachment characteristics stored in the control system of the work machine
Kreiling, in the same field of endeavor of work machine control, teaches:
wherein the attachment characteristics include physical dimensions for the plurality of different attachments …wherein the one or more physical dimensions are determined from the attachment characteristics stored in the control system of the work machine
(Kreiling) – “For example, in certain implementations, the memory 52 may store an implement attribute database 72 containing information pertaining to different implement types, such as critical dimensions, key physical attributes, and/or files containing different graphical depictions of varying types of work implement. As a more specific example, in embodiments in which varying types of work implements can be attached to a work vehicle, as in the case of the loader 20 shown in FIG. 1, the controller 48 may be configured to determine the type of work implement currently attached to the work vehicle and then generate certain implement-specific graphics corresponding to the determined type of work implement, as recalled from the database 72, when generating one or more implement guidance displays.” (Para 0051)
configured to sense movement in three spatial dimensions… in real time via the accelerometers
(Kreiling) – “In more complex embodiments, the controller 48 may consider the present motion state of the work implement in establishing the projected trajectory of the work vehicle implement. In such embodiments, implement tracking sensors 68 may further include sensors for monitoring not only the orientation of the work implement, but sensors for directly monitoring the motion state of the FEL bale spear attachment 28 (or other work implement). In this regard, one or more accelerometers or gyroscopes may be mounted to the FEL bale spear attachment 28 and/or to regions of the boom assembly 32 in embodiments. When present, such sensors may also be utilized to determine the tilt angle the FEL bale spear attachment 28, when this information is utilized by the implement guidance display system 22 in generating the below-described implement guidance symbology. In some embodiments, a multi-axis accelerometer and a multi-axis gyroscope implemented as Microelectromechanical System (MEMS) devices and packaged as, for example, an Inertial Measurement Unit (IMU) may be utilized; e.g., affixed to the FEL bale spear attachment 28 or to the distal end of the boom assembly 32 for capturing such data. Displacement measurements may further be considered over a predetermined time period to determine the motion state of a work implement relative to the work vehicle chassis by monitoring change in positioning over time.” (Para 0048)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the attachment calibration control system of Lehmann with the work vehicle guidance display system of Kreiling. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “By rapid visual reference to the guidance symbology, an operator gain improved awareness of the likely path followed by a work vehicle given a present set of conditions, thereby allowing the operator to better guide the work vehicle along an optimal path when carrying-out a task demanding relatively precise control of vehicle movement.” (Kreiling Para 0113)
Claim 20: Canceled
Claim(s) 4, 7, 15, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehmann (US20200131741) in view of Matzelle (US20210132577) further in view of Kreiling (US20210043085) further in view of Posselius (US10479354).
Claim 4:
Lehmann in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 3 teach those respective limitations. Lehmann further teaches:
wherein the position of said attachment is a depth of said attachment [below ground surface].
(Lehmann) – “Now returning to FIG. 2, the receiving unit 300 on the machine control module 180 receives the plurality of sequential attachment position signals 315 from positions 325 (FIG. 3A), 330 (FIG. 3B), and possibly 335 (FIG. 3C). The calculation unit 305 on the machine control module 180 may be configured to calculate geometric parameters 240 of the attachment 170 based on the plurality of attachment position signals 290 and the plurality of boom position signals 285 correlating to the plurality of sequential attachment positions 315. The geometric parameters 240 may comprise of an angular position data 340 (also shown as 13) of the attachment pivot 230 relative to the attachment tip 265 and the bottom surface 327, a vertical position data 345 of the attachment pivot 230 relative to the bottom surface 327, a horizontal position data 350 of the attachment pivot 230 relative to the attachment tip 265, and a linear distance of the attachment pivot relative to the attachment tip 343. These geometric parameters 240 are sufficient to determine a depth of the attachment 170, or an approximate “working volume” or “working depth”. The geometric parameter 240 most relevant to “working depth” is the horizontal position data 350.” (Para 0035)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
Lehmann does not explicitly teach:
below ground surface
Posselius, in the same field of endeavor of work machine control, teaches:
below ground surface
(Posselius) – “In certain embodiments, the user interface 68 includes a display 70 configured to present information to the operator, such as a graphical representation of a guidance swath, a visual representation of certain parameter(s) associated with operation of the autonomous work vehicle (e.g., fuel level, oil pressure, water temperature, etc.), a visual representation of certain parameter(s) associated with operation of an agricultural implement coupled to the autonomous work vehicle (e.g., seed level, penetration depth of ground engaging tools, orientation(s)/position(s) of certain components of the implement, etc.), or a combination thereof, among other information.” (Col 7 Ln 21-33)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the attachment calibration control system of Lehmann with the obstacle detection system of Posselius. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to “automatically instruct a movement control system of the autonomous work vehicle to avoid the obstacle” (Posselius Col 1 Ln 17-18)
Claim 7:
Lehmann in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Lehmann further teaches:
wherein said attachment is a hydraulically-operated attachment [selected from the following: an auger, a grinder, a jack hammer/breaker, a tiller, a roller, a trencher, a digger derrick, a cold mill, a brush/sweeper, a grapple, a tree/post puller, and a power rake].
(Lehman) – “Moreover, the work machine 100 may include a machine control module 180 configured to monitor and execute various operational commands and other such functions of the work machine 100, such as the various hydraulic components of the work machine 100.” (Para 0021)
“An attachment calibration control system for a work machine where the system comprises a boom, an attachment, a boom actuator, an attachment actuator, a boom position sensor, an attachment position sensor, and a machine control module having a receiving unit, a calculation unit, and a calibration unit. The receiving unit is configured to receive a plurality of boom position signals and a plurality of attachment positions signal correlating to a plurality of sequential attachment position signals. The calculation unit is configured to calculate geometric parameters of the attachments based on the plurality of attachment position signal and the plurality of boom position signals correlating to the plurality of sequential attachment positions. The calibration unit is communicatively coupled to the boom actuator and the attachment actuator, and configured to adjust a default parameter of at least one of the boom position and the attachment position based on the geometric parameters of the attachment.” (Abstract)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
Lehmann does not explicitly teach:
selected from the following: an auger, a grinder, a jack hammer/breaker, a tiller, a roller, a trencher, a digger derrick, a cold mill, a brush/sweeper, a grapple, a tree/post puller, and a power rake
Posselius, in the same field of endeavor of work machine control, teaches:
selected from the following: an auger, a grinder, a jack hammer/breaker, a tiller, a roller, a trencher, a digger derrick, a cold mill, a brush/sweeper, a grapple, a tree/post puller, and a power rake
(Posselius) – “While the movable tool includes a dozer blade in the illustrated embodiment, in alternative embodiments the movable tool may include other suitable type(s) of tools(s) (e.g., a bucket, a broom, an auger, a grapple, etc.).” (Col 3 Ln 37-40)
“In certain embodiments, the user interface 68 includes a display 70 configured to present information to the operator, such as a graphical representation of a guidance swath, a visual representation of certain parameter(s) associated with operation of the autonomous work vehicle (e.g., fuel level, oil pressure, water temperature, etc.), a visual representation of certain parameter(s) associated with operation of an agricultural implement coupled to the autonomous work vehicle (e.g., seed level, penetration depth of ground engaging tools, orientation(s)/position(s) of certain components of the implement, etc.), or a combination thereof, among other information.” (Col 7 Ln 21-33)
“In certain embodiments, the implement controller/control system may be configured to instruct actuator(s) to adjust a penetration depth of at least one ground engaging tool of the agricultural implement. By way of example, the implement controller/control system may instruct actuator(s) to reduce or increase the penetration depth of each tillage point on a tilling implement, or the implement controller/control system may instruct actuator(s) to engage or disengage each opener disc/blade of a seeding/planting implement from the soil. Furthermore, the implement controller/control system may instruct actuator(s) to transition the agricultural implement between a working position and a transport portion, to adjust a flow rate of product from the agricultural implement, or to adjust a position of a header of the agricultural implement (e.g., a harvester, etc.), among other operations. The autonomous work vehicle control system may also include controller(s)/control system(s) for electrohydraulic remote(s), power take-off shaft(s), adjustable hitch(es), or a combination thereof, among other controllers/control systems.” (Col 8 Ln 18-38)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the attachment calibration control system of Lehmann with the obstacle detection system of Posselius. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to “automatically instruct a movement control system of the autonomous work vehicle to avoid the obstacle” (Posselius Col 1 Ln 17-18)
Claim 15:
Lehmann in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 14 teach those respective limitations. Lehmann does not explicitly teach the following limitations. However, Posselius, in the same field of endeavor of work vehicle control, teaches:
wherein the indication of the position of said attachment is presented as a graphical representation of said attachment in a particular position or orientation.
(Posselius) – “In certain embodiments, the user interface 68 includes a display 70 configured to present information to the operator, such as a graphical representation of a guidance swath, a visual representation of certain parameter(s) associated with operation of the autonomous work vehicle (e.g., fuel level, oil pressure, water temperature, etc.), a visual representation of certain parameter(s) associated with operation of an agricultural implement coupled to the autonomous work vehicle (e.g., seed level, penetration depth of ground engaging tools, orientation(s)/position(s) of certain components of the implement, etc.), or a combination thereof, among other information.” (Col 7 Ln 21-33)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the attachment calibration control system of Lehmann with the obstacle detection system of Posselius. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to “automatically instruct a movement control system of the autonomous work vehicle to avoid the obstacle” (Posselius Col 1 Ln 17-18)
Claim 19
Rejected based on the same rationale as Claim 4
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection mailed 10/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Rejection has been updated to reflect amended language.
Specifically, all claims are now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 further in view of Kreiling rather than Finley. Examiner maintains that Kreiling resolves any alleged deficiencies of the previously applied prior art as fully evidenced in the updated rejection rationale as necessitated by amendment.
As such, all remaining claims remain rejected over 35 U.S.C. 103.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Reed (US9938693) teaches a tracking system for a work tool.
/DAVID RUBEN PEDERSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3658