DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-7, 10, 12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kono (US Patent Application 20230068679).
As per claim 1, Kono teaches a computer-implemented method [1400, fig. 14] performed by a mobile computing device [100, fig. 1] comprising a plurality of processor devices [120, 130, fig. 1], the method comprising:
while operating in a low-power operating domain that utilizes a low-power processor device [130, fig. 3] of the plurality of processor devices [0032, 0058, fig. 4, as shown in figure 4 from time 402 to 404, the mobile device is operating in low power mode or using the low power processor. For example, during time periods 402 and 404, low-power physical processor 130 may animate always on display 110 at a low enough frame rate that low-power physical processor 130 is able to transition to low-power mode 620 between frames]:
causing, by the mobile computing device with the low-power processor device, display of a low-power operating domain interface via a display device associated with the mobile computing device [0032, 0058, fig. 4, as pointed out during the low power mode of operation using the low power processor, the mobile device can activate the always on display od the device. For example, when a user is not interacting with the device, the high-power physical processor may transition to its sleep mode, and the low-power physical processor may be responsible for controlling the AOD].
making, by the mobile computing device with the low-power processor device [low-power physical processor 130 may record measurements received from one or more connected sensors: 0037], a determination that a user of the mobile computing device intends a particular type of interaction [an electromyography sensor integrated into wristband 112 may sense a user's muscle intention. For example, perform an action in an associated artificial-reality environment, such as to control a physical and/or virtual object displayed to the user: 0115 and 0118] with the mobile computing device that requires the mobile computing device to operate in a high-performance operating domain that utilizes a high-performance processor device of the plurality of processor devices [0064, 0092, fig. 11, as shown in figure 11 during the time period of 1103 to 1104, the device transition to high power operating mode where the high-power processor is enable. As pointed out the low power processor can be used to detect user intention and switch the device from low power mode to high power mode to execute higher power mode operation. For example, control of always on display 110 may be transferred from low-power physical processor 130 back to high-power physical processor 120, and high-power physical processor 120 may finish animating always on display 110 with frames 1130 during the remainder of time period 1103].
responsive to the determination, performing, by the mobile computing device with the low-power processor device, one or more initial domain-switching [one or more intermediate states in which high-power physical processor 120 and/or low-power physical processor 130 execute instructions (e.g., at a reduced frequency) and/or consume power at an intermediate level: 0039] processes of a plurality of domain-switching processes that are performed to switch the mobile computing device from the low-power operating domain to the high-performance operating domain [0092, fig. 19, as shown in figure 19, the device include an intermediate power state where the processor can either be in low or high power mode then transition from the higher power mode to an intermediate power mode then to a low power mode then back to a high power mode].
responsive to the determination, causing, by the mobile computing device with the low-power processor device, display of a high-performance operating domain interface via the display device associated with the mobile computing device [0093, as pointed out the high-power processor may transition from sleep mode to control the animation of the always on display by processing more frame for the display. For example, if an animation is occurring during the handoff, control of the animation may be seamlessly transitioned between the low-power physical processor and the high-power physical processor].
As per claim 18, Kono teaches a computing device [100, fig. 1], comprising:
a plurality of processor devices [120, 130, fig. 1] comprising a high-performance processor device [120, fig. 1] and a low-power processor device [130, fig. 1], wherein the high-performance processor device is utilized when the computing device is operating in a high-performance operating domain [system 100 operates in high power mode or state: 0043], and wherein the low- power processor device is utilized when the computing device is operating in a low-power operating domain [system 100 operates in low power mode or state:0043] [0036-0037, 0043, as pointed out the high power processor enable the device to operate in higher power mode while the low power processor enables the device to operate in low power mode].
one or more computer-readable media that collectively store instructions that, when executed by one or more of the plurality of processor devices, cause the computing device to perform operations, the operations comprising [0042, program executed by the processor stored in the memory]:
while operating in the low-power operating domain [0032, 0058, fig. 4, as shown in figure 4 from time 402 to 404, the mobile device is operating in low power mode or using the low power processor. For example, during time periods 402 and 404, low-power physical processor 130 may animate always on display 110 at a low enough frame rate that low-power physical processor 130 is able to transition to low-power mode 620 between frames]:
causing, with the low-power processor device, display of a low-power operating domain interface via a display device associated with the computing device [0058, always on display while in low power mode as shown above. For example, For example, when a user is not interacting with the device, the high-power physical processor may transition to its sleep mode, and the low-power physical processor may be responsible for controlling the AOD].
detecting, with the low-power processor device, occurrence of an intermediate operating domain switch condition [0039, 0092, fig. 19, as shown in figure 19, the device includes an intermediate power state where the processor can either be in low or high-power mode then transition from the higher power mode to an intermediate power mode then to a low power mode then back to a high-power mode].
responsive to detecting the occurrence of the intermediate operating domain switch condition, switching to an intermediate operating domain, wherein switching to the intermediate operating domain comprises [0092, fig. 19, as shown in figure 19 at specific time period the device can switch from high power mode to intermediate power mode]:
performing one or more initial domain-switching processes of a plurality of domain-switching processes that are performed to switch the mobile computing device to the high-performance operating domain [0092-0093, as pointed out the device can switch to a higher power mode by processing more operation for example rendering more frames or perform operation that requires higher power mode].
causing display of a high-performance operating domain interface via the display device associated with the mobile computing device [0093, always on display operation can be used to process more frames].
As per claim 5, Kono teaches making, by the mobile computing device, a determination that the user of the mobile computing device no longer intends the particular type of interaction with the mobile computing device that requires the mobile computing device to operate in the high-performance operating domain [0115, 0118, sensor input detection to determine if the user intended to user the device].
responsive to the determination, causing, by the mobile computing device with the low- power processor device, display of the low-power operating domain interface via the display device associated with the mobile computing device [0093, 0115, 0118, based on the determination the device can be switched to always on].
As per claim 6, Kono teaches both the low-power operating domain interface and the high-performance operating domain interface comprises a real-time data element that depicts real-time data [0037, low power processor processes data from sensor hub where high power processor process user interaction with the device, where both are done in real-time].
As per claim 7, Kono teaches updating, by the mobile computing device with the low-power processor device, the real-time data depicted by the real-time data element of the low-power operating domain interface at a first update frequency [0039-0040, reduced frequency and reduced frame rate for low power processing].
wherein causing display of the high-performance operating domain interface comprises: updating, by the mobile computing device with the low-power processor device, the real-time data depicted by the real-time data element of the high-performance operating domain interface at a second update frequency higher than the first update frequency [0090, always on display updated by the higher power mode of operation].
As per claim 10, Kono teaches the real-time data comprises: biometric data obtained via a biometric sensor of the mobile computing device [0046, biometric sensor to collect data]. temporal data obtained via a temporal sensor of the mobile computing device; movement data obtained via an Inertial Measurement Unit (IMU) of the mobile computing device; or data obtained via a wireless network connection of the mobile computing device.
As per claim 12, Kono teaches increasing, by the mobile computing device with the low-power processor device, a value of an accuracy parameter associated with an accuracy of an input device of the mobile computing device, and wherein the input device comprises: a touch input device; a radial dial input device; an audio capture device; a video capture device; or a button device [0026, increase accuracy by increasing contrast or audio and so forth].
As per claim 14, Kono teaches making the determination that the user of the mobile computing device intends the particular type of interaction with the mobile computing device comprises: determining, by the mobile computing device with the low-power processor device, that the mobile computing device is located at a particular location [0114, mobile device location determination].
As per claim 15, Kono teaches making the determination that the user of the mobile computing device intends the particular type of interaction with the mobile computing device comprises: receiving, by the mobile computing device with the low-power processor device, an input indicating that the user intends the particular type of interaction with the mobile computing device [0115, 00118, sensor input that receives data and make determination if the user is intended to use the device].
As per claim 16, Kono teaches motion data from an IMU of the mobile computing device; temporal data indicative of occurrence of a particular time; biometric data from one or more biometric sensors of the mobile computing device; data received from an application executed by the mobile computing device; data received via a wireless network connection of the mobile computing device; or communication data associated with the user of the mobile computing device [0123, IMU or inertial measurement unit].
As per claim 17, Kono teaches the input comprises the motion data, and wherein the motion data is indicative of a movement performed by the user to move the mobile computing device closer to a face of the user [0123, motion detector that detects motion of users].
As per claim 19, Kono teaches the low-power processor device is utilized when the computing device is operating in the intermediate operating domain [0039, intermediate power state].
As per claim 20, they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in the rejected claims above. Therefore, claim 20 is also anticipated by Kono for the same reasons set forth in the rejected claims above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 8-9, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kono (US Patent Application 20230068679) in the view of Hayashi (US Patent Application 20200393890).
As per claim 2, Kono does not teach receiving, by the mobile computing device with the low-power processor device, a second input indicative of occurrence of the particular type of interaction between the user and the mobile computing device;
responsive to receiving the second input, switching, by the mobile computing device, from the low-power operating domain to the high-performance operating domain.
However, Hayashi teaches receiving, by the mobile computing device with the low-power processor device, a second input indicative of occurrence of the particular type of interaction between the user and the mobile computing device [0022-0023, 0059, user input such as hand movement can be used to determine if the user intended to user the device where the operation mode can be executed as a result. For example, if the user intended to user the device, then a higher power mode can be activated, where it not, then a lower power mode].
responsive to receiving the second input, switching, by the mobile computing device, from the low-power operating domain to the high-performance operating domain [0022-0023, 0059, user input such as hand movement can be used to determine if the user intended to user the device where the operation mode can be executed as a result. For example, if the user intended to user the device, then a higher power mode can be activated, where it not, then a lower power mode].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the design of Kono to include the method of Hayashi to allow the system to detect multiple inputs type where specific input can be used to trigger activation of the device.
As per claim 3, Kono does not teach switching from the low-power operating domain to the high-performance operating domain comprises:
performing, by the mobile computing device, each of the plurality of domain-switching processes other than the one or more initial domain-switching processes.
However, switching from the low-power operating domain to the high-performance operating domain comprises [0058-0059, switching different operational power mode such as active power state and inactive power state to conserve power]:
performing, by the mobile computing device, each of the plurality of domain-switching processes other than the one or more initial domain-switching processes [0070-0071, switching to specific power state to collect data or process operation such as data manipulation and so forth. For example, internally, for example, the power management module 320 can cause the radar system 104 to collect data using a predefined radar-power state or a specific duty cycle (e.g., a lower duty cycle uses a slower update rate and a higher duty cycle uses a faster update rate). In this case, the power management module 320 dynamically switches between different radar-power states such that response delay and power consumption are managed together based on the activity within the environment].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the design of Kono to include the method of Hayashi to allow the system to switch to specific power state in order to perform specific operation which enable the system to perform power management.
As per claim 4, Kono does not teach performing, by the mobile computing device with the high-performance processor device, one or more operations associated with the particular type of interaction between the user and the mobile computing device.
making, by the mobile computing device with the high-performance processor device, a determination that the user has ceased the particular type of interaction between the user and the mobile computing device.
responsive to the determination, switching, by the mobile computing device, from the high-performance operating domain to the low-power operating domain.
However, Hayashi teaches performing, by the mobile computing device with the high-performance processor device, one or more operations associated with the particular type of interaction between the user and the mobile computing device [0070, collecting data using specific power state at specific rate or duty cycle].
making, by the mobile computing device with the high-performance processor device, a determination that the user has ceased the particular type of interaction between the user and the mobile computing device [0071, change in user interaction].
responsive to the determination, switching, by the mobile computing device, from the high-performance operating domain to the low-power operating domain [0072, may perform transition to lower power mode].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the design of Kono to include the method of Hayashi to allow the system to switch to specific power state in order to perform specific operation which enable the system to perform power management.
As per claim 8, Kono does not teach adjusting, by the mobile computing device with the low-power processor device, a value of an update parameter from the first update frequency to the second update frequency, wherein the update parameter is associated with the real-time data element.
However, Hayashi teaches adjusting, by the mobile computing device with the low-power processor device, a value of an update parameter from the first update frequency to the second update frequency, wherein the update parameter is associated with the real-time data element [0048, adjusting by lowering the frequency of the processor].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the design of Kono to include the method of Hayashi to perform frequency adjustment in order to reduce power consumption.
As per claim 9, Kono does not teach increasing, by the mobile computing device with the low-power processor device, a value of a data polling parameter associated with the sensor device of the mobile computing device, wherein the second update frequency comprises the value of the data polling parameter.
However, Hayashi teaches increasing, by the mobile computing device with the low-power processor device, a value of a data polling parameter associated with the sensor device of the mobile computing device, wherein the second update frequency comprises the value of the data polling parameter [0048, 0076, increase power consumption by frequency adjustment withing the system based on measurement].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the design of Kono to include the method of Hayashi to perform frequency adjustment in order to reduce power consumption.
As per claim 11, Kono does not teach increasing, by the mobile computing device with the low-power processor device, a value of a brightness parameter associated with a display brightness of the display device associated with the mobile computing device.
However, Hayashi teaches increasing, by the mobile computing device with the low-power processor device, a value of a brightness parameter associated with a display brightness of the display device associated with the mobile computing device [0026, brightness modification of the display in order to manage power].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the design of Kono to include the method of Hayashi to perform brightness display adjustment in order to manage power.
As per claim 13, Kono does not teach activating, by the mobile computing device with the low-power processor device, a keyword detection process for detecting a spoken utterance of a keyword by the user of the mobile computing device, wherein the keyword corresponds to a virtual assistant service.
However, Hayashi teaches activating, by the mobile computing device with the low-power processor device, a keyword detection process for detecting a spoken utterance of a keyword by the user of the mobile computing device, wherein the keyword corresponds to a virtual assistant service [0025, voice assistant for the mobile device for power detection].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the design of Kono to include the method of Hayashi to use voice activation in order to manage power consumption.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jeppson (US 20210103348) teaches facilitating user-proficiency in using radar gestures to interact with an electronic device.
Lee (US 20200053651) teaches electronic device and method for controlling operation thereof.
/VOLVICK DEROSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176