DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to papers filed 08/05/2026.
No claims have been amended, newly added or newly canceled.
Claims 74-78 and 85-95 are currently pending and have been examined on their merits.
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 74-78, 85-88, 92-95 remain rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Atala et al (US 2005/0002915-previously cited and hereinafter referred to as Atala ‘915) in view of Tumlin et al (Journal of the American Society of Nephrology, published May 2008-from IDS filed 11/20/2024) and Hsu et al (Kidney International, 2001-previously cited).
Regarding claims 74, 76-78, 85-87 and 95, Atala ‘915 disclose methods of treating subjects with a kidney disorder by administering an isolated population of renal cells derived from a kidney biopsy to augment kidney function (page 3 para 22, para 24). Kidney cell types include proximal tubules, distil tubules, and collecting ducts (page 3 para 24-25). One embodiment specifically includes isolated population of tubule cells to augment and ameliorate a tubular disorder (page 21 para 208).
Atala ‘915 do not specifically disclose wherein their selected renal cells are enriched for renal tubular cells and depleted of EPO-producing glomerular and vascular cells.
Tumlin teach that renal tubular cell therapy provides beneficial results for patients suffering from acute renal failure. The primary effect was to improve overall patient survival and earlier renal recovery which was associated with long term survival benefit (page 5 Discussion).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include renal tubular cells in an enriched amount in the method of Atala ‘915 because Tumlin teach that renal tubular cells are beneficial for the treatment of acute renal failure and Atala ‘915 is directed toward the administration of renal cells for the treatment of kidney disease as well. The isolation and enrichment of tubular cells would deplete the renal cell population of EPO-producing cells such as glomerular and vascular cells and Atala ‘915 indicates that mixed cell populations are optional and not required. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Atala ‘915 also include an embodiment wherein an isolated population of tubular cells are to be administered (page 21 para 208).
Atala ‘915 do not specifically disclose determining in a biological sample from the subject that a level of an erythropoiesis indicator is different from the level of this indicator in a control.
Hsu disclose that there is a relationship between hematocrit and renal function in men and women (Title). Hsu disclose that a decrease in hematocrit is apparent even among patients with mild to moderate renal insufficiency (page 725, column 1, page 730 column 2). Hematocrit is measured from serum samples and recognized to change as a result of acute illness requiring multiple measurements more than a week apart (page 725, column 2, paragraph bridging pages 726-727).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to measure and observe the subject’s serum hematocrit (an erythropoiesis indicator) in the method of Atala ‘915 because Hsu teach and suggest that there is a relationship between a relationship between hematocrit and renal function in men and women and that hematocrit changes can be expected to change as a result of acute illness as well as mild to moderate renal insufficiency. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to measure and observe hematocrit before and after any treatment in order to determine if such treatment made a difference in the severity of the kidney disfunction as reflected by the hematocrit. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both Atala ‘915 and Hsu are directed to the analysis and treatment of kidney disfunction.
This renders obvious the measuring of hematocrit from a serum sample of the subject both before and after administration of the cells in order to evaluate the hematocrit status of the patient. A hematocrit measurement from a serum sample before the cell administration is performed reads on the limitation of a control. Although neither Hsu nor Atala specifically identify performing these hematocrit measuring steps as a way of determining erythroid homeostasis in the subject, the performance of these steps, even for a different reason, will read upon this claim limitation.
Regarding claim 75, Atala ‘915 disclose wherein the cells used are autologous to the subject (pages 1-2 para 11-12).
Regarding claim 88, Atala ‘915 disclose wherein the renal cells for administration can also include kidney and epithelial cells (pages 1-2 para 11) and kidney cells from the collecting duct (page 3 para 25). Since glomeruli cells are not required an embodiment without them is an option and therefore obvious.
Regarding claims 92-93, Atala ‘915 disclose wherein the cells are suspended in a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, including a hydrogel which contains water (page 2 para 12, pages 2-3 para 20-22, para 24, para 30, page 5 para 47).
Regarding claim 94, Atala ‘915 disclose that the cell suspension can be injected at the target site (page 2 para 12) and the intended target of the renal cells is the kidney.
Therefore, the combined teachings of Atala ‘915, Tumlin et al and Hsu et al render obvious Applicant’s invention as claimed.
Claims 89-90 remain rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Atala et al (US 2005/0002915-previously cited and hereinafter referred to as Atala ‘915) in view of Tumlin et al (Journal of the American Society of Nephrology, published May 2008-from IDS filed 11/20/2024) and Hsu et al (Kidney International, 2001-previously cited) as applied to claims 74-78, 85-88, 92-95 above, and further in view of Turman et al (Biochemical and Molecular Medicine, 1997-previously cited).
Regarding claims 89-90, the combined teachings of Atala ‘915, Tumlin et al and Hsu et al render obvious Applicant’s invention as described above, but do not specifically disclose wherein the enriched renal cell population is hypoxia-resistant.
Turman disclose a primate model of hypoxic preconditioning in which exposure of primary cultures of human proximal tubular epithelial cells (PTEC) to sublethal hypoxia induces resistance for subsequent hypoxic injury (page 50, column 2). Hypoxic preconditioning in PTEC may not be mediated by increased heat shock proteins (HSP), the presence of an abundant of constitutively expressed HSP may be essential for cell survival and recovery from hypoxia (page 56, column 1).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize enriched renal cell populations in the method of Atala ‘915 that were hypoxia resistant because Turman teach and suggest that this provides increased cell survival to renal tubular cells. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Atala ‘915 and Turman are both directed to the use of renal tubular cells and Turman demonstrate that cultured human proximal tubular cells become resistant to hypoxic injury when exposed to hypoxic preconditioning.
Therefore, the combined teachings of Atala ‘915, Tumlin et al, Hsu et al and Turman et al render obvious Applicant’s invention as claimed.
Claim 91 remains rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Atala et al (US 2005/0002915-previously cited and hereinafter referred to as Atala ‘915) in view of Tumlin et al (Journal of the American Society of Nephrology, published May 2008-from IDS filed 11/20/2024) and Hsu et al (Kidney International, 2001-previously cited) as applied to claims 74-78, 85-88, 92-95 above, and further in view of Goodwin et al (US 2005/0064443).
Regarding claim 91, the combined teachings of Atala ‘915, Tumlin et al and Hsu et al render obvious Applicant’s invention as described above, and Atala ‘915 specifically teach and suggest using unique markers to select for a cell type (page 33 para 343), but do not specifically disclose wherein the enriched renal cell population express one or more of megalin, cubilin, and hyaluronic acid synthase 2.
Goodwin teach that specific markers for renal tubular cells include megalin and cubilin (page 8 para 94).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the unique markers of megalin and/or cubilin in the method of Atala ‘915 to select for the desired renal cell type of tubular cells for enrichment because Goodwin teach and suggest that these are markers for this renal cell type and Atala ‘915 suggest that using markers specific to the desired cell type is beneficial and desirable for selection. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Atala ‘915 specifically teach the benefit of using unique markers to select for a cell type (page 33 para 343), Tumlin teach that renal tubular cells are beneficial for the treatment of acute renal failure and Atala ‘915 is directed toward the administration of renal cells for the treatment of kidney disease as well.
Therefore, the combined teachings of Atala ‘915, Tumlin et al, Hsu et al and Goodwin et al render obvious Applicant’s invention as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 74-78, 85-88, and 92-95.
Applicant argues that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have modified the art in the manner suggested in the Office Action to arrive at the presently claimed methods.
Applicant argues that Atala ‘915 does not disclose a renal cell population that is enriched for renal tubular cells and relatively depleted of EPO-producing, glomerular and vascular cells.
This is not found persuasive. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include renal tubular cells in an enriched amount in the method of Atala '915 because Tumlin teach that renal tubular cells are beneficial for the treatment of acute renal failure and Atala '915 is directed toward the administration of renal cells for the treatment of kidney disease as well. The isolation and enrichment of tubular cells would deplete the renal cell population of EPO-producing cells such as glomerular and vascular cells and Atala '915 indicates that mixed cell populations are optional and not required. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Atala '915 also include an embodiment wherein an isolated population of tubular cells are to be administered (page 21 para 208).
Applicant argues that Atala ‘915 does not teach or suggest that isolated or enriched tubular cells should or could be selected to treat anemia, to regulate erythropoiesis or to provide erythroid homeostasis. Applicant asserts that although Atala ‘915 may establish that renal cells can be isolated and used in an organ-augmenting construct that it does not supply the missing link between the cell population recited in claim 47 and the claimed physiological result of erythroid homeostasis.
This is not found persuasive. The claims do not require the treatment of anemia or regulation of erythropoiesis. With regard to the claimed effect of providing erythroid homeostasis, this effect is deemed provided when the claimed steps are carried out.
Providing guidance on instances where the method steps of the prior art and instant claims are the same, Ex parte Marhold, 231 USPQ 904, 905 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1986) relying on In re Sussman, 141 F.2d 267, 269-70, 60 USPQ 538, 540-41 (CCPA 1944) states “[T]hat since the steps are the same, the results must inherently be the same unless they are due to conditions not recited in the claims.”
Regarding the issue of inherency, see Persion Pharms. LLC v. Alvogen Malta Operations LTD., 945 F.3d 1184, 1191, 2019 USPQ2d 494084 (Fed. Cir. 2019), where the court stated that a proper finding of inherency does not require that all limitations are taught in a single reference, and that inherency may meet a missing claim limitation when the limitation is "the natural result of the combination of prior art elements." (emphasis in original). The court found that pharmacokinetic limitations of the asserted claims were inherently met by combining prior art references because the limitations were necessarily present in the prior art combination. Id. See also Hospira, Inc. v. Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC, 946 F.3d 1322, 1329-32, 2020 USPQ2d 6227 (Fed. Cir. 2020). (see MPEP 2112 (IV)).
Applicant argues that Tumlin’s teaching that renal cells were known to provide beneficial results in patient’s suffering from acute renal failure is too general to provide the required reason to modify Atala ‘915 in the particular manner claimed. Applicant asserts that Tumlin does not describe administering renal tubular cells to a subject. Applicant asserts that Tumlin is limited to an extracorporeal device (RAD) which includes a hemofilter to enhance hemofiltration (CVVH). Applicant argues that Tumlin does not teach their claimed invention.
This is not found persuasive. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
In the current case, Tumlin teach that renal tubular cell therapy provides beneficial results for patients suffering from acute renal failure. The primary effect was to improve overall patient survival and earlier renal recovery which was associated with long term survival benefit (page 5 Discussion). The motivation to select renal tubular enriched fractions of the kidney from those listed by Atala ‘915 was present at the time of filing for their known therapeutic values in repair of damaged kidneys as suggested by Tumlin.
Applicant argues that Hsu fails to cure the deficiencies in the teachings of Atala ‘915 and Tumlin as discussed above. Applicant asserts that Hsu does not concern renal cell therapy and is limited to cross-sectional observational evaluation of the statistical relationship between renal function and hematocrit in ambulatory patients. Applicant argues that Hsu does not teach Applicant’s claimed invention.
This is not found persuasive. First, Atala ‘915 and Tumlin are not deemed to be deficient as described above. Hsu is cited in the obvious rejection to demonstrate that it would have been obvious to include measurements of a patient’s hematocrit during treatment as this value will provide information as to the status of the patient’s condition.
Hsu disclose that there is a relationship between hematocrit and renal function in men and women (Title). Hsu disclose that a decrease in hematocrit is apparent even among patients with mild to moderate renal insufficiency (page 725, column 1, page 730 column 2). Hematocrit is measured from serum samples and recognized to change as a result of acute illness requiring multiple measurements more than a week apart (page 725, column 2, paragraph bridging pages 726-727).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to measure and observe the subject's serum hematocrit (an erythropoiesis indicator) in the method of Atala '915 because Hsu teach and suggest that there is a relationship between a relationship between hematocrit and renal function in men and women and that hematocrit changes can be expected to change as a result of acute illness as well as mild to moderate renal insufficiency. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to measure and observe hematocrit before and after any treatment in order to determine if such treatment made a difference in the severity of the kidney disfunction as reflected by the hematocrit. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both Atala '915 and Hsu are directed to the analysis and treatment of kidney disfunction.
This renders obvious the measuring of hematocrit from a serum sample of the subject both before and after administration of the cells in order to evaluate the hematocrit status of the patient. A hematocrit measurement from a serum sample before the cell administration is performed reads on the limitation of a control. Although neither Hsu nor Atala specifically identify performing these hematocrit measuring steps as a way of determining erythroid homeostasis in the subject, the performance of these steps, even for a different reason, will read upon this claim limitation.
Applicant argues that the Office Action attempts to use Hsu’s general correlation to bridge a substantial gap between Tumlin’s device and Applicant’s in vivo administration as claimed. Applicant asserts that Hsu provides no such bridge. Applicant asserts that a general reason to observe hematocrit in patients with renal disease is not a reason to perform their claimed invention.
This is not found persuasive. The fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Applicant argues that the cited art provides no reasonable expectation that administering the claimed cell population would provide erythroid homeostasis.
Applicant argues that the pertinent question is not whether a person of ordinary skill could have isolated tubular cells or could have measured hematocrit, but whether the person could have expected the claimed method as a whole to succeed to provide erythroid homeostasis. Applicant asserts that Atala ‘915 provides no expectation that tubular cells would provide erythroid homeostasis after administration, particularly when the administered population is relatively depleted of the cells conventionally associated with renal EPO production.
This is not found persuasive. The fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Atala ‘915 and Tumlin provide a motivation to select renal tubular cells from those listed by Atala ‘915 with a reasonable expectation of success as described above. Hsu is recited in the obviousness rejection to provide motivation to further include measurement of the hematocrit of a patient being treated for a kidney disease to assess the progress of the treatment as described above.
Applicant argues that Tumlin does not cure the deficiency of Atala ‘915 because Tumlin does not provide data concerning erythroid homeostasis.
This is not found persuasive. Tumlin is cited in the obviousness rejection to provide additional motivation to specifically select renal tubular cells from the list of renal cell types for use in the method of Atala ‘915. The fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Applicant argues that Hsu provides no therapeutic efficacy data and does not report on whether an administered cell population can provide erythroid homeostasis and thus does not provide a reasonable basis for expecting the claimed therapeutic result. Applicant argues that because Hsu includes references to EPO-producing cells that this would direct a person toward administering EPO-producing cells and not towards administering tubular cells with an expectation of achieving erythroid homeostasis.
This is not found persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
The fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Applicant argues that the application demonstrates a previously unappreciated and unexpected result.
Applicant argues that the present application is the first disclosure of record to demonstrate that administration of a renal tubular cell enriched population relatively depleted of EPO-producing, glomerular and vascular cells can provide erythroid homeostasis. Applicant points to their specification at pages 7, 14, 74, 80 and 84-85 as evidence. Applicant asserts that their invention provides unexpected results.
This is not found persuasive. In submitting evidence asserted to establish unobvious results, there is a burden on an applicant to indicate how the examples asserted to represent the claimed invention are considered to relate to the examples intended to represent the prior art and, particularly, to indicate how those latter examples do represent the closest prior art. See In re Borkowski, 595 F.2d 713, 184 USPQ 29 (CCPA 1974); In re Goodman, 339 F.2d 228, 144 USPQ 30 (CCPA 1964).
The evidence relied upon should also be reasonably commensurate in scope with the subject matter claimed and illustrate the claimed subject matter "as a class" relative to the prior art subject matter "as a class." In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971 ); In re Hostettler, 429 F.2d 464, 166 USPQ 558 (CCPA 1970). See, also, In re Lindner, 457 F.2d 506, 173 USPQ 356 (CCPA 1972).
It should also be established that the differences in the results are in factunexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance. In reMerck, 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986); In re Longi, 759 F. 2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Klosak, 455 F2d 1077, 173 UAPQ 14 (CCPA 1972); In re D'Ancicco, 429 F.2d 1244, 169 USPQ 303 (CCPA 1971 ). Ex parte Gelles, 22 USPQ2d 1318 (BPAI 1992).
Applicant argues that the examiner’s proposed combination depends upon impermissible hindsight reconstruction.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
In the current case the obviousness rejection is based on the teachings of the prior art as described above. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include renal tubular cells in an enriched amount in the method of Atala '915 because Tumlin teach that renal tubular cells are beneficial for the treatment of acute renal failure and Atala '915 is directed toward the administration of renal cells for the treatment of kidney disease as well. The isolation and enrichment of tubular cells would deplete the renal cell population of EPO-producing cells such as glomerular and vascular cells and Atala '915 indicates that mixed cell populations are optional and not required. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Atala '915 also include an embodiment wherein an isolated population of tubular cells are to be administered (page 21 para 208).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to measure and observe the subject's serum hematocrit (an erythropoiesis indicator) in the method of Atala '915 because Hsu teach and suggest that there is a relationship between a relationship between hematocrit and renal function in men and women and that hematocrit changes can be expected to change as a result of acute illness as well as mild to moderate renal insufficiency. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to measure and observe hematocrit before and after any treatment in order to determine if such treatment made a difference in the severity of the kidney disfunction as reflected by the hematocrit. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both Atala '915 and Hsu are directed to the analysis and treatment of kidney disfunction.
This renders obvious the measuring of hematocrit from a serum sample of the subject both before and after administration of the cells in order to evaluate the hematocrit status of the patient. A hematocrit measurement from a serum sample before the cell administration is performed reads on the limitation of a control. Although neither Hsu nor Atala specifically identify performing these hematocrit measuring steps as a way of determining erythroid homeostasis in the subject, the performance of these steps, even for a different reason, will read upon this claim limitation.
The fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Applicant argues that Turman fails to cure the deficiencies in the teachings of Atala ‘915, Tumlin and Hsu as discussed above regarding independent claim 74, from which claims 89 and 90 depend.
Applicant argues that Turman does not teach their claimed invention.
This is not found persuasive. First, the teachings of Atala ‘915, Tumlin and Hsu are not deemed to be deficient as described above. Second, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant argues that Goodwin fails to cure the deficiencies of Atala ‘915, Tumlin and Hsu as discussed above regarding independent claim 74, from which claim 91 depends.
Applicant argues that Turman does not teach their claimed invention.
This is not found persuasive. First, the teachings of Atala ‘915, Tumlin and Hsu are not deemed to be deficient as described above. Second, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In view of the foregoing, when all of the evidence is considered, the totality of the rebuttal evidence of nonobviousness fails to outweigh the evidence of obviousness.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LAURA J. SCHUBERG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1631
/LAURA SCHUBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1631