DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This is a final office action in response to the applicant’s arguments and remarks filed on 08/17/2026.
Claims 1-2 and 4-14 are pending in the current office action.
Claims 1 and 4 have been amended by the applicant.
Claim 3 has been canceled by the applicant.
Claim 14 is new.
Status of the Rejection
The specification objection has been overcome by the applicant's amendments.
The rejection of claim 3 is obviated by the Applicant’s cancellation.
All 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections from the previous office action are substantially maintained and modified only in response to the amendments to the claims.
All 35 U.S.C. § 102 rejections from the previous office action are withdrawn in view of the Applicant’s amendment.
New grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 are necessitated by the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8, 11-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US 2023/0198045 A1), and further in view of Park et al. (US 2019/0148681 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Oh discloses a battery pack (Fig. 1, (battery pack 10)), comprising:
a plurality of battery cells (Annotated Oh Fig. 2, battery cells 150) in a plurality of columns (Fig. 2, battery cell assembly 100), the battery cells in each of the columns being located along a column direction (Fig. 2, battery cell assembly 100), and the battery cells in the columns adjacent to each other being located along a zigzag pattern in a row direction while alternatively shifted forward and rearward in the column direction (battery cell assembly 100 [Fig. 2; Paras. 0050-0058]); and
a plurality of cooling pieces (Fig. 2, cooling unit 300), each of the cooling pieces being located between the battery cells in the columns adjacent to each other, extending in a meander shape (Annotated Oh Fig. 8, convex portions 312 and 316; para. [0138]) along an outer circumference of the battery cells in the columns adjacent to each other (Fig. 2, cooling unit 300).
Oh fails to disclose a battery pack wherein each of the cooling pieces comprises a first heat conductive surface and a second heat conductive surface at opposite ends, respectively, wherein the first heat conductive surface is bent in a first direction crossing the column direction outside the plurality of battery cells, and wherein the second heat conductive surface is bent in a second direction opposite the first direction outside the plurality of battery cells.
However, Park teaches a battery pack wherein each of the cooling pieces comprises a first heat conductive surface and a second heat conductive surface at opposite ends, respectively, wherein the first heat conductive surface is bent in a first direction crossing the column direction outside the plurality of battery cells, and wherein the second heat conductive surface is bent in a second direction opposite the first direction outside the plurality of battery cells (Annotated Park Fig. 9 illustrates a pair of radiation pins 268 (heat conductive surfaces) wherein a first radiation pin 268 on one side of heat pipe 260c is bent in a first direction (denoted by arrow) whereas a second radiation pin 268 on a side opposite of the first radiation pin is bent in a second direction (denoted by arrow). The first and second radiation pins are both exposed to an outside of the battery housing module and the bent portions of the first and second radiation pins are bent in a direction that crosses a column direction of a plurality of battery cells.).
Annotated Oh Figure 2: A plurality of battery cells (150) in a plurality of columns (100); a plurality of cooling pieces (300); a bus bar assembly
Annotated Oh Figure 8: A cooling piece with convex portions extending in a meander shape
Annotated Park Figure 9: A first heat conductive surface and a second heat conductive surface (radiation pins 268) bent at two opposite ends of a cooling piece (heat pipe 260C) wherein a first heat conductive surface is bent in a first direction (denoted by arrow) on one side of said cooling piece whereas a second heat conductive surface is bent in a second direction (denoted by arrow) on an opposite side of said cooling piece.
Oh and Park are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same art of developing and optimizing power-efficient batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oh by incorporating first and second heat conductive surfaces disclosed by Park on opposite ends of each cooling piece and bending each heat conductive surface for maximum contact with the outer surface of the battery pack to increase heat dissipation from the battery cells to the outside of the battery pack (paras. [0115]-[0119]).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Oh, as modified by Park, discloses the battery pack as discussed in claim 1.
Oh further discloses a battery pack further comprising a bus bar (Annotated Oh Fig. 2, busbar assembly 200) on a terminal surface of the battery cells to electrically connect the battery cells to each other in rows adjacent to each other (para. [0025]), the terminal surface being a surface on which different first (175) and second electrodes (170) are exposed (Oh Fig. 4). Oh further discloses wherein the bus bar comprises: first portions (positive electrode connection portion 246) connected to the first electrodes (Fig. 16, positive electrode 175) of the battery cells of the first group (Annotated Oh Fig. 16; para. [0113]); second portions (negative electrode connection portion 248) connected to the second electrodes (negative electrode 170) of the battery cells of a second group adjacent to the first group in the row direction (Annotated Oh Fig. 16; para. [0115]); and connection portions (layer body 242) connecting the first and second portions to each other (Annotated Oh Fig. 16; para. [0111].
Annotated Oh Figure 16: A bus bar on a terminal surface of the battery cells to electrically connect the battery cells to each other in adjacent rows. The terminal surface is on a surface with positive (175) and negative (170) electrodes exposed. The bus bar comprises positive (246) and negative (248) electrode connection portions coupled to positive and negative electrodes on cell battery 150.
Regarding claim 5, Oh, as modified by Park, discloses the battery pack as discussed in claim 4.
Oh further discloses wherein the bus bar comprises a plurality of bus bar units (Annotated Oh Fig. 5; connecting busbars 230); and
the plurality of bus bar units are located in a zigzag pattern along the row direction (Annotated Oh Fig. 5; connecting busbars 230).
Annotated Oh Figure 5: Plurality of connecting busbars (230) in a zigzag pattern
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Oh, as modified by Park, discloses the bus bar as discussed in claim 4.
Oh further discloses wherein the positive electrode connection portion 246 is connected to the positive electrode 175, a negative electrode connection portion 248 is connected to a negative electrode 170 and a connection portion (comprised of a layer body 242 and a support layer 250) connecting the positive and negative electrode connection portions to one another (Annotated Oh Fig. 16; paras. [0111-0115]).
Oh fails to disclose the exact thickness of the positive electrode connection portion 246, the negative electrode connection portion 248 and the connection portion comprising of a layer body 242 and a support layer 250 and therefore fails to teach wherein a thickness of at least one of the first portions, the second portions, or the connection portions is different from thicknesses of the others, of instant claim 6, and wherein the thicknesses of the first and second portions are less than the thickness of the connection portions, of instant claim 7.
However, Oh teaches an individual bus bar 230 wherein the positive electrode connection portion and the negative connection portion are comprised of a single layer of material whereas the connection portion is comprised of both a layer body 242 and a support layer 250 (Annotated Oh Fig. 7; paras. [0107 and 0118]).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of a connection portion of a bus bar disclosed by Oh that comprises of both a layer body 242 and support layer 250 to differentiate the thickness of the connection portion from the thicknesses of the positive electrode connection portion and the negative electrode connection portion and to increase the thickness of the connection portion in reference to the thicknesses of the positive and negative electrode connection portions.
Annotated Oh Figure 7: An individual bus bar unit, comprising of positive (246) and negative (248) electrode connection portions, representing the thinner portions, and the thicker connection portion, comprising of the layer body (242) and the support layer (250), representing the thicker portion.
Regarding claim 8, Oh, as modified by Park, discloses the battery pack as discussed in claim 7.
Oh further disclsoes the positive electrode connection portions are coupled and welded to battery cells of a first group (Annotated Oh Fig. 16). Para. [0113] specifies that the plurality of positive electrode connection portions 246 may be electrically connected to the positive electrode 175 of the battery cells 150. The electrical connection may be established through a welding process for electrical connection such as laser welding or ultrasonic welding. Likewise, the negative electrode connection portions are coupled and welded to the second electrodes of the battery cells of the second group (Annotated Oh Fig. 16). Para. [0115] specifies that the plurality of negative electrode connection portions 248 may be electrically connected to the negative electrode 170 of the battery cells 150. The electrical connection may be established through a welding process for electrical connection such as laser welding or ultrasonic welding.
Regarding claim 11, Oh, as modified by Park, discloses the battery pack as discussed in claim 1.
Oh further discloses the battery pack wherein the cooling pieces are configured to accommodate an insulating fluid therein (Para. [0016] describes a cooling tube composed of a cooling channel utilizing water as the insulating fluid.).
Regarding claim 12, Oh, as modified by Park, discloses the battery pack as discussed in claim 1.
Oh, as modified by Park, discloses a module housing having an accommodation portion formed therein to accommodate the plurality of cylindrical battery cells (Annotated Park Figs. 7 and 8: upper case 210A and lower case 210B; para. [0176] of Park).
Annotated Park Figures 7 and 8: Housing module comprising of upper (210A) and lower (210B) case holders for accommodating a plurality of battery cells
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh, as modified by Park, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Han (U.S. 2011/0123848 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Oh, as modified by Park, discloses the battery pack as discussed in claim 1, wherein extra spaces are located at a position behind the battery cells in a column shifted forward and at a position in front of the battery cells in a column shifted rearward from among the battery cells in the columns adjacent to each other (Annotated Oh Fig. 2 above discloses a plurality of battery cells 150 in battery cell assembly 100 wherein one column of a plurality of battery cells are shifted forward leaving extra space in the rearward of the column whereas the battery cells in the adjacent column are shifted rearward leaving extra space in the forward position of the column).
Oh, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the extra spaces are in at least one position from among mounting portions of first and second holders configured to accommodate the plurality of battery cells, or first and second terminals configured to draw electrical outputs of the plurality of battery cells.
However, Han discloses a mobility preventing unit 42 (Annotated Han Fig. 2). Fig. 2 depicts that mobility preventing unit 42 is disposed in an extra space at the end of a column of battery cells 20. Mobility preventing unit 42 affixes case 10 and tab 30 to one another through screw 50, accommodating the plurality of battery plurality of battery cells within case 10 (paras. [0038-0039].
Oh, Park and Han are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same art of developing and optimizing power-efficient batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oh to incorporate the teachings of the mobility preventing unit disclosed by Han to provide mounting portions behind the columns of battery cells to hold the plurality of battery cells together and improve the utilization of space within the battery pack, thus increasing energy density.
Annotated Han Figure 2: Mobility preventing unit (42) is located in the extra space behind a column of battery cells (20) and fixes tab (30) to case (10), which are configured to accommodate the plurality of battery cells (20)
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh, as modified by Park, as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Ryu (U.S. 2020/0194765 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Oh, as modified by Park, discloses the battery pack as discussed in claim 7 (Annotated Oh Fig. 7, Positive electrode connection portion 246 is coupled to positive electrode 175. Negative electrode connection portion 248 is coupled to negative electrode 170.).
Oh, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the thicknesses of the first and second portions is 0.5 mm or less, and the thickness of the connection portions is 0.8 mm or more.
However, Ryu discloses two bus bars wherein a first bus bar and a second bus bar have different thicknesses wherein the thickness of the first bus bar (t1) may be about 20%-50% of the thickness of the second bus bar (t2). Paragraph [0049] describes the first bus bar having a thickness of about 0.5 mm to about 1.2 mm whereas the second bus bar would have a corresponding thickness of about 1.2 mm to about 2.5 mm.
Oh, Park and Ryu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they perform the same function of optimizing and developing energy-efficient power delivering modules. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oh to incorporate the teachings of a first bus bar having a thickness of about 0.5 mm to about 1.2 mm and a second bus bar possessing a thickness of about 1.2 mm to about 2.5 mm disclosed by Ryu because Ryu teaches that a first bus bar having a certain thickness or greater allows greater current to flow in a battery whereas a second bus bar having a smaller thickness in reference to the first bus bar allows for direct connection between the first bus bar and the electrode terminal. A combination of a first bus bar having a certain thickness or greater and a second bus bar having a smaller thickness in reference to the first bus bar may improve the efficiency of electricity transmission (para. [0052]). It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh, as modified by Park, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Demont (U.S. 11,634,231).
Regarding claim 10, Oh, as modified by Park, discloses the battery pack as discussed in claim 1
Oh, as modified by Park, fails to disclose a venting portion on the bottom surface of the battery pack which has a pillar structure and protrudes in a vertical direction from the lower surface of the battery cells.
However, Demont teaches a plurality of vent holes (352 in Annotated Demont Fig. 3C and 902 in Fig. 6B) on bottom plates 372 (Fig. 3C) and 824 (Fig. 6B). The plurality of vent holes are configured to push matter from the battery cells in case of an ignition, gas release, or explosion (Col. 28, lines 1-4.)
Annotated Demont Figure 3C: Vent holes (352) located on the bottom surface of the battery cells to release matter from the battery cells
Oh, Park and Demont are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they perform the same function of ensuring battery safety from thermal runaway effects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oh to incorporate the teachings of vent holes disclosed by Demont and include vent holes on the bottom surface of a battery pack for gas release in case of an ignition or explosion within the battery pack. Furthermore, the claimed limitations are obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results (MPEP 2143(A)).
Though Demont does not disclose the venting portions having a pillar structure protruding in a vertical direction from a lower surface of the battery cells, adding venting portions at the top and bottom of the battery pack, as taught by Demont, between the individual battery cells as disclosed by Oh, the vent passage that would form between the two holes would form a pillar shape.
Furthermore, one with ordinary skill in the art would expect the venting portion having a pillar structure protruding in a vertical direction from the lower surface of the battery cells to perform the same function as the vent holes as described in Demont with expected beneficial results (MPEP 716.02(c)(II).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh, as modified by Park, as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Yamagami (EP 2 343 752).
Regarding claim 13, Oh, as modified by Park, discloses the first and second holders configured to accommodate a plurality of battery cells as discussed in the rejection of claim 12 above.
Oh, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the presence of a plurality of hooks on the outer surface of the first and second holders.
However, Yamagami discloses a plurality of hooks (Annotated Yamagami Fig. 42; hook engagement portions 330) holding battery cell holders 304A and 304B which hold a plurality of individual battery cells within the module (Paragraph [0143]).
Oh, Park, and Yamagami are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they perform the same function of coupling battery cases together for housing individual battery cells. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the upper and lower cases disclosed by Oh, as modified by Park above, to incorporate the teachings of hook engagement portions disclosed by Yamagami because Yamagami teaches that such structure can be used to lock cell holders accommodating the plurality of individual battery cells in place (Annotated Yamagami Fig. 42: paragraph [0143]).
Annotated Yamagami Figure 42: Hook engagement portions (330) couple cell holders 304A and 304B using an interlocking structure to hold a plurality of battery cells
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments filed 08/17/2026 with respect to the objections to the specification have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to the specification has been withdrawn due to proper amendments remedying the issue moot.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks Pg. 6-11, filed 08/17/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Argument #1
Applicant argues that, on pages 9-10 of the “Reply responsive to Office Action dated May 15, 2026”, Oh, in view of Park, fails to provide support for a plurality of cooling pieces wherein each cooling piece is comprised of a first heat conductive surface wherein said first heat conductive surface is bent in a first direction that crosses the column direction outside the plurality of battery cells. Additionally, the applicant argues that Oh, in view of Park, fails to provide support for the plurality of cooling pieces that additionally are comprised of a second heat conductive surface wherein said second heat conductive surface is bent in a second direction that crosses the column direction outside the plurality of battery cells. Applicant argues that Fig. 9 of Park, as recited in the Office Action, displays the radiation pins 268 (first and second heat conductive surfaces) as being bent and extending in a same direction as each other.
Examiner’s Response #1
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Amended claim 1 limits the claim scope as the first heat conductive surface to be “bent in a first direction crossing the column direction outside the plurality of battery cells,” and furthermore, limits the second heat conductive surface to be “bent in a second direction opposite the first direction outside the plurality of battery cells.”. Amended claim 1 fails to disclose if said first heat conductive surface is bent in a same direction as the second heat conductive surface. Additionally, amended claim 1 uses the phrase “comprising” in that the scope covered by amended claim 1 includes a cooling piece that is comprised of a first heat conductive surface at a first end of said cooling piece and is bent in a first direction and is bent in a second direction as well as a second heat conductive surface at an end opposite to a first end of said cooling piece that is bent in a second direction as well as bent in a first direction. Annotated Park Fig. 9, as recited above, illustrates a cooling piece that is comprised of a first heat conductive surface at a first end of said cooling piece that is bent in a first direction and is bent in a second direction as well as a second heat conductive surface at an end opposite to a first end of said cooling piece that is bent in a second direction as well as bent in a first direction. Therefore, Park et al. cures the deficiencies of Oh et al. that are recited on pages 9-10 of the “Reply responsive to Office Action dated May 15, 2026”. Therefore, the rejection of amended claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US 2023/0198045 A1), and further in view of Park et al. (US 2019/0148681 A1) is maintained. Furthermore, the rejections on claims 2 and 4-13 are maintained due to their direct or indirect dependency on claim 1. Additionally, claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US 2023/0198045 A1), and further in view of Park et al. (US 2019/0148681 A1) due to its direct dependency on claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/SANTINO MICHALE SERVAGNO/Examiner, Art Unit 1713
/JOSHUA L ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1713