DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-9, 11-13, 15-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aguilar et al. (US 2018/0174616) in view of Novikoff et al. (US 2018/0068019) in view of Ramadorai et al. (US 2018/0295396) and further in view of Song et al. (US 9,665,644).
Regarding claim 1, Aguilar teaches a system comprising:
at least one processor (Fig. 7, processor 702);
at least one memory component (Fig. 7, system memory 714) storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising (System in Figs. 1-5 and 7):
selecting, from a collection of media items, a number of media items for use in a video montage comprising the number of media items (Paragraph 0032 teaches a user is able to select video clips in “the one or more source video clips may include video clips selected by a user” or that a system is able to select automatically a number of video clips);
determining a theme parameter from the number of media items by performing a visual analysis on the number of media items or by analyzing metadata associated with the number of media items (Figs. 3, 5 and paragraphs 6, 28 and 42 teaches “determining a common theme” by analyzing source video clips);
identifying an audio track having a theme parameter corresponding to the theme parameter determined from the number of media items (while Aguilar teaches determining a theme as discussed above and teaches determining the audio for further theme based analysis, fails to explicitly teach “identifying an audio track having a theme parameter corresponding to the theme parameter determined from the number of media items”); and
generating, using the data structure, a video montage from the number of media items and the audio track (Fig. 5, step 506 teaches generating a compiled video comprising the plurality of video segments, which as discussed above determines the editing theme).
However, while Aguilar teaches determining a theme from a set of selected video clips, fails to teach, but Novikoff teaches “identifying an audio track having a theme parameter corresponding to the theme parameter determined from the number of media items (Paragraphs 0081-0082 and step 302 teaches the claimed); and
generating a data structure specifying an identity and order of the number of media items and a start location of the audio track (Paragraphs 0159 teaches order of video and Fig. 3, step 320 determines the soundtrack for the respective selected videos),
generating, using the data structure, a video montage from the number of media items and the audio track (Paragraphs 0086 and step 322 teaches wherein montages are created based on the selected media items and the audio track).
It is noted that while Aguilar also teaches its own montage ability, the incorporation of Novikoff presents the additional benefit of identify and order the media clips with the identified audio track to generate the montage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to incorporate the teachings of Novikoff into the system of Aguilar because said incorporation allows for the benefit of improving the overall system by automatically selecting the best soundtrack to be associated with corresponding videos to improve impact by relating emotion/mood in the music to the video clips/segments and also for the purposes of reducing the time it takes by automatically associating such soundtracks with the videos (see paragraphs 27 and 82).
While Aguilar and Novikoff teaches the claimed as discussed in claim 1 above, however, Novikoff and Aguilar fail to teach the claimed, but Ramadorai teaches the claimed: determining that a particular media item used in the video montage has been deleted from the local media gallery of visual media items (paragraphs 188-196 teaches a montage refreshing process in which media is determined to be removed or deleted altogether. “Bubbles” as recited in Ramadorai essentially provides a data store/container for one or more events or topics of interest, therefore, wherein the media is deleted altogether from the bubbles, the montage is equally updated. Since the montage is updated to the removed media, the media item deleted appears to be used in the previous montage);
in response to determining that the particular media item has been deleted from the local media gallery, scanning the local media gallery to identify a replacement media item having characteristics corresponding to characteristics of media items remaining in the data structure (Ramadorai partially teaches this limitation: paragraphs 142, 147-169, 261-267 teaches wherein scanning is performed and also teaches scoring candidate media based on markers, metadata, visual analysis (faces, objects, audio) – i.e. characteristics. Clustering is also performed on similar visual characteristics. However, the scanning is done for the highest-scored remaining media, not explicitly matched against characteristics of items remaining in the data structure. The difference is taught by another reference below);
updating the data structure to replace the particular media item in the video montage (paragraphs 143 and 188-196 teaches a montage refreshing process in which media is determined to be removed or deleted altogether and the montage is updated); and
regenerating the video montage based on the updated data structure (paragraphs 143 and 188-197 teaches a montage refreshing process in which media is determined to be removed or deleted altogether and the montage is updated with the changes in the media being removed altogether).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to incorporate the teachings of Ramadorai into the system of Aguilar and Novikoff such that deleting media content results in a montage/summary that previously included the now deleted media to be refreshed such that the deletion is accounted for in the new montage as taught by Ramadorai is utilized in the propose combination’s own video summary/montage system because said incorporation allows for the benefit of saving time by creating automatic summaries (paragraph 134).
However, Aguilar, Novikoff and Ramadorai fails to teach, but in a similar endeavor, Song teaches the claimed: in response to determining that the particular media item has been deleted from the local media gallery, scanning the local media gallery to identify a replacement media item having characteristics corresponding to characteristics of media items remaining in the data structure (abstract and claim 1 and Figs. 7-9 wherein portion delegated as being removed is replaced by scanning and comparing the characteristics of the surrounding media portions from the one that has been deleted, “set of candidate items”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to incorporate the teachings of Song into the proposed combination of Aguilar, Novikoff and Ramadorai because such an incorporation allows for the benefit of reducing the difficulty and lessen the amount of time required (col. 3, lines 29 – 65).
Regarding claim 2, Song teaches the claimed wherein the characteristics of media items remaining in the data structure comprise a theme parameter determined by performing a visual analysis on the media items remaining in the data structure or by analyzing metadata associated with media items remaining in the data structure (Examiner notes the alternative language in the claim. Song teaches in the abstract and claim 1 and Figs. 7-9 wherein portion delegated as being removed is replaced by scanning and comparing the characteristics of the surrounding media portions from the one that has been deleted, “set of candidate items”). The prior motivation as discussed above is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 4, Aguilar teaches wherein the number of media items are selected based on a particular time period or based on recency of the number of media items (paragraph 32 teaches time of capture).
Regarding claim 5, Novikoff teaches further comprising:
wherein generating the video montage comprises: generating individual video segments from each media item in the number of media items (paragraphs 0159 and Fig. 3, step 322 teaches assembling each of the selected video clips); and
assembling the individual video segments into the video montage based on an order specified in the data structure (Fig. 3, steps 320 and 322 determines the assembling of the video clips into a theme-based video). The prior motivation as discussed above is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 6, Novikoff teaches further comprising:
causing display of the video montage (paragraphs 0095 and 0189);
receiving user input to remove or replace a particular media item in the video montage (paragraphs 0095 and 0189teaches editing);
updating the data structure to remove or replace the particular media item in the video montage (paragraphs 0095 and 0189teaches adding or removing); and
regenerating the video montage based on the updated data structure (paragraph 0095 and 0189 and EDL). The prior motivation as discussed above is incorporated herein.
Regarding method claims 8-9 and 11-13, they are rejected for the same reasons as discussed in systems claims 1-2 and 4-6 above, respectively.
Regarding medium claims 15-16 and 18-20, they are rejected for the same reasons as discussed in systems claims 1-2 and 4-6 above, respectively.
Claim 3, 7, 10, 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aguilar et al. (US 2018/0174616) in view of Novikoff et al. (US 2018/0068019) in view of Ramadorai et al. (US 2018/0295396) and further in view of Song et al. (US 9,665,644) and further in view of Snibbe et al. (US 2015/0286716).
Regarding claim 3, Aguilar, Novikoff, Ramadorai and Song teaches the claimed as discussed in claim 1 above, however fails to teach, but Snibbe teaches wherein the theme parameter comprises a descriptor of an image augmentation (Fig. 5 and paragraphs 64-71 teaches wherein post processed audio and/or video effects augmented the with effect metadata are stored in the metadata database and stored with the media item generation database 344 as illustrated in Fig. 5. Paragraph 93-94 also teaches that the matching algorithm that selects a video clip based on the very same media item generation database 344, which includes the effects information 526).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to incorporate the teachings of Snibbe into the proposed combination of Aguilar, Novikoff, Ramadorai and Song so that video effects information associated with the video/media item is stored along with the file because said incorporation allows for the benefit of improving the accuracy of matching media items based on a user’s search (paragraph 136).
Regarding claim 7, Snibbe teaches the claimed wherein the image augmentation comprise augmented reality effects applied to media items (Fig. 5 and paragraphs 64-71 and paragraphs 93-94). The prior motivation as discussed above is incorporated herein.
Claims 10 and 17 are rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 3 above.
Method claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in system claim 7 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GELEK W TOPGYAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481