DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
1. The Election filed August 20, 2026, in response to the Office Action of March 19, 2026, is acknowledged and has been entered. Applicants elected without traverse the species of a CAR design of claim 9 comprising an antigen binding site to a malignant T cell- specifically CD2, where the CAR-T cell is deficient in CD2, and an immune effector cell has deleted PD1 expression. Claims 1-5, 7, 9, 11, 27, 36-39, 42, 44-45, 47, 58-60 are pending. Claims 5, 45, and 47 are withdrawn as being drawn to non-elected species. Claims 1-4, 7, 9, 11, 27, 36-39, 42, 44, and 58-60 are currently under prosecution as drawn to the elected species.
Priority
2. The Application claims the benefit and priority of PCT/US2022/071692 filed on 4/13/2022 which claims the benefit and priority of provisional application 63/174,321 filed on 4/13/2021. Priority is granted to the provisional application 63/174,321 and the effective filing date of 4/13/2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 39, 42, and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 39 recites “at least one or more antigens to which the one or more CARs specifically bind”. This limitation is indefinite because claims 1, 36, 37, and 38 from which claim 39 depends do not recite an antigen-binding domain, it is unclear where the construct is binding to a target. Claim 44 further recites “wherein the CAR(s) specifically bind(s) at least one antigen expressed”. Examiner suggest amending claim 1 to recite “A chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) comprising an extracellular domain, wherein the extracellular domain comprises an antigen-binding domain,” to overcome the 112(b) rejection for claims 39 and 44.
4. Claim 60 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for treating cancer expressing an antigen that binds to the extracellular domain of the CAR, does not reasonably provide enablement for treatment of any cancer. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to practice the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The factors to be considered in determining whether undue experimentation is required are summarized In re Wands 858 F.2d 731, 8 USPQ2nd 1400 (Fed. Cir, 1988). The court in Wands states: "Enablement is not precluded by the necessity for some experimentation such as routine screening. However, experimentation needed to practice the invention must not be undue experimentation. The key word is 'undue,' not 'experimentation.' " (Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1404). Clearly, enablement of a claimed invention cannot be predicated on the basis of quantity of experimentation required to make or use the invention. "Whether undue experimentation is needed is not a single, simple factual determination, but rather is a conclusion reached by weighing many factual considerations." (Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1404). The factors to be considered in determining whether undue experimentation is required include: (1) the quantity of experimentation necessary, (2) the amount or direction or guidance presented, (3) the presence or absence of working examples, (4) the nature of the invention, (5) the state of the prior art, (6) the relative skill of those in the art, (7) the predictability or unpredictability of the art, and (8) the breadth of the claims.
The claims are drawn to a method of treating cancer in a patient comprising administering to a cancer patient a population of CAR-bearing immune effector cells wherein the CAR protein comprises an extracellular domain, a transmembrane domain, and an intracellular binding domain, the intracellular binding domain increases PLCγ recruitment and phosphorylation, a costimulatory domain and a signaling domain.
Thus, the breadth of the claims is drawn to a method for treating cancer comprising administering a CAR-bearing immune effector cell comprising an extracellular domain that binds a specific antigen on another cell surface.
The specification discloses 10 scFv domains comprising a heavy chain variable region and a light chain variable region directed to the antigens CD2, CD3, CD7, FLT3, CS1, and CD33. (pgs. 29-31 Table 2). The specification demonstrates CD2-CAR T cells in vitro ability to bind and activate in the presence of CD2+ T cells lines in Examples 6, 7, 11, and 12, also Figures 8-10. Example 14 demonstrates CD19-CAR-T cells in vitro ability to bind and activate to CD19+ expressing cell lines. Example 9 demonstrates an in vivo response to a leukemic mouse model from the CD2-CAR-T cell but a lack of a response from the CD19-CAR-T cell.
Thus, the specification provides guidance and direction for designing CAR constructs to target the antigens CD2, CD3, CD7, FLT3, CS1, and CD33 and examples of them binding to their specified target antigen on another cell surface. However, the specification provides no guidance for directing CAR cells to bind a cell not expressing the specified target and providing effective treatment as broadly claimed.
Further, the working examples of the specification all indicate the requirement for a specific target expressed on the malignant cell for the CAR cell to be effective as an immunotherapeutic agent. The specification lacks any example, in vitro or in vivo, of a CAR cell demonstrating efficacy against a malignant cell not expressing the specific antigen the CAR cell binds.
Relevant art teaches that CAR-T cells use re-engineered cell surface markers to specifically bind to and lyse oncogenic cells. (See Jayaraman, abstract; Jayaraman, et al., EBiomedicine, 2020, 58:102931). Jayaraman teaches that all the components of the CAR structure affect CAR function both independently and synergistically. (See Jayaraman, pg. 9 Section 6, lines 1-2. Specifically, the ligand binding affinity can be decreased to reduce off-target affects but this has shown to affect the activation and anti-tumor toxicity. (See Jayaraman, pg. 9 section 6 lines 2-5).
Thus, the nature of the invention is predictable in that a person of ordinary skill in the art understands the antigen-binding domain of a CAR cell determines what the CAR cell targets. A CAR cell known to bind a specific antigen is known to only be effective when applied to an environment expressing that antigen.
The state of the art requires a skilled artisan to know the antigen target of the CAR to effectively use it in treatment. Using a CAR cell that binds an antigen not expressed on a cancer cell would require undue experimentation for skilled artisan.
The state of the prior art indicates that the ligand binding domain of a CAR construct is important for binding to the target, activation of the CAR cell, and induction of anti-tumor cytotoxicity.
The results of the outcomes are predictable for CAR cell binding to a specific target. While treatment of cancer using immunotherapy can be unpredictable from individual to individual, it is predictable that a CAR cell will be unlikely to bind to a target cell not expressing the specific antigen the CAR cell binds.
One cannot extrapolate the disclosure of the specification to the enablement of the claims because the breadth of the claims provides for method of treating any cancer using a CAR-bearing immune cell that expresses antigen binding for a specific antigen. Further, the specification indicates through guidance and working examples the CAR cell requires binding to a specific cell surface marker on the target cell to be effective. Further, relevant prior art teaches that for a CAR cell to be effective antigen binding is required and the binding of the receptor relates to the effectiveness of the CAR cell in activation and anti-tumor cytotoxicity.
Therefore, in view of the state of the art, the breadth of the claims, lack of guidance in the specification, and the absence of working examples, it would require undue experimentation for one skilled in the art to practice the invention as broadly claimed.
Examiner Suggestion: To overcome this rejection, examiner suggests amending claim 60:
“A method for treatment of cancer in a patient comprising administering a population of CAR-bearing immune effector cells according to claim 36 to a cancer patient, wherein the cancer expresses an antigen bound by the extracellular domain of the CAR.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-4, 36-38, and 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lim et al. (WO2022/173703 A1, effectively filed 2/10/2021).
Lim discloses a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) comprising an extracellular domain, a transmembrane domain, and one or more co-stimulatory intracellular domains including a domain that binds PLCγ, Lck that is CD4, and LAT. ( See Lim pg. 15 lines 17-22, also Table 1 on page 14). Lim also discloses the LAT domain can be adjacent to the transmembrane domain or distal to the signaling domain. (See Lim, pg. 35 lines 20-23, also Figures 1B and 1D).
Regarding claims 36-38, Lim discloses the CAR can be expressed in an immune cell including T and NK cells. (See Lim, pg. 17 lines 3-4).
Regarding claim 60, Lim discloses using the CAR cell for the treatment of cancer. (See Lim, pg. 17 lines 1-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 7, 9, 11, and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (WO2022/173703 A1, effectively filed 2/10/2021) as applied to claims 1-4, 36-38, and 60 above, and further in view of Richardson et al. (US2022/0162288 A1, effectively filed 11/25/2020).
Lim discloses the limitations of claims 1-4, 36-38, and 60 as discussed above.
Lim does not disclose the CAR where the CD4 costimulatory domain has the amino acid sequence according to SEQ ID NO: 12. Lim does not disclose the CAR comprising from a proximal N-terminus to a distal C-terminus: an optional CD8a domain; an antigen binding domain, a hinge, a transmembrane domain; a LAT domain or a peptide bond or a peptide or polypeptide linker; at least one co-stimulatory domain; a signaling domain; and optionally a LAT domain; provided that at least one LAT domain is present and has the amino acid sequence according to SEQ ID NO: 15.
Lim does not disclose a therapeutic composition comprising a population of CAR-bearing immune effector cells.
Lim does suggest a CAR construct comprising an extracellular domain that includes an antigen-binding domain, a transmembrane domain, an intracellular domain comprising two or three co-stimulatory domains i, j, and k, where the LAT domain has been used at the position of “i”. (See Lim Figures 1B and 1D). Lim also suggests using a hinge region as part of the CD19 CAR construct in the Examples. (See Lim pg. 25 line 8).
Richardson discloses a CAR construct design that includes an antigen binding domain linked to a hinge linked to a transmembrane domain and linked to one or more intracellular domains (See Richardson, pg. 69 [0387][0388], also see Table 3) where the intracellular domain includes a LAT protein as a part of the intracellular domain that also includes other co-stimulatory domains where the LAT domain could be adjacent to the transmembrane domain and the other co-stimulatory and signaling domains are linked to the LAT domain on the other side (See Richardson, pg. 21 [0260], pg. 26 [0262],[0263]). Richardson also teaches that the LAT domain is responsible for activating normal effector functions of the immune cell. (See Richardson, pg. 26 [0263]). Further, Richardson discloses the amino acid sequence of the CD4 co-stimulatory domain of SEQ ID NO: 12 (SEQ ID NO: 144, see alignment below) and the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 15 (SEQ ID NO: 187, see alignment below). (See Richardson pgs. 21-26 Table 2, also pgs. 27-32 Table 2.1).
Regarding claim 59, Richardson discloses a therapeutic composition comprising a population of CAR-bearing immune effector cells and at least one therapeutically acceptable diluent, carrier, or adjuvant. (See Richardson, pg. 84 [0507]).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the CAR T cell of Lim with the CAR construct of Richardson for the present claimed invention. It would have been obvious because both Lim and Richardson disclose similar CAR constructs including the use of CD4 and LAT domains for the CAR construct and Richardson discloses the amino acid sequences as being known and used in the art, and Richardson teaches that the LAT domain is useful for activating the normal effector function of the host immune cell. Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to use the CAR T cell of Lim with the CAR design and amino acid sequences of Richardson with a reasonable expectation of success at developing the present claimed invention.
SEQ ID NO: 12 is 100% identical to SEQ ID NO: 144 (Richardson):
US2022162288-A1.
XX
CC PD 26-MAY-2022.
XX
CC PF 24-NOV-2021; 2021US-00535071.
XX
PR 25-NOV-2020; 2020US-0118008P.
XX
CC PA (CATA-) CATAMARAN BIO INC.
XX
CC PI Storer JA, Barron L, Richardson C;
XX
DR WPI; 2022-72593W/00.
DR UNIPROT; P01730.
XX
CC PT Chimeric protein for treating cancer, subject in need of altered immune
CC PT response, comprises extracellular domain, transmembrane domain, and
CC PT intracellular domain, where extracellular domain is capable of binding
CC PT negative signal, and intracellular domain comprises intracellular domain.
XX
CC PS Claim 14; SEQ ID NO 144; 112pp; English.
Query Match 100.0%; Score 222; Length 40;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 40; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 CVRCRHRRRQAERMSQIKRLLSEKKTCQCPHRFQKTCSPI 40
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 CVRCRHRRRQAERMSQIKRLLSEKKTCQCPHRFQKTCSPI 40
SEQ ID NO: 15 is 100% identical to SEQ ID NO: 187 (Richardson):
US2022162288-A1.
XX
CC PD 26-MAY-2022.
XX
CC PF 24-NOV-2021; 2021US-00535071.
XX
PR 25-NOV-2020; 2020US-0118008P.
XX
CC PA (CATA-) CATAMARAN BIO INC.
XX
CC PI Storer JA, Barron L, Richardson C;
XX
DR WPI; 2022-72593W/00.
DR UNIPROT; O43561.
XX
CC PT Chimeric protein for treating cancer, subject in need of altered immune
CC PT response, comprises extracellular domain, transmembrane domain, and
CC PT intracellular domain, where extracellular domain is capable of binding
CC PT negative signal, and intracellular domain comprises intracellular domain.
XX
CC PS Claim 14; SEQ ID NO 187; 112pp; English.
Query Match 100.0%; Score 1262; Length 235;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 235; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 HCHRLPGSYDSTSSDSLYPRGIQFKRPHTVAPWPPAYPPVTSYPPLSQPDLLPIPRSPQP 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 HCHRLPGSYDSTSSDSLYPRGIQFKRPHTVAPWPPAYPPVTSYPPLSQPDLLPIPRSPQP 60
Qy 61 LGGSHRTPSSRRDSDGANSVASYENEGASGIRGAQAGWGVWGPSWTRLTPVSLPPEPACE 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 LGGSHRTPSSRRDSDGANSVASYENEGASGIRGAQAGWGVWGPSWTRLTPVSLPPEPACE 120
Qy 121 DADEDEDDYHNPGYLVVLPDSTPATSTAAPSAPALSTPGIRDSAFSMESIDDYVNVPESG 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 DADEDEDDYHNPGYLVVLPDSTPATSTAAPSAPALSTPGIRDSAFSMESIDDYVNVPESG 180
Qy 181 ESAEASLDGSREYVNVSQELHPGAAKTEPAALSSQEAEEVEEEGAPDYENLQELN 235
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 ESAEASLDGSREYVNVSQELHPGAAKTEPAALSSQEAEEVEEEGAPDYENLQELN 235
7. Claims 39, 42, and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (WO2022/173703 A1, effectively filed 2/10/2021) as applied to claims 1-4, 36-38, and 60 above, and further in view of Dipersio, et al. (WO2019/232444 A1, pub. 12/5/2019).
Lim discloses the limitations of claims 1-4, 36-38, and 60 as discussed above.
Lim does not disclose a CAR-T cell that specifically binds to CD2 and is also deficient in expressing CD2.
Dipersio discloses a CAR-T cell that is deficient in expressing CD2 and the CAR construct specifically binds to CD2. (See Dipersio, pg. 30[00186]). Dipersio teach that this CAR-T cell is fratricide-resistant. (See Dipersio, pg. 28 [00181]).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the CAR-T cell of Lim with the CAR-T cell design of Dipersio for the present claimed invention. It would be obvious because the technology of Dipersio makes the CAR-T cell fratricide-resistant giving it improved efficacy in treatment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to apply the CAR-T cell technology of Dipersio to the CAR-T cell of Lim with a reasonable expectation of success at developing the improved CAR-T cell of the present claimed invention.
8. Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (WO2022/173703 A1, effectively filed 2/10/2021) as applied to claims 1-4, 36-38, and 60 above, and further in view of McKearn et al. (US 2020/0147137 A1, pub. 5/14/2020).
Lim discloses the limitations of claims 1-4, 36-38, and 60 as discussed above.
Lim suggests several known intracellular signaling domains can be used in the construction of the CAR including IL2RB in order to activate T cells (p. 24, lines 26-31).
Lim does not disclose a CAR construct that has a CD132 (IL2RG) signaling domain.
McKearn discloses CAR constructs that use CD132 (common gamma chain, part of the type I cytokine family members) as an intracellular signaling domain. (See McKearn, pg. 9 [0213], [0259]). McKearn teaches that the CD132-associated cytokines are known to promote T cell development, maturation, homeostasis, and proliferation, and other treatment strategies have used endogenous cytokine administration to influence CAR-T cells but that strategy results in also stimulating malignant T cells. (See McKearn, pg. 1 [0004], [0005]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the CAR construct of Lim with the disclosed intracellular signaling domain of CD132 of McKearn for the present claimed invention. It would have been obvious because: (1) Lim teaches including a costimulatory domain in their CAR construct derived from IL2R in order to stimulate T cells; and (2) McKearn teaches the CD132 (IL2RG) costimulatory domain functions to stimulate the CAR T cells to proliferate without activating the malignant T cells present in the tumor microenvironment improving the CAR-T cell efficacy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to use the CAR construct of Lim with the CD132 signaling domain of McKearn with a reasonable expectation of success at developing the improved CAR construct of the present claimed invention.
9. Claim 58 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (WO2022/173703 A1, effectively filed 2/10/2021) as applied to claims 1-4, 36-38, and 60 above, and further in view of Valmehr et al. (WO2021/062281 A2, pub. 4/1/2021).
Lim discloses the limitations of claims 1-4, 36-38, and 60 as discussed above.
Lim does not disclose a CAR cell wherein PD1 is deleted.
Valmehr teaches techniques that can be used to improve tumor targeting precision, off-target toxicity, off-tumor effect, and efficacy against solid tumors, tumor microenvironment and related immune suppression in the treatment of cancer. (See Valmehr pg. 2 [0005]). In particular, Valmehr suggests a CAR-T cell that is deficient in PD1. (See Valmehr, pg. 5 [00017]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to use the CAR-T cell of Lim with the suggestion of Valmehr for the present claimed invention. It would have been obvious because Valmehr teaches various techniques for improving cancer treatments by improving tumor targeting and decreasing off-target effects and one of those techniques is deleting the expression of PD1 in cells that express CAR proteins for use in immunotherapy. It would have a reasonable expectation of success because PD-1 being deleted from CAR-T cells used in immunotherapy would reasonably decrease the risk off-target effects of immunotherapy. Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to use the CAR-T cells of Lim with the technology as suggested in Valmehr with a reasonable expectation of success at creating an improved CAR-T cell of the present claimed invention.
Conclusion
10. Claims 1-4, 7, 9, 11, 27, 36-39, 42, 44, and 58-60 are rejected.
/LINDSAY DUNN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1642
/Laura B Goddard/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1642