CTNF 18/484,226 CTNF 102105 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 10/15/2024 has/have been considered by the examiner. Specification 07-29 AIA The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In paragraph [0067], line 26, “the second venting portion 80b may have a pentagonal prism shape” should read “the second venting portion 80b may have a hexagonal prism shape” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1, 4-5, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Oh et al. (US 2023/0198045 A1) . Regarding claim 1 , Oh teaches a battery pack (Fig. 1, (battery pack 10)), comprising: a plurality of battery cells (Annotated Oh Fig. 2, battery cells 150) in a plurality of columns (Fig. 2, battery cell assembly 100), the battery cells in each of the columns being located along a column direction (Fig. 2, battery cell assembly 100), and the battery cells in the columns adjacent to each other being located along a zigzag pattern in a row direction while alternatively shifted forward and rearward in the column direction (battery cell assembly 100 [Fig. 2; Paras. 0050-0058]); [AltContent: textbox (Plurality of cooling pieces along outer circumference of battery cells)] [AltContent: arrow] a plurality of cooling pieces (Fig. 2, cooling unit 300), each of the cooling pieces being located between the battery cells in the columns adjacent to each other, extending in a meander shape (Fig. 8, convex portions 312 and 316; para. [0138]) along an outer circumference of the battery cells in the columns adjacent to each other (Fig. 2, cooling unit 300); and a bus bar (Fig. 2, busbar assembly 200) on a terminal surface of the battery cells to electrically connect the battery cells to each other in rows adjacent to each other (paragraph [0025]), the terminal surface being a surface on which different first (175) and second electrodes (170) are exposed (Annotated Oh Fig. 4). PNG media_image1.png 763 519 media_image1.png Greyscale Annotated Oh Figure 2: A plurality of battery cells (150) in a plurality of columns (100); a plurality of cooling pieces (300); a bus bar (200) PNG media_image2.png 414 559 media_image2.png Greyscale Annotated Oh Figure 8: A cooling piece with convex portions extending in a meander shape PNG media_image3.png 431 613 media_image3.png Greyscale Annotated Oh Figure 4: Battery cell illustrating terminal surface with positive (175) and negative (170) electrodes Regarding claim 4 , Oh discloses the battery pack as discussed in claim 1, wherein the bus bar (Annotated Oh Fig. 2, busbar assembly 200) comprises: first portions (positive electrode connection portion 246) connected to the first electrodes (Fig. 16, positive electrode 175) of the battery cells of the first group (Annotated Oh Fig. 16; para. [0113]); second portions (negative electrode connection portion 248) connected to the second electrodes (negative electrode 170) of the battery cells of a second group adjacent to the first group in the row direction (Annotated Oh Fig. 16; para. [0115]); and connection portions (layer body 242) connecting the first and second portions to each other (Annotated Oh Fig. 16; para. [0111]. PNG media_image4.png 622 741 media_image4.png Greyscale Annotated Oh Figure 16: Bus bar with positive (246) and negative (248) electrode connection portions coupled to positive (175) and negative (170) electrodes on cell battery 150 Regarding claim 5 , Oh discloses the battery pack as discussed in claim 4, wherein the bus bar comprises a plurality of bus bar units (Annotated Oh Fig. 5; connecting busbars 230); and the plurality of bus bar units are located in a zigzag pattern along the row direction (Annotated Oh Fig. 5; connecting busbars 230). PNG media_image5.png 448 637 media_image5.png Greyscale Annotated Oh Figure 5: Plurality of connecting busbars (230) in a zigzag pattern Regarding claim 11 , Oh discloses the battery pack as discusses in claim 1, wherein the cooling pieces are configured to accommodate an insulating fluid therein (Paragraph [0016] describes a cooling tube composed of a cooling channel utilizing water as the insulating fluid.) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-22-aia AIA Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh , as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Han (U.S. 2011/0123848 ) . Regarding claim 2 , Oh discloses the battery pack as discussed in claim 1, wherein extra spaces are located at a position behind the battery cells in a column shifted forward and at a position in front of the battery cells in a column shifted rearward from among the battery cells in the columns adjacent to each other (Annotated Oh Fig. 2 above discloses a plurality of battery cells 150 in battery cell assembly 100 wherein one column of a plurality of battery cells are shifted forward leaving extra space in the rearward of the column whereas the battery cells in the adjacent column are shifted rearward leaving extra space in the forward position of the column). Oh fails to disclose the extra spaces are in at least one position from among mounting portions of first and second holders configured to accommodate the plurality of battery cells, or first and second terminals configured to draw electrical outputs of the plurality of battery cells. However, Han discloses a mobility preventing unit 42 (Annotated Han Fig. 2). Fig. 2 depicts that mobility preventing unit 42 is disposed in an extra space at the end of a column of battery cells 20. Mobility preventing unit 42 affixes case 10 and tab 30 to one another through screw 50, accommodating the plurality of battery plurality of battery cells within case 10 (paras. [0038-0039]. Oh and Han are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same art of developing and optimizing power-efficient batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oh to incorporate the teachings of the mobility preventing unit disclosed by Han to provide mounting portions behind the columns of battery cells to hold the plurality of battery cells together and Improve the utilization of space within the battery pack, thus increasing energy density. PNG media_image6.png 560 675 media_image6.png Greyscale Annotated Han Figure 2: Mobility preventing unit (42) is located in the extra space behind a column of battery cells (20) and fixes tab (30) to case (10), which are configured to accommodate the plurality of battery cells (20) 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh , as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park (U.S. 2019/0148681) . Regarding claim 3 , Oh discloses the battery pack as discussed in claim 1 (Fig. 1, battery cell assembly 10). Oh fails to disclose the cooling pieces which are comprised of first and second heat conductive surfaces at opposite ends and are bent in a direction crossing the column direction outside the plurality of battery cells. However, Park discloses a heat pipe comprised of radiation pins formed at the outer surfaces of both ends of the heat pipe (Annotated Park Fig. 9; radiation pins 268) that are exposed to the outside of the battery housing module in order to increase contact surface area with the outside of the battery for more efficient heat dissipation from the battery cells to the outside of the battery pack as explained in paras. [0115]-[0119]. PNG media_image7.png 486 667 media_image7.png Greyscale Annotated Park Figure 9: Radiation pin (268) bent at the end of heat pipe (260C) in a direction crossing the column direction outside the plurality of battery cells Oh and Park are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same art of developing and optimizing power-efficient batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oh by incorporating first and second heat conductive surfaces disclosed by Park on opposite ends of each cooling piece and bending each heat conductive surface for maximum contact with the outer surface of the battery pack to increase heat dissipation from the battery cells to the outside of the battery pack (paras. [0115]-[0119]). Regarding claim 12 , Oh discloses the battery pack as discussed in claim 1 (Fig. 1, battery cell assembly 10). Oh fails to disclose first and second holders configured to accommodate the plurality of battery cells. However, Park discloses a module housing having an accommodation portion formed therein to accommodate the plurality of cylindrical battery cells (Annotated Park Figs. 7 and 8: upper case 210A and lower case 210B; para. [0176]). Oh and Park are both considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of developing battery packs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oh to incorporate the teachings of first and second holders disclosed by Park and include upper and lower cases for housing the plurality of battery cells in a battery pack because Park teaches an upper case which includes a hollow structure to surround an outer side surface of an upper portion of the cylindrical battery as well as a lower case which is coupled to a lower portion of the upper case and includes a hollow structure to surround an outer side surface of a lower portion of the cylindrical battery cell. (Paras. [0104-0105]. PNG media_image8.png 904 650 media_image8.png Greyscale Annotated Park Figures 7 and 8: Housing module comprising of upper (210A) and lower (210B) case holders for accommodating a plurality of battery cells 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 6, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh . Regarding claims 6 and 7 , Oh discloses the bus bar as discussed in claim 4, wherein the positive electrode connection portion 246 is connected to the positive electrode 175, a negative electrode connection portion 248 is connected to a negative electrode 170 and a connection portion (comprised of a layer body 242 and a support layer 250) connecting the positive and negative electrode connection portions to one another (Annotated Oh Fig. 16; paras [0111-0115]). Oh fails to disclose the exact thickness of the positive electrode connection portion 246, the negative electrode connection portion 248 and the connection portion comprising of a layer body 242 and a support layer 250 and therefore fails to teach wherein a thickness of at least one of the first portions, the second portions, or the connection portions is different from thicknesses of the others, of instant claim 6 , and wherein the thicknesses of the first and second portions are less than the thickness of the connection portions, of instant claim 7 . However, Oh discloses an individual bus bar 230 wherein the positive electrode connection portion and the negative connection portion are comprised of a single layer of material whereas the connection portion is comprised of both a layer body 242 and a support layer 250 (Annotated Oh Fig. 7; paras. [0107 and 0118]). It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of a connection portion of a bus bar disclosed by Oh that comprises of both a layer body 242 and support layer 250 to differentiate the thickness of the connection portion from the thicknesses of the positive electrode connection portion and the negative electrode connection portion and to increase the thickness of the connection portion in reference to the thicknesses of the positive and negative electrode connection portions. PNG media_image9.png 662 851 media_image9.png Greyscale Annotated Oh Figure 7: An individual bus bar unit, comprising of positive (246) and negative (248) electrode connection portions, representing the thinner portions, and the thicker connection portion, comprising of the layer body (242) and the support layer (250), representing the thicker portion Regarding claim 8 , Oh teaches the limitations of claims 1, 4, 6, and 7 as outlined above. Oh further teaches the positive electrode connection portions are coupled and welded to battery cells of a first group (Annotated Oh Fig. 16). Paragraph [0113] specifies that the plurality of positive electrode connection portions 246 may be electrically connected to the positive electrode 175 of the battery cells 150. The electrical connection may be established through a welding process for electrical connection such as laser welding or ultrasonic welding. Likewise, the negative electrode connection portions are coupled and welded to the second electrodes of the battery cells of the second group (Annotated Oh Fig. 16). Paragraph [0115] specifies that the plurality of negative electrode connection portions 248 may be electrically connected to the negative electrode 170 of the battery cells 150. The electrical connection may be established through a welding process for electrical connection such as laser welding or ultrasonic welding . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh , as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Ryu (U.S. 2020/0194765) . Regarding claim 9 , Oh discloses the battery pack as discussed in claim 7 (Annotated Oh Fig. 7, Positive electrode connection portion 246 is coupled to positive electrode 175. Negative electrode connection portion 248 is coupled to negative electrode 170.). Oh fails to disclose the thicknesses of the first and second portions is 0.5 mm or less, and the thickness of the connection portions is 0.8 mm or more. However, Ryu discloses two bus bars wherein a first bus bar and a second bus bar have different thicknesses wherein the thickness of the first bus bar (t1) may be about 20%-50% of the thickness of the second bus bar (t2). Paragraph [0049] describes the first bus bar having a thickness of about 0.5 mm to about 1.2 mm whereas the second bus bar would have a corresponding thickness of about 1.2 mm to about 2.5 mm. Oh and Ryu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they perform the same function of optimizing and developing energy-efficient power delivering modules. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oh to incorporate the teachings of a first bus bar having a thickness of about 0.5 mm to about 1.2 mm and a second bus bar possessing a thickness of about 1.2 mm to about 2.5 mm disclosed by Ryu because Ryu teaches that a first bus bar having a certain thickness or greater allows greater current to flow in a battery whereas a second bus bar having a smaller thickness in reference to the first bus bar allows for direct connection between the first bus bar and the electrode terminal. A combination of a first bus bar having a certain thickness or greater and a second bus bar having a smaller thickness in reference to the first bus bar may improve the efficiency of electricity transmission (para. [0052]). It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05 (I) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh , as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Demont (U.S. 11,634,231) . Regarding claim 10 , Oh discloses the battery pack as discussed in claim 1 (Fig. 1, battery cell assembly 10). Oh fails to disclose a venting portion on the bottom surface of the battery pack which has a pillar structure and protrudes in a vertical direction from the lower surface of the battery cells. Demont discloses a plurality of vent holes (352 in Annotated Demont Fig. 3C and 902 in Fig. 6B) on bottom plates 372 (Fig. 3C) and 824 (Fig. 6B). The plurality of vent holes are configured to push matter from the battery cells in case of an ignition, gas release, or explosion (Col. 28, lines 1-4.) PNG media_image10.png 693 733 media_image10.png Greyscale Annotated Demont Figure 3C: Vent holes (352) located on the bottom surface of the battery cells to release matter from the battery cells Oh and Demont are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they perform the same function of ensuring battery safety from thermal runaway effects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oh to incorporate the teachings of vent holes disclosed by Demont and include vent holes on the bottom surface of a battery pack for gas release in case of an ignition or explosion within the battery pack. Furthermore, the claimed limitations are obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results (MPEP 2143(A)). Though Demont does not disclose the venting portions having a pillar structure protruding in a vertical direction from a lower surface of the battery cells, adding venting portions at the top and bottom of the battery pack, as taught by Demont, between the individual battery cells as disclosed by Oh, the vent passage that would form between the two holes would form a pillar shape. Furthermore, one with ordinary skill in the art would expect the venting portion having a pillar structure protruding in a vertical direction from the lower surface of the battery cells to perform the same function as the vent holes as described in Demont with expected beneficial results (MPEP 716.02(c)(II) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh and Park , as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Yamagami (EP 2 343 752) . Regarding claim 13 , Oh, as modified by Park, discloses the first and second holders configured to accommodate a plurality of battery cells as discussed in the rejection of claim 12 above. Oh, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the presence of a plurality of hooks on the outer surface of the first and second holders. However, Yamagami discloses a plurality of hooks (Annotated Yamagami Fig. 42; hook engagement portions 330) holding battery cell holders 304A and 304B which hold a plurality of individual battery cells within the module (Paragraph [0143]). Oh, Park, and Yamagami are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they perform the same function of coupling battery cases together for housing individual battery cells. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the upper and lower cases disclosed by Oh, as modified by Park above, to incorporate the teachings of hook engagement portions disclosed by Yamagami because Yamagami teaches that such structure can be used to lock cell holders accommodating the plurality of individual battery cells in place (Annotated Yamagami Fig. 42: paragraph [0143]). PNG media_image11.png 655 840 media_image11.png Greyscale Annotated Yamagami Figure 42: Hook engagement portions (330) couple cell holders 304A and 304B using an interlocking structure to hold a plurality of battery cells Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Contact Information Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SANTINO M SERVAGNO whose telephone number is (571)270-0847. The examiner can normally be reached M-Th 8:00 am - 5:00 pm, F 8:00 am - 4:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joshua Allen can be reached at (571) 270-3176. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SANTINO MICHALE SERVAGNO/Examiner, Art Unit 1713 /JOSHUA L ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/484,226 Page 2 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/484,226 Page 3 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/484,226 Page 4 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/484,226 Page 5 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/484,226 Page 6 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/484,226 Page 7 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/484,226 Page 8 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/484,226 Page 9 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/484,226 Page 10 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/484,226 Page 11 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/484,226 Page 12 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/484,226 Page 13 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/484,226 Page 14 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/484,226 Page 15 Art Unit: 1713