DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains legal phraseology (said). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Noggle et al. (herein Noggle) (US 20190063662).Regarding Claim 1:In Figures 1-14, Noggle discloses an inversion unit (10) comprising: a housing (12), a reel (22) for a liner partially arranged in the housing (see paragraph [0029]), and a base assembly (16, 18), the housing (12) being arranged on the base assembly (as seen in Figure 1), wherein: said housing (12) comprises: a gas inlet (air regulator 26, see paragraph [0029]), an outlet (14) for the liner (see paragraph [0029]), an opening (48, see Figure 2) comprising a window (36), and a window locking mechanism (72, see Figure 10) for closing and opening the window (see paragraphs [0045]-[0046]), said window locking mechanism (72) configured to be maneuvered into an open position (shown in Figure 2) in which the window is open and unlocked (see paragraphs [0049]-[0050]) and a closed position (locked position shown in Figures 12-14) in which the window is closed and locked (see paragraphs [0046]-0048), the window locking mechanism (72) is designed as a bayonet catch (bayonet catch mechanism depicted in Figures 11-14) and comprises: a motion link assembly (78, 88), a matching projection assembly (74), a handle (96), and a hinge (86), wherein: the handle is pivotably connected to the hinge (see paragraph [0046]), one of the motion link assembly or the matching projection assembly is arranged on the window and the other of the matching projection assembly or the motion link assembly is arranged on an edge of the opening (as seen in Figures 6, 7, the motion link assembly 78, 88 is arranged on an edge 50 of the opening, while the matching projection assembly 74 is arranged on the window), the hinge (86) is arranged on the housing (hinge 86 is on the housing portion 34 as seen in Figure 2), and the handle (96) is pivotably connected to the window (pivotable connection of the handle 96 to the window at 74 is shown in Figures 10 and 13) so that the window can be easily opened and closed in a bayonet catch manner using the handle (see paragraphs [0046]-[0051]).Regarding Claim 2:In Figures 1-14, Noggle discloses the inversion unit (10), wherein the window (36) comprises a seal (98) configured to seal the opening when the window locking mechanism is in the closed position (see paragraph [0054]).Regarding Claim 4:In Figures 1-14, Noggle discloses the inversion unit (10), wherein the handle (96) is designed as a lever configured to be moved towards the housing for maneuvering the window locking mechanism into the closed position (as seen in Figure 13, as the handle 96 is rotated clockwise towards the housing portion 46, the window locking mechanism 72 is moved to the locked position, see paragraph [0048]), and configured be moved away from the housing for maneuvering the window locking mechanism into the open position (when the handle 96 is rotated counterclockwise away from the housing portion 46, the window locking mechanism is moved into the open position as mentioned in paragraph [0049]).NOTE: The terms “towards the housing” and “away from the housing” can be established from any arbitrary fixed point on the housing such that certain portions of the handle are closer or further away from this fixed point during either clockwise or counterclockwise rotation of the handle. In this case, in Figure 13, the handle (98) is rotated clockwise towards a fixed point (on the wall 46) and then when it is rotated counterclockwise, it moves away from this fixed point. Regarding Claim 5:In Figures 1-14, Noggle discloses the inversion unit (10), wherein the window (36) is configured to be rotated away from the opening (48) when the window locking mechanism is in the open position (see Figure 2 and paragraph [0045]).Regarding Claim 6:In Figures 1-14, Noggle discloses the inversion unit (10), wherein the opening (48) is substantially rectangular (as seen in Figure 2).Regarding Claim 7:In Figures 1-14, Noggle discloses the inversion unit (10), wherein the housing further comprises a gas outlet (not described but shown at the bottom of 12 in Figure 1 and 17 with what appears to be a manually operated valve similar to ball valve 28).Regarding Claim 10:In Figures 1-14, Noggle discloses the inversion unit (10), wherein the window (36) further comprises a glass (second sight glass 40), and a frame (depicted as 58, 60, 62 in Figures 2-3) embedding the glass of the window (as seen in Figures 1-2), said frame being pivotably connected to the handle (the frame pivots about hinged joint 70 and then is connected to the handle 96 via the connection between 74 and 88), and said frame comprising the matching projection assembly (74, as seen in Figure 6).Regarding Claim 11:In Figures 1-14, Noggle discloses the inversion unit (10), wherein the motion link assembly (78, 88) is arranged in a first plane (as seen in Figure 6, the motion link assembly is at least partially arranged in a vertical plane in the up-down direction) that is oriented perpendicular to a second plane defined by the window (as evident from Figures 1 and 6, the first plane is in a vertical direction while the second plane defined by the window can be in the horizontal plane perpendicular to the first plane when the window is closed), and wherein the matching projection assembly (74) projects in a direction perpendicular to the first plane (74 at least partially projects in a horizontal direction perpendicular to the vertical direction of the first plane).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noggle et al. (herein Noggle) (US 20190063662).Regarding Claim 3:In Figures 1-14, Noggle discloses the inversion unit (10), wherein the opening (48) appears to be larger than the outlet for the liner (as seen in Figures 1 and 17, the opening 48 appears to the larger than the outlet 14 at least at the outermost termination point of the outlet) but is silent regarding specific dimensions.It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the opening (48) larger than the outlet (14) for the liner, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noggle et al. (herein Noggle) (US 20190063662) in view of Sterner (US 2020/0263821). Regarding Claims 8 and 9:Noggle discloses that the base assembly (16) has wheels but is silent regarding whether this base assembly is configured to be disconnected from the housing (12) (per claim 8). Noggle also fails to disclose that the base assembly further comprises at least one swiveling wheel (per claim 9). However, in Figures 1-2, Sterner discloses a similar inversion unit (10) comprising a base assembly (300), wherein the base assembly (300) is configured to be disconnected from a housing (100, 200) via a releasable connection (340, see paragraph [0027]). Furthermore as mentioned in paragraph [0005]: “It would be desirable to have an inversion unit which can be quickly and easily removed from a transportable wheelbase to promote improved carrying of the inversion unit into a small space.” Sterner further discloses that the base assembly comprises wheels (320, 330) wherein at least two of these wheels (320) are swiveling wheels thereby allowing the inversion unit to roll and turn directions (see paragraph [0026]).Hence, based non Sterner’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Noggle’s inversion unit to replace the existing from (16) with the base assembly (300) and frame (200) taught by Sterner that would be coupled to the drum body (12), such that the base assembly could be removably attached to a base assembly with swiveling wheels (as taught by Sterner), since doing so would allow for easier maneuverability of the inversion unit by turning wheels as well as easier carrying of the inversion unit into small spaces. The detachment of the wheelbase would also reduce weight allowing for easier manual carrying of the inversion unit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 6733053 – Container locking assembly.
/DOMINICK L PLAKKOOTTAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746