DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 20 are pending in this application. Claims 1, 9 and 15 are independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION – The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 – 8 recite the limitation "…the node…" However, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elshafie, Ahmed (US-20250008490-A1, hereinafter simply referred to as Ahmed).
Regarding independent claim(s) 1 and 15, Ahmed teaches:
A radio access network (RAN) node (e.g., RAN node, such as a base station 140 (FIG. 1) of Ahmed) comprising: a memory (e.g., memory of Ahmed) storing computer readable instructions; and processing circuitry (e.g., CPU of Ahmed) configured to execute the computer readable instructions to cause the node to, receive an association request message transmitted by an energy-harvesting (EH) user equipment (UE) device (e.g., energy harvesting device (e.g., a user equipment (UE) or an internet of things (IoT) device) of Ahmed) based on an energy level of the EH UE device (See at least Ahmed, ¶ [0032, 0035, 0076]; FIGS. 1, 3 – 6; "…An energy mode may define an amount of energy available for the UE…", "…the UE may be configured for monitoring signaling related to EH such as an energy mode or for indicating charging rate requests…a transmission may indicate a request for RF energy for EH…", "…the energy mode may be based on an active EH method or battery status, either of which may change over time. The UE may send a new indication in response to a change in energy mode…"); assign a reader node (e.g., network device 606 of Ahmed) from a plurality of reader nodes to the EH UE device based on the association request message (See at least Ahmed, ¶ [0095]; FIGS. 1, 3 – 6; "…where the UE 604 has requested a charging rate for RF charging, the base station 602 may transmit an indication of an RF charging level 650 to a network device 606. For example, the network device 606 may be another UE or a CPE that is located closer to the UE 604 than the base station 602. The indication of the RF charging level 650 may instruct the network device 606 to provide an RF signal 652 that the UE 604 can use for energy harvesting…"); transmit an association response message to the EH UE device and the assigned reader node (See at least Ahmed, ¶ [0083, 0084]; FIGS. 1, 3 – 6; "…An ACK may indicate that the base station has accepted the request and will change operating parameters after an activation time 542…", "…The base station may transmit the ACK 540 and switch to a configuration corresponding to energy mode 2 for the UE after the activation time 54…"), the association response message including attachment information associated with the EH UE device and the assigned reader node (See at least Ahmed, ¶ [0083, 0084]; FIGS. 1, 3 – 6; "…An ACK may indicate that the base station has accepted the request and will change operating parameters after an activation time 542…", "…The base station may transmit the ACK 540 and switch to a configuration corresponding to energy mode 2 for the UE after the activation time 54…"); and receive an attachment acknowledgement message from the assigned reader node in response to the association response message (See at least Ahmed, ¶ [0083, 0084]; FIGS. 1, 3 – 6; "…An ACK may indicate that the base station has accepted the request and will change operating parameters after an activation time 542…", "…The base station may transmit the ACK 540 and switch to a configuration corresponding to energy mode 2 for the UE after the activation time 54…").
Ahmed teaches the subject matter of the claimed inventive concept as expressed in the rejections above. However, the teachings are taught in separate embodiments.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ahmed taught in separate embodiments for the desirable and advantageous purpose of providing techniques for limiting the resources and processing of a UE based on an energy mode, as discussed in Ahmed (See ¶ [0033]); thereby, achieving the predictable result of improving the overall efficiency and speed of the system with a reasonable expectation of success while enabling others skilled in the art to best utilize the invention along with various implementations and modifications as are suited to the particular use contemplated.
Regarding independent claim 9, Ahmed teaches:
An energy-harvesting (EH) user equipment (UE) device (e.g., energy harvesting device (e.g., a user equipment (UE) or an internet of things (IoT) device) of Ahmed) comprising: at least one energy harvesting circuitry (e.g., EH component 114 (FIG. 1) of Ahmed) configured to collect energy (See at least Ahmed, ¶ [0069]; FIGS. 1, 3 – 6; "…the UE 350 may include a EH component 114. The EH component 114 may be a circuit configured to harvest RF energy and store the harvested energy. The EH component 114 may include an RF to DC circuit configured to convert RF energy to DC current. The EH component 114 may include a battery or capacitor for storing the harvested energy…"); a memory (e.g., memory of Ahmed) storing computer readable instructions; and processing circuitry (e.g., CPU of Ahmed) configured to execute the computer readable instructions to cause the device to, transmit an association request message to a radio access network (RAN) node (e.g., RAN node, such as a base station 140 (FIG. 1) of Ahmed) based on an energy level of the collected energy (See at least Ahmed, ¶ [0032, 0035, 0076, 0095]; FIGS. 1, 3 – 6; "…An energy mode may define an amount of energy available for the UE…", "…the UE may be configured for monitoring signaling related to EH such as an energy mode or for indicating charging rate requests…a transmission may indicate a request for RF energy for EH…", "…the energy mode may be based on an active EH method or battery status, either of which may change over time. The UE may send a new indication in response to a change in energy mode…", "…where the UE 604 has requested a charging rate for RF charging, the base station 602 may transmit an indication of an RF charging level 650 to a network device 606. For example, the network device 606 may be another UE or a CPE that is located closer to the UE 604 than the base station 602. The indication of the RF charging level 650 may instruct the network device 606 to provide an RF signal 652 that the UE 604 can use for energy harvesting…"); receive an association response message from the RAN node (See at least Ahmed, ¶ [0083, 0084]; FIGS. 1, 3 – 6; "…An ACK may indicate that the base station has accepted the request and will change operating parameters after an activation time 542…", "…The base station may transmit the ACK 540 and switch to a configuration corresponding to energy mode 2 for the UE after the activation time 54…"), the association response message including attachment information corresponding to a reader node assigned to the EH UE device from a plurality of reader nodes (See at least Ahmed, ¶ [0095]; FIGS. 1, 3 – 6; "…where the UE 604 has requested a charging rate for RF charging, the base station 602 may transmit an indication of an RF charging level 650 to a network device 606. For example, the network device 606 may be another UE or a CPE that is located closer to the UE 604 than the base station 602. The indication of the RF charging level 650 may instruct the network device 606 to provide an RF signal 652 that the UE 604 can use for energy harvesting…"); and transmit data to the assigned reader node based on the attachment information (See at least Ahmed, ¶ [0083, 0084]; FIGS. 1, 3 – 6; "…An ACK may indicate that the base station has accepted the request and will change operating parameters after an activation time 542…", "…The base station may transmit the ACK 540 and switch to a configuration corresponding to energy mode 2 for the UE after the activation time 54…").
Ahmed teaches the subject matter of the claimed inventive concept as expressed in the rejections above. However, the teachings are taught in separate embodiments.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ahmed taught in separate embodiments for the desirable and advantageous purpose of providing techniques for limiting the resources and processing of a UE based on an energy mode, as discussed in Ahmed (See ¶ [0033]); thereby, achieving the predictable result of improving the overall efficiency and speed of the system with a reasonable expectation of success while enabling others skilled in the art to best utilize the invention along with various implementations and modifications as are suited to the particular use contemplated.
Regarding dependent claim 2, Ahmed teaches:
wherein the association request message further includes signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR) (e.g., signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) of Ahmed) information of at least one reader node of the plurality of reader nodes measured by the EH UE device in response to a signal transmitted by the at least one reader node (See at least Ahmed, ¶ [0080]; FIGS. 1, 3 – 6; "…In an aspect where turbo HARQ, i.e., CSI derived based on PDSCH, is used, the UE can determine the CSI based on the maximum number of coding iterations. Similarly, the delta-MCS or a reported signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) may be based on fewer MCS possibilities according to the identified maximum MCS…The UE can change the value of the maximum number of coding iterations in response to a change in the energy mode of the UE…"); and the node is further caused to assign the reader node by, selecting the assigned reader node from the plurality of reader nodes based on the received SINR information (See at least Ahmed, ¶ [0080]; FIGS. 1, 3 – 6; "…In an aspect where turbo HARQ, i.e., CSI derived based on PDSCH, is used, the UE can determine the CSI based on the maximum number of coding iterations. Similarly, the delta-MCS or a reported signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) may be based on fewer MCS possibilities according to the identified maximum MCS…The UE can change the value of the maximum number of coding iterations in response to a change in the energy mode of the UE…").
Regarding dependent claims 3 and 16, Ahmed teaches:
wherein the association request message includes an identifier associated with the EH UE device (See at least Ahmed, ¶ [0084]; FIGS. 1, 3 – 6; "…a UE 104 may transmit a sequence on the time and frequency occasion 530 indicating an energy mode 2 (e.g., indicating a relatively greater available power such as from a solar charging source). The base station 102 may receive the sequence and identify the UE 104…"); and the node is further caused to assign the reader node to the EH UE device by, selecting the assigned reader node from the plurality of reader nodes based on the identifier associated with the EH UE device (See at least Ahmed, ¶ [0084]; FIGS. 1, 3 – 6; "…a UE 104 may transmit a sequence on the time and frequency occasion 530 indicating an energy mode 2 (e.g., indicating a relatively greater available power such as from a solar charging source). The base station 102 may receive the sequence and identify the UE 104. The base station may transmit the ACK 540 and switch to a configuration corresponding to energy mode 2 for the UE after the activation time 542. For instance, the configuration corresponding to energy mode 2 may activate an additional data CC or configure a wider BWP. In contrast, if the indication corresponds to a lower energy mode or is a request to reduce configured CCs for the UE, the base station may reduce the data CCs active for the UE…").
Regarding dependent claims 4, 11 and 17, Ahmed teaches:
wherein the node is further caused to assign the reader node by, determining an approximate location of the EH UE device based on the identifier associated with the EH UE device (See at least Ahmed, ¶ [0042, 0084]; FIGS. 1, 3 – 6; "…The base stations 102 configured for 5G NR (collectively referred to as Next Generation RAN (NG-RAN)) may interface with core network 190 through second backhaul links 184, which may be wired or wireless. In addition to other functions, the base stations 102 may perform one or more of the following functions…mobility control functions (e.g., handover, dual connectivity), inter-cell interference coordination, connection setup and release... synchronization, radio access network (RAN) sharing…RAN information management (RIM), paging, positioning…", "…a UE 104 may transmit a sequence on the time and frequency occasion 530 indicating an energy mode 2 (e.g., indicating a relatively greater available power such as from a solar charging source). The base station 102 may receive the sequence and identify the UE 104…"), and selecting the assigned reader node from the plurality of reader nodes based on a determined distance between the approximate location of the EH UE device and locations of the plurality of reader nodes (See at least Ahmed, ¶ [0042, 0084]; FIGS. 1, 3 – 6; "…The base stations 102 configured for 5G NR (collectively referred to as Next Generation RAN (NG-RAN)) may interface with core network 190 through second backhaul links 184, which may be wired or wireless. In addition to other functions, the base stations 102 may perform one or more of the following functions…mobility control functions (e.g., handover, dual connectivity), inter-cell interference coordination, connection setup and release... synchronization, radio access network (RAN) sharing…RAN information management (RIM), paging, positioning…", "…a UE 104 may transmit a sequence on the time and frequency occasion 530 indicating an energy mode 2 (e.g., indicating a relatively greater available power such as from a solar charging source). The base station 102 may receive the sequence and identify the UE 104…").
Regarding dependent claims 5, 12 and 18, Ahmed teaches:
wherein the node is further caused to: receive a message from each of the plurality of reader nodes in response to the transmitted association request message (See at least Ahmed, ¶ [0042, 0084]; FIGS. 1, 3 – 6; "…The base stations 102 configured for 5G NR (collectively referred to as Next Generation RAN (NG-RAN)) may interface with core network 190 through second backhaul links 184, which may be wired or wireless. In addition to other functions, the base stations 102 may perform one or more of the following functions…mobility control functions (e.g., handover, dual connectivity), inter-cell interference coordination, connection setup and release... synchronization, radio access network (RAN) sharing…RAN information management (RIM), paging, positioning…", "…a UE 104 may transmit a sequence on the time and frequency occasion 530 indicating an energy mode 2 (e.g., indicating a relatively greater available power such as from a solar charging source). The base station 102 may receive the sequence and identify the UE 104…"), the messages including SINR information between the EH UE device and the respective reader node (See at least Ahmed, ¶ [0080]; FIGS. 1, 3 – 6; "…In an aspect where turbo HARQ, i.e., CSI derived based on PDSCH, is used, the UE can determine the CSI based on the maximum number of coding iterations. Similarly, the delta-MCS or a reported signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) may be based on fewer MCS possibilities according to the identified maximum MCS…The UE can change the value of the maximum number of coding iterations in response to a change in the energy mode of the UE…"); and the node is further caused to assign the reader node by, selecting the assigned reader node from the plurality of reader nodes based on the received SINR information measured between the EH UE device and the plurality of reader nodes (See at least Ahmed, ¶ [0080]; FIGS. 1, 3 – 6; "…In an aspect where turbo HARQ, i.e., CSI derived based on PDSCH, is used, the UE can determine the CSI based on the maximum number of coding iterations. Similarly, the delta-MCS or a reported signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) may be based on fewer MCS possibilities according to the identified maximum MCS…The UE can change the value of the maximum number of coding iterations in response to a change in the energy mode of the UE…").
Regarding dependent claims 6, 13 and 19, Ahmed teaches:
wherein the attachment information includes the identifier associated with the EH UE device (See at least Ahmed, ¶ [0084]; FIGS. 1, 3 – 6; "…a UE 104 may transmit a sequence on the time and frequency occasion 530 indicating an energy mode 2 (e.g., indicating a relatively greater available power such as from a solar charging source). The base station 102 may receive the sequence and identify the UE 104…").
Regarding dependent claim 7, Ahmed teaches:
wherein the attachment information includes attachment timer information, a first stored energy threshold, and a second stored energy threshold, the first stored energy threshold associated with transmission between the EH UE device and the assigned reader node (See at least Ahmed, ¶ [0032, 0035, 0076, 0095]; FIGS. 1, 3 – 6; "…An energy mode may define an amount of energy available for the UE…", "…the UE may be configured for monitoring signaling related to EH such as an energy mode or for indicating charging rate requests…a transmission may indicate a request for RF energy for EH…", "…the energy mode may be based on an active EH method or battery status, either of which may change over time. The UE may send a new indication in response to a change in energy mode…", "…where the UE 604 has requested a charging rate for RF charging, the base station 602 may transmit an indication of an RF charging level 650 to a network device 606. For example, the network device 606 may be another UE or a CPE that is located closer to the UE 604 than the base station 602. The indication of the RF charging level 650 may instruct the network device 606 to provide an RF signal 652 that the UE 604 can use for energy harvesting…"), and the second stored energy threshold associated with transmission between the EH UE device and the RAN node (e.g., The base stations 102 configured for 5G NR (collectively referred to as Next Generation RAN (NG-RAN)) of Ahmed) (See at least Ahmed, ¶ [0032, 0035, 0076, 0095]; FIGS. 1, 3 – 6; "…An energy mode may define an amount of energy available for the UE…", "…the UE may be configured for monitoring signaling related to EH such as an energy mode or for indicating charging rate requests…a transmission may indicate a request for RF energy for EH…", "…the energy mode may be based on an active EH method or battery status, either of which may change over time. The UE may send a new indication in response to a change in energy mode…", "…where the UE 604 has requested a charging rate for RF charging, the base station 602 may transmit an indication of an RF charging level 650 to a network device 606. For example, the network device 606 may be another UE or a CPE that is located closer to the UE 604 than the base station 602. The indication of the RF charging level 650 may instruct the network device 606 to provide an RF signal 652 that the UE 604 can use for energy harvesting…").
Regarding dependent claims 8 and 20, Ahmed teaches:
wherein the node is further caused to: receive data transmitted by the EH UE device in response to expiration of a configured time period corresponding to the attachment timer information and the energy level of the EH UE device exceeding the second stored energy threshold (See at least Ahmed, ¶ [0083, 0084]; FIGS. 1, 3 – 6; "…An ACK may indicate that the base station has accepted the request and will change operating parameters after an activation time 542…", "…The base station may transmit the ACK 540 and switch to a configuration corresponding to energy mode 2 for the UE after the activation time 54…"); assign a new reader node from the plurality of reader nodes to the EH UE device in response to the received data (See at least Ahmed, ¶ [0095]; FIGS. 1, 3 – 6; "…where the UE 604 has requested a charging rate for RF charging, the base station 602 may transmit an indication of an RF charging level 650 to a network device 606. For example, the network device 606 may be another UE or a CPE that is located closer to the UE 604 than the base station 602. The indication of the RF charging level 650 may instruct the network device 606 to provide an RF signal 652 that the UE 604 can use for energy harvesting…"); and transmit a new association response message to the EH UE device and the new assigned reader node (See at least Ahmed, ¶ [0083, 0084]; FIGS. 1, 3 – 6; "…An ACK may indicate that the base station has accepted the request and will change operating parameters after an activation time 542…", "…The base station may transmit the ACK 540 and switch to a configuration corresponding to energy mode 2 for the UE after the activation time 54…"), the new association response message including new attachment information associated with the EH UE device and the new assigned reader node (See at least Ahmed, ¶ [0095]; FIGS. 1, 3 – 6; "…where the UE 604 has requested a charging rate for RF charging, the base station 602 may transmit an indication of an RF charging level 650 to a network device 606. For example, the network device 606 may be another UE or a CPE that is located closer to the UE 604 than the base station 602. The indication of the RF charging level 650 may instruct the network device 606 to provide an RF signal 652 that the UE 604 can use for energy harvesting…").
Regarding dependent claim 10, Ahmed teaches:
wherein the device is further caused to: receive a signal from at least one reader node of the plurality of reader nodes (See at least Ahmed, ¶ [0042, 0084]; FIGS. 1, 3 – 6; "…The base stations 102 configured for 5G NR (collectively referred to as Next Generation RAN (NG-RAN)) may interface with core network 190 through second backhaul links 184, which may be wired or wireless. In addition to other functions, the base stations 102 may perform one or more of the following functions…mobility control functions (e.g., handover, dual connectivity), inter-cell interference coordination, connection setup and release... synchronization, radio access network (RAN) sharing…RAN information management (RIM), paging, positioning…", "…a UE 104 may transmit a sequence on the time and frequency occasion 530 indicating an energy mode 2 (e.g., indicating a relatively greater available power such as from a solar charging source). The base station 102 may receive the sequence and identify the UE 104…"); measure signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR) information between the at least one reader node and the EH UE device using the received signal (See at least Ahmed, ¶ [0080]; FIGS. 1, 3 – 6; "…In an aspect where turbo HARQ, i.e., CSI derived based on PDSCH, is used, the UE can determine the CSI based on the maximum number of coding iterations. Similarly, the delta-MCS or a reported signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) may be based on fewer MCS possibilities according to the identified maximum MCS…The UE can change the value of the maximum number of coding iterations in response to a change in the energy mode of the UE…"); and transmit the association request message to the RAN node, the association request message further including the measured SINR information (See at least Ahmed, ¶ [0083, 0084]; FIGS. 1, 3 – 6; "…An ACK may indicate that the base station has accepted the request and will change operating parameters after an activation time 542…", "…The base station may transmit the ACK 540 and switch to a configuration corresponding to energy mode 2 for the UE after the activation time 54…").
Regarding dependent claim 14, Ahmed teaches:
wherein the at least one energy harvesting circuitry is configured to collect the energy from ambient radio frequency energy (See at least Ahmed, ¶ [0030]; FIGS. 1, 3 – 6; "…Energy harvesting (EH) may broadly include different physical mechanisms such as solar, thermal, wind, and kinetic. EH may allow for zero-energy devices, where the energy for the device is obtained from ambient energy without the need for battery replacement or charging. For example, using radio frequency (RF) based energy harvesting, a device may obtain energy from wireless waveforms over the air…").
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure: See the Notice of References Cited (PTO–892)
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at (866) 217 – 9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call (800) 786 – 9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or (571) 272 – 1000.
/IDOWU O OSIFADE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2675