DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species B (claims 1-19 and 21-28) in the reply filed on 2-10-2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-13, 17, 22-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 2018/0151645).
[claim 1] A display device (fig. 1-2), comprising: a substrate (101, fig. 2) including a plurality of subpixels (each of RGB as can be seen in fig. 1); an overcoat layer (128, optionally 142 could be part of the overcoat layer, fig. 2) disposed on the substrate; and having a recess (filled in by 132/144/138, fig. 2) positioned between the subpixels (fig. 2 shows red subpixel which would be adjacent to a blue pixel to the let in fig. 1); a first electrode (132, fig. 2, [0039]) disposed to cover an upper surface of the overcoat layer and an inclined surface of the recess (fig. 2), the first electrode including a transparent conductive material [0039]; a reflection layer (144, fig. 2, [0051]) disposed on the first electrode on the inclined surface of the recess, the reflection layer including a metal or metal alloy [0051]; and a bank layer (138, fig. 2), positioned in the recess and disposed on the reflection layer (fig. 2).
[claim 2] The display device of claim 1, wherein the reflection layer includes a first portion and a second portion, the first portion of the reflection layer disposed to extend over a portion of the upper surface of the overcoat layer (the protruding portion outside of the recess on 142 where 142 is part of the overcoat layer fig. 2).
[claim 3] The display device of claim 2, wherein the first portion of the reflection layer is covered by the bank layer (fig. 2).
[claim 4] The display device of claim 2, wherein the first portion of the reflection layer includes a protrusion (protrusion is the extension of 144 on the upper surface of 142, fig. 2) exposed to an outside of the bank layer (exposed from the bottom surface of 114 via the electrode 132, fig. 2).
[claim 8] The display device of claim 1, wherein the first electrode is disposed to be disconnected at a lower surface of the recess (e.g. 132 at the bottom of the recess is physical disconnected from drain electrode 110 by the insulation 118, fig. 2), and wherein the reflection layer is disposed in an area overlapping the first electrode in the recess (fig. 2).
[claim 9] The display device of claim 1, wherein the first electrode includes at least one of indium tin oxide (ITO) [0039], indium zinc oxide (IZO), or indium tin zinc oxide (ITZO), and wherein the reflection layer includes any one selected from the group consisting of silver (Ag), aluminum (Al), magnesium (Mg), chromium (Cr), titanium (Ti), nickel (Ni), tungsten (W), gold (Au), tantalum (Ta), copper (Cu), cobalt (Co), iron (Fe), molybdenum (Mo), platinum (Pt), and an alloy thereof.
[claim 10] The display device of claim 1, further comprising an organic light emitting layer (organic emitting layer EML in 134, fig. 2, [0040]) and a second electrode (136, fig. 2) disposed on the first electrode and the bank layer.
[claim 11] A display device (fig. 1, 2), comprising: a substrate (101, fig. 2) including a display area (pixel area of AA, fig. 1) including a subpixel (RGB, fig. 1) and a non-display area (PA and non-pixel area of AA, fig. 2) adjacent to the display area; an overcoat layer (128, 142, fig. 2) disposed on the substrate and including an upper surface having an X zone (upper surface of 128 outside of the recess, fig. 2) and a Z zone (upper surface of 142 under 144 outside of the recess, fig. 2) and an inclined surface having a Y zone (recess where the sides are inclined between zones X and Z, fig. 2) adjacent to the Z zone; an organic light emitting element (130, fig. 2) disposed in the X zone and including a first electrode (132, fig. 2), an organic light emitting layer (organic emitting layer EML in 134, fig. 2, [0040]), and a second electrode (136, fig. 2); and a reflection layer (144, fig. 2) disposed in a portion of the Z zone and the Y zone (fig. 2), wherein when the subpixel emits light, emission widths of the X, Y, and Z zones produced on a plane have a relationship of X zone > Y zone > Z zone (the Z zone is completely under the reflector 144 and would have thus have a very narrow emission width, the Y zone is partially under the reflector and thus would have a less narrow emission width, while X zone has no reflector and thus has the widest emission widths).
[claim 12] The display device of claim 11, wherein the first electrode (132, fig. 2) is disposed to extend from the X zone to the Z zone and the Y zone (fig. 2).
[claim 13] The display device of claim 11, further comprising a bank layer (138, fig. 2) on the overcoat layer, wherein the bank layer is disposed to cover one end of the reflection layer in the Z zone.
[claim 17] A display device (fig. 1, 2), comprising: a plurality of subpixels (RGB, fig. 1) including an emission area (right side of fig. 2 starting from the beginning of reflector 144 to the right end of fig. 2) and a non-emission area (left side of fig. 2 starting from the beginning of reflector 144 to the left end of fig. 2 ); and a substrate (101, fig. 2) where a bank layer (138, fig. 2) defining an opening of each of the plurality of subpixels is disposed (the bank 138 defines the light emitting regions as shown in fig. 1,2, [0039]), wherein the emission area includes: a first overcoat layer (128, 118, fig. 2) disposed on the substrate; a second overcoat layer (142, fig. 2) positioned in an area corresponding to the opening and disposed on the first overcoat layer (fig. 2); and a first electrode (132, fig. 2) disposed on the second overcoat layer, and wherein the non-emission area includes: a thin film transistor (TD, fig. 2) disposed on the substrate; the first overcoat layer disposed on the thin film transistor (fig. 2); the first electrode disposed on the first overcoat layer (fig. 2); and a reflection layer (144, fig. 2) disposed on the first electrode.
[claim 22] A display device (fig. 1, 2), comprising: a substrate (101, fig. 2); an overcoat layer (128, 142, 118, fig. 2) disposed on the substrate, the overcoat layer having an upper surface and an inclined side surface extending from the upper surface (fig. 2); a light emitting element (130, fig. 2) having a first electrode (132, fig. 2) on the overcoat layer, a second electrode (136, fig. 2), and an organic light emitting layer (organic emitting layer EML in 134, fig. 2, [0040]) between the first and second electrodes, the first electrode on the upper surface of the overcoat layer and extending over the inclined side surface of the overcoat layer (fig. 2); and a reflection layer (144, fig. 2) on the first electrode at the inclined side surface of the overcoat layer, the reflection layer spaced apart from the organic light emitting layer (fig. 2).
[claim 23] The display device of claim 22, wherein the overcoat layer includes a first overcoat layer (128/118, fig. 2) and a second overcoat layer (142, fig. 2) on the first overcoat layer, wherein the first electrode contacts an inclined side surface of the second overcoat layer and an upper surface of the second overcoat layer (fig. 2), wherein the inclined side surface of the second overcoat layer is the inclined side surface of the overcoat layer (fig. 2), and wherein the upper surface of the second overcoat layer is the upper surface of the overcoat layer (fig. 2).
[claim 24] The display device of claim 22, comprising: a bank layer (138, fig. 2) on the overcoat layer and adjacent to the light emitting element (fig. 2); wherein the organic light emitting layer extends over the bank layer (fig. 2), and wherein the second electrode extends over the light emitting layer at the bank layer (fig. 2).
[claim 25] The display device of claim 24, comprising: a trench (trench is formed by adjacent bank layers 138 between separate subpixels in fig. 1, one side of the trench formed in 138 is shown in fig. 2 where 136/134 is formed on the sidewall) included in the bank layer, wherein the organic light emitting layer extends over the bank layer and into the trench (fig. 2), and wherein the second electrode extends over the light emitting layer at the trench (fig. 2).
[claim 26] The display device of claim 25, wherein the trench does not overlap with the reflection layer (fig. 2).
[claim 27] The display device of claim 22, wherein an X zone (upper surface of 128 outside of the recess, fig. 2) includes a zone where the upper surface of the overcoat layer contacts the organic light emitting layer, a Y zone (recess where the sides are inclined between zones X and Z, fig. 2) includes a zone where the inclined side surface of the overcoat layer is located, and a Z zone (upper surface of 142 under 144 outside of the recess, fig. 2) is between the X zone and the Y zone, wherein emission widths of the X zone produced as the display device emits light on a plane has greater emission widths than that of the Y zone (the Z zone is completely under the reflector 144 and would have thus have a very narrow emission width, the Y zone is partially under the reflector and thus would have a less narrow emission width, while X zone has no reflector and thus has the widest emission widths).
[claim 28] The display device of claim 27, wherein emission widths of the Y zone produced as the display device emits light on a plane has greater emission widths than that of the Z zone (the Z zone is completely under the reflector 144 and would have thus have a very narrow emission width, the Y zone is partially under the reflector and thus would have a less narrow emission width, while X zone has no reflector and thus has the widest emission widths).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2018/0151645) in view of Tsai (US 2007/0290221).
Lee discloses the display devices of claim 4 but does not expressly disclose that the reflector is made of a metal oxide (metals are disclosed instead).
Tsai discloses a display device wherein a reflector may be made of either a metal or metal oxide [0018].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to have made Lee’s reflector out of a metal oxide since it has been held that simple substitution of one known element (metal oxide) for another (a metal) to obtain predictable results (a reflector) is obvious. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2018/0151645) in view of Kim (US 2016/0155791).
Lee discloses the display devices of claim 17 but does not expressly disclose a repair line between the substrate and the drain electrode of the TFT.
Kim discloses a display device wherein a repair line (RLm, fig. 3, [0036]) between the substrate (SUB, fig. 3) and the drain electrode (DE,CL1 fig. 3) of the TFT (TFT, fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to have used Kim’s repair line in Lee’s device in order to provide a means to detect and/or repair faulty device .
With this modification Lee discloses
[claim 21] The display device of claim 17, wherein the non-emission area includes: a repair line disposed on the substrate (upon modification); the first overcoat layer disposed on the repair line (upon modification the repair line would be under the drain electrode 110, fig. 2 and separated by insulation 116) and including a contact hole (120, fig 2); and the first electrode disposed in the contact hole and the reflection layer disposed on the first electrode (fig. 2), and wherein at least one insulation layer (116, fig. 2) is disposed between the repair line and the first electrode.
Claim(s) 14-16 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2018/0151645) in view of Kim2 (US 2009/0002304).
Lee discloses the display devices of claims 11 and 17 but does not expressly disclose using a plurality of clock lines in the in the display device.
Kim2 discloses a display device wherein a plurality of clock lines (CLK1, CLKB1, CLK2, CLKB2, fig. 3, [0080][0085]) that connect to pixel electrode (VLC, fig. 3, [0080][0085] to provide synchronization and to include a pixel memory structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to have used Kim2’s clock lines in Lee’s device in order to provide synchronization across the pixels and to include a pixel memory structure ([0085][0080] of Kim2).
With this modification Lee discloses:
[claim 14] The display device of claim 11, wherein the non-display area includes a clock line portion (CLK1, CLKB1, CLK2, CLKB2, fig. 3, Kim2) including first clock lines (CLK1, CLKB1, fig. 3) and second clock lines (CLK2, CLKB2, fig. 3, Kim2) disposed on different layers, and wherein the second clock lines are multi-layer lines of the first electrode and the reflection layer disposed on the first electrode (the clock lines are connected to the first electrode and reflection layers hence they part of clock lines in Kim2).
[claim 15] The display device of claim 14, wherein the non-display area further includes a gate driving unit (TD, fig. 2), wherein the first clock lines (clock lines are part of 132/144, fig. 3, upon modification) are disposed on the substrate, and wherein the second clock lines (clock lines are part of 132/144, fig. 3, upon modification) are disposed on the gate driving unit.
[claim 16] The display device of claim 15, wherein the overcoat layer is disposed between the gate driving unit and the second clock lines (fig. 2, 142 is between TD and 144).
[claim 18] The display device of claim 17, wherein the non-emission area includes a clock line portion (CLK1, CLKB1, CLK2, CLKB2, fig. 3, Kim2) including first clock lines (CLK1, CLKB1, fig. 3) and second clock lines (CLK2, CLKB2, fig. 3, Kim2) disposed on different layers, and wherein the second clock lines are multi-layer lines of the first electrode and the reflection layer disposed on the first electrode (the clock lines are connected to the first electrode and reflection layers hence they part of clock lines in Kim2). .
[claim 19] The display device of claim 18, wherein the non-emission area further includes a gate driving unit (TD, fig. 2), wherein the gate driving unit includes: a gate thin film transistor (TD, fig. 2) disposed on the substrate; and the first overcoat layer disposed on the gate thin film transistor (fig. 2) wherein the first clock lines are disposed on the substrate (clock lines are part of 132/144, fig. 3, upon modification), and wherein the second clock lines are disposed on the gate driving circuit (clock lines are part of 132/144, fig. 3, upon modification).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Applicant in claims 6 and 7, claims “a plane” for the first portion and another “a plane” for the second portion. It is unclear whether these refer to separate planes or the same plane.
Conclusion
/AMAR MOVVA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898