DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The action is in response to amendments filed on 01/08/2026. Claims 1, 9, 11 have been amended. Claims 2-3, 10 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 4-9, 11 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20060258961 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Zamierowski”) in view of US 20080269643 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Morriss”).
Regarding claim 1, Zamierowski, a medical measuring device, teaches a reusable clip sizing tool (abstract), the tool comprising:
a handle portion having a proximal end and a distal end (as shown in annotated Figure 4);
a base portion distal to the handle portion (as shown in annotated Figure 4);
an intermediate portion between the handle portion and the base portion, wherein the intermediate portion comprises a bend (as shown in annotated Figure 4);
a plurality of distal indicator markers on the base portion, wherein the plurality of distal indicator markers comprise one or more distal numbers corresponding to a size of a left atrial appendage when a distal end of the base portion is aligned with the left atrial appendage, wherein the one or more distal numbers are aligned in a portrait direction from the distal end of the base portion to a proximal end of the base portion such that a bottom of the one or more distal numbers face proximally towards the intermediate portion (as shown in annotated Figure 4);
a plurality of proximal indicator markers on the handle portion, wherein the plurality of proximal indicator markers comprise one or more proximal numbers are aligned in a portrait direction from the proximal end of handle portion to the distal end of the handle portion such that a bottom of the one or more proximal numbers face proximally towards the intermediate portion (as shown in annotated Figure 4);
wherein the plurality of proximal indicator markers comprise alternating contrast levels;
wherein the plurality of distal indicator markers comprise alternating contrast levels;
wherein the intermediate portion is between the plurality of proximal indicator markers and the plurality of distal indicator markers (as shown in annotated Figure 4); and
wherein the handle portion and the base portion comprise a malleable material (paragraph [0008]); but does not explicitly teach the indicator markers having alternate contrast levels.
However, Morriss teaches the indicator markers comprise alternating contrast levels (paragraph [0060]; as shown in Figure 3B). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distal and proximal indicator marker of Zamierowski, to have contrasting levels, as taught by Morriss, because doing so visually make its easier for a user to read a measurement.
Regarding claim 4, Zamierowski does not explicitly teach wherein the malleable material comprises annealed stainless steel.
However, Morriss teaches wherein the malleable material comprises annealed stainless steel (paragraph [0059], [0061]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zamierowski, to use annealed stainless steal, in view of Morriss, because making this modification merely combines prior art elements according to known methods well known in the industry (see MPEP 2143, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Regarding claim 5, Zamierowski does not explicitly teach wherein the malleable material is configured to resist deterioration from autoclave and chemical sterilization.
However, Morriss teaches wherein the malleable material is configured to resist deterioration from autoclave and chemical sterilization (paragraph [0059], [0061]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zamierowski, wherein the malleable material is configured to resist deterioration from autoclave and chemical sterilization, as taught by Morriss, because doing so allows for the device to be sterilized for reuse.
Regarding claim 6, Zamierowski, in view of Morriss, teaches wherein the malleable material is configured to maintain bendability after use (paragraph [0031]; as shown in Figures 3; as taught by Zamierowski).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the distal end of the base portion is atraumatic (as shown in Figure 4).
Regarding claim 8, Zamierowski does not explicitly teach wherein the tool is made from a flat wire fabrication method.
However, Morriss teaches wherein the tool is made from a flat wire fabrication method (paragraph [0059], [0061]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zamierowski, wherein the tool is made from a flat wire fabrication method, as taught by Morriss, because making this modification merely combines prior art elements according to known methods well known in the industry (see MPEP 2143, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Regarding claim 9, Zamierowski does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of indicator markers are configured to withstand multiple sterilization cycles.
However, Morriss teaches wherein the plurality of indicator markers are configured to withstand multiple sterilization cycles (paragraph [0059], [0061]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zamierowski, wherein the plurality of indicator markers are configured to withstand multiple sterilization cycles, as taught by Morriss, because doing so allows the device for retaining integrity after sterilization.
Regarding claim 11, Zamierowski does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of indicator markers comprise contrasting inverted background patterns between adjacent indicator markers.
However, Morriss teaches wherein the plurality of indicator markers comprise contrasting inverted background patterns between adjacent indicator markers (paragraph [0060]; as shown in Figure 3B). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zamierowski, wherein the plurality of indicator markers comprise contrasting inverted background patterns between adjacent indicator markers, as taught by Morriss, because doing so visually make its easier for a user to read a measurement.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 01/08/2026, with respect to the 35 USC 112(d) rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 112(d) rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 01/08/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made by Zamierowski, in view of Morriss.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABID A MUSTANSIR/Examiner, Art Unit 3791