DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 5, 711, 17-19 have been amended. Claim 20 is newly presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on June 2, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argued that Ryu does not disclose or suggest “ that first STA transmits a frame that indicates the power management mode change or the power save state change for a second STA” recited in claim 1 and 11 respectively.
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees Ryu substantially discloses the subject matter because the signal or frame that is exchanged between the STAs AP MLD and non-AP MLD is directly related power change state or power mode change.
Moreover, the Examiner has made a new ground of rejection to fully address the added claim limitation. The new ground of rejection does not mean that Examiner is acquiescing with the Applicant’s arguments.
Regarding the Applicant’s concerning the dependent claims, please see, the Examiner’s response with respect to the independent claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 20, it is suggested to change “a second STAs” to “a second STA.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 11-17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu et al (US 2024/0422674 A1) in view of LIU et al (US 2024/0073812 A1, May 19, 2021).
Regarding claims 1 (Currently Amended), Ryu ‘674 discloses a non-access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) (fig. 14, fig. 16, the non-AP MLD in power saving mode, the non-AP MLD is associated with an AP MLD having three affiliated APs (AP 1, AP 2, AP3), section 0143-0144) associated with an AP MLD (fig. 4, non-AP MLD that is affiliated with STA or non-AP STA, the non-AP, AP MLD have three affiliated APs (AP 411, AP 412 and AP3 413, STA 421, STA 422 and STA 423,s section 0060-0063) in a wireless network (fig. 1, WLAN infrastructure network 102 that comprises a plurality of STAS 106, section 0035-0037), the non-AP MLD comprising: at least one processor including processing circuitry (fig. 2, APMLD or non-AP MLD includes processor 270 may include ASIC coupled to memory 280 communicatively coupled to STA, there are multiple STAs affiliated with AP MLD and the non-AP MLD, section 0046-0051, section 0137-0138); and memory storing instructions (fig. 2, memory 280 connected to the processor, the memory stores software/modules/instructions executed by the by the processor, section 0034, 0049-0051), wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively (fg. 2, APMLD or non-AP MLD includes processor 270 coupled to memory 280 communicatively coupled to STA, there are multiple STAs affiliated with AP MLD and the non-AP MLD, section 0046-0051, 0034, section 0137-0138), cause the non-AP MLD to: determine power management mode change or power save state change for one or more STAs affiliated with the non-AP MLD (see, the STA may be in continuously in the awake state, may receive and transmit frames and may alternate between the awake mode and the doze state, the STA transmits a frame (e.g., management frame) to an AP, the desired power management mode in indicated in a PM subfield of frame, section 0128-0129, noted: the AP knows the power management mode of the STA based on the field of the PM in the control field, section 0130) ; and transmit (see, beacon frame scheduled for transmission by non-AP, section 0145), to a first AP affiliated with the AP MLD on a first link established (see, enabled links between the AP MLD, non-AP MLD and affiliated STAs, section 0176) between a first STA affiliated (fig. 16, the non-AP that is associated with an AP MLD having three affiliated APs, the non-AP MLD is affiliated with STAs (STA 1, STA 2 and STA3) , section 0143) with the non-AP MLD (see, frame exchanges on the enabled link when the STA is the awake state with a non-AP during the multi-link operation, STAS in the active mode exchanges frame with APs, the STA 1404-2 indicates it is in active mode by setting to 0 a PM subfield of the control field of the transmitted frame, section 0137-0138, noted: communication over multiple link between non-AP MLD, non-AP STA and AP MLD, section 0063), and the first AP (section 0145-0146-discloses transmission beacon frame with listen interval indicated by the non-AP to the AP), a frame including a field that indicates the power management mode change or the power save state change for the STA affiliated with the non-AP MLD (section 0160-the non-AP MLD indicates to the AP MLD changing the power management mode from the acti mode to the first power save by setting the frame control filed to 1, section 0160, see, based on power management (PM) subfield of the frame control field being changed from 0 to PM set to 1 indicating change from the active mode to a power save mode, section 0138).
Ryu ‘674 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: transmits, by a first STA affiliated with non-AP MLD to a first AP affiliated with the AP MLD on first link established, a frame including a field that indicated the power management mode change or the power save state change for a second STA affiliated with non-AP MLD.
However, LIU et al (US 2024/0073812 A1, May 19, 2021) from a similar field of endeavor (see, AP MLD and non-AP MLD configured to implement multi-link communication, section 0040-00042, 0060-0061, see, non-AP MLD creates up to STAs 326a-326c, and the STAs are associated with AP MLD, section 0065-0066, see, difference power management modes, section 0056) discloses: transmits (see, transmitting using first STA, a first frame to the second MLD indicating the first STA transitioning to the hibernation mode, and transitioning the second STA from the hibernation mode to an awake mode, section 0146) by a first STA affiliated with non-AP MLD to a first AP affiliated with the AP MLD on first link established (section 0065-0066, 0075-0076), a frame including a field (see, power saving mode/hibernation mode with PM field set to 1, section 0098, 0137) that indicated the power management mode change or the power save state change for a second STA affiliated with non-AP MLD (see, transmitting using first STA, a first frame to the second MLD indicating the first STA transitioning to the hibernation mode, and transitioning the second STA from the hibernation mode to an awake mode, section 0146).
Regarding claim 20 (New), a method performed by a non-access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) associated with an AP MLD in a wireless network, the method comprising: determining power management mode change or power save state change for one or more stations (STAs) affiliated with the non-AP MLD; and transmitting, by a first STA affiliated with the non-AP MLD to a first AP affiliated with the AP MLD on a first link established between the first STA and the first AP, a frame including a field that indicates the power management mode change or the power save state change for a second STAs affiliated with the non-AP MLD.
Ryu ‘674 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: transmits, by a first STA affiliated with non-AP MLD to a first AP affiliated with the AP MLD on first link established, a frame including a field that indicated the power management mode change or the power save state change for a second STA affiliated with non-AP MLD.
However, LIU et al (US 2024/0073812 A1, May 19, 2021) from a similar field of endeavor (see, AP MLD and non-AP MLD configured to implement multi-link communication, section 0040-00042, 0060-0061, see, non-AP MLD creates up to STAs 326a-326c, and the STAs are associated with AP MLD, section 0065-0066, see, difference power management modes, section 0056) discloses: transmits (see, transmitting using first STA, a first frame to the second MLD indicating the first STA transitioning to the hibernation mode, and transitioning the second STA from the hibernation mode to an awake mode, section 0146) by a first STA affiliated with non-AP MLD to a first AP affiliated with the AP MLD on first link established (section 0065-0066, 0075-0076), a frame including a field that indicated the power management mode change or the power save state change for a second STA affiliated with non-AP MLD (see, transmitting using first STA, a first frame to the second MLD indicating the first STA transitioning to the hibernation mode, and transitioning the second STA from the hibernation mode to an awake mode, section 0146).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the multi-link operation in which the non-AP MLD switches from the first power saving mode to a second power save mode after receiving downlink BUs from AP MLD of Ryu ‘674 with the multi-link mode where a first station sends a frame to transition the second station from hibernation mode to am awake mode as taught by LIU ‘812. The motivation would have been to provide better utilization of channel resources and power saving as suggested in section 0004.
Regarding claim 2, Ryu ‘674 discloses the non-AP MLD of claim 1, wherein the field includes a first subfield that indicates if the field includes power management mode change indication or power save state change indication (see, based on power management (PM) subfield of the frame control field being changed from 0 to PM set to 1 indicating change from the active mode to a power save mode, section 0137-0138).
Regarding claim 3, Ryu ‘674 discloses the non-AP MLD of claim 1, wherein the field includes a second subfield that indicates one or more links of the AP MLD that are associated with the power management mode change or the power save state change (section 0137-0138, see, multilink operation that includes link 1, link 2, link 3 which are associated with AP MLD with has two APs affiliated with it and STA 1404 with two STAs affiliated with it).
Regarding claim 4, Ryu ‘674 discloses the non-AP MLD of claim 1, wherein the power management mode change is a change from active mode to power save mode or a change from power save mode to active mode, and the power save state change is a change from doze state to awake state or a change from awake state to doze state (section 0138, see, transition from the active mode to the doze state (power same mode).
Regarding claim 5, Ryu ‘674 discloses the non-AP MLD of claim 2, wherein the frame includes a third subfield that indicates if the power management mode transitions from active mode to power save mode or from power save mode to active mode (fig. 14, discloses more than two subfield indicating a change from the active mode (awake state) to the doze state (power saving mode), section 0137-0138).
Regarding claim 6, Ryu ‘674 discloses the non-AP MLD of claim 5, wherein the power management mode change is determined based on the first subfield and the third subfield (see, the AP may maintain for an associated STA a power management status that includes a power management mode of the STA, there are multiple STAs, section 0130-0131, 0137-0138, fig. 14, there are multiple fields, section 0187-0196).
Regarding claim 7 (Currently Amended), Ryu ‘674 discloses the non-AP MLD of claim 1, wherein the instructions (see, memory 280 connected to the processor, the memory stores software/modules/instructions executed by the by the processor, section 0034, 0049-0051), when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively (fig. 2, APMLD or non-AP MLD includes processor 270 may include ASIC coupled to memory 280 communicatively coupled to STA, there are multiple STAs affiliated with AP MLD and the non-AP MLD, section 0046-0051, section 0137-0138); cause the non-AP MLD to participate in frame exchange with at least one AP affiliated with the AP MLD (see, frame exchanges on the enabled link between AP MLD , non-AP MLD, and STAs, section 0137-0138) on each respective link (see, enabled links between the AP MLD, non-AP MLD and affiliated STAs, section 0176) between the non-AP MLD and the AP MLD (noted: communication over multiple link between non-AP MLD, non-AP STA and AP MLD, section 0063), in a case that the field indicates that the one or more STAs transition to active mode or awake state, and wherein the at least one AP is associated with at least one of the one or more STAs (section 0137-0138,-the frame that is exchanged includes a power management subfield of the frame indicating changing from active mode to power save mode, 0145-0153).
Regarding claim 8 (Currently Amended), Ryu ‘674 discloses the non-AP MLD of claim 1, wherein the instructions (see, memory 280 connected to the processor, the memory stores software/modules/instructions executed by the by the processor, section 0034, 0049-0051), when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively (fig. 2, APMLD or non-AP MLD includes processor 270 may include ASIC coupled to memory 280 communicatively coupled to STA, there are multiple STAs affiliated with AP MLD and the non-AP MLD, section 0046-0051, section 0137-0138) to cause the non-AP MLD to receive capability information (see, the receiving and transmitting from/to a non-AP MLD in relation to capability information indicating whether the non-AP MLD and AP MLD support power save mode, section 0196, 0200-0201) from the AP MLD that indicates whether the AP MLD supports receiving power management mode change indication or power save state change indication for one or more STAs affiliated with the non-AP MLD (section 0137-0138,-the frame that is exchanged includes a power management subfield of the frame indicating changing from active mode to power save mode, 0145-0153).
Regarding claim 11 (Currently Amended), Ryu ‘674 discloses an access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) associated (see, the affiliated MLD receives PS-poll frame from a STS associated with an associated non-AP MLD on links indicated in the multi-link traffic element, section 0140-0142, fig. 17, AP MLD associated with a plurality of APs (AP1, AP2, AP3, the non-AP MLD that includes a plurality of STAs (STA 1, STA2 and STA3), section 0148) with a non-AP MLD (fig. 14, AP MLD 1002 and non-AP MLD 1405 communicatively coupled by link 1, section 0137-0138) in a wireless network (fig. 1, WLAN infrastructure network 102 that comprises a plurality of STAS 106, section 0035-0037),, the AP MLD comprising: at least one processor including processing circuitry (fig. 2, APMLD or non-AP MLD includes processor 270 may include ASIC coupled to memory 280 communicatively coupled to STA, there are multiple STAs affiliated with AP MLD and the non-AP MLD, section 0046-0051, section 0137-0138); and memory storing instructions (fig. 2, memory 280 connected to the processor, the memory stores software/modules/instructions executed by the by the processor, section 0034, 0049-0051), wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively (fg. 2, APMLD or non-AP MLD includes processor 270 coupled to memory 280 communicatively coupled to STA, there are multiple STAs affiliated with AP MLD and the non-AP MLD, section 0046-0051, 0034, section 0137-0138), cause the AP MLD to: receive (see, both affiliated STAs 1404-1 and 1404-2 exchange with APs 1401-1, and 1402-22, the STAs which may indicate being in the active mode by setting 0 a Power Management (PM) subfield of a transmitted frame, section , section 0138) by a first AP affiliated with the AP MLD from a first station (STA) affiliated,, from a first STA affiliated (see, STAs affiliated with non-AP MLD, section 0139, the STA ) with the non-AP MLD (fig. 4, non-AP MLD since the MLD AP can be a non-AP MLD, non-AP STAT, the STA MLD may have three affiliated STAS (STA 421, STA 4222 and STA 423), section 0063-0064), on a first link established between the first STA and a first AP (see, enabled links between the AP MLD, non-AP MLD and affiliated STAs, section 0176), see, STAS in the active mode exchanges frame with APs, the STA 1404-2 indicates it is in active mode by setting to 0 a PM subfield of the control field of the transmitted frame, section 0137-0138) with the AP MLD (see, the STA1404-1 in the active mode in frame exchanges with APs, the STA my indicated its active mode by setting to 0 a Power Management (PM) subfield of a Frame Control field of a transmitted frame, section 0130, 0138), a frame including a field (see, the STA of the non-AP MLD transmit a frame, changes the a power management mode from active mode to a power save mode, section 0153, noted: the Power Management (PM) subfield of a Frame Control Field of the transmitted frame is set to 0 bit for the active mode and set PM bit to 1 for transitioning to the doze state, section 0138) that indicates power management mode change or power save state change for a [[second]] STA affiliated with the non-AP MLD (see, the AP affiliated with an PA MLD receives PS-Pol frame from a STA affiliated with a non-AP LMD that is a power save mode, the frame carries information to determine the intended destination STA affiliated with the non-AP MLD, section 0142); in response to determining that the one or more STAs transition to active mode or awake state based on the field included in the frame (see, in response to or after receiving of the DL BUs from non-AP MLD; the non-AP may change the power management mode from the first power save mode to second power save mode, section 0153-0154), initiate frame exchange with at least one of the one or more STAs on each respective link between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD (see, in response to or after receiving of the DL BUs from non-AP MLD; the non-AP may change the power management mode from the first power save mode to second power save mode, section 0153-0154) and in response to determining that the one or more STAs transition to doze state (noted: the doze state , STA 1 does receive the buffered units, the DL units are buffered until the STAT awakes, section 0166-0167, 0172, 0178) based on the field included in the frame, initiate buffering of bufferable units to at least one of the one or more STAs (see, the STA 1 may enters the doze state after it downlink buffered units/the AP MLD may transmit a beacon frame indicating downlink buffered units (BUs) for the non-AP, the STAs remains in the doze state may not receive the buffered units, section 0149-0150).
Ryu ‘674 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: receive, by a first AP affiliated with AP MLD from a first station (STA) affiliated with the non-AP MLD on first link established between the first STA and the first AP, a frame including a field that indicates power management mode change or power save state change for a second station affiliated with the non-AP MLD.
However, LIU et al (US 2024/0073812 A1, May 19, 2021) from a similar field of endeavor (see, AP MLD and non-AP MLD configured to implement multi-link communication, section 0040-00042, 0060-0061, see, non-AP MLD creates up to STAs 326a-326c, and the STAs are associated with AP MLD, section 0065-0066, see, difference power management modes, section 0056) discloses: receive (see, transmitting using first STA, a first frame to the second MLD indicating the first STA transitioning to the hibernation mode, and transitioning the second STA from the hibernation mode to an awake mode, section 0146), by a first AP affiliated with AP MLD from a first station (STA) affiliated with the non-AP MLD on first link established between the first STA and the first AP (section 0065-0066, 0075-0076), a frame including a field that indicates power management mode change or power save state change (see, power saving mode/hibernation mode with PM field set to 1, section 0098, 0137) for a second station affiliated with the non-AP MLD (see, transmitting using first STA, a first frame to the second MLD indicating the first STA transitioning to the hibernation mode, and transitioning the second STA from the hibernation mode to an awake mode, section 0146).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the multi-link operation in which the non-AP MLD switches from the first power saving mode to a second power save mode after receiving downlink BUs from AP MLD of Ryu ‘674 with the multi-link mode where a first station sends a frame to transition the second station from hibernation mode to am awake mode as taught by LIU ‘812. The motivation would have been to provide better utilization of channel resources and power saving as suggested in section 0004.
Regarding claim 12, Ryu ‘674 discloses the AP MLD of claim 11, wherein the field includes a first subfield that indicates if the field includes power management mode change indication or power save state change indication (see, based on power management (PM) subfield of the frame control field being changed from 0 to PM set to 1 indicating change from the active mode to a power save mode, section 0137-0138).
Regarding claim 13, Ryu ‘674 discloses the AP MLD of claim 11, wherein the field includes a second subfield that indicates one or more links of the AP MLD that are associated with the power management mode change or the power save state change (section 0137-0138, see, multilink operation that includes link 1, link 2, link 3 which are associated with AP MLD with has two AP affiliate with it and STA 1404 with two STAs affiliated with it).
Regarding claim 14, Ryu ‘674 discloses the AP MLD of claim 11, wherein the power management mode change is a change from active mode to power save mode or a change from power save mode to active mode and the power save state change is a change from doze state to awake state or a change from awake state to doze state (section 0138, see, transition from the active mode to the doze state (power same mode).
Regarding claim 15 (Currently Amended), Ryu ‘674 discloses the AP MLD of claim 12, wherein the frame includes a third subfield that indicates if a power management mode transitions from active mode to power save mode or from power save mode to active mode (fig. 14, discloses more than two subfield indicating a change from the active mode (awake state) to the doze state (power saving mode), section 0137-0138).
Regarding claim 16, Ryu ‘674 discloses the AP MLD of claim 15, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively (fg. 2, APMLD or non-AP MLD includes processor 270 coupled to memory 280 communicatively coupled to STA, there are multiple STAs affiliated with AP MLD and the non-AP MLD, section 0046-0051, 0034, section 0137-0138), further cause the AP MLD to determine the power management mode change based on the first subfield and the third subfield (see, the AP may maintain for an associated STA a power management status that includes a power management mode of the STA, there are multiple STAs, section 0130-0131, 0137-0138, fig. 14, there multiple fields, section 0187-0196).
Regarding claim 17, Ryu ‘674 discloses the AP MLD of claim 11, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively (fg. 2, APMLD or non-AP MLD includes processor 270 coupled to memory 280 communicatively coupled to STA, there are multiple STAs affiliated with AP MLD and the non-AP MLD, section 0046-0051, 0034, section 0137-0138), further cause the AP MLD to transmit capability information to the non-AP MLD (see, the AP transmits and receives to/from an AP MLD an association request frame and an association response frame including capability information indicating whether the non AP MLD and AP MLD supports multi-link power save mode, section 0189) that indicates whether the AP MLD supports receiving power management mode change indication (see, changing the a power management mode from an active mode to first power save mode, section 0189-0190, 0200) or power save state change indication for one or more STAs affiliated with the non-AP MLD (noted: the power change is relation to the one or more STA of the non-AP MLD, section 0189-0190, 0193, 0200).
Regarding claim 20 (New), it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 as discussed above because the claim substantially comprises the same limitations.
Claims 9-10, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu et al (US 2024/0422674 A1) in view of view of LIU et al (US 2024/0073812 A1, May 19, 2021) as applied to claims 1, 11 above and further in view of LI et al (US 2025/0063496 A1).
The combination of Ryu ‘674 and LIU discloses all the claim limitations in the above rejection but fails to explicitly disclose:
Regarding claim 9 (Currently Amended), the non-AP MLD of claim 1, herein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively , further cause the AP MLD to receive processing delay information that indicates an amount of time to process power management mode change indication or power save state change indication.
Regarding claim 10 (Currently Amended), the non-AP MLD of claim 9, w herein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively , further cause the AP MLD to change the power management mode or the power save state for the one or more STAs at a time determined based on the amount of time indicated by the processing delay information.
However, LI ‘496 from a similar field of endeavor (see, adjustment of an operational mode the target station from the from same mode to an active in relation groupcast transmission delay (section 0009-0010, noted: power management mode-from active mode to the awake/doze state, section 0025-0028) discloses: Regarding claim 9 (Currently Amended), the non-AP MLD (fig. 2, non-AP MLD 1 that is associated with SAT1, SAT 2 and SAT3, fig. 5, Computer terminal, section 0031-0033) of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively , further cause the AP MLD (see, the processor is configured to determine a groupcast transmission delay, section 0124-0125, fig. 5, processor 502 coupled to memory 504, section 0031-000033) to receive processing delay information (see, the non-AP MLD, in response to determining that one of the multiple link having groupcast transmission delay, section 0037-0043) that indicates an amount of time (noted: groupcast frame having a delay length equals a transmission period of beacon carrying DTIM, section 0004) to process power management mode change indication or power save state change indication (see, the determined groupcast delay cause the link to be switched from then power save mode to the active mode, section 0035-0043, noted: adjusting the operation mode to a target station from the power save mode to active mode in relation to groupcast delay, section 0125).
Regarding claim 10 (Currently Amended),, the non-AP MLD of claim 9, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively , further cause the AP MLD (see, the processor is configured to determine a groupcast transmission delay, section 0124-0125, fig. 5, processor 502 coupled to memory 504, section 0031-000033) to change the power management mode or the power save state for the one or more STAs at a time determined based on the amount of time (noted: groupcast frame having a delay length equals a transmission period of beacon carrying DTIM, section 0004) indicated by the processing delay information (see, the determined groupcast delay cause the link to be switched from then power save mode to the active mode, section 0035-0043, noted: adjusting the operation mode to a target station from the power save mode to active mode in relation to groupcast delay, section 0125).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the multi-link operation in which the non-AP MLD switches from the first power saving mode to a second power save mode after receiving downlink BUs from AP MLD of Ryu ‘674 and LIU with the adjustment of the power mode from the power save mode to an active mode based on determined groupcast delay as taught by LI ‘496. The motivation would have been to provide an adjustment of the operation mode of the target station taking account of the groupcast transmission delay.
Ryu ‘674 discloses all the claim limitations in the above rejection but fails to explicitly disclose:
Regarding claim 18 (Currently Amended), the AP MLD of claim 11, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively , further cause the AP MLD to transmit processing delay information that indicates an amount of time to process power management mode change indication or power save state change indication.
Regarding claim 19 (Currently Amended), the AP MLD of claim 18, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively , further cause the AP MLD to initiate the frame exchange with the at least one of the one or more STAs or to initiate buffering of the bufferable units to at least one of the one or more STAs at a time determined based on the processing delay information.
However, LI ‘496 from a similar field of endeavor (see, adjustment of an operational mode the target station from the from same mode to an active in relation groupcast transmission delay (section 0009-0010, noted: power management mode-from active mode to the awake/doze state, section 0025-0028) discloses: Regarding claim 18, the AP MLD of claim 11, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively , further cause the AP MLD to transmit processing delay information (see, the non-AP MLD, in response to determining that one of the multiple link having groupcast transmission delay, section 0037-0043) that indicates an amount of time noted: groupcast frame having a delay length equals a transmission period of beacon carrying DTIM, section 0004) to process power management mode change indication or power save state change indication (see, the determined groupcast delay cause the link to be switched from then power save mode to the active mode, section 0035-0043, noted: adjusting the operation mode to a target station from the power save mode to active mode in relation to groupcast delay, section 0125).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combined multi-link operation in which the non-AP MLD switches from the first power saving mode to a second power save mode after receiving downlink BUs from AP MLD of Ryu ‘674 and LIU with the adjustment of the power mode from the power save mode to an active mode based on determined groupcast delay as taught by LI ‘496. The motivation would have been to provide an adjustment of the operation mode of the target station taking account of the groupcast transmission delay.
Regarding claim 19, Ryu ‘674 as modified by LI ‘496 discloses the AP MLD of claim 18, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively , further cause the AP MLD to to initiate the frame exchange with the at least one of the one or more STAs or to initiate buffering of the bufferable units to at least one of the one or more STAs (Ryu, delivering buffered units to the STAs in a power saving mode, or respond with corresponding BU at a later time section 0129-0130, 0131-0132), buffered BUs that are available at the AP at a time determined based on the processing delay information (see, the AP buffers the groupcast data in relation to delay, section 0004, 0062).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combined multi-link operation in which the non-AP MLD switches from the first power saving mode to a second power save mode after receiving downlink BUs from AP MLD of Ryu ‘674 and LIU with the adjustment of the power mode from the power save mode to an active mode based on determined groupcast delay as taught by LI ‘496. The motivation would have been to provide an adjustment of the operation mode of the target station taking account of the groupcast transmission delay.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CANDAL ELPENORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473