DETAILED ACTION
In response to communication filed on 4/17/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Response to Amendments
This communication is in response to Applicant’s reply filed under 3 CFR 1.111 on 4/17/2026. Claims 1,4-6, and 12-15 were amended and claims 1-20 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sachs et al. (US Pub. 2008/0192696)(S1 hereafter) in view of Navda et al. (US Pub. 2012/0322497)(N1 herafter).
Regarding claim 1, S1 teaches a method [refer Abstract], comprising:
at a wireless device (i.e. user terminal (UT))[refer Fig. 2A; 240]: communicating with a first access point (AP) [refer Fig. 2A; 210](the UT communicates with an access point (i.e. AP))[paragraph 0098], the first AP is associated with a first group of APs (there are at least two APs in the network)[paragraph 0095][refer Fig. 2A] managed by a controller (i.e. access router (AR))[refer Fig. 2A; 250](an AR corresponds to an RNC)[paragraph 0095];
determining to roam (i.e. handover) from the first AP to a second AP [refer Fig. 2A; 220] associated with the first group of APs (the UT can decide to carry out a handover from AP1 to AP2)[paragraph 0101];
transmitting, to the first AP, an indication of intent to roam (a UT can send an intention to handover message)[paragraph 0102];
establishing communication with the second AP [paragraph 0105]; and
receiving, from the second AP, first downlink data (when the UT establishes a session with AP2, downlink IP packets are transmitted to the UT from the AP2 via the AR)[paragraph 0105].
However, S1 fails to disclose the indication of intent to roam indicating a duration for which the first AP is requested to not transmit data to the wireless device, starting a timer corresponding to the duration for which the first AP is requested to not transmit data to the wireless device and adjusting a buffering operation during a duration of the timer, comprising pausing transmission of uplink data to the first AP.
N1 discloses a means of predicting signal handoffs by a mobile device at an anticipated fine time granularity [paragraph 0018], the predicted signal handoff comprises a time duration (i.e. timer) identifying a time when the signal handoff may occur based upon travel and speed [paragraph 0046], a data communication freeze can be initiated between the mobile device and network so that the mobile device chooses to not communicate during the signal handoff (i.e. requesting the first AP to not transmit and pausing transmission of uplink data)[paragraph 0053], the data communication freeze ends after the signal handoff has completed [paragraph 0054].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of S1 for providing handover from one access point to another to incorporate the use of a anticipating for switching from one network device to another and freezing or pausing transmissions accordingly as taught by N1. One would be motivated to do so to provide detailed parameters for a switching time between a serving BS and target BS [refer N1; paragraph 0006].
Regarding claim 2, S1 teaches establishing communication with the second AP is performed subsequent to transmitting the indication of intent to roam (an intention notify message allows handing over from AP1 to AP2 for the UT, the UT can send the intention to handover to AP1)[paragraph 0102]; and the first downlink data is buffered at the controller subsequent to transmitting the indication of intent to roam (the AR buffers downlink data for sessions addressed to the UT)[paragraph 0103].
Regarding claim 3, S1 teaches buffering (the UT has memory to buffer transmissions)[paragraph 0095][refer Fig. 2A; 245] first uplink data subsequent to transmitting the indication of intent to roam and prior to establishing communication with the second AP (downlink and uplink packets are sent between the UT and AP2 when the authentication procedure is completed)[paragraph 0106]; and
transmitting, to the second AP, the first uplink data after establishing communication with the second AP (downlink and uplink packets are sent between the UT and AP2 when the authentication procedure is completed)[paragraph 0106].
Regarding claim 4, S1 fails to disclose the timer is started at a time indicated in the indication of intent to roam.
N1 discloses a means of predicting signal handoffs by a mobile device at an anticipated fine time granularity [paragraph 0018], the predicted signal handoff comprises a time duration (i.e. timer) identifying a time when the signal handoff may occur based upon travel and speed [paragraph 0046], detailed time information is transmitted indicating the expected occurrence of the base station switching [paragraph 0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of S1 for providing handover from one access point to another to incorporate the use of a anticipating for switching from one network device to another and freezing or pausing transmissions accordingly as taught by N1. One would be motivated to do so to provide detailed parameters for a switching time between a serving BS and target BS [refer N1; paragraph 0006].
Regarding claim 10, S1 teaches determining to roam from the first AP to the second AP is based at least in part on one or more of: a measurement of signal strength associated with the second AP (i.e. RCPI level of AP2 and AP1)[paragraph 0101].
Regarding claim 11, S1 teaches that the indication of intent to roam comprises one of: an indication of a basic service set (BSS) identifier (BSSID) corresponding to the second AP [paragraph 0100].
Regarding claim 12, S1 teaches an apparatus [refer Fig. 2A], comprising:
a processor (i.e. processing means (PM))[refer Fig. 2A; 242] configured to cause a wireless device (user terminal (UT))[refer Fig. 2A; 240] to perform operations comprising:
communicating with a first access point (AP) [refer Fig. 2A; 210](the UT communicates with an access point (i.e. AP))[paragraph 0098], the first AP is among a first group of APs (there are at least two APs in the network)[paragraph 0095][refer Fig. 2A] managed by a controller (i.e. access router (AR))[refer Fig. 2A; 250] (an AR corresponds to an RNC)[paragraph 0095];
determining to roam (i.e. handover) from the first AP to a second AP [refer Fig. 2A; 220] among the first group of APs (the UT can decide to carry out a handover from AP1 to AP2)[paragraph 0101];
transmitting, to the first AP, an indication of intent to roam (a UT can send an intention to handover message)[paragraph 0102];
performing an attempt to establish communication with the second AP [paragraph 0105],
establishing communication with the second AP [paragraph 0105],
receiving, from the second AP, first downlink data (downlink and uplink packets are sent between the UT and AP2 when the authentication procedure is completed)[paragraph 0106].
However, S1 fails to disclose the indication of intent to roam indicating a duration for which the first AP is requested to not transmit data to the wireless device, starting a timer corresponding to the duration for which the first AP is requested to not transmit data to the wireless device and adjusting a buffering operation during a duration of the timer, comprising pausing transmission of uplink data to the first AP.
N1 discloses a means of predicting signal handoffs by a mobile device at an anticipated fine time granularity [paragraph 0018], the predicted signal handoff comprises a time duration (i.e. timer) identifying a time when the signal handoff may occur based upon travel and speed [paragraph 0046], a data communication freeze can be imitated between the mobile device and network so that the mobile device chooses to not communicate during the signal handoff (i.e. requesting the first AP to not transmit and pausing transmission of uplink data)[paragraph 0053], the data communication freeze ends after the signal handoff has completed [paragraph 0054].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of S1 for providing handover from one access point to another to incorporate the use of a anticipating for switching from one network device to another and freezing or pausing transmissions accordingly as taught by N1. One would be motivated to do so to provide detailed parameters for a switching time between a serving BS and target BS [refer N1; paragraph 0006].
Regarding claim 13, S1 fails to disclose that the timer is started at a time indicated in the indication of intent to roam.
N1 discloses a means of predicting signal handoffs by a mobile device at an anticipated fine time granularity [paragraph 0018], the predicted signal handoff comprises a time duration (i.e. timer) identifying a time when the signal handoff may occur based upon travel and speed [paragraph 0046], detailed time information is transmitted indicating the expected occurrence of the base station switching [paragraph 0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of S1 for providing handover from one access point to another to incorporate the use of a anticipating for switching from one network device to another and freezing or pausing transmissions accordingly as taught by N1. One would be motivated to do so to provide detailed parameters for a switching time between a serving BS and target BS [refer N1; paragraph 0006].
Claim 5,6,13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over S1 in view of N1, as applied to claim 1, in further view of Kim et al. (US Pub. 2008/0159229)(K1 hereafter).
Regarding claim 5, S1 fails to disclose the timer is started at the time the indication of intent to roam is transmitted.
K1 discloses for base station switching, an indication can be provided that includes information on the time required for switching from the serving BS to a target BS, including a time offset for switching time [paragraph 0053].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of S1 for providing handover from one access point to another to incorporate the use of a particular timer that can be offset for base station switching as taught by K1. One would be motivated to do so to provide a minimization of interrupted traffic during handover [refer K1; paragraph 0023].
Regarding claim 6, S1 fails to disclose the timer is started at an offset after the time the indication of intent to roam is transmitted.
K1 discloses for base station switching, an indication can be provided that includes information on the time required for switching from the serving BS to a target BS, including a time offset for switching time [paragraph 0053].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of S1 for providing handover from one access point to another to incorporate the use of a particular timer that can be offset for base station switching as taught by K1. One would be motivated to do so to provide a minimization of interrupted traffic during handover [refer K1; paragraph 0023].
Regarding claim 14, S1 fails to disclose the timer is started at the time the indication to roam is transmitted.
K1 discloses for base station switching, an indication can be provided that includes information on the time required for switching from the serving BS to a target BS, including a time offset for switching time [paragraph 0053].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of S1 for providing handover from one access point to another to incorporate the use of a particular timer that can be offset for base station switching as taught by K1. One would be motivated to do so to provide a minimization of interrupted traffic during handover [refer K1; paragraph 0023].
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over S1 in view of N1, as applied to claim 1, in further view of Emeott et al. (US Pub. 2006/0083200)(E1 herafter).
Regarding claim 7, S1 teaches establishing communication with the second AP comprises: transmitting, to the second AP, an authorization request (i.e. Probe Request)[paragraph 0102]; receiving, from the second AP, an authorization response (i.e. Probe Response)[paragraph 0102].
However, S1 fails to disclose determining a pairwise temporal key (PTK) to use with the second AP; transmitting, to the second AP, a reassociation request; and receiving, from the second AP, a reassociation response.
E1 discloses during reassociation, a temporary session key, such as a pairwaise temporary key (PTK) is derived and installed for use in encrypting communications between a second access point and the a mobile device [paragraph 0017], when a second access point receives a reassociation request, it locates or acquires the PTK and generates the PTK, then transmitting a reassociation response [paragraph 0020].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of S1 for providing handover from one access point to another to incorporate the use of a PTK for handover association as taught by E1. One would be motivated to do so to provide the use of a known technique in the field of endeavor to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 8, S1 fails to disclose a first pairwise temporal key (PTK) is used with the first AP and a second PTK is used with the second AP, the second PTK being different from the first AP.
E1 discloses during reassociation, a temporary session key, such as a pairwaise temporary key (PTK) is derived and installed for use in encrypting communications between an access point and the a mobile device using a PMK [paragraph 0017], a PMK (i.e. pairwise master key) is can be pseudo random (i.e. different) for each of the access points [paragraph 0016].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of S1 for providing handover from one access point to another to incorporate the use of a PTK for handover association as taught by E1. One would be motivated to do so to provide the use of a known technique in the field of endeavor to yield predictable results.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over S1 in view of N1, as applied to claim 1, in further view of Hu et al. (US Pub. 2022/0124855)(H1 hereafter).
Regarding claim 9, S1 fails to disclose a same pairwise temporal key (PTK) is used with both the first AP and the second AP.
H1 discloses that for multilink (ML) configurations, a same PTK can be used for all ML links, and can stay the same [paragraph 0090].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of S1 to incorporate the use of a PTK that is used for all multi-link (ML) links in a roaming situation as taught by H1. One would be motivated to do so to provide a means of adding a security key for the operation of multi-link operations [refer H1; paragraph 0143].
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over S1 in view of N1 in further view of Funabiki et al. (US Pub. 2006/0240825)(F1 hereafter).
Regarding claim 15, S1 teaches a method [refer Abstract], comprising: at a first access point (AP) [refer Fig. 2A; 210]:
communicating with a controller (i.e. access router (AR))(i.e. access router)[refer Fig. 2A; 250] (an AR corresponds to an RNC)[paragraph 0095], the first AP is among a first group of APs managed by the controller (there are at least two APs in the network)[paragraph 0095][refer Fig. 2A];
communicating with a first wireless device (i.e. user terminal (UT))[refer Fig. 2A; 240] (the UT communicates with an access point (i.e. AP))[paragraph 0098];
receiving, from the first wireless device, a first indication of intent to roam (i.e. handover) from the first AP to a second AP among the first group of APs (the UT can decide to carry out a handover from AP1 to AP2 [paragraph 0101], a UT can send an intention to handover message [paragraph 0102]).
However, S1 fails to disclose the indication of intent to roam indicating a duration for which the first AP is requested to not transmit data to the wireless device, starting a timer corresponding to the duration for which the first AP is requested to not transmit data to the wireless device and adjusting a buffering operation during a duration of the timer, comprising pausing transmission of uplink data to the first AP.
N1 discloses a means of predicting signal handoffs by a mobile device at an anticipated fine time granularity [paragraph 0018], the predicted signal handoff comprises a time duration (i.e. timer) identifying a time when the signal handoff may occur based upon travel and speed [paragraph 0046], a data communication freeze can be imitated between the mobile device and network so that the mobile device chooses to not communicate during the signal handoff (i.e. requesting the first AP to not transmit and pausing transmission of uplink data)[paragraph 0053], the data communication freeze ends after the signal handoff has completed [paragraph 0054].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of S1 for providing handover from one access point to another to incorporate the use of a anticipating for switching from one network device to another and freezing or pausing transmissions accordingly as taught by N1. One would be motivated to do so to provide detailed parameters for a switching time between a serving BS and target BS [refer N1; paragraph 0006].
However, S1 in view of N1 fails to disclose in response to the first indication of intent to roam: transmitting, to the controller, a second indication to stop forwarding data for the first wireless device;
removing at least one unit of data from a queue for transmission to the first wireless device; and
transmitting, to the controller, the at least one unit of data.
F1 discloses a handover initiate message format that comprises of a U-Flag that instructs a home agent (i.e. controller) to buffer packets (i.e. stop forwarding)[paragraph 0179], an access router (i.e. access point)[refer Fig. 1; 100] forwards received data packets addressed to the mobile communication apparatus [refer Fig. 1; 20] to the home agent [paragraph 0186].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of S1 for performing a handover from one access point to another to incorporate the buffering of and transmission of data to a home agent (i.e. controller) as taught by F1. One would be motivated to do so to provide improvement for forwarding information [refer F1; paragraph 0123].
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over S1 in view of N1 in further view of F1, as applied to claim 15, in further view of Gidvani et al. (US Pub. 2018/0184365)(G1 hereafter).
Regarding claim 16, S1 teaches a basic service set of the first AP (during handover procedure, a report that includes further information about another AP, such as BSSID, and other APs)[paragraph 0100].
However, S1 fails to disclose receiving, from the controller, a third indication, the third indication comprising at least one of an indication that the first wireless device has roamed out of a basic service set of the first AP.
G1 discloses that a station can have an associated BSS and can transmit a BSS transition message query when it detects that it moving away from an access point [paragraph 0098], a BTM request can include a neighbor report element that contains information regarding a BSS with an equivalent profile that the station can switch to or roam [paragraph 0099], and a station can send a BTM response that includes status indications [paragraph 0100].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of S1 for teaching of performing a handover from one access point to another to incorporate the use of a BTM as taught by G1. One would be motivated to do so to provide a means of a station to identify candidate target BSS’s in handover [refer G1; paragraph 0098].
Regarding claim 17, S1 fails to disclose that the third indication is in response to the first wireless device establishing communication with the second AP.
G1 discloses that a station can have an associated BSS and can transmit a BSS transition message query when it detects that it moving away from an access point [paragraph 0098], a BTM request can include a neighbor report element that contains information regarding a BSS with an equivalent profile that the station can switch to or roam [paragraph 0099], and a station can send a BTM response that includes status indications [paragraph 0100].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of S1 for teaching of performing a handover from one access point to another to incorporate the use of a BTM as taught by G1. One would be motivated to do so to provide a means of a station to identify candidate target BSS’s in handover [refer G1; paragraph 0098].
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over S1 in view of N1 in further view of F1, as applied to claim 15, in further view of Song et al. (US Pub. 2011/0212727)(S2 hereafter).
Regarding claim 18, S1 fails to disclose receiving, from the first wireless device, a third indication to rescind the intent to roam.
S2, in the field of handover, discloses that a mobile station can send to a serving base station a MOB_HO_IND message [paragraph 0040] that can indicate that the mobile station cancels a handoff [paragraph 0041].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of S1 for performing a handover from one access point to another to incorporate the use of a mobile device canceling a handover as taught by S2. One would be motivated to do so to provide the use of a known technique in the field of handover control to yield predictable results [refer S2; paragraph 0004].
Regarding claim 19, S1 in view of S2 to disclose in response to the third indication: transmitting, to the controller, a fourth indication to resume forwarding data for the first wireless device (the AR can continue to forward data to a UT through the AP1)[paragraph 0103].
Regarding claim 20, S1 teaches receiving, from the controller, the at least one unit of data; and transmitting, to the first wireless device, the at least one unit of data (the AR can continue to forward data to a UT through the AP1)[paragraph 0103].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-10, filed 4/17/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-3,10 and 14 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and claims 4-9,11-13 and 15-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amendments to the claims. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the disclosure of Navda et al. (US Pub. 2012/0322497)(N1 herafter) as noted in the above rejection.
To address the new limitations of “the indication of intent to roam indicating a duration for which the first AP is requested to not transmit data to the wireless device, starting a timer corresponding to the duration for which the first AP is requested to not transmit data to the wireless device and adjusting a buffering operation during a duration of the timer, comprising pausing transmission of uplink data to the first AP,” examiner relied upon the disclosure of N1 to meet this new claim language.
N1 is noted for disclosing a means of predicting signal handoffs (i.e. intending to roam) by a mobile device at an anticipated fine time granularity [paragraph 0018], the predicted signal handoff comprises a time duration (i.e. the claimed timer) identifying a time when the signal handoff may occur based upon travel and speed [paragraph 0046], a data communication freeze can be initiated between the mobile device and network so that the mobile device chooses to not communicate during the signal handoff (i.e. requesting the first AP to not transmit and pausing transmission of uplink data)[paragraph 0053], the data communication freeze ends after the signal handoff has completed [paragraph 0054].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of S1 for providing handover from one access point to another to incorporate the use of a anticipating for switching from one network device to another and freezing or pausing transmissions accordingly as taught by N1. One would be motivated to do so to provide detailed parameters for a switching time between a serving BS and target BS [refer N1; paragraph 0006].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Ryan Kavleski
/R.C.K./
Examiner, Art Unit 2412
/CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412